We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Nearby Hotels
Fatumaru Lodge(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$297
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$285
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
The Terraces Boutique Apartments(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Melanesian Port Vila(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sunset Bungalows Resort(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Moorings Hotel(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Traveller's Budget Motel(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cocomo Resort(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,052)
Filter reviews
1,052 results
Traveller rating
617
298
91
26
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
617
298
91
26
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden fareoutdoor showerbeach frontbeachfront fareseafood platterentertainment every nighttour deskvillage walkthemed nightsmelanesian nightrelaxing holidayinfinity poolpango villagemosquito netreef shoeshappy hourour honeymoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
696 - 701 of 1,052 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Our louvre-windowed large room provided all the cool breeze we needed and who the hell needs a phone in your room when you are on holidays. Besides our mobiles had full reception if the urge grabbed us. Our sky view shower was sensational and there were endless amounts of hot water, fresh white fluffy towels and a face-washer (in Europe you never get a face washer). The only creepy crawlies I saw was the odd mozzie at dusk and I had coils to guard against bites. My whole sleep pattern changed to one where I slept like a baby the moment my head hit the pillow - the king sized beds are so comfortable.

We are cushy travellers and like our comforts and loved the slow pace of Breakas, enjoying a cocktail before dinner, bruschetta at lunch and a couple of meals there. Sure the food in Vanuatu is not as cheap as you'd expect but that applies to the whole country unless you want to eat at the local market (which we didn't) and there it's very cheap. We ate at several recommended restaurants and they were all of a high standard.

After leaving Breakas to fly to Santo, my dear husband got sick, so what did we do - we flew straight back to Breakas where the manager called the paramedic who was on our door step in minutes with all the equipment required to check him out. The service was impeccable and all our requests were delivered, even when our taxi driver was running a little late for the plane - the reception staff quickly rang to prompt him. The manager (Pam) was exemplary in helping us with the medical stuff but had also personally organised our Santo side-trip.

We stayed in room 47 the first time which is in a quiet spot and with a sea breeze but not on the beach. If you want to be right by the sea, those rooms appear to have a few more treats like an extra mirror and maybe an upholstered chair. We met many people who have returned again and again and I suspect we would be one of those.

Also, there is nightly entertainment with 'native' themes - local dancers, kava, music bands - quite fun if you don't want to leave the resort at all. Breakfast had an excellent selection of all tropical fruits, cereals, milks, toast and vegemite etc. But for hard core diners, you can order a full cooked breakfast for extra cost.

By far the best thing about Breakas apart from the helpful staff is the location and setting. It's just stunning by the beach with an infinity pool to tempt us to do some laps, centrally located where guests congregate and if you want to chat to other guests. We could dine on the beach or inside and there is also a romantic private dinner spot under a canopy where a single table is set for just you and your beau. We even saw a wedding take place which was quite touching, along with a small reception.

BTW - very few resorts in Vanuatu have air conditioning. It's only going to get more humid until after the wet season so choose your travel time carefully if humidity bothers you. We were there in mid November, it rained for 2 days and then perfect sunshine. Free snorkeling gear and beach towels were provided. We hired a car for a day which they organised for us, went on a village tour, enjoyed a Melanesian evening and lay on their beach lounges - a relaxing week.

Room Tip: Away from the restaurant, there are 3 rows of bungalows (fare they call them). 1st - by the sea - more seabreeze but noise of ocean may bother some. 2nd - we had this row and still had a good breeze and quiet spot. 3rd - on our return room 52 has less breeze but was quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OKAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear OKAussie, what a very thoughtful and lovely review. We are so glad your husband is feeling better and all is well back home. Mrs Pam says hello to you and hope to see you back again next year. We counted 16 returning guests in November which was nice for all the team. We hope that you too become one of the returning Breaks Beach Resort Family. Have an excellent festive season and see you soon.

Salote
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My wife & I went to Breakas last year, where we got engaged. We came back this year for our honeymoon for 14 nights. The location is excellent, right on the beach & only 5 minutes by bus into Port Vila. We had one of the garden rooms which are exactly the same as the ocean view rooms, just slightly further back - they are actually quieter than the ocean view rooms & when we booked significantly cheaper.

The food at Breakas was fantastic - not particularly cheap (being a resort) but we could not fault the food at all. The cocktails were very disappointing given what you pay for them. All rooms have a small fridge which we stocked up with some local Tusker beers we bought at the airport.

The staff were very friendly & helpful although didn't seem to be as happy as last year when we were there..although still friendly and welcoming. Stand outs for us were Fredda (spelling) at the travel desk and LouLou with the massive hair!

The beach itself is beautiful, however you do need reef shoes or fins to go out into the ocean & be careful of the rips.

The only major negative I will write about is the constant smell of smoke that sweeps the resort & the beach on a daily basis. The local village next to the resort burn their rubbish, and often the thick smoke travels right through Breakas.....unfortunately my wife spent most of the 2 weeks with blocked sinuses & was sneezing. Breakas really need to sort this out ASAP or it will effect people wanting to return. We weren't the only people who complained about it & we didn't see anything being done to fix the problem.

Overall, Breakas is a very nice, chilled out resort in a brilliant location. Would we return - possibly yes - however I do think some things can be improved upon to make this a better resort & give people a better holiday experience.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are just as good as ocean rooms
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 421John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear John, thanks so much for the nice review and we were very glad to have you back staying with us again. We note your comments about the smoke you experienced during your stay, its not an uncommon issue with most resorts in Vanuatu. Fortunately it does not happen very often with us and we run a public rubbish collection free of charge for the local village daily to avoid any burning.
We hope to see you back again next year.

Salote
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Let me start this review by saying that staff are only as good as their manager and this manager leaves a lot to be desired. Staff however are overly helpful, if not a bit disorganised.

Upon arrival, we were left in reception long after all the other guests were seen to their room. The staff didn't seem to know who was in charge of which guests and incidentally some guests were left wondering....

We were shown to our room, and when it was opened, the floor was wet, slippery and we walked dirty foot prints all over the place because they had just finished cleaning (we arrived at about 4pm in the afternoon). we were supposed to get a half hour massage voucher and a basket of local fruit which never happened, and upon inquiry were told that it would be delivered to our room - but never arrived.

We took all of this in our stride, and unpacked and settled into our garden fare. It was close to dinner so we made our way to reception and booked for dinner. I inquired about an upgrade to a beach front fare but was told it was going to be an extra $100 per night ($600 in total for the week). We declined and decided to stay where we were.

Dinner was superb, and we made our way to the Manager to complement her on her chef. As it happened she was talking to him as we approached. We ended up sitting with her talking about the locals, their customs and where and what we should see on our holiday.

we returned to our room, tired and ready for bed.......this is where we start to go down hill. The room was hot and stuffy, and we were unable to leave to windows open because there was a giant security spot light shinning through the front windows (where the breeze comes from). Lighting in the room is very poor and the sheets were dirty. The pillows (all 4) smelled like they were old and had never been washed and the mosquito net was full of dust.....

The next morning with very little sleep, we hopped into the shower......FAIL! the water was either freezing cold or scolding hot, and only a dribble came out of the head. but we made do.

Breakfast was being served and I was ready for a fresh food feast....FAIL! the fruit was old, and some was off, the breads and pastries were stale, and the milk (although long life) was hot. dissapointing to say the least. but I decided I was going to order a hot breakfast tomorrow, $15 or so (a bit pricey but ..) so off to town we went.

We came back to find our room had been cleaned, the bed made - not changed, and the floor was again very wet and slippery.

A tour was organised for that afternoon, through the travel agent so off we set to wait. When they didn't arrive we asked freda at the tour desk to inquire, and discovered that we had not confirmed the collection. Our bad and asked freda to book it again for the next day.

Dinner that night was again superb, but over priced. Day 1 wasted!

We awoke the next morning again dripping in sweat because the gardens are over grown, and there is NO breeze in the back fares. Breakfast again consisted of rotten fruit and stale bread but I ordered the big breakfast. Bacon so grilled and burnt it was inedible, hash browns not cooked properly and tasting raw and cold i the middle, sausages that were kabana or chorizo, 2 eggs not cooked properly on the top and raw egg whites and the creamed mushrooms were lovely but a bit rich for breakfast. but I ate it cause I had paid for it.

We headed into town and discovered that food in town was a lot better priced - $7.00 for bacon and eggs, and decided that we would eat in town from hereon in.

The tour that afternoon was one I was looking forward to and we headed to the waiting area at the front of the hotel for them to pick us up. 15 minutes early we waited, and waited, and waited. at 20 minutes after the pick up time, I went to reception to ask them to ring. They confirmed that they had indeed come to collect us but had the wrong surname so were told by reception that there was no guest by that name. Day 2 wasted! (a later inquiry discovered that it indeed was the hotel that had my surname wrong not the tour operator so it was their fault we were never collected).

Snorkeling was not an option as the $50 deposit you paid for the equipment was a bit much, because the equipment is unwashed, unhygienic and leaks like a snorkel shouldn't. If it was kids using it they might have drowned, as every time I went under I got a mouthful of salt water.

We then decided that we could not stay here anymore, as I needed a good night sleep and a decent shower. I emailed my travel agent, who in turn emailed the hotel. We waited in our room for a return email, and we had a garden maintenance man arrive with a wrench in his had asking us about the hot water. With a language barrier a mile high, we explained to him that the hot water was fine, just no regulation. hot then cold then scolding hot again. He left and didn't come back.

Later that night, with NO CONTACT from the manager at all, we headed into town to try to salvage our holiday. We ate at the local Chinese restaurant and it was fantastic and all for around $40. We asked her about other accommodation in the area.

We received an email from the travel agent to say that the hotel had sent a "representative" (the garden maintenance man with the wrench) and we told them everything was ok????

in short, we checked out of Breakas the next morning and into some other accommodation with nothing at all from Pam, the manager and a bill for $250 from the restaurant .

If you want the Robinson Crusoe holiday, then yes, stay at Breakas, with the smelly sheets, old pillows, scolding hot/cold showers, spiders, insects and poor management.

If you want a tropical getaway, stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Do not stay here, go somewhere else!!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kylie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Kylie, thanks for your your review. We feel it is a little unfair and you obviously did not enjoy your stay at all. We did attempt to come and see you several times during your stay but you preferred to call your travel agent asking for free upgrades rather than come and see us all up at reception. Your tour booked through your travel agent seemed to be the catalyst for your bad review. Im afraid we did everything correctly to correct the error by the agent and tour operator but it wasnt our responsibility although very happy to assist. We are very proud of our little resort and overall we love the great feedback we get. Things don't always go right in the islands but its part of the experience but we guarantee to put anything right that you might have any issues with as soon as we know. We hope you and your partner were in a better mood when you departed. Whilst your review title makes us all a little sad at Breakas as its not a true reflection of our resort, that is your prerogative. Thanks again.

The Breakas Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Pam...you are amazing and nothing was too much trouble for you...thank you for making a special occasion of my boys to let off the fireworks..it was a Treat for them...and I think every one there had a bit of fun..we so enjoyed the Bar...not as much as the boys ofcourse with a A$320 bill on a friday night...they were very quiet and not feeling to good the next day...hahahahaha Rooms 37 and 38 very well known to the Bar staff who looked after us and others very well...Loved the pool table...I think the white ball is still rolling some 6 days later.we loved the rooms and showers, looking at the night sky or early morning sun was a different experiance...an enjoyable on at that...I cant remember the Breakers Teams names but you were all wonderful and made my family feel very welcome at all times. The Scuba class was fantastic in the Breakers Pool, Jordan and Toby were great and fun to be around as we meet up with them on a couple of occasions. We ate in often and Loved all the meals and the pricing was good..the night Dinners were special with the Fire dance, and Live enterainment fun times... we had one driver from the start to Finish! Angelo is his name and hes very honest and a great driver...look him up if your staying their, we meet up on the last night with some other couples and we had our on little Beach Party with them...Fantastic...so to any one wanting a Lovely place to stay in Port Vila...Breakers is the place to stay!

Room Tip: 37 38 were in a fantastic spot.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graeme4680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Graeme, we are so glad you chose Breakas for your holiday. We very much enjoyed having you all stay with us. We do like to go above and beyond to enjoy each and every guest has a great stay. Pam says hello back and we all hope you join us again next year for a holiday. Luk Im Yu Bak again.

Salote
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

So my review will be from my experience and wont be a one liner.

From the first moment we arrived until we left the staff at Breakas were lovely and attentive. We had a package which included a beech massage a drink on arrival and a cold towel. This was a nice touch I thought.

When we settled into our room we noticed that none of the rooms have any TVs (not really a problem) and the shower is an open roof shower. The open roof shower is lovely when the weather is great, unfortunately it was raining and windy when we arrived and the shower was full of leaves and sticks. After it cleared up it was beautiful :). Our rooms were kept really well and the staff are trustworthy as we had no issues with anything going missing. There are different pillows in the room depending on your comfort levels and the bed is comfortable. We had originally booked into the garden room then upgraded to the beach front room (difference being a bigger fridge, BEAUTIFUL VIEWS and the gentle sound of the waves).

I found the food overpriced for the quality. The menus sounded beautiful but unfortunately the delivery was not there. The drinks were a little overpriced as it was roughly $7 AUD for a local beer 'Tuskers'. The cocktails were pretty good, we asked to have ours made in coconuts but think it would be awesome if they did that all the time Roughly $24 AUD per cocktail.

The entertainment that is organized is second to none. There was something on every night and we even had fireworks on one night.

Always organise your trips through the front desk as they are in the know, dont let your travel agent let you believe that you can get it cheaper in Australia. Its pretty much the same and you have the guarantees of the vanuatu tours association (or something like that). Essentially it means the guides that the front desk books have backup plans, safety measures, spare tyres etc.

On a final note, I would stay here again. It is the most relaxing place as it is away from the hustle and bustle. It only costs $4 AUD to get into town and the place is beautiful.

Room Tip: Some of the beach front rooms are obscured by trees (not completely) try to get one that has a clear line of sight of the beech.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mickeyp87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Public Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Mickey, thanks for such a lovely review. We are glad you like our open air showers, we get so many nice comments about them. Also very glad you liked our entertainment, we try and have something different every night so people can experience Vanuatu culture and just relax. Luk im Yu back again

Salote
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews