We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just has it all.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed next door but just about lived at Breakas, nothing to fault, great food, great drinks, fab pool, never got hassled , child free, great cultural events.... We were made to feel at home. We had friends stay there, they though it was fantastic, breakfast was included which we also sampled and was very good and plenty! Have a relaxing holiday!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank FoxseeLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Foxeelady. Thank you for the wonderful review. We are very glad you enjoyed the facilities, food and service. Our breakfast is very popular, the fresh fruit at the markets we source daily is divine, especially now its pineapple season! Luk im yu bak agan soon.
Salote - Breakas Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,007)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

645 - 651 of 1,007 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Great food and entertainment with great Vanuatu entertainment from their dancers. Surf is also something that a lot of surfers should see. The Villas are air conditioned and very clean. Love it and will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JIMMYJAVNI73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Overall we enjoyed our stay but there were a few small issues.........Firstly we had no problems with getting a taxi from the airport.....3000 vatu and arranged with Charlie (taxi driver) to pick us up at 5am a few days later for our return flight.
On arrival we were met at reception by a smiling David, who gave us a bead necklace and arranged for us to have a refreshing fruit cocktail and cold face towel while we delt with the admission paper work.
Our fare......# 13 was I think the best one there.....far enough away from the restaurant and bar for privacy and quiet....but still easy to get to. I also think it was slightly larger than most others with a beautiful outlook onto the beach. We sat on our porch one rainy afternoon and read and watched the rain sparkleing through the palm leaves and the waves gently crashing on the sand.....gorgeous ! Another bonus with our fare was the geckos and thier delightful chirping.
We ate nearly all our meals at Breakas and the food was well presented and an average price. I found some of the cocktails tasted a bit watery but others were fine and the price reasonable. I would recomend seeing a cooking demonstration.....you get to try the results....Yumm.
There were some things we found a bit substandard though. On our first night we were seated near the kitchen. They had a Custom dancers show that we couldn't see or hear but we could hear someone ( food manager maybe?) yelling at the staff about the food preperation....very off putting.
Also Freda the tour desk operator did a great orientation the first morning we were there, which was very helpfull but I got the feeling that she was over run with trying to organise tours for everyone at a busy time of year. We tried to get onto a few different tours but they were all booked out but we didn't mind as we were happy just to relax. Others that we met had problems with having thier bookings changed with little or in one case no notice. We did do a tour to Hideaway Island and 3 girls were put onto our bus that were on a different tour. Things seemed to be very disorganised.
Our last night there we got to sit at a table on the beach....the rain had stopped...the tide was in....it was a beautiful night and the Polenesian show with fire dancers was fabulous. So our stay ended on a high.

Room Tip: Beach front for the view if raining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Australianjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Jen, thanks so much for the lovely review of the resort. We are very glad you enjoyed the relaxing nature of the resort. our goal is to have all of our guests leave relaxed and feeling like they had had the perfect experience. We are sorry you had a few issues with the transfer and tour operators. This time of the year is very busy and sometimes they get a little disorganised but overall we find all of our operators are very good. Thanks again and we hope to see you back again. Salote- Breakas Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

There's a tonne of reviews for Breakas which are great, they pretty much point out every possible thing that is good and maybe a couple of the little odd things about venues in Vanuatu.

So I will save the time and give you the best bits.

- No kids . . so you can go to the pool and the bar without dodging screaming toddlers and frustrated parents bombing and peeing in the pool.

- No pressure or hassling. Seriously. Often the number on thing that worries travellers. You wont get hassled at the airport, bars, streets, beach etc etc to buy things, go on tours or carry bags. You wont have people screaming "braid your hair" in your face in the street. You can leave the hotel if you want to and get onto a bus or taxi, go into the city and hang out all day without one person chasing you down to buy things.

Im serious . . you never get hassled to do anything.

- There are no wandering groups of teenage schoolies gangs. There are few teenagers at all and certainly not groups of beer swilling school kids and "douchebro's" . . Nearly all the people that come here get away from that. Think the opposite of Bali. There are no strip clubs, "adult" tours or "lucky lucky". You can hang out with the locals and have a beer, in a hut, or a Kava venue without dealing with idiots.

- It's safe. I dont mean "stay in the hotel and it's safe" I mean "It's safe to get into a bus with 3 huge local's and go to a Kava hut and talk about the world" . . It's safe to walk the dead dark streets and the people are ALL nice to you, will help you find things and get around. Culturally they are shy, peaceful and caring.

- Prices are very good and deceptive. OK - you've heard on TA that the prices are pretty much on par with Australia . but that's not entirely right for food . . the servings are twice the size and that includes seafood platters (seriously, there is a review where someone whining about the price of the platters, they are 2/3rd the prices of Sydney and twice the size AND with real seafood. Not 2 prawns and chips . . and they complained? Get a grip)

- The food is all fresh, when you get home you will realise you havent eaten any processed junk food all week. All meals have likely been caught in the local area, there is no crazy grading and colouring . . no refining etc . . it's all non processed and caught locally.

- Great staff - they get to know you personally and after a few days they know your favourite cocktail, food and always greet you with a smile.

Things you may find odd but are interesting. . .

- Occasionally you might find a crab in your room . . this is a good thing. I mean the little ones and hermit crabs. It's a real sand in your feet experience. You wont find spiders . . you find gecko's. The beach is on your doorstep.

- Lots of Gecko's. They chirp . . we called them "Jub Jub"

- You can make a lot of things with Coconut and they are everywhere. In the city you can buy 15 coconuts for about $2 . . they are everywhere. They are used for everything. Dont feel guilty drinking a whole coconut. Especially in a cocktail.

- Fruit is everywhere and cheap. See above, insert "Mango" and "Pawpaw"

- Water and food is safe. I mean, dont go drinking out of a drain, but in general everything is very good quality. You rarely hear of people getting sick.

- Cruise ships are common. Passengers are fun! the locals give them special attention. Especially the ones with huge lanyards around their necks that say "cruise ship". They get special prices. Veeeery special prices.

- Most bars everywhere dont know what a measured glass is and all of them over pour . . so those aussie prices? halve it.

- It's hot. Get used to it. There is no air conditioning. Carry water.

- Be nice to the staff and the managers. You will be surprised how far that will get you anywhere (that's kind of a tip for life in general really). If you are nice to staff they are nice back . . if you are a whiny complainer that finds fault with everything or yell out "oi get me a brewski" to the waiters . . you wont get anywhere. Don't complain that the sand is sandy, water is wet and the rooms have floors. It happens.If there is a massive storm, there may be some water on the floor. If your food takes 5 minutes longer to arrive, get a drink. It's not Sydney, you arent god and the food is better here anyway.

(in fact, dont say "brewski" . . just stop)

- Pack earplugs. Not because of Breakas, but because it takes a long time to get use to silence and the occasional lizard sound. People actually complained that there was one or two noises at night instead of the drone of cars and trains. If you cant handle silence and the odd dog bark, wear earplugs.

The staff are wonderful at the resort, we singled out Lu, Frida, Becka, Annie, and many others.

I could bang on for ages, these are a few of the good things to consider. All in I absolutely recommend breakas, stay there you wont regret it.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms are awesome, dont get one too close the bar as the music is a little repetitive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank ChairmanMeow2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Chairmanmeow, wow what an informative review of Vanuatu, thank you so much. With all of our upgrades and additions at the resort it has being a very nice few months for us and our guests. We do hope to see you back at Breakas again and we have passed your review onto the team you mentioned, lots of smiles all around :-)

Salote - Breakas Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We have been staying at Breakas for the last the 5 years, the last couple years we have stayed for a month.....We cant not fault anything about Breakas..Everyone is so friendly and we are made to feel party of the Breakas family....Flora I miss my daily cuddle, David I miss the 5am runs on the beach and Maragret thank you for maintaining our Fare you did such a wonderful job everyday nothing was ever a problem for you. To all those people who want to leave a not so nice review about Breakas I suggest that you holiday elsewhere. We cannot wait to visit again in September.
Wishing all the Breakas staff a wonderful new year and don't let the negative people get you down...Pam keep up the good work...see you all in September. Cheers Dianne & Rob Fare 25

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dianne2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed at Breakas Beach Resort for our honeymoon and have been raving about it since. The locals and the staff are so very friendly and extremely generous. One of the staff even took us for a tour though the local village and we were humbled by our surroundings. This helped to put things into perspective when service was a little slow but to be honest you should go there expecting Island time. The facilities were fine

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joseph2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Seriously, anyone who complains about this place is just petty. It's a great resort with excellent service, the beach on your doorstep and healthy island food.

Same prices for food and drinks as any outer sydney restaurant and a manager who goes out of the way to make you happy.

I've got three more days here and don't want to leave.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank InnerWest D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Innerwest, thanks for a wonderful review and so glad you are enjoying your stay. We are constantly striving to deliver an excellent product for an affordable price and like to think our dining experiences are amongst the best n Vanuatu. We get a lot of local resident diners which is always a good sign of a quality restaurant. We do hope to see you back!
Tropical regards
Salote - Breakas Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.1 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,516 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
692 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
499 reviews
1.1 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 47 in Port Vila
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu

Address: Pango Bay Road, Port Vila, Efate 00000, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: £121 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst swaying palms fringed on it's own private beach, Breakas Beach Resort is an intimate 3.5 Star tropical resort in a 5 star location for adults only welcoming guests over the age of 15 years. Enhanced by individual garden & beachfront Fares (Bungalows), Breakas Beach Resort is the ultimate relaxed "feet in the sand" beach holiday. Slip into a world of tranquility. The Resort features a stunning 22 metre infinity pool which falls into the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. The natural beauty of a private cove on the Pango peninsular provides an unrivalled backdrop in Port Vila. Fares (Bungalows) are scattered along the shoreline and throughout manicured tropical gardens ensuring privacy, intimacy and seclusion. With spectacular views to Port Vila's best surfing beach break, the restaurant provides a unique setting for a unique dining experience. The executive chef has created one of the finest menus using fresh, local produce, seafoods and world class Santo beef and we are famous for our beachside dining with stars above and sand underfoot.... It does not get much better than this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing