We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic.... will stay here again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic.... will stay here again.”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We spent 8 nights at the Breakas Beach Resort last week and recommend it highly for very friendly and efficient service, excellent food and fantastic location. The resort offers free use of snorkelling equipment, kayaks and also will organise any tours you may want to do in Vanuatu. Nothing is too much trouble. It feels very safe and is stress free and very relaxing. The only thing that we found a little annoying was that while we paid for a week's internet use we could not log on from our room which was one of the garden bungalows.

It is less than a 10 minute bus ride into Port Vila but after eating out in town in various places we realised that the Breakas restaurant had the best food.

Room Tip: A quiet one away from the bar area and if you want internet then check that your room is not too far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyndall S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Lyndall,
thank you for the wonderful review. I am pleased to hear you found plenty to do in Vanuatu. We have 83 islands so when you are back we always say you have to do a daytrip or two to enjoy some of them. Frieda on the tour desk is always looking for you tour options for our guests, we have over 60 different tours and activities that can booked through her at last count!
Also thanks for the review on the restaurant, we have worked very hard at becoming a must do dining experience over the last 12 months and it is pretty hard to beat now, we are proud of it.

Thanks again and hope to see you back to Breakas again soon.

Salote - Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    273
    82
    25
    18
See reviews for
77
685
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Arrived back yesterday, had an awesome week at Breakas - fare 50 is very peaceful & private. Hint - get out & about to enjoy & see the beautiful country - can highly recommend using Robbie from Professional Tours as a guide you get to know much more about the people & their culture (remember to 'follow me' for $1.50 kava) if you're brave enough!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Mandy673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Mandy673,

we are so glad you had a good visit to Vanuatu. You are exactly right in saying get out and see some of the places. We are very lucky in Vanuatu to have so many easily accessible activities all within easy drive times. Everyone has to try Kava, if only once in their life, we cant talk much about the taste but its a fun experience where you share custom and stories.

Hope to see you back again

Salote - Breakas Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

My husband and I spent 8 nights at Breakas over the new year. Had the most relaxing holiday ever.Lovely resort.Great location on the beach.Best ever new years eve.The Bures are really lovelly with the outside shower.Really good location, 10 minutes from Port Villa town and public buses available at the front of resort at all times.I would highly recommend Breakas.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank acrosso69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I just spent 2 weeks at this resort with wife, and we had a blast. On honeymoon, was just great to not have to deal with any children (nothing against), and hang out with adults for a bit. Our bungalow was cosy and secure, cleaned daily and close to everything. Spent most days in the pool, overlooking the Coral Sea. Tough life. Bar and restaurant all in arms length.

The resort is close but far enough away from the centre of town. A short bus ride gets you to restaurants and venues of interest.

I just want to put a mention out to the staff of Breaka's. I know it is their job at the end of the day, but you can never underestimate a 'smile and hello' from someone to start your day. Everybody greeted you and checked up to see all was good. The one day we had a little problem, it was quickly and professionally dealt with by the manager (Pam) and her staff.

The resort put on a quality New Year's party when we were there as well. Nothing outrageous, just a relaxing night by the beach with bonfire, fireworks and 3 course dinner and drinks. Just what we wanted to do.

100% will come back here when we return to Vanuatu.

Room Tip: All rooms are quality!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmyjoe69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Jimmyjo69,

thank you so much for choosing Breakas Beach Resort for your honeymoon. We know there are a lot of choices in countries and resorts to stay at and we very much appreciate you staying with us.

We are a happy little place as you gathered during your visit. Smiles are free, the sea is blue, the cocktails are cold and its hard not to be happy in paradise.

We will see you again and best wishes for the future from all the team here at Breakas

Salote.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed next door but just about lived at Breakas, nothing to fault, great food, great drinks, fab pool, never got hassled , child free, great cultural events.... We were made to feel at home. We had friends stay there, they though it was fantastic, breakfast was included which we also sampled and was very good and plenty! Have a relaxing holiday!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank FoxseeLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Foxeelady. Thank you for the wonderful review. We are very glad you enjoyed the facilities, food and service. Our breakfast is very popular, the fresh fruit at the markets we source daily is divine, especially now its pineapple season! Luk im yu bak agan soon.
Salote - Breakas Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Great food and entertainment with great Vanuatu entertainment from their dancers. Surf is also something that a lot of surfers should see. The Villas are air conditioned and very clean. Love it and will be back for sure.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JIMMYJAVNI73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Stephens
Level Contributor
143 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Overall we enjoyed our stay but there were a few small issues.........Firstly we had no problems with getting a taxi from the airport.....3000 vatu and arranged with Charlie (taxi driver) to pick us up at 5am a few days later for our return flight.
On arrival we were met at reception by a smiling David, who gave us a bead necklace and arranged for us to have a refreshing fruit cocktail and cold face towel while we delt with the admission paper work.
Our fare......# 13 was I think the best one there.....far enough away from the restaurant and bar for privacy and quiet....but still easy to get to. I also think it was slightly larger than most others with a beautiful outlook onto the beach. We sat on our porch one rainy afternoon and read and watched the rain sparkleing through the palm leaves and the waves gently crashing on the sand.....gorgeous ! Another bonus with our fare was the geckos and thier delightful chirping.
We ate nearly all our meals at Breakas and the food was well presented and an average price. I found some of the cocktails tasted a bit watery but others were fine and the price reasonable. I would recomend seeing a cooking demonstration.....you get to try the results....Yumm.
There were some things we found a bit substandard though. On our first night we were seated near the kitchen. They had a Custom dancers show that we couldn't see or hear but we could hear someone ( food manager maybe?) yelling at the staff about the food preperation....very off putting.
Also Freda the tour desk operator did a great orientation the first morning we were there, which was very helpfull but I got the feeling that she was over run with trying to organise tours for everyone at a busy time of year. We tried to get onto a few different tours but they were all booked out but we didn't mind as we were happy just to relax. Others that we met had problems with having thier bookings changed with little or in one case no notice. We did do a tour to Hideaway Island and 3 girls were put onto our bus that were on a different tour. Things seemed to be very disorganised.
Our last night there we got to sit at a table on the beach....the rain had stopped...the tide was in....it was a beautiful night and the Polenesian show with fire dancers was fabulous. So our stay ended on a high.

Room Tip: Beach front for the view if raining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Australianjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Jen, thanks so much for the lovely review of the resort. We are very glad you enjoyed the relaxing nature of the resort. our goal is to have all of our guests leave relaxed and feeling like they had had the perfect experience. We are sorry you had a few issues with the transfer and tour operators. This time of the year is very busy and sometimes they get a little disorganised but overall we find all of our operators are very good. Thanks again and we hope to see you back again. Salote- Breakas Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.1 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,448 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
652 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
469 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 47 in Port Vila
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu

Property: Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Address: Pango Bay Road, Port Vila, Efate 00000, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst swaying palms fringed on it's own private beach, Breakas Beach Resort is an intimate 3.5 Star tropical resort in a 5 star location for adults only welcoming guests over the age of 15 years. Enhanced by individual garden & beachfront Fares (Bungalows), Breakas Beach Resort is the ultimate relaxed "feet in the sand" beach holiday. Slip into a world of tranquility. The Resort features a stunning 22 metre infinity pool which falls into the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. The natural beauty of a private cove on the Pango peninsular provides an unrivalled backdrop in Port Vila. Fares (Bungalows) are scattered along the shoreline and throughout manicured tropical gardens ensuring privacy, intimacy and seclusion. With spectacular views to Port Vila's best surfing beach break, the restaurant provides a unique setting for a unique dining experience. The executive chef has created one of the finest menus using fresh, local produce, seafoods and world class Santo beef and we are famous for our beachside dining with stars above and sand underfoot.... It does not get much better than this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing