We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed 4 Nights in a Garden Bungalow , I loved the look of the bungalow with its own little balcony ,We did not have neighbors next door for the first day so privacy was not an issue ,but on day 2 people moved into the bungalow either side of us and we could hear every word . Fortunately We had good weather so we didn't spend much time in our bungalow.
Our shower was hit and miss hot water one day cold the next .

We ate dinner at Breakers every night the food was excellent and every night enjoyed different entertainment . All staff were very polite .Security are helpful and vigilant we felt safe at all times.

Continental breakfast had a choice of cereals,toast,fruit yogurt .cake tea and coffee I Could not believe the price we paid for this (2000vt per person) my tea, toast and fruit cost $25 AUD, per person. wish I had checked first .

Resort is child free which was really nice ( love kids I have 4 ) but aah! sooo peaceful

If you want to take a tour around ask the resort to negotiate a price for you , We got ripped off by a bus driver who charged 5000 vt for a 1 hr tour of the town and he stopped and picked up passengers along the way ,
The staff at the resort were upset to here we had paid so much .

The staff are so lovely they are a credit to the resort.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank demi292292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,007)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

635 - 641 of 1,007 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed between the 8th- 15th of February. I have to say the service was 5 star quality and the food was amazing, but for reason my partner had some prawns one night he thought was a bit dodgy but I was fine lol.

I have to commend Roy on his fantastic service, if we had an issue he fixed it. The shower head kept falling down so I just mentioned it to him and it was fixed the same day. If we wanted to book something or had questions we went to Frita, who is amazing and made our trip so much easier with bookings.

Only downsides was the tiny ants that seem to get in everywhere and everything! But can't really be helped! Also, the room lighting can be improved a bit as I found that being under the big tree we had very minimal natural light and found that we had to use our phone torches to look for things in the room at night. One more thing! You may want to invest in more M sized flippers for the tiny female feet because they seemed to be always out :)

Price was reasonable for what we got, try getting a cocktail anywhere in Australia that actually had the same amount of alcohol in it for the same price. Not gonna happen! The seafood, Omg the lobster and coconut crab was amazing! Was a lot cheaper too compared to Brisbane for what you get (do see the photos!)

Overall experience was just amazing. Definitely be recommending the resort to anyone who actually want to experience Vanuatu for what it is (friendly people, minimal distractions, free entertainment every night, the temperature) with NO CHILDREN - instead of a fancy, fully equipped hotel that has children running around everywhere and screaming.

To the idiot that was complaining about the local children, seriously, you could barely hear them and it's not like they were running and screaming through the resort and bomb diving in the pool. They are the locals and they were respectful of the rules and pretty much disappeared as soon as the sun went down. Get off your high horse! I live next door to screaming children and I was in heaven at the resort because I didn't have to hear them, anyone who knows me would have been amazed that I even said that. So lay off the local kids.

I want to thank all the staff at the resort for making our first trip to Vanuatu a most memorable experience. Wish I could have enjoyed more kava! Until next time!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Paula,

so glad you found Breakas amazing. I note you like the Vanuatu seafood, it really is something we are quite proud of and every visitor to Vanuatu should try, the lobsters are amazing.

We so hope you come back and see us again.

Salote - Breakas Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This was our 15th visit to Vanuatu and our first stay at Breakas. Firstly let me say the local staff were helpful, friendly and hard working. All of our requests were met with a great smile and done in an efficient manner. The resort itself is truly lovely nestled on a lovely beach with a very nice pool and the accommodations in native Fares were kept clean and tidy even though these rooms are in need of some minor up grade work. The food and alcohol prices were quite expensive if compared to other establishments in Port Villa which is just a short Bus trip away and highly recommended for great dinning.
Now for the negatives the management is not of a standard you would expect from a an establishment which says it prides itself on being devoted to delivering a high quality holiday experience. The first night we were there we attended the bar area and at the end of the bar was a woman who was drinking white wine and talking very loudly( we later came to find out she was the manager) she didn't even take the time out to introduce herself to the new guests but was more interested in telling anyone who listened that the resort was in receivership and that she was head hunted to fix up the resort. She then informed the guests that her idea to fix the resort was to increase the prices by 100 percent so that she could give the banks an indication the resort was improving. When we were there only about a third of the rooms were occupied it seems this manager has no idea about the principles of management. This manager subsequently went on holidays if the resort was in such a financial position the manger should have stayed and fixed the problem. A few days into our holiday we returned to the resort after a night out in Port Villa and were met in the lobby by a male person ( who later became known to me as the replacement manger) and asked what I was doing at the resort. Exact words " have you come to have a look people" with this statement I was taken a back and replied no we are guests at the resort with this he mumbled something which could not be understood and walked off. A few nights later we again returned to the resort with other guests to have a cocktail at the bar when we were met by another female person who is still a mystery to me who said the bar is closing this at 9pm on a Friday night with some coaxing we were given our cocktails, told no more drinks and we had to take them and drink them out of the bar. We all shook our heads laughed and put it down to another experience of poor management.
Let me again say the local staff were excellent and very friendly and we hope the resort finds better management so it remains open for our next stay. And yes we would stay at Breakas again if it is still open. Please don't take this criticism poorly as it is meant to help the resort remain viable and open. Good management comes at a price and good management has good ideas it seems the only ideas this management team has are poor and by increasing prices wil only fix the short term problem higher occupancy and lower prices means success.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

It was a great week. Wonderful host Roy Ernst who was with the iconic Rossi Restaurant before it closed some years ago. Accommodation worked very well. Food excellent - local beef was some of the best I have tasted. Great pool and surfing for the brave. Service was on the mark under Roy's watchful eye. You don't need to leave Breakas but if you do there is always inexpensive cab or local bus transport available. There seemed to be entertainment or music most nights with dinner - that's ok but some quiet would be good too - I'm planning to go back for a longer holiday as soon as I can - a sure sign that Breakas is good is the fact that there are always local expats staying there for a weekend or dropping in for a lunch or a drink.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank michaelblamey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Michael,

thanks for the wonderful review and yes we are very lucky to have Roy at Breakas. With 30 years experience in South Pacific cuisine and sourcing, preparing and dishing up exquisite local produce he is one of our great secrets. If you are back you should try the cook school we offer weekly to guests to show you how to prepare some local dishes. Hope to see you back again soon.

Salote - Breakas Beach resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

This place shares their tiny beach with Surfside next door. The pictures online are really not accurate. The premises says they are child free but the tiny beach is full of local kids everyday or locals bathing. The food and drink is very expensive and no match compared to the restaurants in Port Vila. I suggest staying in Port Vila or on one of the islands.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ScottParsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Scott, we noticed your review this morning. We also notice you were not a guest at Breakas Beach Resort so we feel your review is very unfair. We will let the other wonderful review on our restaurant and accommodation speak for themselves. Very disappointing to have this posted at all really when we work so hard to ensure our guests have a great experience and a non guest makes these comments.

Salote - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Don't believe negative reviews, was everything we wanted for a relaxing getaway. Perfect beach for snorkeling and reef walking. Very friendly people, didn't stare, felt very comfortable. Great location

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Kat P,

thanks for the review and wonderful you got to experience some of our great snorkelling. We are all about relaxation and doing as much or as little as you like. Thanks for choosing Breakas and hope to see you back again.

Salote - Breakas Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We spent 8 nights at the Breakas Beach Resort last week and recommend it highly for very friendly and efficient service, excellent food and fantastic location. The resort offers free use of snorkelling equipment, kayaks and also will organise any tours you may want to do in Vanuatu. Nothing is too much trouble. It feels very safe and is stress free and very relaxing. The only thing that we found a little annoying was that while we paid for a week's internet use we could not log on from our room which was one of the garden bungalows.

It is less than a 10 minute bus ride into Port Vila but after eating out in town in various places we realised that the Breakas restaurant had the best food.

Room Tip: A quiet one away from the bar area and if you want internet then check that your room is not too far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lyndall S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Lyndall,
thank you for the wonderful review. I am pleased to hear you found plenty to do in Vanuatu. We have 83 islands so when you are back we always say you have to do a daytrip or two to enjoy some of them. Frieda on the tour desk is always looking for you tour options for our guests, we have over 60 different tours and activities that can booked through her at last count!
Also thanks for the review on the restaurant, we have worked very hard at becoming a must do dining experience over the last 12 months and it is pretty hard to beat now, we are proud of it.

Thanks again and hope to see you back to Breakas again soon.

Salote - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.1 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,517 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
692 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
501 reviews
1.1 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 47 in Port Vila
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu

Address: Pango Bay Road, Port Vila, Efate 00000, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: £121 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst swaying palms fringed on it's own private beach, Breakas Beach Resort is an intimate 3.5 Star tropical resort in a 5 star location for adults only welcoming guests over the age of 15 years. Enhanced by individual garden & beachfront Fares (Bungalows), Breakas Beach Resort is the ultimate relaxed "feet in the sand" beach holiday. Slip into a world of tranquility. The Resort features a stunning 22 metre infinity pool which falls into the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. The natural beauty of a private cove on the Pango peninsular provides an unrivalled backdrop in Port Vila. Fares (Bungalows) are scattered along the shoreline and throughout manicured tropical gardens ensuring privacy, intimacy and seclusion. With spectacular views to Port Vila's best surfing beach break, the restaurant provides a unique setting for a unique dining experience. The executive chef has created one of the finest menus using fresh, local produce, seafoods and world class Santo beef and we are famous for our beachside dining with stars above and sand underfoot.... It does not get much better than this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing