We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Came here for beachside dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Came here for beachside dinner”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed at Le Lagon and visited Breakas beach resort for dinner as... who can pass up eating on a beach with sand at your feet!?
When we arrived we were escorted to our table on the beach. It was extremely windy at first which was a bit annoying as our candle light was going out but one of the best waiters i've ever experienced gave us his PHONE as a torchlight whilst he tried to sort out the problem for us. Amazing! That would never happen in Sydney.
After about 10 minutes or so we had ordered and chatted to the waiter. The wind dropped off significantly.
We had a beautiful meal of spaghetti marinara which was absolutely DIVINE and some amazing crumbed chicken with red wine jus.

Highly recommend the ambience here and dining. Definitely worth coming just to check out the resort and definitely eat the food.
Waiter/waitress were extremely grateful that we came and visited for dinner even though we weren't from the resort and this made us feel even better. Great staff and a great location for dining.
It's about 10 minutes further down the road from Le Lagon. About 15 mins to town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kozza44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Public Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Kozza44

thanks for the wonderful review for our restaurant and food. I have printed it out for our restaurant team to look at.

We are very proud of it. Thanks for choosing us, there are a lot of dining choices in Vanuatu but like to think our beachside is just that little bit different with sand underfoot and the stars about metres from the ocean.

Please come back see us soon

Salote - Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    271
    80
    25
    18
See reviews for
76
677
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

I'll get my complaints out of the way: it doesn't have air con and our ceiling fan on the highest setting was so slow it was useless. My partner had to get up several times a night for a cold shower because it was so stifling. Really really needs air con.
The other complaint is not only is there no free WiFi but to get it its $15AUD for THIRTY MINUTES. We couldn't contact our friends at another resort properly because we didn't have phones there and no internet just made us feel very cut off and isolated. $15 is maybe an appropriate fee per DAY for WiFi but not per 1/2 hour.
Those were the only niggles we had with Breakas though. The staff were lovely, the beach phenomenal, the pool sublime, the food fine, and nightly entertainment wonderful!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hi Eleanor, thanks very much for the review and very glad you like the resort, pool and food, we try very hard to give our guests the perfect beachfront tropical getaway.
We have never had air-conditioning in our fares. They are designed to capture the breezes off the ocean. We even keep a stash of blankets at reception for guests who get a bit chilly ( if they come from warmer climates) Im sorry if the ceiling fan was a bit slow for your needs, if there was an issue, just let us know at reception and we will look at it. We have just upgraded the internet at the resort last week with the arrival of the submarine cable to Vanuatu. Packages start from 200 vatu (around AUD$2.20) for up to 30 days. In our old packages $15 was for 24 hrs access, not 30 mins.

Thanks again for staying with us and hope to see you back again

Salote - Breakas Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Didn't stay here but visited the restaurant while staying on Efate. Had dinner right on the sand with the ocean lapping about 2m away. Staff were very good and the food was AMAZING! Even if you are not staying here do yourself a favor and visit the restaurant.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Chris

thanks for the amazing review about your dining expereince. We always love to hear from our guests about their positive experiences.

Tank yu Tumas for visiting Vanuatu and experiencing our culture and people ( and food!).

Come back again soon.

Salote - Breakas Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

OK, its not a five star resort but is totally charming and unique. I had never been to Vanuatu before and its now my favourite Pacific Island. Got back 2 days ago and I'm already planning another visit. So why did Breakas work for us:

- its just far enough away from Port Vila to feel quiet and private but near enough that if you want to go into town its 10 or so minutes away by "bus"
- right on the beach, you can snorkel straight from your lounger or hammock
- the fares are great - something a bit different for westerners used to glass in windows (they have mozzie screens and shutters) and roofs on bathrooms - they are semi-open but still private
- love the bathroom geckos too (usually I'd run a mile screaming if there was a mouse in the house) but these little creatures are lovely and functional (keep the mozzies away - didn't get bitten once)
- NO TV!!!
- we had a garden fares and the gardens were beautiful and well tended
- the service is excellent - nothing is too much trouble
- the standard of food is very good - loved the pawpaw (and other tropitcal fruit) and fresh grated coconut for breakfast. The Spaghetti Marinara was sensational as was the pork belly with crackling, the Tahitian fish salad etc. etc. I could go on
- the Melanesian people are wonderful, friendly and gracious
- one of my best holidays ever
- it was a "significant" birthday for me while we were away and they dressed up a pavilion on the beach with pink sashes and flowers for our celebration dinner
- apart from that you could dine right beside the sea weather permitting any night of the week
- I want to go back and i hardly ever want to revisit a place I've holidayed in

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cristina023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wuhan, China
Level Contributor
205 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had seven days here, and loved it. The location right on the beach is pretty much unbeatable, but most of the wooden, thatched huts are within the garden, which presents a variety of exotic plants and trees, and birds, geckos and the odd crab (we discovered a large beach crab in our bathroom one night, and decided to leave it there). The main reason we chose Breakas was primarily its location, but also its policy of no children below the age of 15. This meant that most of the guests were middle-aged or older couples, which suited us perfectly. This is a resort for those seeking a quiet and relaxing break, although there are many activities available for all types of holidaymaker. the staff were calm, collected and a delight, and the General Manager, Pam and her husband were always available, and extremely helpful and friendly. The food served at the restaurant was exceptional, and the bar boasted a variety of beers, wines and cocktails. The accommodation, in thatched huts, was basic, but clean and well-presented. The rooms were cleaned on a daily basis, and bed linen and towels changed likewise. Large umbrellas were provided, which were very useful as we did have rainy spells throughout the week. Entertainment, such as Melanesian Evening and Polynesian Evening, was provided every day, which involved very capable singers, musicians and dancers. All in all, Breakas proved to be a real winner, and fellow guests were equally impressed with the resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarumanthewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear sarumanthewhite, Wow, what an amazing review. Thanks for your detailed feedback and it means a lot to us, especially from such a highly rated reviewer.

We are very glad you liked Vanautu and our "feet in the sand" relaxed environment here at Breakas Beach Resort.

Lukim Yu Bakegan

Salote - Gust Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed in Breakas for a week and I loved the meals, the swimming pool, to sleep and wake up hearing the sound of the sea and the birds at the same time, was a mix of beach and jungle.
Staff is great, food is really good. If you stay there you should really try the Melanesian party, drink their Kava, and also try the saturday seafood platter, unbeatable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleFSZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Michelle, thank you very much for the great review.

We are glad you tried our famous Seafood platter, its a challenge to get through it all but a wonderful must do experience whilst dining on the beach.

We so hope you come back to see us again from New Zealand

Salote - Breakas Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

stayed here for 10 days with our best friends and there is not a nicer place I have stayed. Pam (general manager) is so obliging and gracious, nothing is too much trouble. Fritz, Mantye, Pete and the rest of the staff could not do more if they tried? The food is a great blend of what you know as well as trying something new. Frita goes out of her way to organise the outings! ensuring they cater to what you want.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Verna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Verna, thank you for the beautiful review and especially for acknowledging Frita, our little superstar organiser of everything! We all try to go above and beyond to make sure you have the best experience on holiday and do as much or as little as you want.

Thank you agin

Salote - Breakas Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.1 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
1.1 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu

Property: Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Address: Pango Bay Road, Port Vila, Efate 00000, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst swaying palms fringed on it's own private beach, Breakas Beach Resort is an intimate 3.5 Star tropical resort in a 5 star location for adults only welcoming guests over the age of 15 years. Enhanced by individual garden & beachfront Fares (Bungalows), Breakas Beach Resort is the ultimate relaxed "feet in the sand" beach holiday. Slip into a world of tranquility. The Resort features a stunning 22 metre infinity pool which falls into the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. The natural beauty of a private cove on the Pango peninsular provides an unrivalled backdrop in Port Vila. Fares (Bungalows) are scattered along the shoreline and throughout manicured tropical gardens ensuring privacy, intimacy and seclusion. With spectacular views to Port Vila's best surfing beach break, the restaurant provides a unique setting for a unique dining experience. The executive chef has created one of the finest menus using fresh, local produce, seafoods and world class Santo beef and we are famous for our beachside dining with stars above and sand underfoot.... It does not get much better than this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing