We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real break at Breakas Beach Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Matakana, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A real break at Breakas Beach Resort”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Breakas has a fantastic position about 10min bus ride to town, although we walked the first morning to the market. Our room was 1 back from the beach and we literally had our feet in the sand the whole week. We loved the hammocks on the beach. The bar and beach dining has a beautiful setting and the evening entertainment is great. There is never a problem if you need something - the staff are friendly and have great attitudes. I will definately be going back to Breakas.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi Michelle, thanks for the wonderful review and glad you got your feet in the sand holiday. Overall weather has been pretty great and certainly a lot warmer than our friends are experiencing in Australia and NZ. We are only 10 mins to town by bus or taxi but we seem a lot more removed which is a nice little escape.

Thanks again and hope to see you back

Salote - Breakas Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    273
    82
    25
    18
See reviews for
77
685
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My friends and I have just returned from a week long AMAZING holiday escape at Breakas Beach Resort. I cannot recommend this resort highly enough!! It is fantastic! Located approx 10min bus ride out of Port Vila, on a beautiful beach, no kids, and the BEST staff I have ever experienced in a hotel (and I work in the travel industry so I have seen my fair share!).

Accommodation:
I stayed in a Garden Fare just set back from the beach. I love the Garden Fares as they are excellent value and enjoyed walking through the small pathways with the tree canopy above – very pretty!The rooms are very spacious, with a large comfortable king bed. There is adequate storage available in the large bathroom (a couple of coat hangers / open cupboard space) & the bathroom has an amazing outdoor shower. While there is no A/C, I did not find this to be a problem (even while trying to get ready for a wedding!), the rooms are open an airy (with the high ceiling / ceiling fan etc). I loved the fact that there was no TV (although there is one located near the dinning room should you need it), no phone, there was a hairdryer, mini fridge & safe in the room. Wifi access was generally around the pool / beach area - which provides a nice break from the 'real world'.

Staff:
The staff at Breakas... what can I say about them all... they are FANTASTIC! The staff are friendly, funny, personable and always trying to help out. I have worked in hotels and good staff with good/friendly attitudes can be hard to come by!

A HUGE special thanks to Frita (Tour Desk & General all round info star with a smile on her face all the time!), Salote (hilariously helpful & funny!) & David (number #1! Such a great guy, welcoming, polite, friendly – fun!). The staff at this resort are a huge part of the charm and why I would recommend the property to friends and family!

The staff here go above and beyond for everyone and they deserve to get so much credit for wowing guests the way they do!

FOOD / BEVERAGE
The chefs and kitchen staff do an absolutley fantastic job! The food at breakas is unbeatable! The best fresh fruit & vege - highly recommend the seafood platter night!! We tried other restaurants on the island (such as Waterfront & Chills) but nothing compared to the standard of the food, and friendly staff who delivered it! Every night there was something happening for dinner, such as a melanesian night, seafood night, french night - its all a lot of fun & usually they had a local performer singing by the pool...ahhh relaxing!
Also ask about the Energiser Smoothie at the bar - delicious!! :) :) great way to start your morning!

Thank you again for making our holiday such a fun experience! :) :) :) I will certainly be telling friends & family to stay here should they want a beautiful excape in paradise!
I will definately be back!

Thanks again,
Jen :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Jennifer, wow what an amazing review and especially love the photos. We are so glad you came back to see us again and it was a pleasure having you here.

We are printing your review out ( as we do all of them) to put in the staff room for lunch tomorrow. We get such a nice feeling to see another happy guest.

The team at Breakas try very hard to ensure people relax when they get here. Nice weather, cooling breezes, chilled cocktails and lost of swimming and sunbathing.

Certainly with you coming from the travel industry the comment about the great time you had here means a lot.

Please come and and see us soon and Fritta says a big hello!

Salote - Breakas Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed 5 nights with my partner. Had a great time, very relaxing. Lovely not to have kids splashing and squealing in the pool, just nice people having a cocktail and a leisurely dip.

We came home more relaxed than we have been in years.

Melanesian feast was great with the dancers and food, candles, cocktails and ocean. :D

Thanks to management and staff only thing missing is a fitness center.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saintly28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Saintly28

What a wonderful review and it is just music to our ears to hear you went home so relaxed. Thats a big tick in our "result achieved" box.

As much as we lovely children, isnt it great to have that child free experience for those days to just unwind, put your feet in the sand and do as much or as little as you want.

Im glad you enjoyed the Melanesian Feast. We have had a few additions to the menu lately and the dancers are special.

Tank yu Tumas long gud fella review and lukim yu bakagen

Salote - Breakas Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Just got back on Sunday. It was a great place to stay. The atmosphere was relaxed and the best bit was there were no children.
The food was good and the staff were very friendly.
I enjoyed the entertainment they provided.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank jase78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Thank you for a wonderful evening of food and dance and great service. My wife and I were staying nearby and wanted to treat ourselves on our last night in beautiful Vanuatu. And where better than here the staff were wonderful from the moment we arrived to when we left, we had pre booked table on beach .as vegetarians the choices can be limited but we enjoyed starter then both had vegetarian stack. And finished with dessert and Jamaican coffees!! It was all just perfect we will come again and even look at staying there thank you all again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomshonagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Tomshonagh

Thanks for the wonder review of your dining experience with us. We get a lot of the Pango holiday makers and locals coming and glad you dined with us.

The Special coffees are quite famous. You have to try the Toffee Twist next time you visit us. Just devine.

Thanks again for choosing Breakas and experiencing our Beachside dining, we hope to see you again soon.

Salote - Breakas Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We chose Breakas over a Holiday Inn or Le Legon type property hoping it would not be a cookie cutter resort filled with misbehaved kids screaming around the pool, and in that respect our expectations were met. There is a laid back island beach fare resort feel and while it is certainly in a beautiful setting, we left Breakas feeling it had seen better days.

With a freshen up of the rooms and public areas, this could be a really great basic beach resort. The staff clearly try hard but they need to be provided with the tools, and given one of the first conversations we had with a staff member at dinner was about the hotel being in receivership, I guess a makeover is not on the cards any time soon.

Minor issues we had with a faulty ceiling fan and not very thorough cleaning were addressed and resolved promptly. However the one dinner we had on the evening of our arrival and our first breakfast was of poor quality so we chose to eat elsewhere. In fairness, despite trying 5 other top rated restaurants in Port Vila most were below average.

Although Breakas is a little out of town, buses are readily available and cheap at less than AUS$2 and a fun way to get around. There is a supermarket 5 minutes by bus from Breakas where we stocked up with snacks, water and mixers for our duty free. The bar was happy to provide ice, and the mini bar fridge kept our drinks cold.

Our airport transfer (organised by Breakas but provided by a third party) was not there to meet us. Turns out that our change of flights was not recorded in the booking (not Breakas fault). No big deal as we got a cab. Rates are fixed and posted on a sign at the front of the terminal. I would suggest just taking a taxi, its easy and certainly a fun way to get around. There was also a mix up with our room on arrival. We were allocated a garden fare despite changing our booking from garden to ocean view a month or so before our arrival. I would suggest reconfirming any changes you make to your travel plans or bookings just to be on the safe side.

Room Tip: An ocean view fare is worth the extra $ for the ocean breeze alone as there is no A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear ben,

thanks very much for your review. We always appreciate guests different viewpoints.

We were a little surprised to hear your comments about the food in general in Vanuatu as the Vanautu Cuisine is generally as amongst the best int he Pacific, certainly we are very proud of the feedback we get for our restaurant with exceptional fresh local produce and ingredients from our kitchen direct to your plate :-)

Thanks again and do hope to see you back

Tropical regards

Salote - Breakas Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed at Le Lagon and visited Breakas beach resort for dinner as... who can pass up eating on a beach with sand at your feet!?
When we arrived we were escorted to our table on the beach. It was extremely windy at first which was a bit annoying as our candle light was going out but one of the best waiters i've ever experienced gave us his PHONE as a torchlight whilst he tried to sort out the problem for us. Amazing! That would never happen in Sydney.
After about 10 minutes or so we had ordered and chatted to the waiter. The wind dropped off significantly.
We had a beautiful meal of spaghetti marinara which was absolutely DIVINE and some amazing crumbed chicken with red wine jus.

Highly recommend the ambience here and dining. Definitely worth coming just to check out the resort and definitely eat the food.
Waiter/waitress were extremely grateful that we came and visited for dinner even though we weren't from the resort and this made us feel even better. Great staff and a great location for dining.
It's about 10 minutes further down the road from Le Lagon. About 15 mins to town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kozza44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Public Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Kozza44

thanks for the wonderful review for our restaurant and food. I have printed it out for our restaurant team to look at.

We are very proud of it. Thanks for choosing us, there are a lot of dining choices in Vanuatu but like to think our beachside is just that little bit different with sand underfoot and the stars about metres from the ocean.

Please come back see us soon

Salote - Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.1 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,448 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
652 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
469 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 47 in Port Vila
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu

Property: Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Address: Pango Bay Road, Port Vila, Efate 00000, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst swaying palms fringed on it's own private beach, Breakas Beach Resort is an intimate 3.5 Star tropical resort in a 5 star location for adults only welcoming guests over the age of 15 years. Enhanced by individual garden & beachfront Fares (Bungalows), Breakas Beach Resort is the ultimate relaxed "feet in the sand" beach holiday. Slip into a world of tranquility. The Resort features a stunning 22 metre infinity pool which falls into the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. The natural beauty of a private cove on the Pango peninsular provides an unrivalled backdrop in Port Vila. Fares (Bungalows) are scattered along the shoreline and throughout manicured tropical gardens ensuring privacy, intimacy and seclusion. With spectacular views to Port Vila's best surfing beach break, the restaurant provides a unique setting for a unique dining experience. The executive chef has created one of the finest menus using fresh, local produce, seafoods and world class Santo beef and we are famous for our beachside dining with stars above and sand underfoot.... It does not get much better than this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing