We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing; perfect Holiday place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing; perfect Holiday place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed at the Breakas Beach Resort for 14 nights in June and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The bungalows were very clean and comfortable and contained everything we needed. The furnishings were lovely and the rooms were large. We really liked the bathroom with the open shower.

The food was outstanding and the menu quite large so we could have something different every night. The meal prices are similar to New Zealand prices so plan that into your budget. Our breakfast was included and was delicious.

The setting is really beautiful. The only thing is, that snorkelling and swimming is just possible by high tide and there are not a lot of coral's. If you go out, the current is just to strong. We would have preferred a better snorkelling beach. There were kayaks (all in good working order) which we loved using.

Breakas Beach Resort is a little out of the way from Port Vila but there are buses, so no problem.

Thanks Breakas Management (specially Isaac) and Staff. We had a perfect time with you!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank romada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Romada,

thanks for choosing Breakas for your two week stay in Vanuatu. We know there is a lot of choice out there so thanks for choosing us!.

Especially happy you enjoyed our restaurant, the chefs are trying new blackboard specials everyday on top of our large al la carte selection. We strive for the tastiest meals, large portions and great pricing which we think we do well. Having the freshest local produce helps us a lot as well.

Thanks again and we hope to see you back again soon.

Salote - Breakas Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    267
    77
    25
    18
See reviews for
74
664
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

My husband and I spent 7 days at Breakas Resort in June and had a fantastic time. The resort is beautiful and the staff are all so friendly and will go out of their way to help you. The pool is stunning with the restaurant and bar surrounding. The food was beautiful and we could have happily ate there every night. We stayed in the garden fare and thought it was great, even with no air con the rooms were cool and were cleaned daily. This is a great place to get away for a romantic holiday for 2 and would also be great with a group of friends as there is lots to do. All activities can be booked at the reception and the staff are very knowledgeable and will recommend activities that suit your interests. We had a blast and definitely recommend to stay at Breakas - we will hopefully get the chance to return in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Sam,

thanks for the wonderful review and so very glad you had a great time with us.

We hope to see you and your husband come back and stay again with us soon. Thanks also for the great photos you uploaded!

Salote - Breakas Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra AUS
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Breakas sits on an actual sandy cove at north corner of Pango beach, one of the few places to find sand on Efate and it offers some protection from the S-E trade wind. Yet the sand doesn't extend into the shallow lagoon, and when the tide recedes it exposes unattractive rock and dead coral. At high tide, its fine for complimentary kayaks, but swimming is too shallow and snorkelling out to the drop off is only for the experienced. The resort building is modern and appealing and we found the staff friendly and professional. Dinners were top quality but pricey, buffet breakfast was blasé. Unfortunately, the quaint fare accommodation isn't up to the $ tariff. Ours was dark and the fit-out is dated, with frayed bath linen, exposed plumbing and the bed sagged somewhat. In fact, I found our beach fare uninviting and sub-consciously hovered outdoors to the sun lounges. Hence, the garden fare's would be much better value. Separate Breakas beach café next door has free wifi. Vanuatu is an interesting developing nation and the locals are lovely, but don't expect a glitzy island paradise.

Room Tip: Garden fares are better value than the beach fares. Neither would be appealing, so why pay the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelabit_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Travelabit_10

thank you for choosing to stay with us and Visit Vanuatu. We agree that like most beachfront properties we have high and low tides. Low tide makes for the great reef tour, higher tides for swimming and kayaking and on any tide out very popular snorkelling on the reef. We like to think there is something for everyone.

Thanks again for the review

Salote - Breakas Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We spent 7 nights at Breakas and it was fantastic.... we wer there for my sisters birthday.
The staff is very freindly and attentive to our needs.
Frita who works at the tour desk was very helpfull and an absolutely beautiful person.
Food was great ....
Nice rooms; just lighting a little dull....
thoroughly enjoyed our stay... would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are good say room in there 20's.... near the ocean can get a bit loud at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rita b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear rita b

thank you for the amazing review. Very glad you had a great time relaxing in the sun at our little piece of paradise.

Friita is our little superstar!

Hope to see you back again and thanks for taking the time to send a nice review.

Salote - Breakas Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waipawa, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This place is amazing it is exactly like the travel site said, the service was great the food was great and I can't wait to go back again, the only negative was a hard bed but tolerable, you could go alone or with friends as everyone was so friendly,

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate1963Nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hi Kate1963Nz

thanks so much for the wonderful review and very glad you had a great time. We pride ourselves our genuine warm friendly smiles as is the norm in most of our island nation where visitors are welcomed.

Glad to hear you will be back to see us again, don't wait too long!

Salote - Breakas Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at Breakas and it wasn't for us. Booking was mixed up, checkin was cold with little interest. The fares are fine and the bed comfortable but they are long overdue for an overhaul or at least a thorough clean. Melanesian night was fun and the food really good. It was spoiled for bus by other drunk guests who had no respect for out hosts or other guests but that was no fault of the resort. Breakfast was ok and we only had a couple if snacks which were expensive for what they were. Not a swimming beach so be warned but the pool was clean and warm. The bar staff were our favorites, much friendlier than the GM who could be overheard publicly reprimanding staff. If you are on a hens or bucks or even a group trip Breakas would be fine but as a couple who are quite well travelled it wasn't for us. I wish the staff the very best, they try super hard.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank goldie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
HI goldie01

Thank you for the review. We are sorry to hear your Breakas experience was not to your liking.

Your comments are general at odds to most reviews we have but with review websites everyone is allowed an opinion and we respect them all :-)

We have extremely well travelled guests from all over the world stay with us so we strive to meet everyones expectations equally. We are definitely not your everyday large concrete box resort as many of our guests point out and like about us and in hindsight we were probably not the resort for you.

We certainly hope Vanuatu was to your liking and that you continue to come back to our home and experience all of the incredible experiences it has to offer.

Thanks again for the review

Salote - Breaks Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

This hotel provided an excellent romantic getaway for me and my girlfriend.
The staff was always friendly and helpful. The food was delicious. And the rooms were beautiful and clean.
Could really not have asked for more.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niconorsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 4 November 2015
Dear niconorsk,

thank you for taking the time and effort to share you review with us all,

It is always great to read that you have experienced the tropical romance that always surrounds the whole destination.

looking forward to being able to welcoming you back in the future.

Tank yiu tumas

Frita Breakas Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.1 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 48 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 48 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
1.1 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu

Property: Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Address: Pango Bay Road, Port Vila, Efate 00000, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst swaying palms fringed on it's own private beach, Breakas Beach Resort is an intimate 3.5 Star tropical resort in a 5 star location for adults only welcoming guests over the age of 15 years. Enhanced by individual garden & beachfront Fares (Bungalows), Breakas Beach Resort is the ultimate relaxed "feet in the sand" beach holiday. Slip into a world of tranquility. The Resort features a stunning 22 metre infinity pool which falls into the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. The natural beauty of a private cove on the Pango peninsular provides an unrivalled backdrop in Port Vila. Fares (Bungalows) are scattered along the shoreline and throughout manicured tropical gardens ensuring privacy, intimacy and seclusion. With spectacular views to Port Vila's best surfing beach break, the restaurant provides a unique setting for a unique dining experience. The executive chef has created one of the finest menus using fresh, local produce, seafoods and world class Santo beef and we are famous for our beachside dining with stars above and sand underfoot.... It does not get much better than this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing