We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun on a Friday night in Port Vila”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Anchor Inn

Anchor Inn
Ranked #41 of 87 Restaurants in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$24
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Steakhouse, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, View, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: A sensational location right on the harbour in Port Vila. It is where the locals and visitors meet for a cold Tusker , a glass of wine or a meal and a coffee, watch the sunset, and listen to live music. If that's not enough to wet your appetite then check out the live sport on 5 sports channels showing all the best in international sport. See you at The Anchor
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great fun on a Friday night in Port Vila”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We had been to the Anchor Inn during the day but it was nothing special. However we walked past on a Friday night and it was pumping! There was a live band who were fabulous. The happy hour drinks were from 6 to 7 pm which is an hour later than anywhere else so really suited us. We couldn't get a seat but were happy to stand and have a lovely glass of wine and listen to the band - fun night!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joghols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    65
    28
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Try the lobster”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

We came for the lobster. Had heard it was half price of anywhere else.

Arrived just before sunset. Magnificent view, the beer was cold and it was happy hour. And the lobster! 2 kg for two people, very nice chips and salad. $55 - great value and tasted good. Service was very good and friendly. Would recommend it to anyone

Helpful?
2 Thank Per D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good for a drink but NOT food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Beautiful place to have a beer and overlook the harbour. We did this one afternoon and enjoyed it so much we decided to come back for dinner. Arrived early with our 18 month old. No high chairs. Sat down and people at the next table started smoking. I understand this is acceptable there but I am clearly pregnant and we clearly had toddler with us. So we moved. Fruit punch and cocktail delivered to the table and were very good. We quickly ordered dinner as daughter was hungry. 40 mins later we followed it up with the friendly waitress as we could see the chef cooking and preparing but nothing was being delivered. 45 mins later the meals arrived. The deck was a good open place for daughter to run around while we waited and the toilets are nice and clean. My meal was average - fish fillet with a nice sauce, chips and salad. My husband's was terrible. It was so small it would not even have filled up our daughter. Chicken schnitzel with chips and gravy - was a few strips of extremely thin crumbed chicken. We could not understand why these simple meals took so long, esp as for the first 30 mins there were no other orders. At $30AUD for the two yes they were cheap but hardly worth what you got. We were going to stay for the band that was playing but after the disappointment of dinner we left straight away. Don't waste your time and money eating here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Naomilovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
753 reviews
297 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Wow, what a location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

We were in port Vila for 3 nights and stayed at the casino, at the other end of the Main Street, but still visited here twice. After the walk down the Main Street, taking in the sights, we stopped in for a drink and a meal. The views across the bay are amazing, and when a cruise ship is in port this is a great site. The bar overlooks the bay and you could sit there all day and enjoy the views. We had a number of ice cold beers here and a burger meal which was basic but enjoyable. Table service is quick and efficient. The only set back for us, as was the case in most areas of port Vila, is smoking is permitted in the bar area. Although not comfortable with this being a non smoker it was tolerable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tryatleastonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

A perfect place to have a couple of Tusker beers after some duty free shopping in the main st of Port Vila.
The deck looks straight out over the bay

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Setep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Anchor Inn also viewed

 

Been to Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing