We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a good place.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anchor Inn

Anchor Inn
Ranked #43 of 87 Restaurants in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$24
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Steakhouse, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: A sensational location right on the harbour in Port Vila. It is where the locals and visitors meet for a cold Tusker , a glass of wine or a meal and a coffee, watch the sunset, and listen to live music. If that's not enough to wet your appetite then check out the live sport on 5 sports channels showing all the best in international sport. See you at The Anchor
Blue Mountains, Australia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“It's a good place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Great staff, very good cold draught Tusker, the food is just what you want in what is basically just a small pub. For the Aussies, there is sports on the TV's, the place is just a buzz if Aust v NZ in Rugby! Even been there for the Melbourne Cup! What a day!!! But best of all a drink at sunset looking out over the bay, just a great place. Looking forward to visiting again in October.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TimberBlueMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    65
    27
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
413 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Lunch with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stopped once here for lunch while in Port Vila and really enjoyed it. Had a nice view over the harbour and the food was good. The atmosphere is very laid back and relaxing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BackinBracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shellharbour, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good food, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely lunch on a Sunday afternoon. We ordered nachos and chicken schnitzel. The service was very quick and the food was good. The serving size of the nachos was great but the chicken schnitzel was a little small for our 14 yo son.
It's basic flavoursome food. The place is clean, the staff are friendly and there's free wifi.

Helpful?
1 Thank LyNeTtE29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
216 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Clean toliets, great view and free wifi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

My partner and I were looking for a place to have lunch while we were in Vanuatu for the day. I recommend having lunch at this place as it has clean toilets (not always that easy to find in Vanuatu) and a great view that looks out onto the water.

The menu is pretty good and I ordered a "KFC" dish. This was suprisingly quite good and the chicken was nicely seasoned. The food here is reasonably basic but tasty.

While you are here you can take advantage of the free wifi to catch up on what is happening back home.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Go for the view, the cold Tuskers and the LOBSTER!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We had a great time at The Anchor Inn and visited twice. The atmosphere is really relaxed, and the staff friendly and helpful.
They provide free wi-fi so long as you buy a drink or food, and the view over the ocean towards Irririki Island was very soothing. We stayed for a couple of Tuskers, and chatted to J.B., one of the Port Vila locals who was really helpful with ideas on what to see and where to go.
We only looked at the food menu that first visit, but decided to come back to try the whole 1kg Lobster for 3,000 vt. It was so worth it, and a highlight of our trip.
You can order either mornay or grilled in garlic butter, and if you want order a 2kg or 3kg Lobster, depending on the day's catch.
We didn't go on a Friday night or when the cruise ship was in, when apparently it gets really busy and 'goes off' but we were really happy with our experience there, and strongly recommend a drop-in for a cold drink at least.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JodeeBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Anchor Inn also viewed

 

Been to Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing