We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stopped by for lunch....”

Aquana Beach Resort
Ranked #37 of 87 Restaurants in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$31
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Dining at Aquana is an experience for your senses. Besides fresh mouth watering seafood, we offer tender beef/lamb and not to mention our Sunday Brunches, filled with fresh local produce. Our menu is crafted regularly and always full of new fresh dishes. You are able to dine directly on the beach under shady coconut palms, pool or restaurant. You are invited to spend the day, relax on the beautiful sandy beaches before/ after your meal.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“stopped by for lunch....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stopped by for a pleasant lunch as a break from 2000 other cruise boat passengers... Seemed like a pleasant place, kinda small but perfectly formed.... Kids meals were excellent- ours ok, as there was a little mix up which was compensated...

Would be interested in returning for 3 or 4 days sometime for a bit more of a look around...

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank themossfamily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    17
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Port-Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Vanuatu's best kept secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Aquana's restaurant has to be one of Vanuatu's best kept secrets when it comes to fine dining!

I've had the pleasure of enjoying this fine restaurant over the last 4 years and think it's about time I said something about the amazing food, location and atmosphere. Aquana has not disappointed in any way and is one of the few restaurants I know that constantly works to update their menu, listen to their customers and are flexible enough with their menu to cater for your tastes or any special needs/requests that you may have.

The Chef at Aquana has to be amongst the best, if not the best in the Pacific! He is constantly working to improve the menu and the fact that we see more and more of the expat community here in Vila eating at Aquana almost every weekend is testament to the great work that is going on there. We love the fact that the kids can come and enjoy their time at Aquana with the full nanny service even for dining guests and we get to indulge in the scrumptious food.

The staff at Aquana are very friendly and the nannies do amazing work with the kids. We're often there on the weekends and there is always live music to enjoy whilst relaxing and enjoying our meals and I also had the opportunity to have dinner there during the week where they had a fire show at dinner so we sat at tables on the beach under the stars and enjoyed the amazing show and meal. I believe they usually have something organised just about every night.

We've spent the last 3 weeks traveling to Fiji, Hawaii & Los Angeles and I can say without a doubt that the food at Aquana far exceeds anything else we've tried at all 3 other places. Aquana is a must if you're in Vila!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ewhippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Working our way through the Menu!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We recently had the pleasure of staying at Aquana Beach Resort with our two children for 9 nights. During that time, three of us did our best to make our way through the extensive menu, and what fun we had doing it!! Every meal was preceded with a different complementary amuse bouche, a great opportunity to try something new! We would be hard picked to choose our favourites, the 11 year old repeatedly went back to the rice paper rolls, which were divine... the husbands pick would be the hot chicken curry, and I would have to say my favourite would be the Aquana Beach Side Platter, with potato rosti, poulet fish, and the most divine crispy topping, yum! Marcel cooks everything with organic coconut oil, which made everything crisp and delicious (and good for you apparently...). We started off determined to make our way through the desert menu as well, unfortunately only tried 3 as were so full, but each was delicious, creme brûlée, chocolate coconut eclairs, and the banana crepes.

The service was so warm and friendly, and the whole resort had the most laid back and relaxing feel to it. Awesome place to go for a nice lazy lunch or relaxing dinner, with awesome food!

In 9 days, we only had one issue with the food, and that was with the poached eggs for breakfast and on the Fried Rice at dinner. It was very rare to get a nice runny centre, which is what we love most about Poached Eggs... small issue though!

We highly recommend Aquana Beach Resort, and hey, if the Prime Minister of Vanuatu is a regular, it must be pretty darn good!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kiwikelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxation and Children can mix”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

This is my second time back to this little resort and have left even more impressed than the first time, 12 months ago. Possibly the best Steak Tartare in my life. If you are in Port Villa this is a must do destination. Now if you have children it only gets better as the staff there look after them while you eat and enjoy the great drinks on offer, plenty for them do to and I can see why even the locals recommend this place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank soundman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, NZ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Food & Wonderful Staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

My family and I have recently moved to Vanuatu and although we have holidayed here for many years we now find living here that we are finding many hidden restaurant gems!
Aquana was recommended to me by a fellow ex-pat friend, she had been here for lunch on the Sunday prior with her family.

We are so pleased that Abi told us about this place....Aquana has to be one of the best restaurants we have been to in Vanuatu to date...not only was the food amazing but the staff and service was fantastic!

Marcel, owner and chef, made us feel very welcome on arrival, as did his wonderful staff who swept our children away to enjoy the grounds (including trampoline),beach, pool and kids area where they enjoyed arts and crafts and watched a movie, leaving us adults to enjoy the view and cocktails!

The menu was extensive and we found it hard to choose from the many options which is always great because we can now go back! The children's menu was also extensive with something for everyone's taste.

My husband was away working so was unable to experience this great place, but luckily for us we live only 15 minutes drive away so I can see it will be a regular eating place for us in the future.

Thanks so much Marcel and team! See you again soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClaireBushell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aquana Beach Resort also viewed

 
Port Vila, Efate
 

Been to Aquana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing