We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elan - CLOSED

Elan
Price range: US$9 - US$27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Elan is a unique dining experience in Vanuatu. A restaurant purpose built by the owners to offer elegant island style dining. The restaurant is situated on the beach overlooking beautiful aqua waters and enjoys the best sunsets in Port Vila. Elans fresh and authentic menus are inspired by the classics - French, Italian, Asian, Mediterranean and the flavors' of the Pacific. We pride ourselves on sourcing as much of the freshest locally grown produce as possible, including we believe and our customers agree the best free range grass fed beef in the world. Elan was chosen to host the only Royal Dinner for HRH Princess Anne's visit to Vanuatu in October 2014. Open: 5pm Wednesday to Saturdays.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Ate at Elan tonight, most fabulous meal, beautiful wine, and the hosts are the best, tuna carpaccio bu

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    52
    19
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
nz
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Really Great Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Visited here for lunch on the recommendation of our resort after a tour and were very glad we did.

Very friendly hosts, excellent staff and the meals were top notch.

Good wine selection and brilliant spot to watch the ocean, literally water lapping against the restaurant.

Nothing was too much trouble and the hosts organised a taxi for us when we were ready to head back to Breakas.

Thanks team. Well worth it.

Helpful?
Thank Glen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere & View”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Based on Trip Adviser, we ventured out to Elan for dinner.
The atmosphere is gorgeous and we were seated on the balcony with the best view.
The food was quite nice, my banana leaf fish was very tasty. My husband was served fish that was tough and rubbery. The staff firstly told him that was what it was supposed to be, but then the managers came to look and offered to take back to the kitchen. They apologised that the chef used the tail of the poulet and cooked a fresh piece of fish. This one was much nicer and the apology and actions helped save the experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We visited Élan twice on our stay, the second time on our last night because we had previously enjoyed it so much. The food was beautifully presented, excellent quality and the service was warm and welcoming. We were remembered from our first visit and treated like royalty.

The Atmosphere at Élan is tranquil and romantic. I definitely rate this as one of my favourite experiences on our holiday!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bianca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good service. Fabulous setting. Disappointing food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

The service was great, and the setting absolutely stunning. We arrived just before sunset, which we'd really recommend as you can see the stunning view, right on the water. We were expecting great things from this place, having heard some great reviews. However, for the price the food was really very average. Such a shame as the setting is truly unique.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SarahGBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elan also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing