We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for our holiday!”
Review of Nasama Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nasama Resort
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ideal for our holiday!”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Firstly, this was our first trip overseas as a family (2 adults, 10 yr old & 6 yr old) so we were not too sure what to expect. I'll start with the Pro's and then follow with the Con's. Pro's - great location as only a short drive to Port Villa with the local bus which cost 1.5V (1V for kids). Staff are friendly and helpful but in a relaxed 'Vanuatu' manner so dont expect superior service. Resort was quiet most times, however did have to remind other guests on 2 occassions that children are trying to sleep so it would be nice if they could keep the noise down (which they did). You feel very safe due to daily/nightly security present and I was more than happy for the kids to play on the private beach on their own. Some food items are available to purchase in the front office and the staff will help you get a bus and share suggestions on places to visit. The resort is still under construction and we would see the workmen daily but you could hardly hear them. Once the entire resort is finished, I think it will be a lovely place to visit. Its close to the local villages so you have an opportunity to mingle with the locals if you wish to. Breakers Resort is a 10 min walk if you want a restaurant to eat at one night, however apparently they do not allow kids under 15 - they did not stop us from dining there one night. The Warrick - Le Lagoon is on the other side of Nasama but is a much bigger resort but their meals are so overpriced that we only ate their once. You are better off buying some local meat or fish at the near by supermarket (or the French supermarket called Leaders Price), which is SO cheap and mouth watering and fresh veggies/fruit from the Port Villa markets (now that is an experience in itself!!) and having a BBQ in the Nasama BBQ area! We did that 3 times with some families that we met at Namasa & Breakers and had a great & relaxing time. Other times we ate at local restaurannts but their menus are so bland it was not worth it! I dont want to see another french fry in a long time! Other guest may have heard barking dogs overnight however we didnt - only the occasional village dog barking in the morning but it did not bother us. The beds are really comfortable and do are the pillows so a good nights sleep was had by all. Con's - On arrival the roll out bed for my son did not have a quilt cover and as we noticed this after the front office had closed for the night, we had to ask the security staff to locate a quilt for us. They did so after 1/2 hour or so. For 2 days we had very limited hot water so we contacted Amanda (Office manager) & resort staff who advised us that this was due to the new solar system and they were still trying to work out how to use it. Did it ruin our holiday? - No but not the best conditions after a full day out snorkeling! I had to ask for our towels to be changed after day 4 as this was not done. The kitchen has everything you need however the Studio rooms are so cheaply made that cupboards doors were falling off and drawers would not close. Staff did notice this 3-4 days in and fixed them. The kitchen utencils are of the cheaper variety and considering the hotel is new, these will not last much longer before they need to be replaced but it was adequate for our stay. The website claims that the Studio room sleeps 4 which is does, very compactly, however their is nowhere for 4 people to sit to eat together. Two of you can fit on the small couch and two can sit on the patio chairs or you can sit on one of the beds. They should think about adding a further 2 chairs to the patio or some bar stools in the room itself. Once again, did it ruin our holiday - no as we spent most time travelling, but I would not book such a small room again. I think the price we paid ($245 p/night) was expensive for what they offer and considering they were advertising a 40% discount for August that we did not quality for as we booked in May, I would certainly research other sites for a better price or ask Nasama themselves for a discounted rate to obtain your business. Lastly, I wanted to wash a few of the kids clothes just before we left. The laundry rooms located outside of our apartment were filthy and full of buliding materials and other cleaning products which looked like they were dumped their in a hurry. Their was washing powder everywhere and in the end I needed a staff member to help me as 2 of the machines were full with towels and the other free one was not working. The staff member ended up taking our washing away and arranged to do it for me. Overall, Nasama is a good place to stay especially if used as a base to sleep after a day travelling around this beautiful country and for a day relaxing by the pool. Once finished I think it will attract more people. We would return but we would book a one bedroom apartment on the ground level if we could not get a cheaper price elsewhere.

Room Tip: If travelling with children, choose a down stairs room so you are not having to walk up and down sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Familyholidayers_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Manager at Nasama Resort, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Good afternoon and thank you for your review!

We are really pleased that you loved your stay in Vanuatu. I will make sure that all your observation points are taken into consideration, I have already discussed them with the team.
We are finishing to improve our solar panel system for the comfort of our guests, and reviewing the housekeeping daily checklist. We are also replacing, in a few days the cafe table of the studio for high dining table and a set of chairs for a better dining experience.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Vanuatu in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    184
    35
    3
    0
See reviews for
167
208
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this nice new resort. Although not completely finished it offers lovely self contained rooms with well equipped kitchens, king beds and a balcony overlooking Erakor Lagoon.It has a lovely pool area and a man made beach with a rock pool in the sea.It is in a great location with easy access to the town 10 mins by bus and the Nambatu supermarket for supplies - 5 mins. The staff are very helpful and friendly, but I would recommend organising your own airport transfer, theirs is expensive.

Room Tip: All are good, studios are closer to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank barry1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We travelled with two kids aged 1 and 4 and stayed in a studio apartment. The apartment is brand new, spacious, clean and serviced daily. The kitchen was well equipped with everything and more of what we needed to cook! We had a fabulous view of the ocean and the pool. We felt like we good a very good deal for only $147 a night!! There is still some work going on at the resort as it only opened in March but nothing too noisy at all while we were staying there. We didn't find the nights to be noisy there at all - actually the only thing we heard in the were the waves coming in which was beautiful! The staff was really friendly and welcoming. We even got to meet the owner, who was very down to earth and came over for a chat while we were sitting outside. Location is good, not too far out of town, buses are only 150 vatu per adult to go into town and come past all the time. Erakor Island is also very closeby and we found it to be great for us and the kids. we would love to go back to Nasama one day - Thank you!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HannahTimOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

First week of our holiday spent here in an upstairs 2-bedroom unit. Staff are very friendly and made us feel welcome. Units are clean and spacious with semi-ocean views and good kitchen facilities. Quite noisy at night though with dogs barking and chickens crowing in the wee hours of the morning. Landscaping is at a minimum and smoke from the neighbors next door and all around the resort over whelming. No restaurant on site but there is a lovely resort Breakas within walking distance with nice ambience and good food. Shower ran hot & cold and mostly cold after 5 minutes. Owner was a bit apathetic towards guests as was the front office. Don't drink the water from the tap as it will make you ill.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank singaporestace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed with friends for 7 days in a 2 bedroom unit, the units had everything we needed to look after ourselves in style,except a hair dryer, they are having a few teething problems with the hot water and some dodgy plumbing. If you're staying in the units on the left hand side take ear plugs as the next door neighbours have a pack of dogs that startup a chorus at 10pm and don't let up until the roosters chime in at 4 am,
On the up side the pool is stunning with great sun lounges and the view and staff are lovely.nothing is to much trouble.
Its easy to get to town or anywhere else via a "Bus" @150vt per person. the BBQ area is well set up and kept clean.The rock pool is a miniature wonderland with lots of fish and starting to establish aquatic plants,
Even with building still in progress the site is beautifully maintained
We purchased our stay at 40% discount and feel we got a bargin.
Helen T

Room Tip: Request a unit on the right hand side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HelenNT45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We loved Nasama. As others have said the resort is near new and the rooms are fully decked out with quality furnishings and appliances.
We had a studio room and it was spacious and really comfortable. Our balcony looked out onto the ocean.
The resort is located about 10 minutes from town by 'bus' (a 'bus' in vanuatu is basically what we call a taxi-van). The busses are always driving around so we never waited more than 5 minutes for one. The fare is $1.50 one way for each person anywhere around the central town area.
The resort has a nice pool and they have made a nice beach area.
The reception desk is open all day and they helped us book all our tours.
Ashley really helped us out by securing us a spot on a Volcano tour that had been fully booked out, we were really thankful to her for that because we wouldn't have been able to do the tour otherwise!

One important thing!! We asked for airport transfers for when we arrived but did not realise it would cost $42 one way!
It is way cheaper to get a taxi or 'bus' (around $15-$20)

Overall we had an amazing time and really loved the country and the people of Vanuatu.
Would love to go there again and experience even more!!

Room Tip: The rooms are all pretty similar but the ones closest to the ocean are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

A family of three we stayed a week in studio apartment and never disappointed with our choice. Had no problems with a big enough studio room. Well equipped with everything you might need. Appliances were near new and working fine.
Fully agree with the other people mentioned location, views, friendliness etc. nothing to add. It was great!
The only suggestion will be mosquito nets on the side wall window (109) and may be in bathroom as well. That will eliminate need of the aircon running at night.
We'll come back there again. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OneCat76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.7 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,485 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
665 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
0.6 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 47 in Port Vila
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nasama Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nasama Resort

Property: Nasama Resort
Address: Pango Road | PO Box 1035, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nasama Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in April 2012, Nasama Resort is a serviced apartment complex that offers deluxe self-contained beachfront accommodation. Its location oceanfront in the southwest corner of Efate Island puts it in the path of cooling trade winds in the summer months. Just 10 minutes from Port Vila town centre, it is on Pango Road which is a tar sealed road with easy access to public transport. Every apartment is decorated with style and has its own veranda for guests to relax and enjoy the beautiful sunrises and panoramic ocean views. It offers the convenience of a fully equipped kitchen, air conditioner, fan, TV/iPod dock and free wireless internet. Select from 3 types of apartments: studio apartments sleep up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 1 child; deluxe-on-the-water one bedroom apartments sleep up to 2 adults and one child; and spacious two bedroom apartments sleep up to six people. On the grounds of the resort is a beautiful infinity pool and children’s pool leading to a sandy beach with a natural rock pool in the ocean for safe swimming. Covered barbecue facilities offer an alternative to in-room dining. Guests can have fun in our complimentary kayaks, swimming, snorkeling or simply relaxing and soaking up the sun by the pool or on the beach. Reception can also advise and book guests on any of the 40 tours and activities offered in Vanuatu. Surfers will be pleased to know that there is surfing just 5 minutes up the road at Breakas beach. For those in need of pampering, we offer soothing massages to the sound of waves at our beach massage fare. Nasama Resort's own restaurant, Cafe Vila & Bar, was recently opened in December 2014 and is already acquiring a reputation for its wonderful ambiance and delicious meals. It is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner with brunch on offer till 3:00 pm on Saturdays and Sundays. Happy Hour at the bar is from 5:30 pm to 6:30 pm daily, extended to 7:00 pm on Fridays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nasama Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nasama Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing