We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Family Holiday Location”
Review of Nasama Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nasama Resort
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This review is overdue, we stayed here in July for 1 week. My husband and 2 sons, 3 and 1 year old.
The unit was clean, simple but beautiful and welcoming with a couple of nice touches to settle in, fresh coffee from Tanna, milk and kitchen basics. The cot was set up all ready to go for the little one (free of charge) that was awesome. We had a small plumbing problem when we arrived but it was sorted straight way and we were also offered the chance to move but we had already unpacked evrything so just stayed put which was fine once the leak was sorted :) the only other thing we had to request was an extra mat to prevent the boys from slipping over on the tiled foor in the main living area. We were on the ground level and had a nice view of the beach from our little courtyard which offers a little privacy from the neighbours, you must take a pair of flipflops or reef shoes for children as the shell/coral ground cover is horrible underfoot and the kids just couldnt manage to walk barefoot anywhere around the resort let alone myself.
The pool is lovely for adults and kids, as is the man made lagoon and the bbq area all great areas to hang out with the whole family. You can use the kayaks free and take a little look around, highly reccommend this activity.
We spent most of our days out and about exploring the Island and only 1 day at the resort relaxing which is great for just that! Evenings at the resort were mellow and peaceful around the bbq and back at the unit we could sit outside and listen to the ocean with our cocktails just how we like it :)
The kitchen utensils could be upgraded, a few of the utensils where cheap and just useless not the best but i managed. The units could also do with a table or at least a couple of stools at the bar end to eat at as there is no where to sit down for a meal. Perhaps there are bar stools now though?
Our room was serviced every day, fresh towels, room swept out mopped etc... Perfect!!
The location is great, you can get the bus right out front just wave your hand out and they are passing all the time we only ever waited a minute or two. To get to Port Villa, the supermarket or surrounding areas its 150V and the boys were free, so easy getting arround! Everyone is super helpful, i had 1 day on my own with my 2 boys a pushcahir and a backpack and everyone i encountered was more than happy to help me on/off the bus and getting around.
The Nivan staff were amazing, what lovely people! Dan who was one of the staff was so helpful and friendly it was nice to chat with him and get local insight about the area and culture :) Tahnks Dan!
Oh and i have to mention the babysitting service, Stephanie looked after our 2 boys for a few hours one night so we could go out. She was great! Our boys loved her and her daughter who came with her as well (Both NiVan and just gorgeous people!) When we got back the boys were tucked up fast asleep (the first early night since we had arrived) and the place was immaculate! What a treat!
Over all i wonderful holiday and wonderful place!
We will come back for our next holiday and look forward to seeing the finished resort!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

460 - 466 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2012

To start with, we booked this holiday through Expedia. They were a NIGHTMARE to deal with. Do not book a holiday with them, ever. We wanted to upgrade and got several different quotes from Expedia but ended up not booking with them and just upgraded through the hotel directly.

CONS
Although this is 'new' resort, it basically means it's not finished. The gardens are not 'lush and tropical, but rather small, dry and not completed. There is building site, rubbish and materials next to the apartment, they are continually building a new one. I sure when it's finished it will be nice but until then it really should be honest about it upon booking.

My son swam in the pool and got out with blue knees and feet from the paint stripping off the bottom. Not sure what they will do to fix this except empty and reseal.

The windows have no covers so we got eaten alive by mosquitos at night or had to keep the windows closed, even in the hot. This was, however, fixed during our stay on three windows and I suppose they will all have covers eventually.

The private property next door has dogs that bark and fight all night and roosters that crow from 4am.

In an apartment for four you really need more than four of everything in the kitchen. Maybe a couple more tea cups, salad bowls or serving plates.

Pros - The apartments are beautiful, very clean and new and very spacious

Its quiet but located very close to town so when you dont feel like cooking you can pop in to a restaurant

The staff were really helpful and the owner was keen to sort out our issues.
The pools and beach are great plus it's private and not too big

Despite the Cons I would recommend this place if coming to Port Villa

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissLeahM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Owner at Nasama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Good morning Leah,

Thank you for your review and your comments. I would like to let you know that we’ve worked on all the points mentioned.
- The new building, behind the Studios unit, will be finished next December. And we will be really proud to propose to our guests Luxury 1-Bedrooms with a 180degree ocean view.
- All the windows of the resort will be covered by the end of the week by fly screens.
- About the dogs next door, Vanuatu has a lot of stray dogs, the local population doesn’t exhibit dogs ownership as we can do in other countries. However we are working with the customer land owner to minimize the interruption and we have successfully acquit our neighbors cooperation in this issue.
We are really glad that you enjoyed your apartment and the area and we are looking forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Firstly, this was our first trip overseas as a family (2 adults, 10 yr old & 6 yr old) so we were not too sure what to expect. I'll start with the Pro's and then follow with the Con's. Pro's - great location as only a short drive to Port Villa with the local bus which cost 1.5V (1V for kids). Staff are friendly and helpful but in a relaxed 'Vanuatu' manner so dont expect superior service. Resort was quiet most times, however did have to remind other guests on 2 occassions that children are trying to sleep so it would be nice if they could keep the noise down (which they did). You feel very safe due to daily/nightly security present and I was more than happy for the kids to play on the private beach on their own. Some food items are available to purchase in the front office and the staff will help you get a bus and share suggestions on places to visit. The resort is still under construction and we would see the workmen daily but you could hardly hear them. Once the entire resort is finished, I think it will be a lovely place to visit. Its close to the local villages so you have an opportunity to mingle with the locals if you wish to. Breakers Resort is a 10 min walk if you want a restaurant to eat at one night, however apparently they do not allow kids under 15 - they did not stop us from dining there one night. The Warrick - Le Lagoon is on the other side of Nasama but is a much bigger resort but their meals are so overpriced that we only ate their once. You are better off buying some local meat or fish at the near by supermarket (or the French supermarket called Leaders Price), which is SO cheap and mouth watering and fresh veggies/fruit from the Port Villa markets (now that is an experience in itself!!) and having a BBQ in the Nasama BBQ area! We did that 3 times with some families that we met at Namasa & Breakers and had a great & relaxing time. Other times we ate at local restaurannts but their menus are so bland it was not worth it! I dont want to see another french fry in a long time! Other guest may have heard barking dogs overnight however we didnt - only the occasional village dog barking in the morning but it did not bother us. The beds are really comfortable and do are the pillows so a good nights sleep was had by all. Con's - On arrival the roll out bed for my son did not have a quilt cover and as we noticed this after the front office had closed for the night, we had to ask the security staff to locate a quilt for us. They did so after 1/2 hour or so. For 2 days we had very limited hot water so we contacted Amanda (Office manager) & resort staff who advised us that this was due to the new solar system and they were still trying to work out how to use it. Did it ruin our holiday? - No but not the best conditions after a full day out snorkeling! I had to ask for our towels to be changed after day 4 as this was not done. The kitchen has everything you need however the Studio rooms are so cheaply made that cupboards doors were falling off and drawers would not close. Staff did notice this 3-4 days in and fixed them. The kitchen utencils are of the cheaper variety and considering the hotel is new, these will not last much longer before they need to be replaced but it was adequate for our stay. The website claims that the Studio room sleeps 4 which is does, very compactly, however their is nowhere for 4 people to sit to eat together. Two of you can fit on the small couch and two can sit on the patio chairs or you can sit on one of the beds. They should think about adding a further 2 chairs to the patio or some bar stools in the room itself. Once again, did it ruin our holiday - no as we spent most time travelling, but I would not book such a small room again. I think the price we paid ($245 p/night) was expensive for what they offer and considering they were advertising a 40% discount for August that we did not quality for as we booked in May, I would certainly research other sites for a better price or ask Nasama themselves for a discounted rate to obtain your business. Lastly, I wanted to wash a few of the kids clothes just before we left. The laundry rooms located outside of our apartment were filthy and full of buliding materials and other cleaning products which looked like they were dumped their in a hurry. Their was washing powder everywhere and in the end I needed a staff member to help me as 2 of the machines were full with towels and the other free one was not working. The staff member ended up taking our washing away and arranged to do it for me. Overall, Nasama is a good place to stay especially if used as a base to sleep after a day travelling around this beautiful country and for a day relaxing by the pool. Once finished I think it will attract more people. We would return but we would book a one bedroom apartment on the ground level if we could not get a cheaper price elsewhere.

Room Tip: If travelling with children, choose a down stairs room so you are not having to walk up and down sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Familyholidayers_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Manager at Nasama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2012

Good afternoon and thank you for your review!

We are really pleased that you loved your stay in Vanuatu. I will make sure that all your observation points are taken into consideration, I have already discussed them with the team.
We are finishing to improve our solar panel system for the comfort of our guests, and reviewing the housekeeping daily checklist. We are also replacing, in a few days the cafe table of the studio for high dining table and a set of chairs for a better dining experience.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this nice new resort. Although not completely finished it offers lovely self contained rooms with well equipped kitchens, king beds and a balcony overlooking Erakor Lagoon.It has a lovely pool area and a man made beach with a rock pool in the sea.It is in a great location with easy access to the town 10 mins by bus and the Nambatu supermarket for supplies - 5 mins. The staff are very helpful and friendly, but I would recommend organising your own airport transfer, theirs is expensive.

Room Tip: All are good, studios are closer to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank barry1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We travelled with two kids aged 1 and 4 and stayed in a studio apartment. The apartment is brand new, spacious, clean and serviced daily. The kitchen was well equipped with everything and more of what we needed to cook! We had a fabulous view of the ocean and the pool. We felt like we good a very good deal for only $147 a night!! There is still some work going on at the resort as it only opened in March but nothing too noisy at all while we were staying there. We didn't find the nights to be noisy there at all - actually the only thing we heard in the were the waves coming in which was beautiful! The staff was really friendly and welcoming. We even got to meet the owner, who was very down to earth and came over for a chat while we were sitting outside. Location is good, not too far out of town, buses are only 150 vatu per adult to go into town and come past all the time. Erakor Island is also very closeby and we found it to be great for us and the kids. we would love to go back to Nasama one day - Thank you!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HannahTimOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

First week of our holiday spent here in an upstairs 2-bedroom unit. Staff are very friendly and made us feel welcome. Units are clean and spacious with semi-ocean views and good kitchen facilities. Quite noisy at night though with dogs barking and chickens crowing in the wee hours of the morning. Landscaping is at a minimum and smoke from the neighbors next door and all around the resort over whelming. No restaurant on site but there is a lovely resort Breakas within walking distance with nice ambience and good food. Shower ran hot & cold and mostly cold after 5 minutes. Owner was a bit apathetic towards guests as was the front office. Don't drink the water from the tap as it will make you ill.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank singaporestace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed with friends for 7 days in a 2 bedroom unit, the units had everything we needed to look after ourselves in style,except a hair dryer, they are having a few teething problems with the hot water and some dodgy plumbing. If you're staying in the units on the left hand side take ear plugs as the next door neighbours have a pack of dogs that startup a chorus at 10pm and don't let up until the roosters chime in at 4 am,
On the up side the pool is stunning with great sun lounges and the view and staff are lovely.nothing is to much trouble.
Its easy to get to town or anywhere else via a "Bus" @150vt per person. the BBQ area is well set up and kept clean.The rock pool is a miniature wonderland with lots of fish and starting to establish aquatic plants,
Even with building still in progress the site is beautifully maintained
We purchased our stay at 40% discount and feel we got a bargin.
Helen T

Room Tip: Request a unit on the right hand side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HelenNT45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.7 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,515 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
692 reviews
3.1 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#28 of 47 in Port Vila
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
564 reviews
2.3 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nasama Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nasama Resort

Address: Pango Road | PO Box 1035, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: £81 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nasama Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in April 2012, Nasama Resort is a serviced apartment complex that offers deluxe self-contained beachfront accommodation. Its location oceanfront in the southwest corner of Efate Island puts it in the path of cooling trade winds in the summer months. Just 10 minutes from Port Vila town centre, it is on Pango Road which is a tar sealed road with easy access to public transport. Every apartment is decorated with style and has its own veranda for guests to relax and enjoy the beautiful sunrises and panoramic ocean views. It offers the convenience of a fully equipped kitchen, air conditioner, fan, TV/iPod dock and free wireless internet. Select from 3 types of apartments: studio apartments sleep up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 1 child; deluxe-on-the-water one bedroom apartments sleep up to 2 adults and one child; and spacious two bedroom apartments sleep up to six people. On the grounds of the resort is a beautiful infinity pool and children’s pool leading to a sandy beach with a natural rock pool in the ocean for safe swimming. Covered barbecue facilities offer an alternative to in-room dining. Guests can have fun in our complimentary kayaks, swimming, snorkeling or simply relaxing and soaking up the sun by the pool or on the beach. Reception can also advise and book guests on any of the 40 tours and activities offered in Vanuatu. Surfers will be pleased to know that there is surfing just 5 minutes up the road at Breakas beach. For those in need of pampering, we offer soothing massages to the sound of waves at our beach massage fare. Nasama Resort's own restaurant, Cafe Vila & Bar, was recently opened in December 2014 and is already acquiring a reputation for its wonderful ambiance and delicious meals. It is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner with brunch on offer till 3:00 pm on Saturdays and Sundays. Happy Hour at the bar is from 5:30 pm to 6:30 pm daily, extended to 7:00 pm on Fridays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nasama Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nasama Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing