We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”
Review of Nasama Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nasama Resort
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We just returned from a week in Vanuatu staying at Nasama. We had a great week and this accommodation lived up to our expectation. Our room was clean with a great view over the pool and beach. Staff were really friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived and gave us lots of good advice on things to do and good restaurants etc. While we were there the resort was adding to its current facilities with a restaurant being built and this will nicely compliment the accommodation as on a couple of occasions it would have been nice to have stayed in for the night rather than heading out to a restaurant. There are great cooking facilities in the self contained accommodation however and we used these for breakfast and some lunches. Overall a well priced and good resort with great staff and clean rooms.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kym G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    177
    30
    3
    0
See reviews for
156
198
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra AUS
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at Nasama before shifting down the road to Breaka's beach resort. Nasama was better value and better quality, although serviced apartment style. The studio room was spacious and modern with a comfy king bed. Great pool, free wifi, BBQ, and nice private beach although it faces the S-E trade wind. Pango road is regular route for the local 'buses' at 150vt pp a trip to PV town. For the more adventurous, take Nasama's complimentary canoes over the Erekor island and the nearby lagoon (allow an hour to circumnavigate Erakor, go on high tide and light breeze). I also snorkelled out the front after negotiating the tide platform to see some nice tropical fish and starfish, although its a little awkward with the small breakers). My only gripe was the limited ocean view from our room despite requesting such. I would think studio apartment rooms 106-8 offer the best combination of view and ground floor access to beach and pool. Nasama is building currently to include more rooms and a restaurant/café. We noticed no noise or disruption from the development. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Book early and request the best ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelabit_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My husband & I stayed at The Nasama Resort for eight nights in an Ocean View Room, we found the 1 bedroom app very roomy, the kitchen was great to use & set up well. The pool area is beautiful & we enjoyed a few glasses of bubbly by the pool lights at night. The beach access is handy & getting into town - Port Vila - is just a bus ride away ( 8 Minutes ) We used the Canoes & made it to Erakor Island & back no problems, was a fun adventure. We would like to thank all the friendly staff for making our stay lovely, & the smiling faces of Efate are heart warming, it was a beautiful experience meeting many local village people - A Big Thank-You

Room Tip: The Ocean view room is Beaut :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jul244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Owner at Nasama Resort, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Jul244,

Thank you for spending the time to review your stay with us on TripAdvisor.
I take note of the special mentions and will ensure that these will be passed on to the staff!
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The accommodation was very good, clean and the ability to cook our own meals was a fantastic option. The location was a little out of town therefore money was spent getting buses to and from Port Vila and other attractions as walking was okay and we did a lot of it but the roads are very narrow and at times busy. The weather was good therefore walking was a good option to take in the surrounding villages etc.

Thank you to Ashleigh in front office who provided me with good service both before and during our stay - and the staff agreeing to extend our check out time because our eldest daughter was quite unwell on the last day.

We didn't get to use the pool much as the water was quite cool but was very pleasant to sit around. The beach was quite windy on most of our days although on the last couple of days the wind did subside and it was also very pleasant. I little disappointed that we were not able to snorkel as it was quite rough and this was one of the reasons that I booked this particular accommodation for the girls to be able to snorkel at will.

It will be better once the restaurant etc is available for meals and food as this was lacking and if you do lob late in day it would be an excellent option for food and drink on the 1st night and next morning. Pack a few supplies to get you through the 1st couple of hours.

We did walk to Breakas for cocktails on several nights, and walked to The Stonegrill for a meal twice - very good value for money. There is a small supermarket just down the road for essentials but a good supermarket at the big roundabout. Be prepared to pay for food as it is relatively expensive but a much cheaper option than eating out for x 3 meals everyday especially for a family of 4 (x 2 teenagers).

One highlight of our stay was visiting the Pango Kindy - we organized through the ladies in reception and went and bought supplies in town (kind of like a Cheap as Chips store) purchased stationery, skipping ropes, bubbles soccer balls etc to give them. We had intended to visit for 30 minutes but they were so welcoming we stayed for a couple of hours and enjoyed recess/morning tea with them. Thanks for sharing your culture with us.

We loved our stay and would recommend to families. As has been written in other reviews this is not a resort with lots of options at the location but was a good alternative to those busy resorts if you just want to chill and immerse yourselves in their lifestyle.

Managed to find out when cruise ships were visiting therefore we stayed out of town and did not go on tours on those days. Expect a very chilled out and albeit slow way of living with lots of big smiles from the locals.

We were told that it was a very safe place to walk around and we did so of the evenings but I would pack a torch or use the light on your phone to walk around of the evenings - the roads have no street lights so it makes it easier to see your way around. Reef shoes are also another good option to pack for walking on the beach and using on different tours.

Thanks for making our family holiday to Port Vila memorable. :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraceyAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Had been recommended by flight centre for our honeymoon but when we got there the restaurant wasn't even built yet and the lady at the resort was killing bugs as she was talking to us as there was so many. There was meant to be a private beach but we got the end of it and there were people walking past and could see straight through to our room so it wasn't very private. For the price I don't think it was worth it and we left and stayed at Le lagoon (amazing and has room service and two restaurant's). Now having trouble getting our money back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kuddles86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Owner at Nasama Resort, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Kuddles86,

I am glad you had a great stay at Le Lagon because after all it was your honeymoon and you deserved to enjoy room service!
However, Nasama Resort comprises of self-contained apartments with kitchens and therefore we do not offer room service. We are a new resort and as the apartments are self-catering, the building of the restaurant was planned for a later stage. In the meantime, our guests have a selection of restaurants to choose from within walking distance or a 5 minute bus ride from our resort.
As explained by our Resort Manager, when you left on the day of your arrival, we had made it clear in our contract with Flight Centre that we currently do not have a restaurant – but that one was being built and would be open in December this year. This should have been explained to you by your Flight Centre travel agent. You will also see that we have not included a restaurant as a facility offered on any of the online travel websites.

Only resort guests are allowed to sunbathe and swim in the resort pool and the ocean adjacent to our beach. However, according to Vanuatu law, local people must be allowed access to the ocean below the high water mark to fish and swim.
The luxury 1-bedroom apartments are located 5 meters above the beach and it is not possible for people walking by to see into your apartment or any of the other apartments.
If you had stayed at Nasama Resort at least one day and one night, you would have seen that only Nasama Resort guests are allowed to relax on the beach by the side of your apartment.
The bugs that you mention in your room were probably small flower ants, due to the hibiscus flowers we put in your room for your honeymoon. We make a point of cleaning the rooms daily. We treat the resort regularly for bugs but unfortunately we cannot eradicate them because of Vanuatu’s tropical climate.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed at Nasama end of June early July..it is exactly as it is on the website, pool is amazing and very clean, resort is superb, well kept we stayed in a 2 bedroom seaview room it accommodating the whole family (there was five of us) perfectly very clean and spacious, the pool was nice and the water nice and warm, it was easy to get around Port Vila buses every few minutes, the staff are extremely friendly and very helpful. Security were there when we arrived early in the morning and when we departed again early in the morning. Yes there was noise from the building site but it really didn't bother us at all living in Sydney you can't really complain.

All in all the Nasama Resort is a very nice quiet resort, it was the most enjoyable holiday we have had and I will recommend it to anyone.

thanks Nasama for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stay at Namasa resort in July 2014 and had a mixed experience.
The pro’s: Stayed in a 2 bedroom sea view room which was well appointed and clean, also the pool and beach area is also really nice. The staff are friendly but not pro active
The cons: There is currently a lot building going at the resort so you have a lot of construction noise. The think that upset me the most was we were not told about this or offered any apology or forms of compensation. I also did not enjoy my daughters being stared by workmen while in the pool area. I did raised my concerns but was told to come back on Monday when the manager will be in. Our room also backed onto a local village so again quite a bit of nose at night e.g. dogs barking and the roosters going off all night and I mean all night! So if you are a light sleeper take some earplugs .
The place has potential but I would give it a miss until the building works are finished

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Owner at Nasama Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear James C,

I have addressed the issues that you raised at our staff meeting this morning. I sincerely apologize that none of the staff advised me about your complaints. They should have called me immediately so that I could have resolved the problems immediately. This is very unusual behavior from our Reception staff. We have discussed it so that it does not happen again.

During your stay, the World Cup Soccer was on and matches started at 3 am. The local Ni-Vanuatu population love soccer and our neighbor’s shouts in excitement at his TV screen unfortunately started their dogs barking and their roosters crowing. We met with the neighbor this week about it (even though the World Cup is over) and he has agreed to put his animals away at night. Also in Vanuatu, there are stray dogs. Our security makes sure that none come onto our property but sometimes we cannot control their barking.

Regarding construction work. We did advise our travel agents about it at the beginning of the year. also informed the travel agents that the following measures that had been taken to minimize any disturbance to our guests:
No power tools used before 9 am. All work to end before 5pm. Work from Monday to Friday only. Sound proof structures have also been constructed for the electric saw and concrete mixer. No nail guns are used.
However, only the 2-bedroom apartments are affected as they are next to the construction site. Regarding the behavior of the workers, new policy has been put in place to preserve our guests’ privacy.

Thank you for spending the time to review your stay with us as it helps us improving and learn from our mistake and I am sorry that I did not get a chance to discuss your concerns whilst you were here with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.7 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
2.3 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nasama Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nasama Resort

Property: Nasama Resort
Address: Pango Road | PO Box 1035, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nasama Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in April 2012, Nasama Resort is a serviced apartment complex that offers deluxe self-contained beachfront accommodation. Its location oceanfront in the southwest corner of Efate Island puts it in the path of cooling trade winds in the summer months. Just 10 minutes from Port Vila town centre, it is on Pango Road which is a tar sealed road with easy access to public transport. Every apartment is decorated with style and has its own veranda for guests to relax and enjoy the beautiful sunrises and panoramic ocean views. It offers the convenience of a fully equipped kitchen, air conditioner, fan, TV/iPod dock and free wireless internet. Select from 3 types of apartments: studio apartments sleep up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 1 child; deluxe-on-the-water one bedroom apartments sleep up to 2 adults and one child; and spacious two bedroom apartments sleep up to six people. On the grounds of the resort is a beautiful infinity pool and children’s pool leading to a sandy beach with a natural rock pool in the ocean for safe swimming. Covered barbecue facilities offer an alternative to in-room dining. Guests can have fun in our complimentary kayaks, swimming, snorkeling or simply relaxing and soaking up the sun by the pool or on the beach. Reception can also advise and book guests on any of the 40 tours and activities offered in Vanuatu. Surfers will be pleased to know that there is surfing just 5 minutes up the road at Breakas beach. For those in need of pampering, we offer soothing massages to the sound of waves at our beach massage fare. Nasama Resort's own restaurant, Cafe Vila & Bar, was recently opened in December 2014 and is already acquiring a reputation for its wonderful ambiance and delicious meals. It is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner with brunch on offer till 3:00 pm on Saturdays and Sundays. Happy Hour at the bar is from 5:30 pm to 6:30 pm daily, extended to 7:00 pm on Fridays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nasama Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nasama Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing