We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location in a little piece of Paradise”
Review of Mariner Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mariner Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Thank you Mariner Apartments, we have just returned to Melbourne after a week with you (got home last night) and were very sad to leave. We have visited Port Vila several times and usually stay at the Grand Hotel. However, staying at The Mariner Apartments, gave us the extra freedom to be able to have breakfast at 'home' most days and to cook a couple of evening meals. It was great fun being able to walk down the hill to the market and purchase fresh local produce to cook. The Apartments are located very close to town, opposite the Waterfront Bar and Grill, which is a great place to eat. A short walk from the Brewery (Bar) and also the Market and the Ferry which takes you across to Irririki Island at any time of the day (only about 5 minutes walk from each of these). Our Apartment was large, clean, cool and well serviced and the staff were friendly and helpful. We felt there were a couple of very small things missing, and passed our ideas on to the staff, who rang us the very next day to thank us for our input and to say our suggestions would be put in place. I would recommend The Mariner Apartments to anyone who wants to stay close to town. They also provide beach towels, so no need to take your own. The pool is basic, but still clean, and refreshing after a long day out sightseeing. I think that management may need to consider block out curtains in the warmer months of the year, as I think the rooms will get a bit too hot in the late afternoon (however, there are efficient air conditioners in the rooms). If you haven't been to Port Vila, do yourselves a favour ... the place is so beautiful, the people are the friendliest people on earth and there is so much to see and do.

Room Tip: A room on the second floor might give you a better view of the harbour, but the ground floor is stil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Swisha89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed at Mariner Apartments for 2 nights at the end of our week in Vanuatu. Being so close to the markets and shops meant we could easily walk to everything, which was the purpose in staying there. Good view of the harbour and passing parade from the balcony too.

Our studio apartment was pleasant. A couple of maintenance issues were quickly dealt with and staff are helpful. Traffic noise was an issue but we had the option of closing the sliders and turning on the air conditioning if we wanted quiet.

It was great having a pool there to cool off in - we usually had it to ourselves.

I wouldn't choose these apartments for a complete Vanuatu holiday, but they are a good option if you want a couple of days in town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We have just returned from 7 nights staying at these apartments - comfortable, roomy, fully serviced, excellent and helpful staff. We only had to walk down the small hill to be in the middle of town but we were out of the actual centre enough not to be bothered by traffic. Outlook over the bay to Iririki is beautiful. Fully self-catering if that's what you wish though we were in full holiday mode and only did some of our own breakfasts. (It was such a short walk to cafes and restaurants!). Supermarket and fruit and veg market - only 5 minute walk away. Easy walk or bus ride to beaches and buses always at hand to take you anywhere (150V - $1.50 pp within the city and 300V -$3 beyond- but make sure you establish price before you get on for beyond the city). The bed was a little firm for older bones but was kingsized. Air conditioned and balcony. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank foodieTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We recently stayed at Mariners apartments in a two bedroom room studio, accompanied by our two teenage boys for four nights. The apartment was lovely, decorated beautifully, had two huge four posted beds and a well appointed kitchen. The view was beautiful looking over the harbour too. There were a couple of draw backs for us in regards to the location, as the apartments are right on the road and the traffic was very noisy during the night. Also, this being our first time to Port Vila, there was very little information in the rooms and although the staff were very friendly, they were not always clear on their information. When waiting for tours we had to wait outside the front near the road as there is no lobby. We didn't realize that the small vans going back and forward were buses that could have taken us to a beach. It is however very close to the shops and markets and the bonus of having a kitchen is that we could save money by preparing some meals ( very handy with teenage boys ).

Although the apartments were lovely as were the staff if we came back we probably wouldn't stay at Mariners apartments simply because there was no beach we could sit on and swim at.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Gorgeous views over the harbour, real quality furnishings and a lovely little kitchen even in the studios you can whip up a storm in the kitchen. It's my second trip staying here and previously was staying elsewhere and so glad I found this as I can cook for myself when I don't want to eat out. Lovely deck outside with lovely furniture and plants etc to sit outside in the evening with a glass of wine. It's a home away from home. It's close to either the big Bon Marche (about ten mins walk left out of the building) or a few minutes to the smaller one in the middle of Port Vila (worth the walk up to the big one, or hop onto one of the many minibuses that cost you about $1.50 Aussie to drop you there, or anywhere in Port Vila). Beds are super comfy and huge and absolutely gorgeous, whoever styled them has a great sense of style and I love the furniture. DVD player, LCD tv of a decent size and a stocked kitchen and a lovely shower (for me thats important). Definitely recommend to anyone travelling to Port Vila.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

My husband and I stayed in a studio apartment for eleven nights.As we like to walk we wanted somewhere close to town and close to the Bon Marche Supermarket.It was only a few minutes walk for each.We love to self cater and and the beef here is sensational and cheap.Our apartment was clean,spacious with a very comfy large bed.The biggest bonus was it also had a large deck out the front with a garden and picnic table,which had views overlooking beautiful Irrikki Island and the harbour.Also a great spot to get the washing dry.The lovely Leanora serviced our room daily which was a very pleasant surprise.
I would like to reccommend to Elliott,that a larger skillet or frypan for cooking that sensational beef and a pair of tongs to turn it with.What I did think was desperately missing was any type of tourist information,maps,phone numbers or helpful advice.This was our second visit to this city,but for some this is their first overseas trip.And there is so many great tours and things to experience.Also I think a coin operated laundrette on site would be helpful,especially for people on a longer stay.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
5  Thank louflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

we recently stayed here for 7 nighs for our honeymoon. They are located across the road from the harbour and are a few minutes walk into town. We stayed in a studio apartment it had a lovely king size bed, very comfortable too. a kitchen and oven for use if required. no laundry facilites. We made breakfast for ourselves each day we asked for a toaster and 20 minutes later we had one. Tv has australian channels, no phone in room, pool on site. The cleaning lady does a great job and does service your room each day, dishes where even washed which wasn't expected. All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mazdaCraigmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.1 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,515 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#19 of 47 in Port Vila
539 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Melanesian Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila
#26 of 47 in Port Vila
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#28 of 47 in Port Vila
149 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Terraces Boutique Apartments
0.4 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariner Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariner Apartments

Address: Lini Highway, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Port Vila
Price Range: £46 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mariner Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mariner Apartments balance the hospitality of an intimate and boutique style, yet comfortable living in a fully appointed serviced apartment, an ideal solution for either short or extended stays. Every apartment unit is stylishly finished with natural fabrics and calming hues reflecting a unique natural ambience. Residents at Mariner Apartments enjoy our fully-furnished spacious air-conditioned guestrooms, modern facilities, quality finishes, in room internet and WIFI access, fully equipped kitchens, contemporary bathrooms, cosy couch settee, dining area, floor-to-ceiling sliding glass door that leads to either your own balcony or oversized terrace with sitting area providing a panoramic view of Port Vila's Harbour and Irriki Island and a swimming pool facing the ocean and natural rock wall. Mariner Apartments offer Studio apartments, 2 Bedroom apartments and a Penthouse suite. Services include dedicated concierge, on-site security, meticulous housekeeping, self-parking area & a taxi service. Mariner Apartments is perfectly located in an ideal location. Only a 5 minute walk to downtown and shopping area and within a 15 minute drive to the airport. Either start the day by relaxing at our pool or explore Vanuatu's premier attractions and fun activities such as snorkeling, scuba diving, harbour cruises, island hopping helicopter tours, parasailing, horse riding and unique cultural ceremonies all within 5 to 15 minutes of the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mariner Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariner Apartments Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing