We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a night or two - maybe bring ear plugs”
Review of Mariner Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mariner Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Fine for a night or two - maybe bring ear plugs”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Trip Advisor rarely steers me wrong, but this time I feel it did.

When I am on holiday I want somewhere quiet and relaxing. The noise from the unbelievably busy road really spoiled the apartments for me. But I feel a very good rating is in order simply for the quality of the place and the outstanding view. I realise not everyone will be as bothered by the noise as me.

We only stayed 3 nights after 5 nights on Tanna. In hindsight we should have stayed at a resort somewhere on the island as the township didn't offer that much. Buses were plentiful and cheap so getting in and out of Vila would have been easy.

We were also a little annoyed the apartments were a bit pushy with sales of tours. They also ordered us a taxi to the airport and said it was 1800 vatu. My understanding is the rate is set at 1500. I think you could do better, but this would suit if you were just in Vila for a night or two. Just don't forget those earplugs if you are a light sleeper.

Room Tip: I assume the top floor rooms are the only ones with great views. But they may be a little noisier t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Penfold555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    29
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
22
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights while in Vanuatu, and was thoroughly impressed.
From the outside, it doesn't look like much, but inside the rooms were modern, clean, and very well set up.
Location is great, with a 5 minute walk into the middle of Port Vila township. Also, within a few hundred metres is a DVD rental shop, and a great eatery call The Brewery.
It is right on the main street, so you hear the traffic at nighttime, but by the second or third night, we no longer noticed it.
We had a full kitchen (fridge, oven, cooktop, microwave etc), which was great for making breakfast each day then sitting out on the decking. Also has a TV with 5 satellite channels and DVD player.
Leano was super helpful and one of the best hotel staff we've ever come across. She arranged almost all of our tours and was super lovely.
The pool looked lovely, but we didn't get a chance to swim in it as we were out and about most days.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Mariner Apartments for 1 night at the very end of our two week holiday before we flew home.

The apartments are close to town, new, very clean and tidy, nice furniture, well laid out and have all the mod cons.

On the main road so a little noisy but we didn't have Ang trouble sleeping (it was a Saturday night).

Has great facilities if you wanted to prepare your own meals so would be a great option if you were on a budget as eating out in Port Vila was quite expensive.

No beach front but a nice view out to irikiki island.

Would stay there again if in Port Vila

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RileyMarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

We found the Mariner Apartments to be everything we needed when we spent 10 nights in Port Vila. The location is really good as it is in short walking distance of the centre of Port Vila and a number of supermarkets. The only negative is the traffic noise from outside takes a bit to get used to and is outweighed but the usefulness of the location to the shops and attractions.

The staff were friendly and always helpful to arrange tours and bookings, special mention to Alfreda for all her friendly help. The same can also be said for the staff up at the main Coconut Palms resort which is 10 minutes walk away. There are always staff at the complex and at night there is a security guard on the grounds.

The apartments are well kept and clean, the grounds are well looked after and pool water is very nice and clear. They have every thing you need to prepare your own meals and drinks.

We loved our stay there and would be happy to stay there again

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian-Paula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Thankyou Laura and the girls of the Mariner Apartments. We stayed there for 7 nights and all the staff were so friendly and helpful. They made our stay fantastic, not only did they help us arrange tours but suggested some great things to do. Going back to Vanuatu and will definitely be staying there again. Thanks to them all for such an enjoyable time

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Staff were excellent ! We had a second level apartment with a nice view of the cove. Room was clean and fresh towels supplied daily. Shower pressure was lacking, but lots of hot water. We had a fridge , stove and microwave with utensils , so was possible to eat in daily if desired. Main thing was being 5 minutes walk from the market and stores - very convenient !

Room Tip: Second floor gives you a view with a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WaynefromMackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Thank you Mariner Apartments, we have just returned to Melbourne after a week with you (got home last night) and were very sad to leave. We have visited Port Vila several times and usually stay at the Grand Hotel. However, staying at The Mariner Apartments, gave us the extra freedom to be able to have breakfast at 'home' most days and to cook a couple of evening meals. It was great fun being able to walk down the hill to the market and purchase fresh local produce to cook. The Apartments are located very close to town, opposite the Waterfront Bar and Grill, which is a great place to eat. A short walk from the Brewery (Bar) and also the Market and the Ferry which takes you across to Irririki Island at any time of the day (only about 5 minutes walk from each of these). Our Apartment was large, clean, cool and well serviced and the staff were friendly and helpful. We felt there were a couple of very small things missing, and passed our ideas on to the staff, who rang us the very next day to thank us for our input and to say our suggestions would be put in place. I would recommend The Mariner Apartments to anyone who wants to stay close to town. They also provide beach towels, so no need to take your own. The pool is basic, but still clean, and refreshing after a long day out sightseeing. I think that management may need to consider block out curtains in the warmer months of the year, as I think the rooms will get a bit too hot in the late afternoon (however, there are efficient air conditioners in the rooms). If you haven't been to Port Vila, do yourselves a favour ... the place is so beautiful, the people are the friendliest people on earth and there is so much to see and do.

Room Tip: A room on the second floor might give you a better view of the harbour, but the ground floor is stil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Swisha89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.4 mi away
Chantilly's on the Bay
Chantilly's on the Bay
#27 of 47 in Port Vila
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#21 of 47 in Port Vila
526 reviews
2.1 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#23 of 47 in Port Vila
393 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
665 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Melanesian Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila
#24 of 47 in Port Vila
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariner Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariner Apartments

Property: Mariner Apartments
Address: Lini Highway, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mariner Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mariner Apartments balance the hospitality of an intimate and boutique style, yet comfortable living in a fully appointed serviced apartment, an ideal solution for either short or extended stays. Every apartment unit is stylishly finished with natural fabrics and calming hues reflecting a unique natural ambience. Residents at Mariner Apartments enjoy our fully-furnished spacious air-conditioned guestrooms, modern facilities, quality finishes, in room internet and WIFI access, fully equipped kitchens, contemporary bathrooms, cosy couch settee, dining area, floor-to-ceiling sliding glass door that leads to either your own balcony or oversized terrace with sitting area providing a panoramic view of Port Vila's Harbour and Irriki Island and a swimming pool facing the ocean and natural rock wall. Mariner Apartments offer Studio apartments, 2 Bedroom apartments and a Penthouse suite. Services include dedicated concierge, on-site security, meticulous housekeeping, self-parking area & a taxi service. Mariner Apartments is perfectly located in an ideal location. Only a 5 minute walk to downtown and shopping area and within a 15 minute drive to the airport. Either start the day by relaxing at our pool or explore Vanuatu's premier attractions and fun activities such as snorkeling, scuba diving, harbour cruises, island hopping helicopter tours, parasailing, horse riding and unique cultural ceremonies all within 5 to 15 minutes of the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Mariner Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariner Apartments Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing