We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“something for everyone”
Review of Ripples

Ripples
Ranked #21 of 95 Restaurants in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$23
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Ripples on the Bay, Vanuatu, is a small, four room resort and restaurant, located on beautiful Teouma Bay, a twenty five minute drive out of Vanuatu's capital, Port Vila. Our restaurant has a small but varied menu. We're known for our Asian dishes, but also serve great fish and chips, burgers and chips, and steaks. Bring your swimming gear and enjoy a dip in our pool after lunch, or contact us about staying over in one of our spacious, waterfront rooms. Contact details are on our website and Facebook page. A complimentary breakfast is included in our room rate. Restaurant is open to the public from Wednesday to Sunday from 12 noon. (Open to in house guests every day.)
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My family recently stayed a short walk away from Ripples restaurant and we ate lunch there 3 times. Between 2 adults and 2 children, we tried almost everything on the menu. My youngest is quite a fussy eater and even he really enjoyed the food. The atmosphere is very relaxed - don't be in a rush. The staff were very friendly. Food was fresh and of a very high standard. Would definitely eat here again next time we are in town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank CJMDMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally w, Owner at Ripples, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Hello CJ,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write this lovely review. It's always good to know that we can appease fussy young eaters (as well as their parents). We look forward to seeing you again, when next you're in Vanuatu.

Cheers,

Sally & Damien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

After a very pleasant week staying at Holiday Inn Port Vila, and after having an excellent experience at Tilly's restaurant earlier in the week, we though we'd try something different and headed out to Ripples for our last evening.

What a mistake.

Entrees were just ok, not great, mains were very disappointing. I had the Malay beef curry which while described as 'hot', came with no flavor at all, more like a weak watery soup with a couple of chunks of tasteless meat with under cooked rice. My partner had the Chicken Curry, mostly bone, little meat, I tried a small piece and there was slightly more flavor then the beef. We didn't bother with desert. For what we got very expensive and poor quality when compared to Tillys.

The really kicker came very early the next morning though when we both woke with severe diarrhea, and for my wife, vomiting, and that's how we traveled back on the flight, squirting and vomiting our way home to Australia. 40 odd hours later, I'm still not feeling right.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank JohnOJohnO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally w, Owner at Ripples, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear John,

You have levelled some very serious accusations at our restaurant. You’ve done so anonymously, and without giving specific dates for your visit, but our records indicate that you are John and Linda, and that you had dinner here on Saturday 19th July. Obviously, your claim that the food you ate here made both you and your partner ill is of great concern to us.

The method of preparation of our curries, coupled with daily cooking of rice, and strict standards of hygiene, mean that there is little potential for contamination. It’s clear that, had contamination been present in any of the dishes that you ate, we would have had reports of food poisoning from everybody who had eaten one of those dishes over the course of the weekend. We had a busy couple of days, with new visitors, regular customers, and in house guests eating in our restaurant, but yours is the only complaint we have received. Furthermore, we have been able to contact a number of people who ate one or more of the dishes which you ate; none reported any resulting ill effects.

Viral gastroenteritis is, unfortunately, very common in Vanuatu, and is easily spread from one individual to another. The tendency, always, when afflicted is to blame the last thing that you ate, but this is not always the case. Car and door handles, physical contact such as hand shaking, and handling money, are all potential sources of infection, and the potential for contracting infection increases in high density areas such as busy metropolitan areas and large resorts – that is, the kind of places where you have spent most of your time.

With regard to your criticisms of the quality of our food, we understand that your opinions are possibly coloured by your belief that this food made you ill. We will not attempt to refute them here, as we believe that other reviews of our restaurant speak quite eloquently of the quality of our food, generosity of servings, and value for money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We were so glad this restaurant was just down the road from The Reef House! An excellent place to have an afternoon cocktail looking over the rock pool.
We just loved the curries here - the Sri Lankan ones in particular were the best I have tasted.

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank SteveMargKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally w, Owner at Ripples, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thanks Steve&MargK,

Glad we were there for you.

All the best,

Damien & Sally - Ripples

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Just returned back to Ripples after having been there one year ago. I took three of my friends there after bragging about how good the food is. Driving in I was nervous and hoping the food would be equal to my description to my friends. I loved seeing their faces when they all took their first bite! Classic!! They are now making it one of their must things to do whenever they return to Port Villa.

Having the owner on site and supervising the kitchen, combined with her passion for cooking certainly transfers through to the quality of the food. We'll be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank csdonovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally w, Owner at Ripples, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thanks, CS,

Some customers you just don't forget, and it was great to see you walk into our restaurant again. And so glad that you enjoyed Ripples just as much this time as you did the time before.

Hoping your next visit to Vanuatu leaves you more time on Efate, and that you can come and spend a night or two with us.

All the best,

Damien & Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Had the most fantastic Surf & Turf on the weekend followed by a Ginger Pudding & Butterscotch Sauce. Sally & Damien have outdone themselves again.
Awesome food, delicious cocktails (especially Wrecked at Ripples), amazing location, great ambiance!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally w, Owner at Ripples, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thanks for the great review, Dianne,

Those ginger puddings with butterscotch sauce have been walking out the door ever since I put them on the specials board. I can see that they will have to become a permanent fixture when next we re-do the menu.

All the best,

Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ripples also viewed

 

Been to Ripples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing