We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Service and Beautiful Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We recently eloped to Vanuatu and stayed in the Holiday Inn Resort, where we also held our small wedding ceremony. I can't say enough about the wonderful staff. They were the friendliest I've come across on any holiday, helpful and went the extra mile to make our stay absolutely perfect and extremely memorable.
I have to give special credit to Geraldine Tavoa, the resort’s co-ordinator. From the moment of first contact (on email) she was so helpful and put together a package that suited our very tight budget perfectly. She sourced everything we needed including a photographer, stylist for my hair and make-up, florist, celebrant (the local pastor) and witnesses (performing the role herself with the Chief from the local village – all dressed in his traditional gear). She also organised all the legal paperwork for our marriage. The ceremony was perfect and we couldn’t have wished for anything more.
Even though the resort was in its final stages of renovation, it did nothing to interfere with or affect our stay. We are extremely happy with our stay and all that the Holiday Inn had to offer.
The location is not far from the main part of Port Villa and it only costs 500vt in a taxi and is about a half hour walk. Taxis are easy to get at any time and we felt the travel in and out provided a nice insight into the city.

Room Tip: Lagoon / Pool side rooms have the most beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmsDemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

677 - 683 of 716 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2011

we stayed in the lagoon view, lovely view, loved the kids club, the pool was lovely as it had a kiddies pool so my daughter loved this .the meals were lovely but expensive. the staff were great with my kids , the repair works were not that bad probably becoz we werent in the garden view rooms which were facing the buildings being repaired.the thing that annoyed me was they preauthorised my credit card for 460 aus dollars without letting me know of the amount, so imagine the shock that i got when we went for a boat trip and my account was $0, only to be told by the reception staff on checking out that i would be refunded the difference in 7-14 days time was so cross since my bill was 350 $ so flew back $100 out of pocket and dead broke as expected after holidays -very disapponting

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chenge25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Stayed here for 5 days in May / June 2011. Renovations have made the staff lazy as there are few people staying here so they are just not motivated. Eventually wrote a letter to manager and some minor issues resolved. However they realise they have problems during this renovation as when I arrived home from our holiday they had credited 3 days accomodation back to us which pleased us. A new manager is about to start and was previously manager of Crowne Plaza hunter Valley so he knows how to run a big successful resort. He has a huge challenge to get staff up to speed and we wish him well. Currently it is a massive resort with one entire wing being gutted and renovated. We stayed in the other wing which is completed and far away from the building works. The new wing has teething problems also to be sorted out. As staff were lacking motivation there was no service by the pools (one just opened).

Room Tip: Reassess this resort once renovations complete
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Handysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

My gf and i arrived for our first visit to Vanuatu to palms resort. The place has a fantastic foyer and the staff are sooo friendly and happy.. Our room was very well presented and no dramas at all. The reno's were still going in the side pool but since it was easter no one was doing work so no noise to us. The tour desk was a great help booking our activities and the restaurant served very nice food. It was cheaper to pick a meal from the menu then from the special buffet they had on every night over easter though, so watch that. The morning breaky was awesome, we loved it every day. The place was so peaceful and relaxing, we really enjoyed every moment at the resort. The lake was so relaxing and the guys even showed my girlfriend how to use the sailboat for the first time. I highly recommend the palms resort!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brisfoodie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

I booked a package holiday through Flight Centre to stay at the Holiday Inn. I was not advised of the renovations and this entirely spoilt our stay in Vanuatu. I would point out though that this was not the Holiday Inn's fault (as the booking wasn't made through them) and the staff were very friendly. There are a few things though that I can offer info on:
- bathroom is newly renovated, very functional and shower was excellent. However, very small.
- Beds were very very hard....I normally sleep on a hard bed; but this was ridiculous
- The bed linen and in particular the pillows had a very strange fusty smell- so much that we had to wrap the pillows in towels to be able to sleep!
- bedrooms are generously sized
-poolside service was very infrequent (noone there to take orders etc, you have to order at the top bar (which is approx 2 flights of stairs away);
- noise from renovations is extremely disruptive and you can't relax by the pool (drilling, hammering etc etc)
Once the renovations are done I would say this would be a good 3* / low 4* hotel. It will be clean/fresh/comfortable but not luxurious.
If you want to stay on or near Port Vila I would suggest the Ramada or Irrirki....People I met during my stay were very complimentary about these similarly priced resorts!

Room Tip: if anything, go for a lagoon view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank thebigplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

This resort has been taken over from Le Meridien and the Palms is obviously embarking on some serious renovations/improvements to the resort which is impacting on the facilities available. This was, however, pointed out to us at time of booking so we could not really complain about the sound of chain saws whilst we sat by the lagoon or the lack of a large pool and swim-up bar.

We only stayed here for one night before heading to the outer islands and this was actually the only place in Vanuatu where we stayed which had air-conditioning. We got upgraded to a suite which was fantastic. The other customer service was adequate to OK; when we went to dinner in the restaurant our menus were opened at the mains page to suggest we didn't have an entree as we were the last to be seated at around 8.30. The food was below par for the price and the wine list very expensive, but the inclusive breakfast made up for that.

Overall, the Palms is very big and "resorty" but as that's what it is, that's fine I guess. Lots of couples and families desperately trying not to interact with one another even though they're sharing the same bit of lagoon or pool area. We paid AU$230 for one night through Wotif.com and this does seem a little excessive for what we got; but probably would have been OK if all the renovations had been completed. My advice: wait until they're done with the refurb then give it a go.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

I stayed at Palms Resort and Casino with my best friend on a girls trip to Vanuatu. We had a really nice time, and the hotel was pretty good value for what we paid. (Room and Buffet Breakfast were included - and i certainly got my moneys worth of the buffet breakfast.)

I was pretty disappointed that there was so much construction happening and no one had informed us. (My House is absoutely surrounded by construction - so i was desperate to get away from the noise and dust) I suppose it wasn't too bad, but there is something a little off putting about lying on a beautiful beach with a chainsaw going off in the background.

The rooms were comfortable and clean, however the shower drain seemed to be blocked, as we were always standing ankle deep in our own filth during a shower.

2 sour notes...We had money stolen from our room. I don't like using hotel safes (id rather lock valuable in my luggage), but I would strongly advise it , as about $350 went missing from our unlocked suitcase. Management were not particularly helpful with this issue either. All they did for us was give us a police report to fill out. I work in a hotel back home, and I can assure you, if something (money or otherwise) goes missing from a room it is taken extremely seriously, and a lot more is done to resolve it.

We had one particularly bad experience with the restaurant, as on the last night of our trip we made the silly decision to eat in. We waited 2.5 hours for a meal (not just us, the whole full restaurant waited at least 1-2 hrs for their meals), after which time i had filled up on bread and left overs from other tables that i cancelled my order and went to bed.

Aside from this, MOST of the staff were very lovely and friendly (especially Florence).

The view, and lagoon/beach area is spectacular and the sports equiptment is great fun (canoes/catamarans/snorkel).

I would reccomend this hotel, but I would warn people to proceed with caution (and patience) but I probably would only stay here as a second choice again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anniemae18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.1 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#10 of 47 in Port Vila
1,579 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#19 of 47 in Port Vila
556 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Melanesian Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila
#24 of 47 in Port Vila
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#2 of 47 in Port Vila
600 reviews
1 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
2.8 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#6 of 47 in Port Vila
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Address: Tassiriki Park, PO Box 215, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu (Formerly Palms Resort and Casino Vanuatu)
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: £100 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the serene waters of the Erakor Lagoon, Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu is set in vibrant natural surroundings. Meaning “the land that always existed”, Vanuatu is a holiday destination made up of 83 tropical islands located northeast of New Caledonia. Immersed in cultural richness and native splendour, the islands hold crystal blue beaches, coral reefs, hot springs, exotic rainforests, and stunning waterfalls that are some of the most beautiful in the world. The Vanuatu hotel’s Erakor Ballroom and Valea meeting space provides exceptional indoor and outdoor meeting facilities, and the accommodation resort also features a unique Namele Day Spa, two luxurious outdoor holiday swimming pools, and the newly refurbished Palms Casino. The views from the rooms include lush gardens, blue lagoons, and a golf course. The hotel boasts 5 dining areas. Breakfast, buffet and à la carte dinners are served daily. There is an extensive wine list from New Zealand, Australia and France. Get to experience the perfect Vanuatu holiday with island lifestyle at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Port Vila Le Meridien
Le Meridien Vanuatu
Le Meridian Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing