We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise found” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Port Vila
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Paradise found”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

The Holiday Inn is well located about a 10 min drive from the town centre of Port Vila. The staff are super friendly and go out of their way to help you out. Vanuata is a little like Fiji but has a certain something that makes it different. The resort is well appointed with 2 pools and a great buffet restaurant. Staying in an overwater villa was a luxurious extra bonus. Loads of water sports and a basic gym. All in all a great holiday experience and highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bradleyboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Good Afternoon bradleyboyd

Thank you for your review.

Picked out a few of the key features of the resort being the diversity of accommodation from Kids Suites to Overwater Vila's and having the two pools allows us to cater to both the family and couples easily. As you found Port Vila is very close and with so many good dining options and experiences like the Market house.

Hope to welcome you back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    225
    50
    12
    9
See reviews for
297
189
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

With such an accommodating, consistently warm and helpful staff it would be impossible not to have a true holiday. As well as this there were so many unexpected "extras " which added a special, extra dimension to our overall stay.

For example we could get to eat breakfast without interruption which is usually impossible with three year olds !!!!!!! The was a daily breakfast corner in the restaurant where children were able to sit with staff and contribute to/or be entertained and then take away small toys etc made with traditional palm leaf weaving. The soothing sounds of "shell calling" around the pool and beach area reminding guests that an entertainment or cultural activity was about to start created an embracing and inclusive environment.

Of course the usual things consistent with good hotels were present. It was the extras that created the "Bliss". We really appreciated having our room made up early in the day.. rather than late afternoon as many other hotels do .

Most importantly we had a strong sense of trust and security in all the staff . It wasn't until our journey home that I recognized that the Holiday Inn in Vanuatu was the first hotel, of many stayed in, where I had never once given a thought about whether or not my personal possessions were secure, I just knew they were.

Every staff member we came in touch should be commended for their efforts and commitment to their employer as such positive attitudes are a direct reflection on the Holiday Inn globally.

Thankyou so much for our very special holiday.

Sheryl Morgan ( grandparent, traveling with children and grandchildren).

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Good Afternoon Sheryl M

Thank you for your 'Blissful' review!

The Totel Club (kids club) as you found set up each morning to make some of the traditional toys that were and in some cases are still made by the children in the villages to play with. I am still amazed in what they can create from the fronds of a Palm tree.

Look forward to seeing you all back in Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockhampton, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

This was our first overseas holiday and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The Holiday Inn Resort was wonderful, all the staff were so welcoming, warm, friendly and helpful. The food was excellent,the entertainment was exceptional especially the fire show, the pool staff new my drink and were always ready to take my order (Banana Baileys Shake). The resort itself is beautiful and always smiling happy staff. It was lovely to go to Breaky each day for the wonderful food and to have a chat with the staff. We stayed for 10 nights in a Lagoon Room which was beautiful. Nothing was to much trouble for the staff. No matter what time it was you were always greeted with a Lovely Vanuatu Smile and Hello. We absolutely loved it and will Definately be back. Thanks so much for a Wonderful Holiday. Tangkyu tumas ( Thankyou very much )

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Good Afternoon Shane Z

Thank you for your review and choosing Vanuatu as your first overseas holiday!

A great photo of the fire dancers! from the weekly show every Wednesday night! As you found the warmth of the people in Vanuatu is a memory that stays with you long after the holiday! Memories of course being the only thing we really keep from a break!

Hopefully we can welcome you back to Vanuatu with a smile soon.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masterton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

4 lovely nights at the Holiday Inn. Requested a room with a view on arrival which they were happy to accommodate and even gave us a complimentary drink each while they arranged it. Great array of activities meant you didn't have to leave the reort if you didn't want too. (and given the squalr and filth of Vanuatu we were happy stay in the resort 90% of the time) The 2 pools were fabulous. Dining was average - expected some amazing seafood which wasn't an option, but that could be my expectations were unrealistic. Staff were so lovely and accommodating - always keen to please ad unlike what you sometimes hear service was always very prompt.

Room Tip: always ask for a room with a lagoon view. And watch the echange of $ to Vatus when ordering !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1cooper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Good Afternoon 1cooper1

Thank you for your review.

As you mentioned there are plenty of activities both coordinated by the activities team and others than you can do when you feel the need to get out of the chair beside the pools. Unfortunately the supply of seafood is not consistent so we have introduced a specials menu which can feature some of the produce that we do get.

Thank you for the comment regarding the prompt service as the team work hard on ensuring we not only meet your expectations but strive to exceed them.

Hope to welcome you back in Vanuatu soon.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scoresby, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

We have just returned from our first trip to Vanuatu and spent 5 nights at the holiday inn. I would like to highlight the friendly, professional staff who were very accommodating and made our stay very pleasurable. We were always greeted with a friendly smile and warm nature, from the staff at front desk to the activity hut staff.
The facilities were fantastic with bright, clean rooms and a fantastic view from our private balcony. We highly recommend the lagoon view rooms.
The pools and activities available were exciting and enjoyed the shows, in particular the fire-twirling show on the Wednesday night.
The resort is well equiped for a family holiday, aswell as a couples retreat.
The food available in both the lobby bar and restaurant was excellent.
We recommend the holiday inn for your stay in vanuatu, we loved our experience!
A big thank you to Tenille and Thomas for making our stay memorable. Thanks for the Sambuca Thomas, will need to return and buy the next round!

Wayne & Rebecca

Room Tip: Request a lagoon view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Good Morning Wayne D

Thank you for your 'Heavenly' review!

Lets hope its not your last trip to this fantastic destination! The fire dancers are creating a very unique show on the Wednesday nights and certainly know how to entertain the crowd.

Hope to see you back for another Sambuca in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papamoa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

everything you can ask for from the excellent food, free water sports entertainment every night if you want it or you simply go to a different bar or pool. Loved the quite pool away from the kids!!
all the staff wre absolutly great. friendly and very helpfull.
WE WILL BE BACK. just make sure you still have those banana coctails.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjkolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Good Afternoon jjkolk

Thank you for the review.

We are very lucky to have the two pools that enable us to create an active zone around the Beach (main) pool and leave the Terrace Pool as our quiet zone. Allowing an area for the guests that just want too sit in a pool hammock and sip their Banana Cocktails!

Look forward to seeing you back sipping cocktails soon.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

We have just returned from a 7 night stay, our first time on a South Pacific Island. The resort was lovely and the holiday wonderfully relaxing.

The staff made our stay. Everyone was so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The smiling faces were infectious.

We stayed in a lagoon room which was comfortable and clean. The resort facilities - swimming pool, golf course, pool bar, lobby bar & restaurant were great. We did not though realise that there was an a la carte menu until mid-week as it wasn't well advertised. Wished we'd known sooner as would have then used the restaurant more often (it does a buffet evening menu & so gets busy with children in the early evening)

Towels were ample - able to take them out for trips as well.

There are taxis/buses available outside the door or it's a 20 minute walk into Port Vila.

The choice of trips to take was huge and again staff, especially Rachel, very informative and helpful.

The drinks evening hosted by Thomas was a bonus.

Would recommend the Holiday Inn to families or couples - a fantastic place to enjoy the welcoming people of Vanuatu and above all a place to relax and chill out.

Room Tip: Lagoon room is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah5368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Good Afternoon Sarah5368

Thank you for takking the time to write a review.

Sounds like the team's warm and friendly nature shone through during your visit with us. Sorry to hear that you only heard about the A la Carte menu halfway through your stay as it is offered every night in Verandah Restaurant along with our themed buffets.

We are very lucky in Vanuatu and especially on Efate to have so many choices of tours and unique experiences in such a close proximity to the resort. It certainly is a point of difference for us in comparison to other South Pacific destinations.

Look forward to seeing you back in Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.6 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
4.0 mi away
Aquana Beach Resort
Aquana Beach Resort
#11 of 48 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
1.0 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
3.1 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
3.5 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 48 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Address: Tassiriki Park, PO Box 215, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu (Formerly Palms Resort and Casino Vanuatu)
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the serene waters of the Erakor Lagoon, Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu is set in vibrant natural surroundings. Meaning “the land that always existed”, Vanuatu is a holiday destination made up of 83 tropical islands located northeast of New Caledonia. Immersed in cultural richness and native splendour, the islands hold crystal blue beaches, coral reefs, hot springs, exotic rainforests, and stunning waterfalls that are some of the most beautiful in the world. The Vanuatu hotel’s Erakor Ballroom and Valea meeting space provides exceptional indoor and outdoor meeting facilities, and the accommodation resort also features a unique Namele Day Spa, two luxurious outdoor holiday swimming pools, and the newly refurbished Palms Casino. The views from the rooms include lush gardens, blue lagoons, and a golf course. The hotel boasts 5 dining areas. Breakfast, buffet and à la carte dinners are served daily. There is an extensive wine list from New Zealand, Australia and France. Get to experience the perfect Vanuatu holiday with island lifestyle at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Port Vila Le Meridien
Le Meridien Vanuatu
Le Meridian Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing