We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip of a lifetime!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My partner and I were recently married at the Holiday Inn Resort, Port Vila. We could not recommend the Resort in a high enough manner. We had 60 guests also stay at the Resort without a single complaint.

The staff were excellent from the moment we arrived until we hopped in the bus to return to the airport. The food was excellent and with lots of variety. The children were entertained both by the kids club and the activities team. The setting was beautiful and one could not help but feel immediately relaxed upon arrival.

The over water villa we stayed in was beautiful. Feedback from guests in other rooms was incredibly positive.

On the day and night of our wedding the staff went above and beyond without being asked - from delivering a champagne breakfast to feed 10 people at 6.00am to even ducking into town to get nail polish for the bridesmaids! The food provided at the wedding was outstanding, the bar staff never left a guest without a drink, the entertainment was perfect and the fireworks were amazing!

For those of you considering a destination wedding in Vanuatu, I cannot speak highly enough of the Holiday Inn Resort and it's staff. In particular, a very special lady - Janelle Tokon the wedding coordinator working from the resort. Every detail was organised without any stress. Everything ran so smoothly and was perfect. Organising a wedding via emails / telephone may seem daunting but with a coordinator like Janelle it was a breeze! She was successfully able to coordinate photography, videography, hairdressers, spray tans, nails, a steam cleaner for the bridal party dresses, entertainment, fireworks, food, beverage, decorations...the list goes on! Janelle even created a beautiful seating chart when the one I had ordered did not arrive.

My (now) husband and I, together with our family and friends would all recommend this resort to anyone wishing to holiday in Vanuatu. Thanks so much for an amazing experience - we will definitely be returning!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Good Morning JessicaB

Thank you for sharing such a special occasion with us!

I know Janelle will be just a little red faced when I share your fantastic feedback with her and the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you all back for another celebration.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 716 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

this accommodation was 4 star, but to get to town you had to catch a taxi and this worked out quit expensive in the long run. All restaurants were in town except for eating in hotel. This hotel had a golf course attached to it, but did not see anyone playing. The pool was great for kids and happy hour from 4 to 6pm this was the only time you could afford drinks. Food and drink was expensive.

Room Tip: Huts on the water were great for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillybean755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Good Morning jillybean

Thank you for your review.

The close proximity of the resort to the town centre certainly makes it easy to take advantage of the many good restaurants around town. With 10 Cabana's along the edge of the Lagoon there is always somewhere that you can find a quiet space to get that all important Holiday nap in.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights end of August as a family with our 8 year old son. It was pretty quite when we were there, one particular afternoon we pretty much had the entire pool area to ourselves! The resort setting is absolutely beautiful with plenty of activities in the day to do. We took advantage of kyaking, sailing, tennis, chess, swimming and happy hour cocktails (pool bar 4pm - 6pm). Fire dancing show on wednesday night was the best fire show we have ever seen! My suggestion would be to make an entire night of it and have everyone up dancing on the beach for longer than just the 1 song as it was so much fun! I also had a beach massage which was a really nice way to start our holiday.
Breakfast buffet was really good, freshly cooked omlettes were my daily fix as well as freshly made juice (they have a juicer). Plenty of variety to suit everyone.
There wasn't much to do at night though, its a lot quiter compared to resorts we have stayed at in Fiji but great if you are just wanting a relaxing break catering to families.
The main pool was beautiful, plenty of sun loungers, umbrellas and fantastic service from the pool bar. We always requested a jug or 2 of ice cold water when relaxing by the pool and that was no problem. The pool was a bit cold - great for a refreshing dip but a bit too cold to stay in for too long. All the kids seemed to enjoy it though. Plenty of noodles and lilo things. Kids loved it.
The lagoon itself was great for kyaking in etc but not really for swimming, the water is a bit murky, although we could see lots of star fish!
Service was fantastic. All the staff are willing to help you out, especially at reception. Trips were very easy to organise. We did a trip to Hideaway Island (highly recommend as a fantastic day out for snorkelling, glass bottom boat, lunch and beautiful water) as well as a cultural night/Island feast at the cultural village (also a fantastic evening with entertainment, kava tasting and declicious island feast including dessert!).
We stayed in room 316 (garden), decent shower with hot water, comfortable beds with firm and soft pillows to choose from and black-out curtains however the balcony too small but we didn't come to Vanuatu to stay in our room all day. Air conditioning was quiet but hard to know what setting to put it on.... sometimes would wake up sweating or wake up freezing.... Its just trial and error and to set it at what suits.
Overall a fantastic holiday, very relaxing place. Can't fault the hotel at all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunloverAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Good Morning SunloverAuckland

Thank you for your review of both the hotel but also some the fantastic activities available around Efate.

Certainly sounds like you had a bit of relax between a lot of getting out and about which is something that is very easy to do in Vanuatu with some very unique experiences right at your door step. Sounds like we need to find a few more guests if you had the entire pool yourself!

Look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I was very pleasantly surprised and thought this was a lovely resort. Our room was new, modern and had everything we needed and a lovely outlook. Staff were extremely helpful and just lovely. I wasn't travelling with children but it looked like it was very well set up for them.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NiknakNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Good Morning NiknaNZ

Thank for your review and comments regarding the team.

Hope to see you back in Vanuatu very soon.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This property had many good things going for it. The location wasn't bad, only a 500vt taxi trip out of town about 10mins away. The room was comfortable when A/C set at 23Degrees. The bed was comfortable, and there was a safe in the room. The fact there were 2 pools was great because all the kids used the big pool and that left a small more scluded pool for those who wanted peace and quiet. The gound were excellent for going for a stroll and there is a casoni if you fancy a flutter. The food was above average for this type of hotel but expensive like all food and drink on th island. Just 2 niggles, the room didn't have a balcony (but some did) and the happy hour deal re cocktail was confusing and turned into a ripoff so be careful. Oh and one other, the service is so slow, but no worse than elsewhere on the island.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Good Morning Rob H

Thank you for the review.

We are indeed lucky to have the two pools that allows you to be either in the thick of the action or just relax. Sorry to hear that the Happy Hours didn't meet your expectations and we certainly take the feedback on-board.

Hope to see you back in Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Was there late August and it was a very nice resort. Lovely small beach overlooking a lagoon with plenty of shady places to hang out. The rooms were ok, but the standard one I had only had a very small and narrow balcony, so if you want a room with a balcony you can sit down on, then you need to check first. The staff were very friendly and really couldn't do enough for you. The restaurant was ok, and the buffet breakfast was quite good for a buffet. The resort puts on entertainment which was good - I particularly like the fire dancing which was on when we were there. There are two bars each having happy hours at different times during the evening. It certainly wasn't cheap but that is normal across the island. August was quite quiet but I imagine that if you went on peak holiday times, then it would get very busy and noisy. Typically 500 Vanuatu to get a taxi into Port Villa - you wouldn't really want to walk into town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSnakebite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Good Morning Thesnakebite

Thank you for the review.

Having almost 70 acres of land allows plenty of areas that you can find space to yourself even during the school holidays and August is one of our busiest months. Great to see you enjoyed Won Smal Bag - Vanuafire on the Wednesday night the performers raise money through this show to help educate the youth around Vanuatu on a wide range of social issues through theatre.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed for 7 nights in late July/early Aug. We are a bit nervous before arrival as the reviews were definitely pretty mixed. Happy to say there was absolutely no cause for concern on any front. OK, some of the rooms are a little dated, but that's about it. Our room was clean and well maintained; we took advantage of the upgrade offer and the next room was also fine. The facilities are great - we all enjoyed the pool, kayaking, stand-up paddle-boarding and the hobie-cats. The only downside is that it's on a lagoon, not a beach (we are keen snorkelers), but we knew that when we booked it. The brekkie included was great, as were other meals (a little on the expensive side for dinner however, we felt, but great variety etc. Kids club was great, esp in that they had a programme and stuck to it, even if there were few/no kids, so you could take your child at, say 2pm, for the stated activity, and it would happen (unlike some other places we've stayed). Mention you are Priority Club (can sign up online for free) and you get free wifi for 7 days. Gen tips - if you are into snorkelling, a trip (or several) to Hideaway Island is well worthwhile - great marine reserve and all manner of fish there. Iririki is also worthwhile. Mele Cascades waterfall is also worth the trip (we got a taxi to take us there, collect us around 2.5 hrs later, drop us at the jetty for Hideaway and come back after dinnertime (you can either eat on Hideaway or there is a beach bar where the jetty is). Avoid town and all of the above if a cruise ship is in!

Room Tip: We originally had a garden view room but it faced the back of where the taxi drivers hung out. We up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InSearchOfSunNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Good Morning InSearchOfSuNZ

Thank you for the GREAT review.

The tidal Lagoon certainly does make the use of the all the free water sports equipment nice and a good spot for a swim however the movement of the water doesn't make it ideal for snorkelling. One of the benfits of Vanuatu over the other Pacific destinations is that you can get out and about very easily and enjoy some of the natural beauty Vanuatu has to offer very very easily as you found out!

Some great tips in the review and I hope to see welcome you back to Vanuatu soon.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.1 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#10 of 47 in Port Vila
1,579 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#18 of 47 in Port Vila
556 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Melanesian Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila
#24 of 47 in Port Vila
322 reviews
1 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
2.8 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#6 of 47 in Port Vila
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Address: Tassiriki Park, PO Box 215, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu (Formerly Palms Resort and Casino Vanuatu)
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: £99 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the serene waters of the Erakor Lagoon, Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu is set in vibrant natural surroundings. Meaning “the land that always existed”, Vanuatu is a holiday destination made up of 83 tropical islands located northeast of New Caledonia. Immersed in cultural richness and native splendour, the islands hold crystal blue beaches, coral reefs, hot springs, exotic rainforests, and stunning waterfalls that are some of the most beautiful in the world. The Vanuatu hotel’s Erakor Ballroom and Valea meeting space provides exceptional indoor and outdoor meeting facilities, and the accommodation resort also features a unique Namele Day Spa, two luxurious outdoor holiday swimming pools, and the newly refurbished Palms Casino. The views from the rooms include lush gardens, blue lagoons, and a golf course. The hotel boasts 5 dining areas. Breakfast, buffet and à la carte dinners are served daily. There is an extensive wine list from New Zealand, Australia and France. Get to experience the perfect Vanuatu holiday with island lifestyle at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Port Vila Le Meridien
Le Meridien Vanuatu
Le Meridian Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing