We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“big resort feel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“big resort feel”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed here after staying at aquana beach resort it took a little adjusting coming from a boutique family run resort to a huge crazy busy hotel.
Look it was not my fav place in the world the food is average the building a little tiresome if you like a big resort feel then go for it ... but pretty sub standard. Lots of kids everywhere so great for kids
pros close to town & plenty restaurants & sights to see.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cassmaroubra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Good Afternoon cassmaroubra

Thank you for the review.

You are spoiled for choice in Vanuatu with so many varied experiences both in terms of accommodation and activities sorry to hear that we didn't meet your expectations on this trip. We are one of the largest resorts in Vanuatu and with that comes the varied dining options, entertainment, kids club and water sports but as you said its not for everyone and a little research can go a long way.

Sounds like Vanuatu overall though was a positive experience and trust that it will become a destination of choice in the future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    227
    51
    15
    9
See reviews for
305
192
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Grafton, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed here after staying at Paradise Cove resort with two kids 6 and 7. After staying at a small resort it took us adults some time to adjust. But the kids loved it the pools and the kids club. The free kids meals are a real bonus.

The fire show on Wednesday and the kava show on Thursday were also good. The rooms were comfortable with of storage and very clean. At the five star level expected.

We found the food overall disappointing. Maybe we were spoilt at Paradise Cove. Also found cant swim in the lagoon. Although kayaking was good.

Overall a well kept resort ideal for a holiday with small kids. Wouldn't be first choice without kids, lots of nicer smaller boutique resorts in Vanautu.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Des S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Good Morning Des S

Thank you for your review.

Sounds like the kids had a great time although you can swim in the Lagoon which is tidal allows water sports from sunrise to sunset but not the best for snorkeling. Sorry to hear that the food didi't meet your expectations on this stay we will introduce of our wood fired pizza in the coming weeks to further enhance the dining options.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Mum Dad and two boys 6 and 8.
Don't get me wrong by the title, a recent refurb has sparked this resort.
We had a fantastic time here. We stayed at the Warwick Le Lagon about 1 year prior and the Holiday Inn wins easily. Better food and a fantastic view from the restaurant. But the dinner buffet did get a little boring so we opted for the Tapas menu in the lobby bar and the pool side menu as well. (we didn't try the a la carte menu nor the room service which both were tempting)
We also opted for the room upgrade during our visit into a family villa at 8000vu per night (we could have grabbed the family suite also at 7000vu per night) The villa was fantastic, spa, loads of room , over the water balcony.

The only issue we encountered was the noise from a nearby village, dogs barking/fighting and that bloody rooster. We could only hear it from the villa not the rooms.
Oh sorry, the other issue was the Villas are some distance from the resort complex, about a 500m walk, but the weather was great and the walk gave us more family bonding, (we did call and used the cart service when we had a few too many or were a bit lazy.

The staff were fantastic, we were ALWAYS greeted, always loved a quick chat, oh watch out for Noella she's cheeky.

The resort has continuous activities, two pools (one has attached a toddler section), golf, tennis court, kayaks, volleyball, beach soccer and jumping castles, rumours indicate a woodfired pizza option in the near future (yes I was reading the local paper jobs section).

Taxi 500vu into town. 2500vu each way to Hideaway island. 3000vu to Cascades. They have resident taxi's at the front door. Try to use them others tend to rip you off.

Room Tip: If you are looking at the upgrade inquire when you first arrive. We were pleasantly surprised by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bomshanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Good Afternoon Bomshanka

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Sounds like we need to track down a certain roster for a little Vanuatu chat! The taxi's on resort have all agreed to set prices to most areas around Efate so that you are well aware of the cost before leaving and also how much Vatu you may need for the ride as they don't carry much change on them.

Did you leave us a resume for the Pizza Che role? I can confirm though our pizza oven is in Vila all the way from Italy and now we just need to do the easy part......install it!

Look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My family and my sister's family (8 people in all with kids ranging from 5 to 12 years of age) had the BEST holiday of our lives!!! From the moment we arrived to the morning we left we were made to feel welcomed by the exceptionally friendly and fun staff (thanks so much Chief Sam, Florence, Clarence)!!! They offered a little welcoming gift to the kids and we welcomed the cold water on arrival. They have ample activities at the resort which runs on a fortnightly timetable. Our kids especially loved the endless hours playing with the Games Team (thanks Joel for teaching my son the sail and to John for always being there with a smile to entertain). The two pools are excellent and the lagoon is great too!!! The surroundings are just picturesque!!!! We loved Happy Hour for cocktails (thanks Jonathan and Willie)!!! The food was divine, cannot fault the variety and freshness of the breakfast buffet, dinner buffet or lunch food!!! We miss it already!!!!! (thanks to the chefs) The kava talk, fire show and so on within the resort were enjoyable!! The Kids Club provide many activities too and the kids enjoyed movies, dancing, painting a t-shirt/sarong and the ever memorable school excursion (a must and an eye opener - bring gifts for the kids please), Thanks to Selena and Jill!! The men went out on a fishing tour as my sister and I enjoyed the Spa, all I can say is WOW, we were so relaxed- fully recommend a minimum of two visits to help you unwind!!!! (thanks to your magical fingers). We had a couple of day excursions - cascade Mele Waterfalls and The Blue Lagoon are a must!!! We are definitely coming back to do all the things left undone and to visit our newly made friends :-) Our kids experienced a different world and we are so grateful the holiday was all and more than we would ever have expected thanks to The Holiday Inn Resort - THANKS TOO MUCH :-) xo

Room Tip: A lagoon view room is well worth a little more as the view is sooooooo breathtaking!!!! Rooms are c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia2013Memorable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Good Afternoon Claudia2013Memorable

Wow what a review!

It certainly sound like the Resort and Vanuatu have left a lasting impression on you all. The school tour is a highlight and certainly changes a few guests views on what they have in the schools at home. As you mentioned anyone coming over to Vanuatu the schools are in need of items and a few books can make a large difference to a large amount of Kids.


Look forward to welcoming you all back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalby, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Everything you could need in the one spot. Staff were extremely friendly. We were disappointed we had to change rooms on the second day as our room wasn't ready when we arrived even though we booked 3 months ahead - it was frustrating not to get into new room until 3 p.m. Very family friendly, probably a few too many children for us since we were on a 'girls trip'. Great facilities.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Good Afternoon Lynne B

Thank you for your review.

Overall it looks like you had a great stay but I am sorry to hear that you had to change rooms during your stay as it is certainly not a normal practice. I can certainly understand the frustration that you would have felt and the team have reviewed the system for allocating rooms to ensure that this doesn't occur in the future.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Us: 3 children nearly 7, 9 & 11 and two adults had a week in September. We had an interconnecting room with a Lagoon view- this was ample space, comfortable, sensational king bed. 500 vatu (approx. $5.50) taxi ride to Port Villa, do this a few times to chat to the drivers.
Overall appearance: Lobby area is impressive and a great place to hang out. Use the public toilets on this level not the ones down at the restaurant level which need a serious refurb. Hallways seem a little daggy, but who goes to a resort to hang out in the hall way. Verandah restaurant (main eating place) has great views and a beautiful breeze; hint avoid the inside room as the air con is a bit cool.
Food: Kids eat free how could you not love this! Mr 9 was in love after his first buffet desert. The buffet selection for dinner is good but do try the a la carte menu. At each buffet there is a chef to cook a set dish to order and Miss 7 was very impressed with young chef Brendan who cooked her a delicious seafood noodle dish. Buffet breakfast until 10:30 is a godsend especially if you have the misfortune to have a midnight (or 2am as we did) arrival. Tapas menu from the Lobby Bar was also enjoyed by the kids. The only ordinary meal we had was a lunch from the pool bar. Also take advantage of the pool side 'Happy Hour' from 4-6.
Activities: free kayaking and small catamarans on the lagoon kept the kids entertained. Limited fish life in the lagoon but plenty of large starfish -take reef shoes to avoid coral cuts. Great kids pool, another deeper quiet pool, table tennis and various beach volleyball and soccer organised. Our three only went into kids club on the last day so the girls could get their hair braided and then did not want to leave. Do not miss the fire show on Wednesday evenings. Activities staff are very helpful and there is also a tour desk for day trips - plan to take at least one for great snorkelling, we did the Coongoola cruise which was wonderful.
staff: quietly friendly, helpful and courteous. Remember function on 'island time' and you will be fine, chill out. Saw one silly lady in the dining room stressing over her 'booking' and the staff not being snappy enough for her liking, felt like telling her to go home. Stay, relax and enjoy Holiday Inn we did.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LibbyHToowoomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Good Morning LibbyHToowoomba

Thank you for the "Fabulous' review.

Some great highlights of your stay with us and a few good tips! The Coongoola day cruise always proves to be very popular and the crystal clear waters on the Northern side of the island are not too be missed.

Hoep to welcome you all back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed here for seven nights from the 15th September (2 adults and 3 kids). This resort ticks all the boxes of what a family needs for a great holiday. Check-in was easy and we were allocated a room overlooking the golf course on the ground floor which was perfect for our kids who loved looking for coconuts first thing in the morning.
Breakfast was served in the main restaurant overlooking the lagoon and the buffet was amazing. There are two pools, one for adults and the other for kids/families. The kids pool is large enough to not feeling like you are on top of everyone and the pool bar is perfectly located to serve drinks/meals and cocktails.
Dinner was again another buffet which changed nightly and the staff were just fantastic. They got to know us and even knew what drinks the kids liked and used the kids names which they just loved.
Tours can be booked through the "hub" and the staff knew which tours were popular and could recommend tours if unsure.
There is so much to do at the resort including kayaking, catamarans, golf and many more. The activities team have the best job, they make up the numbers when they are low and kept kids entertained on the beach playing soccer or volleyballs for what seemed like hours all the while having a laugh.
The fire show was a highlight and they even showed the football finals at the pool bar.
Check-out was again quick and easy and they even had set up coffee/tea and pastries for the very early 5am departure.
This resort is fantastic and we will be back. Keep up the great work.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank we_travel_with_kids5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Good Afternoon we_travel_with_kids5

Thank you for your 'Fantastic' review.

Well it certainly sounds like you had a great time whilst in Vanuatu and also got out to see some of the fantastic experiences that can be found on Efate. One thing we have is plenty of coconuts including the one's you can have opened for you at Breakfast or help decorate in the kids club!

Look forward to welcoming you all back in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.1 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.9 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
2.8 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
2.4 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Address: Tassiriki Park, PO Box 215, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu (Formerly Palms Resort and Casino Vanuatu)
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the serene waters of the Erakor Lagoon, Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu is set in vibrant natural surroundings. Meaning “the land that always existed”, Vanuatu is a holiday destination made up of 83 tropical islands located northeast of New Caledonia. Immersed in cultural richness and native splendour, the islands hold crystal blue beaches, coral reefs, hot springs, exotic rainforests, and stunning waterfalls that are some of the most beautiful in the world. The Vanuatu hotel’s Erakor Ballroom and Valea meeting space provides exceptional indoor and outdoor meeting facilities, and the accommodation resort also features a unique Namele Day Spa, two luxurious outdoor holiday swimming pools, and the newly refurbished Palms Casino. The views from the rooms include lush gardens, blue lagoons, and a golf course. The hotel boasts 5 dining areas. Breakfast, buffet and à la carte dinners are served daily. There is an extensive wine list from New Zealand, Australia and France. Get to experience the perfect Vanuatu holiday with island lifestyle at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, IHG, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Port Vila Le Meridien
Le Meridien Vanuatu
Le Meridian Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing