We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great family holiday”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Great location for a resort. Wonderful pool for the kids, great activities and fantastic kids club(kids 10 and 5). You can take the kayaks around the canals of the lagoon and have a look around. The staff here are wonderful! The hotel is not over crowded and has a really friendly feel to it. Sensational food and cocktails.
We did a few tours and just wandered around the town. You can catch a taxi anywhere for a few dollars, but the kids also liked catching the little buses like the locals.
We did one of the buggy adventures which was great. We also did the waterfall tour. Stunning place, ask for tour guide Robert as he was simply brilliant!

Room Tip: Kids share the second bed which was a little problematic for us, it would be good to upgrade to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Good Morning Luke C

Thank you for the review.

Sounds like you discovered two of the most popular activities in Vanuatu and the buggies are a great way to get out into some areas that you would not normally get to.

Look forward to welcoming you all back to Vanuatu.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    227
    51
    15
    9
See reviews for
305
192
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Marton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Location to the Water and to Port Vila was the main attraction for choosing the Holiday Inn, arrival was seamless and very welcoming, the room #251 over looking the pool area and beach was just perfect, easy access to all facilities. The hotel was not over crowed giving it a almost quite atmosphere, and the joyful laughter of the kids enjoying themselves was a delight to hear. The food at the Restaurant was excellent with a great verity to chose from. Port Vila was only a short taxi ride from the hotel or you could take a easy walking stroll (about 30 mins). The people of Port Vila and the surrounding country side were some of the most friendly and generous people I have ever come across in our travels around the world. Along with all the staff of the Holiday Inn Resort and the people of Vanuatu (Mr Lolo our taxi drive/tour guide/Limo Driver) we can't thank you enough for a great holiday and experience, we will be returning that is a promise.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter_fitzgerald67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Good Afternoon peter_fitzgerald67

Thank you for the amazing review.

Sounds like the Melanesian way of life and people have left a a lasting memory which is of course is all that is left after a holiday the memory!

Look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I chose to stay here due to the fact the resort had so much space (you can join the other guests or go off somewhere quiet) and that there were catamarans, kayaks etc to take out on the water. We also read the breakfast buffet was really good (true!). We stayed in an overwater villa (#407) and we loved it! We could see across to the resort beach and also along the lagoon. The day we arrived there were local kids playing in the water across from us and it was great listening to them have so much fun - for literally hours. Interestingly, a few days later we watched as some men dismantled a large shelter they had built (I hope this wasn't Holiday Inn staff...).
We ate in the restaurant a couple of times (off the menu) and were happy with our meals.
All the staff were very friendly, approachable and always willing to help.
There were lots of families staying here and we would love to return one day with ours (they're a bit too young at present). All the kids seemed to be loving their stay and they were well catered for.
Just two issues we had during our stay: 1) One day I saw a house-keeping staff member just tip the contents off all bottles (alcohol, soft drink) from the villa next to us into the lagoon and 2) on another day I saw a staff member who was painting the bridge wash his paint roller in the lagoon. This lagoon has lots of fish and it wasn't nice to see this.
Overall though, we really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to couples, groups and families.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Good Morning Angela H

Thank you for the review.

Sounds like you had a great time with us however we need to continually train the team on some of the finer details. One of the fantastic parts of Vanuatu is the unique culture of the destination that is primarily based around subsistence farming which we need to remember as washing items in the lagoon/strreams is part of that culture but we know should not include what you unfortunately witnessed. A timely reminder for us of that training is the key here as we introduce items from a western culture into Vanuatu.

Look forward to welcoming you and the kids back in the future.


Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We had a brilliant time at the Holiday Inn at the beginning of October, and really enjoyed our ten day stay in Vanuatu. Travelling as two famillies with teenagers this hotel was perfect!!! Our kids loved the catamarans, kayaks and swimming pools. There was never any queues to use the gear and there was plenty of it to go around. Despite all our plans to visit some of Vanuatu's holiday destinations, the kids were more than happy to just hang around and use the facilities at the Holiday Inn.

We loved the buffet breakfasts in the morning, there was plenty of quality choice and it was always well stocked and/or replenished frequently. The staff were friendly and happy to help where ever it was needed. The grounds themselves are beautiful and are kept immaculately.

All in all Port Vila is a great holiday destination and a super little place to wander through, the locals are lovely and fruit and vege market definitely worth visiting, as was the craft market.

Room Tip: We had a garden room on the away from the pool and while you didn't get the lovely view, it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyingkiwis2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Good Morning Flyingkiwi2012

Thank you for your 'fantastic' review and photos!

Sounds like you all had a great break and managed to sneak in couple of the visits into town. As you know breakfast is the most important meal of the day and who can go past a fresh coconut or potentially a hash brown or two.

Hope to welcome you back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nowra
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed for 8 nights at the end of October and had a very relaxing time. As we are a middle age couple I can see what others have said about this resort probably aimed more at families. Through possibly good luck the guest numbers appeared lower than capacity (which I was told is normal for end October) and as such this allowed a somewhat quieter time to enjoy the many activities available. I could imagine that with more guests the canoes / catamarans etc would be harder to use on a whim but I guess you would just pre book. If you are a golfer then don't even bother using the golf course as it is more of a hit and giggle course. There are two pools one being a larger one down near the beach and a smaller one near the lobby. The main pool is where the families go and the small one is mainly for a quieter adult experience. The small pool is not restricted to adults (which is a shame) but having said that most of the time there weren't any kids there
I requested a quiet lagoon view room and was very pleased to be given room 377 which is on the top floor at the furthest end from the lobby so there was no foot traffic past the room
I can't really agree with some of the recent feedback about the spa treatment and the staff at the restaurant (I guess we all have our own opinion). Our 60 minute massage was very similar to what we got at a resort in Fiji last year so no complaints as it felt wonderful. As for the staff I can't complain as everyone treated us with courtesy and were always willing to assist. It's pretty obvious that the culture is somewhat reserved and you won't get everyone giving you a high five but that doesn't mean it's a sign of bad service. I will say that "island time" at least at the bars is probably an accurate description but you're on holidays so who cares
The buffet breakfast had enough choice for our length of stay to try different things. We ate at the restaurant a few nights (other nights in town) and instead of the buffet we ordered off the menu which we thought was better value. Every meal we had (the steak is fantastic) tasted superb the only reason we ate at other places was to sample some different atmosphere. If you add the taxi / bus fare to the in town meal then it would end up more expensive than eating at the resort.
No problems with transport as the taxi to Port Vila (buses can't pick up at the resort) is 500 vatu ($5.50 AUD) and a bus back is 150 vatu pp so for 4 people it's cheaper to just use taxis just make sure that you have the right money whatever you choose so you don't get the "I don't have change speech"
We used "Goodies" money exchange in Port Vila near the post office for money exchange although using Visa at the resort to pay the bill was pretty close on the exchange rate but be aware there is a 3% fee. That's why I payed for most of it in cash.

Room Tip: Room 377 lagoon view very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mousekeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Good Morning mousekeeper

Thank you for the review.

Overall it sounds like you had a great time with us and in Vanuatu. One thing you do fairly quickly in Vanuatu is relax!

Look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler
Level Contributor
114 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Holiday Inn on our arrival in Vanuatu at the start of our 2 week trip.
The hotel is a "Holiday Inn" it is large and really does not give the "island" feel that I was looking for. I can understand that families on a vacation would enjoy the resort - for travelers - I prefer a smaller place with more atmosphere where it is easy to meet others.
Our room with a Lagoon View was basic - all rooms except the end units have connecting doors - and ours had a distinct musty smell. It was clean and we were able to have wifi in our room which was a nice touch for a chain resort.
The front desk staff were very accommodating - the pool bar staff had a very poor attitude - could care less if we were there sitting at the bar or not - totally ignoring their guests.
All in all - for a family vacation - it is OK - for a traveler - not recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingCdns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Good Morning WanderingCdns

Thank you for your review.

We certainly are one of the large resorts here in Vanuatu and offer all the benefits that come with staying with a global brand. in Vanuatu we are lucky enough to have a fantastic range of not only unique tours, experiences but also accommodation just a little research can go a long way in making sure you make the right choice for you. Sorry to hear that the pool bar staff didn't seem very engaging on this trip and we have been working with the team to lift the experience.

Hopefully we will see you travelling through Vanuatu in the future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a total of 10 nights and thought the resort was great! The free activities were well utilised; canoeing around the lagoon was a daily occurrence. All the staff were very friendly, with a special shout out to the pool staff, a great bunch of guys! The fire dancing that was on at night was amazing, definitely stay around for that. The restaurant was nice, we ate there a couple of times. Would visit again!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lauraswanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Good Morning lauraswanderlust

Thank you for the review and picture.

Sounds like you had a great time with us and in Vanuatu. I know the pool bar team are going to be very happy to see your comment about them.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.1 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.9 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
2.8 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
2.4 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Address: Tassiriki Park, PO Box 215, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu (Formerly Palms Resort and Casino Vanuatu)
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the serene waters of the Erakor Lagoon, Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu is set in vibrant natural surroundings. Meaning “the land that always existed”, Vanuatu is a holiday destination made up of 83 tropical islands located northeast of New Caledonia. Immersed in cultural richness and native splendour, the islands hold crystal blue beaches, coral reefs, hot springs, exotic rainforests, and stunning waterfalls that are some of the most beautiful in the world. The Vanuatu hotel’s Erakor Ballroom and Valea meeting space provides exceptional indoor and outdoor meeting facilities, and the accommodation resort also features a unique Namele Day Spa, two luxurious outdoor holiday swimming pools, and the newly refurbished Palms Casino. The views from the rooms include lush gardens, blue lagoons, and a golf course. The hotel boasts 5 dining areas. Breakfast, buffet and à la carte dinners are served daily. There is an extensive wine list from New Zealand, Australia and France. Get to experience the perfect Vanuatu holiday with island lifestyle at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Port Vila Le Meridien
Le Meridien Vanuatu
Le Meridian Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing