We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Mangoes Resort(Port Vila)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quest Apartments(Port Vila)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ah Tong Motel(Port Vila)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (723)
Filter reviews
723 results
Traveller rating
386
249
59
17
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
386
249
59
17
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool barkids clubfamily suiteactivities teamwater villaplay stationfire showkids eat freegolf buggyoverwater bungalowkids roombuffet breakfastschool holidaysadjoining roomsgreat holidaya garden view roomtour desk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
303 - 308 of 723 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed for a week flying home on Australia Day. Overall a good family holiday in a well run hotel. Kids club worked really well for us with a six year old daughter. Pool facilities were good and the 4 to 6 happy hour was a pretty laid back affair. Our local Taxi driver working from the resort was Tony who was new to the role and a real gentleman. Kimberley from the management team give us some great local advice on restaurants and tours. Particularly enjoyed the fire dancing on the Thursday night and the local groups in the lobby bar. We looked at rooms to upgrade to but ours was actually well placed just around the corner from the kids club and near to the lobby bar and pools. There's some pretty good local supermarkets to stock up your frudge with snacks and drinks including a large supermarket quite close to the Holiday Inn resort. I reckon 7 to 9 days just about covers Vanuatu off though perhaps a little longer if you were into scuba diving and game fishing. Anyway thanks for a very good family holiday.

Room Tip: go for room 251 if you have one child
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andysfootball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Good Afternoon andysfootball

Thank you for your review.

As you found getting out and about is quite easy in Vanuatu and the resort taxi drivers can be part of the fun. Tony is the son of our Chief engineer who has worked for us since 1980!

Don't forget Vanuatu has over 83 islands to explore including Tanna Island which has one of the most active Volcano's in the world.

Hope to see you back in Vanuatu in the future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed at Holiday Inn between 18th Jan 2014 and 22nd Jan 2014. We stayed with our 7 months old Son. The stay was very relaxing and pleasant. The staff was excellent and very friendly. They were very caring with my kid. The place itself was very safe and the resort was self sufficient with everything. We really enjoyed time in the pool as well. The resort has a very good Child Care which had kids program every day.

However, there are few suggestions from my side:
1. When I booked the resort online (using my IHG reward points), I sent an email to confirm whether complimentary breakfast will be provided or not. I never got the reply though.
1. Since we are vegetarians, the only suggestion would be to have some vegetarian food in the buffet.
2. Every time we order something at our room e.g. a banana for my kid, there was a room charge of 500 Vatu. At the time of

Apart from this, it was an awesome stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Akash G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Good Afternoon Akash G

Great to hear you had an awesome stay. As you found the team absolutely love children and many guests have theirs whisked away for a lot of cuddles.

We certainly encourage people that have dietary requests to let us know as the team can certainly make some changes or individual serves to meet the requests. Thanks for the feedback though which i will discuss with the team.

Look forward to seeing you all back in Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed 6 nights in Vanuatu and did not want to leave.. All of the staff were fantastic, especially Joseph from the pool bar! We stayed in the over water villa's and although we didn't spend a lot of time in our room it was definitely worth the upgrade. Very family friendly as well for those travelling with kids..

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey13588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Good Afternoon Stacey13588

Thank you for the review.

Thank you for the comment regarding the team and especially Joseph. I know the entire team will be very proud of your comments when we share them with them.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Mr Tait, just a note to compliment you and your staff on a wonderful, albeit short stay in January. My partner booked the trip to celebrate my birthday and after reading the reviews I was a little concerned that the resort may be a little too family friendly for a romantic getaway. We had a garden view room which was so quiet and we were often the only people at the "adult" pool. The staff were wonderful and nothing was too much trouble for them. I spent my birthday abseiling down Cascade Waterfall. A trip I will remember and we will be back. My only negative comment would be the room we stayed in was quite dated and the shower in the bath could be an issue for some people - it was quite slippery to get in and out of. Particular thanks to David in the Restaurant who made my birthday dinner special.

Room Tip: We had a garden view room which still had a nice view of the lagoon and pool. It was amazingly quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Good Morning Ciara B

Thank you for the 'Great' review.

Birthday celebrations abseiling down a waterfall sounds like a great way to spend a birthday. I know the team at Edge Vanuatu create a fantastic experience with the abseiling and its one of many great tours on offer on the island.

Hopefully we will see you back for the next celebration soon.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort VAnuatu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Resort from 25th Dec to 1st Jan. From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed & relaxed in the lovely atmosphere. We arrived late at night so the first view we had in the morning when we opened the curtains was fantastic (we had a lagoon view room on the top floor) it was like being in paradise.

The room was comfortable & clean & we had plenty of room for the 3 of us (king size bed & rollaway).

Breakfast was great, same options most days but that was fine as there was plenty to choose from. Only downside is that you have to pay extra for a "proper" coffee.

We also had the NYE dinner at the Verandah restaurant, it was wonderful. The band was great & party theme with lei's, party poppers etc was fantastic.

The staff were extremely friendly, always polite & willing to help. Service was a bit slow at times but that was fine, you get used to "island time".

The location was great, close to Port Vila & the surrounds were lovely. There are quite a few stairs, but nothing too steep. My grandmother is 81 & she didn't have any problems.

Many people have mentioned that it's only suitable for families with kids, but we (3 adults - 34, 58 & 81) had a brilliant time & the kids didn't bother us at all.

Overall we had a fantastic time, we couldn't fault out stay & we are already thinking about booking for this Christmas/New Year.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melissanicole1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Good Afternoon melissanicole1410

Thanks for the fantastic review and choosing to stay with us over the festive season.

Sounds like all had a great time and we all aspire to be still traveling the world at 81!

Look forward to welcoming you back again later this year.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews