We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“STUNNING A REAL HOLIDAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“STUNNING A REAL HOLIDAY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Can not rave enough about this amazing place. Professional, immaculate with amazing facilities and staff. Two pools, catamarans, entertainment awesome for families or couples. loved it and look forward to going back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DD0wns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Good Afternoon DDowns

Thank you for the stunning review and photos.

Great to hear you had a real break and got to enjoy all the resort has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu for another awesome stay in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    226
    51
    13
    9
See reviews for
304
192
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

For a relaxing holiday this is what I wanted and got. The accommodation and flights were a package and I was very happy with that. The hotel was clean and staff friendly. In comparison to Fiji I prefer Fiji Plantation Island. Vanuatu is probably not a place I would go over and over again to unless it was to relax by the pool and see the falls, blue lagoons etc, the prices for food and drinks are not cheap, even at the hotel, although the children eat free with the adults the childrens menu is the same with six choices, and the pizzas down at the pool are lovely, but should be for a about $30 each Aus. The hotel is a lovely place to stay, but if you want to tour you need to do your research. I would say it would probably cheaper to hire your own car for the day or two and do all the sights etc , saving money on taxi's. Then relax and enjoy for the rest of the trip.

Room Tip: Read other reviews, lower ground would be good if you want children to have a lawn to run down to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Svennnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Good Afternoon Svennnic

Thank you for the review.

Great to hear that you had a nice relaxing trip. We have about 13+ options for kids meals and we always encourage our little guests to request something that may not be on the menu. All our menus are available on our website.

Hopefully we will welcome you back to Vanuatu for another relax in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

We went to the holiday inn for a quick weekend getaway. Has to be one of the best experiences we had as a family. Nice and quiet. Brilliant surroundings. Wonderful staff. The kids club was totally exemplary. Overall loved the resort and will return. Kudos to your team! Loved every minute of our stay.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pkanwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Good Afternoon pkanwar

Thank you for your 'perfect' review.

Great to have you over the weekend and with Vanuatu only 2-3 hours away from Australia and New Zealand makes it a easy and short trip.

Look forward to welcoming you all back soon.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We arrived early hours of the morning to find we had been upgraded to a pool view room as we had already lost a day! .There was no bed for our daughter & it took them 1 hour to find one & make up the bed! You could just see the pool & every so often you would get the smell of sewerage.Not what yo want at 2.30 am.The resort is located in a beautiful spot but in need of some work.Ideal for small kids.Prices in the food dept are over the top!A lot of steps down to the main pool ,so think hard if you have trouble climbing stairs! Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for the water views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Donna C,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I sincerely regret that this visit was a disappointment on several aspects particularly with the level of service received and if the room you were given was a disappointment. Your comments are essential for us to improve on what we can offer to ensure similar incidents are avoided in the future.

Again, we appreciate your feedback and our apologies for the inconvenience.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearl Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We are a retired couple, who were holidaying in Vanuatu.
We stayed in the island rooms, well clear of the main hotel, & the room was fabulous.
Restaurant & food was usual good quality Holiday Inn style, & the service was geat.

Room Tip: If you are over 50 & want some peace & quiet , you have to get the Island rooms !!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Good Afternoon Duncan B

Thank you for the 'Great' review.

Sounds like you had relaxing time and with the two pools coupled with the over water Vila's you can certainly find some peaceful areas on the resort to do just that.

Hope to welcome you back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

upon arrival, the atmosphere in the holtel was immediately relaxed and welcoming. We were travelling with 2 adults, 1 teenager and 3 children and after 1 night in a regular joined room, it was obvious we needed something less cramped and we didn't sleep well.
It was suggested we upgrade to the Themed kids Room with ajoining King Room. We accepted and they credited the first night and from that point onwards things really started to work.
The themed kids room has 2 singles, 2 TVs and a PS3 - Wow! The kids were blown-away.

The king room was neat and well-appointed and most-importantly the beds were comfortable and the pillows were great. This is important to us as my wife and I spent big $$$$ getting a great bed for our home and you need your sleep when you are away.

Dining in the restaurant for breakfast was 10/10 for breakfast and the close proximity to the rooms combined with the high level of safety and security meant that we were OK with our older kids heading to breakfast by themselves (a privelige they really loved). The kids dined free for lunch and dinner providing the adults purchased meals (reasonable cost). Dinner was the only sore point here as the service and kitchen was slow. We were there in low season (March 1) but still the kitchen was always slow. Basically, you sit-down, order as fast as possible and wait up to 40mins for meals (ouch!). The kids naturally won't like this and either dissapear or nag each other, triggering adult intervention. I didn't want it to come to this but I did have to break-out the iPad to keep the kids sitting quietly. Next time, I'll pre-order the meals, wait 30mins in the room and then head down to the restaurant.

A better dining solution and my best tip is dining at the poolside. This works perfectly as the kids can swim until it's time to eat, by which time they are starving! Perfect! The beach bar also has a pizza oven and the Melanesian-style pizza is an absolute knock-out. The same "kids dine free (includes drinks) thing still applies at the poolside.

Once we worked-out that the poolside dining was the solutino to all out "crazy kid" issues, the holiday was sheer perfection. It's also worth mentinoing that the pools were very well maintained and the good water balance meant no sore eyes or bleached clothes. This is a real credit to the Hotel Engineering team who obviously know their stuff.

My wife and I both tried the Day Spa and the couples massage in the over-water Bures was a real winner. All other treatments were equivalent to a good local Sydney Thai massage and no better, so the cost of the other treatments were too high given the lack of "wow" factor. the Day Spa is also located right next to the kids Club and while I was getting a foot scrub, I could overhear my kids arguing, which didn't help to get my stress levels down! Soundproofing is required there!
The Day Spas in Fiji tend to be more slick and sophisticated, so I can recommend that the Holiday Inn either relocate the Day Spa to the over-water Bures (you should do this) or to another location in the resort (how about on the golf course which nobody really uses?).
My tip here is that if you want in in-house Day Spa treatment, choose times when the kids club in not in session.

The resort location on the lagoon is also a fantastic feature. The position really gives you a "local feel" for things and if you are prepared to paddle a distance, you can easily see the locals going about their daily routine and they are always freindly and approachable. What amazing people they are too - so happy with so little (an example for all).
The daily activities booked by the hotel are also a must-do for your family. The kids really loved the fire dancers who did a more contemporary and interesting show than your usual polynesian dancers. The local troupe has great energy, modern dance moves and a real sense of fun with a little risk. The kids were amazed and we were blown-away.
The other activities were the cava ceremony and hangi (in-ground cooking like NZ).

Another tip: Send the kids to the movie night in kids club and then go out on "date night" at a local restaurant (the Waterfront is overated, so try Villa Chaumiere or L'houstilet) and ask for the Cocnut Crab - wow. The food in the restaurant at the hotel is good but steer-clear of the pasta dishes as they don't have the "punch" of good Italian Cuisine. The Melanesian-inspired dises and anything with beef (their local beef is superb) will all please immensely.

My other tip is to become an IHG rewards club member before you go there. It will open-up quite a few advantages for you (free internet, free newspaper, networking drinks night etc). The networking drinks night was also a real plus. We got to mix with the senior staff and get some perspectives from Aussie Ex-Pats who live and work in Vanuatu. It's great to see our fellow Australians mixing and representing so well. They truly bring their Win:Win approach to managing businesses locally which is reassuring.

Overall, we now feel that Vanuatu is the only place for us and we don't need to go to Fiji or Thailand again. The welcome feeling, warm-friendly people combined with a hotel that is so well-managed and laid-out means we will certainly be back.

PS,
We can also recommend Evergreen Tours for day trips and we particularly enjoyed the Cascades, Mele Village, the Secret Garden and Pele Island (a superb experience). The tour desk will put you in touch with these guys. note: if you are visiting Pele island, be sure to bring some soccer balls and/or sports gear to donate the school. They will appreciate the gesture very much.

Room Tip: 1. Upgrade to the Deluxe Kids room / ajoining King Room - It's worth every penny 2. Don't d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Glenn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Good Afternoon Glenn L

Thank you for such a fantastic review and some great tips for everyone.

We are indeed lucky to have such a great team on resort and as you found some fantastic tour options nice and close to the resort.

Look forward to welcoming you all back in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

The resort is amazing.the pool is huge and the kids pool was really good for my lil fella who is 18 months the pizza in the pool bar are to die for and happy hour is from 4 till 6 which we didn't miss.the older two kids which are 12 and 11 we're never board as they had other kids to play with and the staff keep them entertained.we had two interconnecting rooms which gave us plenty of space.breakfast was a buffet with different food daily it was very nice and Wilson looked after us in there.however dinner in there was limited so didn't eat there much.the staff at the resort is amazing my lil fella love Florence she works near the pool and a couple of others to mention we're Jonah,Harry and Joseph.to get into town ask for Tony he also does day tours.All in all I'm missing the place so is the family and I can't wait to get back.i highly recommend it

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heathandcin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Good Afternoon Heathandcin

Thank you for your review.

It certainly sounds like you had the best family holiday ever and as you found out the team are a big part of making that experience. The team members you have mentioned will be very proud and probably a little sheepish when we share your comments with them

Look forward to welcoming you all back again in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.1 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.9 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
2.8 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
2.4 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Address: Tassiriki Park, PO Box 215, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu (Formerly Palms Resort and Casino Vanuatu)
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the serene waters of the Erakor Lagoon, Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu is set in vibrant natural surroundings. Meaning “the land that always existed”, Vanuatu is a holiday destination made up of 83 tropical islands located northeast of New Caledonia. Immersed in cultural richness and native splendour, the islands hold crystal blue beaches, coral reefs, hot springs, exotic rainforests, and stunning waterfalls that are some of the most beautiful in the world. The Vanuatu hotel’s Erakor Ballroom and Valea meeting space provides exceptional indoor and outdoor meeting facilities, and the accommodation resort also features a unique Namele Day Spa, two luxurious outdoor holiday swimming pools, and the newly refurbished Palms Casino. The views from the rooms include lush gardens, blue lagoons, and a golf course. The hotel boasts 5 dining areas. Breakfast, buffet and à la carte dinners are served daily. There is an extensive wine list from New Zealand, Australia and France. Get to experience the perfect Vanuatu holiday with island lifestyle at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, IHG, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Port Vila Le Meridien
Le Meridien Vanuatu
Le Meridian Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing