We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to stay in paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Port Vila
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

A friend and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Resort for 5 nights at the end of May 2014 in one of the garden view double rooms. While the room was on the smallish side, it was clean, comfortable and well equipped, including with an iron and ironing board in the cupboard. I also appreciated being able to watch Aussie TV to keep up with the news. You can't do that in many places overseas.
The staff were wonderful, always friendly and helpful. Nothing was ever too much trouble and the pool bar staff make the most delicious cocktails. The food at the restaurant was pretty good, too.
I particularly enjoyed the night-time, in-house entertainment of fire twirling and singing, and was glad I tried out the spa. I had a hot rock massage that was to die for.
I can easily see how some people don't venture from the resort during their time in Vanuatu (but make sure you do - it's a wonderful place to explore).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndieGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Good Morning AndieGee

Thank you for the 'perfect' review.

As you mentioned Vanuatu is a fantastic destination not only to relax around the resort but very easy to get out and about in. There is a lot to see and explore and its all very close to the resort.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    225
    50
    12
    9
See reviews for
297
189
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We decided to have our destination wedding here on the advice of our travel agent and we were dissapointed. Our wedding co-ordinator Janelle was fantastic. I was initalliy skeptical in organising everything via email however she made the whole process far less daunting than first anticipated and was extremly prompt in responding vi email. The set-up for our day was fantastic and the recpetion marque looked beautiful. The resort staff are friendly and were always willing to help, like many reviews have noted Vanuatu is not the place to come if you are not patient in waiting for drinks. We found this when ordering food & drinks, it takes awhile to arrive however it is generally woth the wait. Having said that, the food & beverage manager was fantastic in handiling our guests when there was a slight delay in the ceremony. We travelled during the off peak and so the resort was lovely and quiet, however this would be an ideal resort if travelling with kids. Overall a fantastic stay with lovely facilities and lovely staff. A big thanks to Gerrad, Janelle and the rest of the staff for helping to make our wedding fantastic

Room Tip: Order from the pool bar for meals, as we found the food better value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Metinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Good Morning Metinda

Thank you for the review and celebrating such a special occasion with us.

We certainly are very lucky to have someone like Janelle who treats every special occasion like it was her own and thinks about the little things that are easily overlooked. Sorry to hear about the service around drinks/food and it certainly is something we continually work with the team on.

Thanks for the great comments and photo's and we look forward to seeing you back here soon maybe for a first anniversary!

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Great place for a family holiday- Our 7 year old boy spent most of his time at the kids club or at the pool. The ladies in the kids club were awesome!!! The breakfasts were great and the staff were really friendly and helpful.

Our room over looked the pool area and lagoon .The beds were so comfortable .

all in all great holiday!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meredith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Good Afternoon Meredith L

Thank you for the review.

Certainly sounds like you had a great holiday and the ladies in the Kids Club tend to have a lasting affect on kids and parents. The beds are Brand standard for Holiday Inn Resorts so you will find them in them in anyone of our 50+ Holiday Inn Resorts around the world.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

u can have way too much fun! next time take ur friends, on my way to the cruise ship short sweet stay almost stayed the weekend on the way back! food fantastic! I have actually done this a few times in the past few year's an look forward to the next trip!

Room Tip: court yard rooms u can see the cruise ships roll in...very kool! only have two floors..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wylie J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Good Afternoon Wylie J M

Thank you for the review.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmwoods, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We recently came back from our family holiday in Vanuatu. Staying at the Holiday Inn Resort was AMAZING! Our room over looked the golf course. The bufet breakfast was always yummy! Never dissappointed! There were so many activities for our kids to do (8yrs & 1yrs). The canoes, kayaks, catamarans, kids club, and even hermit crab races!

The best thing about our stay at holiday inn was by far the staff! They were all so lovely!! Had time for our kids, and ourselves. Made us feel at home, and were never short of a smile! Our son thinks that Joseph makes the best banana milk shakes, while we think that Jonah makes the best nambawans!

Could not reccommend holiday inn resort enough!! Thank you for an amazing experience! :) We will be back!

Room Tip: We had a garden view double, our friends had a garden room king -- couldnt fault either room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shaye130206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Good Afternoon Shaye130206

Thank you or your 'Amazing' review.

Sounds like the team made the experience for you. We are very lucky that the team bring the warm and genuine Melanesian way of life to work everyday. Thank you for your comments regarding Jonathon and Jonah I know they will be very proud when we share the review with them.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We have just spent 7 nights at the Holiday Inn and could not find a single fault with the place. The staff are genuinely friendly and treat you like old friends. Great place to relax for the day or so easy to get to any of the attractions as there is always a taxi or bus waiting. You can even walk into town! Fantastic for families or couples. On my list to revisit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Good Afternoon Sarah D

Thank you for such an 'Awesome' review and photo.

Great to hear you had a great time with us but also out and about exploring Vanuatu.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed here for five nights and, after an initial problem with no air conditioning in our room, found our second room to be most comfortable. The location of the resort is ideal for couples, families and groups. We were last here about 20 years ago and Efate has not changed too much, just a bit more modernised, more accommodation choices, many more restaurants and a huge range of activities are available.
The Melanesians, as in Fiji, are so friendly, helpful and obliging.
Recommend to anyone for a laid back holiday.
Do not expect 5 STAR and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Lagoon view rooms and behind reception are slightly superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dauvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Good Afternoon dauvik

Thank you for the review.

Sounds like you had a great time. I am sorry to hear that you had an air-conditioning issue on arrival certainly not how we like or guests to start their stay.

There certainly is a very wide range of fantastic activities available around Vanuatu and so many of them are easily accessible a short distance from the resort. The Vanuatu Tour Operators Association have a great website if future guests are looking to do some research.

Hopefully we will see you back in Vanuatu before 20 years pass again!

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.6 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
4.0 mi away
Aquana Beach Resort
Aquana Beach Resort
#11 of 48 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
1.0 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
3.1 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
3.5 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 48 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Address: Tassiriki Park, PO Box 215, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu (Formerly Palms Resort and Casino Vanuatu)
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the serene waters of the Erakor Lagoon, Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu is set in vibrant natural surroundings. Meaning “the land that always existed”, Vanuatu is a holiday destination made up of 83 tropical islands located northeast of New Caledonia. Immersed in cultural richness and native splendour, the islands hold crystal blue beaches, coral reefs, hot springs, exotic rainforests, and stunning waterfalls that are some of the most beautiful in the world. The Vanuatu hotel’s Erakor Ballroom and Valea meeting space provides exceptional indoor and outdoor meeting facilities, and the accommodation resort also features a unique Namele Day Spa, two luxurious outdoor holiday swimming pools, and the newly refurbished Palms Casino. The views from the rooms include lush gardens, blue lagoons, and a golf course. The hotel boasts 5 dining areas. Breakfast, buffet and à la carte dinners are served daily. There is an extensive wine list from New Zealand, Australia and France. Get to experience the perfect Vanuatu holiday with island lifestyle at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Port Vila Le Meridien
Le Meridien Vanuatu
Le Meridian Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing