We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amit Shastri” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Port Vila
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amit Shastri”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the resort for the 5 days, and enjoyed our time. Best resort with best rooms, best staff, best live band at night, best food. Kids enjoyed a lot as lots of activities for them. Would definitely love to go back again. .

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Shastri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Good Morning Shastri A

Thank you for the review and we would love to have you back again!

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    225
    50
    12
    9
See reviews for
297
189
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Recently spent a long long weekend at a work conference. A great place to hold the event. Staff super friendly and accommodating. The food was plentiful, varied and very tasty. More than enough activities to keep you busy when we had free time. For some it was drinks at the bar, a flutter or two at the casino, sailing on the water, a round of golf, however if that is not your cup of tea, then others found it ultra relaxing by the pool with a good book. While it was a work thing (poor me ...lol !) could see myself bringing the rest of the family back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2As2Ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Good Morning 2As2Ks

Thank you for the review and photo.

It sounds like this conference was hard work!

We certainly look forward to welcoming the entire family back in the very near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Having travelled to Vanuatu with a group of 19 for a 50th birthday celebration, we stayed at the resort. My partner and I stayed in a over the water villa and wow it was everything plus more. We had everything anyone would want and the location and close proximity to Port Villa town centre was ideal, a 500 vat ($5 au) cab ride.
The staff is what makes the Holiday Inn Resort a must return to destination. They are warm, welcoming and did everthing to ensure our stay was enjoyable. After problems with our flight out to Australia on Saturday, they had the whole group have extended late check outs and allowed the use of telephones to call the airlines and hotels in Australia - not too many other places would do that.
Overall our experience was fantastic and great value for money, but its the kind hearted friendly nature of Vanuatu's people that will have us returning ASAP and again enjoying the Holiday Inn Resort.

Room Tip: Although more than the cost of a normal room, the Over the Water Villa's are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Good Afternoon Rob R

Thank you the review and joining the birthday celebrations.

Sorry to hear about the disrupted flight home maybe it should have been for a few more days so you could enjoy some more Melanesian hospitality!

Great to hear that you all enjoyed your time with us and in Vanuatu. Hopefully we will see you back again very soon.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I traveled with extended family, and had a great time , Was just after a cyclone so it was very quiet , had a pool all to ourselves. Food was good , staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were a bit musty but after having door open for a while was fine. Will be back for sure

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Good Afternoon sandy9761

Thank you for the review.

March is one of the quieter months for Vanuatu so you choose a great time to come and luckily the cyclone missed the main island here of Efate. Looks like you experienced some of the Melanesian friendliness that Vanuatu is well known for.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu in the future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, NZ
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed for 11 nights at the end of May. We are a couple with a 3 yr old. Prior to this holiday we have stayed in many resorts across Asia, Pacific and Caribbean, mostly in 5 star. So I was a bit worried about coming to a Holiday Inn, but now can honestly say I am glad we didn't bother going all the way to Asia. The beaches definitely aren't as nice as Fiji, the water isn't as blue or gorgeous as Tahiti or Bahamas, but it depends what you are looking for. We wanted a relaxing holiday as possible with a 3 yr old, and this was it! The flights were easy, the staff were lovely & helpful. The kids club starts at 3 yrs old, whereas most in Fiji start at 4 yrs. It is free and runs 8am - 9pm, the website says it has a playground, it doesn't, but it does have a sandpit and trampoline.
The best thing about this resort for us that makes it different to so many other family resorts was the pool area. The kids pool was fantastic, and provided hours of entertainment. The resort provides kick boards, noodles, moonhoppers and balls so there was plenty for kids to do in and around the pool. Also the main pool has 2 good sized shallow areas for kids to play. The pool area was a good size, big enough for kids to move around but small enough that you could sit and see the whole area. Late afternoon the staff play soccer with kids on the beach each day.
While we were here the resort was quiet the first few days then got quite busy. This is the first resort we have been to where there is no rush for loungers, you could meander down to the pool at any time and find some.
We had pretty good weather over 11 days, one morning of rain, couple of days of showers for a couple of hours, otherwise it was generally sunny. I was surprised at how cool it was, we had 3 days when it was quite hot, but generally most other days it was pleasantly warm. There was almost no humidity, so if you don't like it really hot, it is a good place to come. Most days it wouldn't have been too hot to sight-see. If you want a tropical swimming holiday and like it hot, I am not sure June/July would be ideal? Bring something warm, most evenings 1/2 the people at dinner had long sleeves on.
We had dinner every night in Verandah restaurant and thought most of our meals were beautiful. Excellent beef, very good quality meals, similar price to what we would pay in NZ. While we were there they had buffets for 4 nights, it was quite strange, they just suddenly start them and then they just stopped again, and it was mid-week not weekend. We had an Asian buffet and Pizza/Pasta, both we thought were very good.
The rooms were very comfortable and had excellent storage which helped keep our room uncluttered. Half way through our stay we upgraded to an adjoining room for an extra 3000VT per night which we thought was good value and was worth the extra privacy & peace.
Most of the sightseeing here is for older kids & adults but we found an easy trip with a 3 yr old was going to Erakor. The water at Holiday Inn isn't really swimming water, so a simple trip to Erakor is a way to go swimming in the sea. We got a taxi to the ferry which was about 10 mins. The ferry leaves when you get there and it is about a 4 min trip to the island. The ferry is 1000 per adult, but they give you a credit so that anything you spend at the island they take the ferry fare off. We went early morning and sat on their loungers on the beach, swam in the sea and saw red starfish, ordered lunch on the loungers and after lunch went back to the resort, very easy to get there and back, the island has toilets, cafe, playground.
Holiday Inn has a list of days the cruise ships are in port which is helpful for planning trips.
The only other thing we did was go to Port Vila one morning which is 500Vt each way in a taxi. The shops aren't very exciting at all, the market is expensive for souvenirs, they cost half the price at the ABC store. But our son loved the market. There is a good supermarket right next to the fruit and vege market.
While I was there I was talking to one of the staff about the useless website having such limited info on it, she told me they have their own site now but it doesn't come up in searches, so if you want better info, look up vanuatu.holidayinnresorts.com. It is much better.
I was worried about mozzies and Dengue Fever, but we never saw one mozzie our whole trip.
Our son absolutely loved this holiday and made some lovely little friends, this resort was very laid back and quiet compared to many we have been to before, I found that people were friendly and talked to each other more than we have experienced before which made it really nice as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Julz9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Good Afternoon Julz9

Thank you for the extensive review and photos!

You picked up on the main difference between here and other destinations and that isclose proximity to everything which leads to a lot of our guests getting off resort exploring the unique destination as you did.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

A friend and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Resort for 5 nights at the end of May 2014 in one of the garden view double rooms. While the room was on the smallish side, it was clean, comfortable and well equipped, including with an iron and ironing board in the cupboard. I also appreciated being able to watch Aussie TV to keep up with the news. You can't do that in many places overseas.
The staff were wonderful, always friendly and helpful. Nothing was ever too much trouble and the pool bar staff make the most delicious cocktails. The food at the restaurant was pretty good, too.
I particularly enjoyed the night-time, in-house entertainment of fire twirling and singing, and was glad I tried out the spa. I had a hot rock massage that was to die for.
I can easily see how some people don't venture from the resort during their time in Vanuatu (but make sure you do - it's a wonderful place to explore).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndieGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Good Morning AndieGee

Thank you for the 'perfect' review.

As you mentioned Vanuatu is a fantastic destination not only to relax around the resort but very easy to get out and about in. There is a lot to see and explore and its all very close to the resort.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We decided to have our destination wedding here on the advice of our travel agent and we were dissapointed. Our wedding co-ordinator Janelle was fantastic. I was initalliy skeptical in organising everything via email however she made the whole process far less daunting than first anticipated and was extremly prompt in responding vi email. The set-up for our day was fantastic and the recpetion marque looked beautiful. The resort staff are friendly and were always willing to help, like many reviews have noted Vanuatu is not the place to come if you are not patient in waiting for drinks. We found this when ordering food & drinks, it takes awhile to arrive however it is generally woth the wait. Having said that, the food & beverage manager was fantastic in handiling our guests when there was a slight delay in the ceremony. We travelled during the off peak and so the resort was lovely and quiet, however this would be an ideal resort if travelling with kids. Overall a fantastic stay with lovely facilities and lovely staff. A big thanks to Gerrad, Janelle and the rest of the staff for helping to make our wedding fantastic

Room Tip: Order from the pool bar for meals, as we found the food better value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Metinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Good Morning Metinda

Thank you for the review and celebrating such a special occasion with us.

We certainly are very lucky to have someone like Janelle who treats every special occasion like it was her own and thinks about the little things that are easily overlooked. Sorry to hear about the service around drinks/food and it certainly is something we continually work with the team on.

Thanks for the great comments and photo's and we look forward to seeing you back here soon maybe for a first anniversary!

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.6 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
4.0 mi away
Aquana Beach Resort
Aquana Beach Resort
#11 of 48 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
1.0 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
3.1 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
3.5 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 48 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Address: Tassiriki Park, PO Box 215, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu (Formerly Palms Resort and Casino Vanuatu)
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the serene waters of the Erakor Lagoon, Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu is set in vibrant natural surroundings. Meaning “the land that always existed”, Vanuatu is a holiday destination made up of 83 tropical islands located northeast of New Caledonia. Immersed in cultural richness and native splendour, the islands hold crystal blue beaches, coral reefs, hot springs, exotic rainforests, and stunning waterfalls that are some of the most beautiful in the world. The Vanuatu hotel’s Erakor Ballroom and Valea meeting space provides exceptional indoor and outdoor meeting facilities, and the accommodation resort also features a unique Namele Day Spa, two luxurious outdoor holiday swimming pools, and the newly refurbished Palms Casino. The views from the rooms include lush gardens, blue lagoons, and a golf course. The hotel boasts 5 dining areas. Breakfast, buffet and à la carte dinners are served daily. There is an extensive wine list from New Zealand, Australia and France. Get to experience the perfect Vanuatu holiday with island lifestyle at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Port Vila Le Meridien
Le Meridien Vanuatu
Le Meridian Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing