We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort, friendly staff, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great resort, friendly staff, great location”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My wife and I and our two children (9 and 5) stayed at the Holiday Inn resort between the 2nd and 9th of July. We had a fantastic time. From all accounts, our resort was the best on Efate.

The room was clean and modern - the beds comfy. But the best part of the resort is its location and its facilities. The resort is located on a lagoon which is fed from the ocean, however it gives the resort some nice calm waters for the kids to use. The water must be clean because we saw plenty of starfish, fish, crabs and even a sea horse! Our kids just loved the pool - despite it being colder than the ocean - and we made use of the free catamarans and kayaks - a great experience. The gardens were immaculate.

Overall, a really nice resort with a happy hour between 4 and 6 each evening - ask for Peter at the pool bar - he'll take care of you! Try to get to Tanner island to see the volcano - we missed out but its all people were talking about in Port Vila.

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade if you can - its worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LyaraJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Good Afternoon LyaraJ

Thank you for the review.

We are indeed very lucky with a tidal lagoon right at our door step that allows for water activities to occur from sunrise till sunset. Tanna Island and Mount Yasur are certainly a once in a lifetime experience that is not too be missed and maybe you will make there on your next visit.

Look forward to welcoming you all back in the very near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    229
    52
    16
    9
See reviews for
307
193
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
new zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

we eyed up about 4 resorts for our family holiday to Vanuatu, and were recommended by our travel agent to the Holiday Inn- good choice. Its big enough to have all the facilities, nice pools and bar/restaurant etc, but small enough so the staff know you.
The activities staff were great with our boys (age 23 down to 17) and kept them occupied.
We went to the other resorts to check them out while we were there, and think we got the best one. Rooms were clean and tidy and serviced daily, and food and bar selection was good. Probably the one disappointing factor, was the service was not great all the time, which we advised bar staff at the time. Our room should has have been a double as they gave us two small double beds for just my wife and I- which was disappointing. However that did not detract, and would likely go back.

Room Tip: make sure if you are a couple, you get just one room, with a queen/king bed. We got 2 x twin rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thetraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Good Afternoon thetraveller99

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

The Activities team seem to have as much if not more fun than our guests down on the beach and continually get great feedback from our younger guests.

Overall it sounds like you all had a great time and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We loved staying here. It's just the right distance away from the CBD to be close enough for restaurants and far enough away to let you enjoy the tranquility of the natural environment.
Breakfast was a very good standard. We had a look at Iririki rooms and they were a lot older and less well maintained. Staff were very friendly and helpful. They would do their best to help you.

Room Tip: Ask not to be next to any young families.. we had a baby next door wake us up early in the morning e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Good Afternoon David K

Thank you for taking the time to complete write a review.

Sounds like you had a great time with us and enjoyed the location. We are indeed lucky in Vanuatu to have such a wide variety of both restaurants many who are still influenced by the french from pre-independence but also some very unique tours and experiences. All of which are never that far away from the resort unlike some other Pacific destinations.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu in the very near future.

Tankiu tumas


Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I received an unsolicited email signed off by General Manager Thomas Tait with an unbeatable offer to myself as a past guest so I take the bait and look to make a booking for October but need to decide quickly to fit in with work roster.

I set out some basic but important questions and send email. Receive prompt reply with only some of the points addressed. No worries - I set out the shortcomings and send further email and this goes on, chewing up the time I can ill afford. So in desperation several times I ask for the email (with the questions) to be referred to Thomas Tait (hey - if you don't want to be involved don't big note yourself by sticking your name on the end of your marketing offers).

Guess what - at time of writing I am still waiting for his highness to respond. Guess I can only rate the booking/enquire process as I have missed my spot on the leave roster at work.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sidneeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed for 7 nights and had an excellent stay! The location on the lagoon was lovely and not too far from Port Vila. There were so many activities at the resort - 2 great pools, golf, kayaking, sailing, tennis, tabletennis ... the list goes on ... and in addition to this the activity guys kept the kids busy with beach soccer, volleyball, coconuts etc. The staff were fantastic and a highlight of the stay. We enjoyed the variety of buffets for dinner and the breakfasts were superb! The singers in the live entertainment during the evenings were fantastic and the fire dancing show was one of the best I've seen. All in all a great resort which I recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FranDoherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Good Afternoon FranDoherty

Thank you for the 'Great' review.

As you experienced our location is nice and central allowing the quick access to all areas on Port Vila and surrounds whilst still letting you and the family enjoy all the activities . Great to hear you enjoyed the fire dancers from won smal bag and the Food & Beverage experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next winter escape.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great place for the family. Kids Club is open from 8am to 9pm, I was able to go diving in the morning while kids had fun at the Club which is free. Also kids eat free. Service by staff was excellent. For me the only thing that could be improved is the menu which had no vegan food on it, but luckily the chef was happy to alter dishes to be vegan for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Good Afternoon Heather D

Thank you for taking time to write a review.

I know the team is always willing to assist with dietary requirements and our Executive Chef spends a fair amount of time educating the team on the different dietary requirements but also conversing with guests via email prior to arrival. We strongly encourage people to ask as the kitchen brigade enjoy creating items that they may not get to do everyday.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu in the very near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the resort for the 5 days, and enjoyed our time. Best resort with best rooms, best staff, best live band at night, best food. Kids enjoyed a lot as lots of activities for them. Would definitely love to go back again. .

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Shastri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Good Morning Shastri A

Thank you for the review and we would love to have you back again!

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.1 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,448 reviews
0.4 mi away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#23 of 47 in Port Vila
386 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
2.8 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
469 reviews
3.1 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Address: Tassiriki Park, PO Box 215, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu (Formerly Palms Resort and Casino Vanuatu)
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the serene waters of the Erakor Lagoon, Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu is set in vibrant natural surroundings. Meaning “the land that always existed”, Vanuatu is a holiday destination made up of 83 tropical islands located northeast of New Caledonia. Immersed in cultural richness and native splendour, the islands hold crystal blue beaches, coral reefs, hot springs, exotic rainforests, and stunning waterfalls that are some of the most beautiful in the world. The Vanuatu hotel’s Erakor Ballroom and Valea meeting space provides exceptional indoor and outdoor meeting facilities, and the accommodation resort also features a unique Namele Day Spa, two luxurious outdoor holiday swimming pools, and the newly refurbished Palms Casino. The views from the rooms include lush gardens, blue lagoons, and a golf course. The hotel boasts 5 dining areas. Breakfast, buffet and à la carte dinners are served daily. There is an extensive wine list from New Zealand, Australia and France. Get to experience the perfect Vanuatu holiday with island lifestyle at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Port Vila Le Meridien
Le Meridien Vanuatu
Le Meridian Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing