We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Mangoes Resort(Port Vila)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quest Apartments(Port Vila)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ah Tong Motel(Port Vila)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (724)
Filter reviews
724 results
Traveller rating
386
249
59
18
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
386
249
59
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool barkids clubfamily suiteactivities teamwater villaplay stationfire showkids eat freegolf buggyoverwater bungalowkids roombuffet breakfastschool holidaysadjoining roomsgreat holidaya garden view roomtour desk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
252 - 257 of 724 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed for 10 nights in overwater villa which was amazing. The service was exceptional and staff wee always willing to help and were great with the kids. It is a bit of a walk from the overwater villas to the main escort buildings but you can catch a buggy if the kids are struggling. Pool area was good as well as beach activities. Breakfast was ok but dinner meals were disappointing although went out in port vila most nights. A very relaxing and safe place to have a family holiday. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DF61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Good Morning DF61

Thank you taking the time to share your experience with us.

Vanuatu is certainly a great and safe family destination with a lot of unique activities that are easily accessible from the resort. I am sorry to hear that we didn't meet your expectations in food and beverage something we have been working on since November and have a couple of new experiences being launched in the coming weeks ready for your next visit.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu in the very near future.

Tankiu tumas


Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Great place and wonderful for families! Fantastic pools and nice beach. Staff are lovely and friendly especially at the kids club, the activity boys at the beach and at the restaurant and pool bar! Would highly recommend kids stay/ eat free package!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidays20102011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Good Afternoon holidays20102011

Thank you for your 'Perfect' review.

We are very lucky with some great team members in both activities and the kids club who tend to leave a lasting impression on anyone that comes into contact with them as you found out.

Look forward to welcoming you all back to Vanuatu in the future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We have just returned from 7 days at the Holiday Inn. We stayed in a Family Villa on the lagoon, my parents & brother stayed in Overwater Villas. Firstly just need to clarify that the lagoon is beautiful and you would definitely swim in it!! Not sure what below review KirstenMelbourne is on about!!? My 4 year old & 1 year loved the lagoon, clean beautiful water, full of fish & star fish, amazing!! The staff who work here are the most beautiful friendly people, my whole family and children absolutely adored them. We knew most of the staff in the restaurant by name and they all knew the kids names, we used the kids club daily and the ladies who worked in here are amazing!! The Villas are over the other side of the lagoon, but we loved this and also loved the short walk over, but just a phone call away is the buggy to come and collect you 24/7 (also a big highlight for the kids!). Happy hour at the poolside bar is a must daily!! Our room was immaculate and cleaned daily. Nothing was too much to ask for, I cannot fault anything. We went to Vanuatu, knowing that things can run on island time and people need to realise that's just the way it is. Dont go there is you cant deal with things on occasion not happening on time. We loved Port Villa and went out most days, cant wait to go back and see more islands.

Room Tip: If they're available, upgrade direct with hotel (cheaper) to overwater villas or family villa.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Tracka16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Good Afternoon Tracka16

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

The tidal lagoon is certainly is easy to swim in if you can tear yourself away from the two pools as you found out. It also allows water sports throughout the day in a very safe environment. The resort is nice and central and also allows you to get out and experience all the unique tours and activities on offer.

Look forward to welcoming you all back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We recently stayed at Holiday Inn Resort In Port Villa during school holidays. Our two son's are aged 16 & 12 yrs. We had never been to Vanuatu before but we have been to three other South Pacific Islands so we were able to make some comparisons. The hotel staff offered a warm welcome with water and refreshing hand/face cloths which was lovely. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The reception area is beautifully designed. The rooms are of average/good size with 2 double beds. The room was clean. Daily Housekeeping. The bathroom was clean and modern. It probably is showing some ware and could do with a refurbishment but it was very adequate for our needs. After all you are only sleeping in it. Our room overlooked the pool which was nice. The hotel has 3 stories so ask if you require a ground floor. There are steps down to the pool so not good if you have mobility problems, a baby buggy or wheelchair. There are kayaks and catamarans free to use. Great fun even if you have never done this before. They have a wonderful group of activities staff who are there to entertain. There was a daily activity schedule. Great for younger kids. The staff were fantastic. They played with the kids endlessly. Football, beach volleyball, archery, table tennis. The tennis court was a disappointment. The fence surrounding the court is old and rusty, dangerous. I accidentally cut my head while picking up a tennis ball on a piece of rusty wire. The staff were helpful and offered to take me to a doctor. Both me and my wife are nurses so all good.There is a swimming pool which is a good size. There is also a paddling pool for toddlers. Unfortunately the lagoon which the hotel is situated on is no good for swimming. If you want to swim in the sea you need to hire a car or go on one of the tours. The restaurant has a buffet and a la carte menu. The food was average. It did get slightly boring by the end of the week but there is plenty of choice. There is also a kids menu. The staff and people generally are the happiest we have met in our travels. You charge everything to your room and pay when you leave. Please check everyday what has been added to your bill. They do make mistakes. The Vanuatu people are genuinely friendly. We went into Port Villa by taxi which is worth doing. It feels very safe walking around. It is great battering for souvenirs. On an evening there is usually a local band playing music. On one night there is a great fire dance show. The day Spa offers the usual treatments. Check about qualifications. I had a massage from a nice young lady but she had no formal qualifications. Just learning on the job? We went on two must do tours. The Jungle Zipline was fantastic for adults and kids. Frightening and exhilarating at the same time. We also went on a Mud buggy adventure. Driving a buggy through the forest and beaches. Two hours of the best thrills ever ! We were covered in mud. It was so funny. We stopped at a beach halfway and had a swim. Just awesome, memories for ever !
Vanuatu is a poor pacific Island - The people are friendly as you will ever meet. Holiday Inn was great base. Have a great holiday, we did !

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kiwi94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Good Afternoon kiwi94

Thank you for the review and sharing some of your experiences around Efate.

You picked two action packed tours on offer in Vanuatu and I hear that the Zipline is opening another series of lines in the coming month. Hiring a car is fairly easy but we recommend that you do a organised tour first as we find people miss so much driving themselves. Many people enjoy the tidal lagoon as it is a very safe environment for all the water activities including swimming but with two pools it's not the first choice always!

Sorry to hear about your injury on the tennis court as guest safety is very important to us. The fence will shortly be replaced ready for your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This place was the perfect family resort. There were heaps of activities for the kids balanced with a suitable environment for the 'adults' to enjoy themselves too.

Most of the reports on here are accurate.

A quick summary:

- the food ranged from just ok to pretty good. The highlights were definitely the breakfasts and the themed buffets. The luncheon menu was really average and they didn't seem capable of tailoring the order at all. For example, one day we asked for a plain cheese sandwich for our four year old and got a cheese sandwich doused in mayonnaise. Also, while the tapas menu was pretty good, one of the items was called 'chorizo balls...' but in fact did not contain any chorizo and was full of potato. The staff were good enough to take the dish back and not charge us.

- The pool and sand area were the highlights. The kids just went nuts for this and the set up was very good for adults too. A+++

- The staff generally tried hard to accommodate. In particular, kudos to Clarence in the restaurant who really went the extra mile to engage with the customers and talk about local customs and life. She should be strongly commended for this.

- the kids club was fantastic too. The set up there was superb and the activities were a major hit with the kids.

- the service in the spa retreat was very good but the amenities are just 'good' and perhaps lack a little bit of the class of a top resort.

I recommend you go outside school holidays. The resort was pretty quiet and I felt like we had the run of the place for the week. I would highly recommend this resort.

One final thing, don't bother leaving the resort. There is really nothing to see on the main island except the scuba diving (which was superb - see Big Blue diving). We hired a car and drove around the island. The turtle farm was very average (and the food was worse) and the hot springs up north is a complete waste of time and money.

-

Room Tip: The garden view close to the kids pool is a great location
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Macgonagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Good Afternoon Macgonagle

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Hiring a car and driving around Efate can be a bit different as you would have found we have no tourist attraction signs in face we have very few signs at all. We strongly recommend that guests try an organised tour first around the island as you get taken to experiences that you don't see or do when driving yourself. Great to hear that overall you enjoyed your time with us and we have taken on-board your food and beverage experience looking for ways to improve in the future.

Look forward to seeing you back in Vanuatu very soon.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews