We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing holiday, overall good facilities, couple of improvements.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing holiday, overall good facilities, couple of improvements.”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed here last year and chose a week after sch hols this time. Overall we were happy with the warwick. Service is slow everywhere we went. We chose to eat at wild ginger 3x and erakor x2 and happy with these meals. We didnt feel enthused to venture out as cafe du village and vila chamiere were somewhat disappointing compared to last year and it gets expensive incl taxi fares.
The rooms are looking a bit tired, we stayed in lagoon superior.
The 2 tenniscourt surfaces need new quality astro professionally replaced urgently, its actually dangerous as is. The sport activities are not well organised. It seems like the staff need more supervision.
We felt that overall though, warwick is pretty good.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunflowerAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    654
    512
    200
    54
    45
See reviews for
736
426
21
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Spent 5 nights here and very happy with the resort overall. Loved the buffet breakfast which was a little different everyday. The facilities and the grounds are beautiful and lovingly cared for by staff. Kids meals (lunch and dinner) that were offered were also great. Overall a great place to stay and we were really pleased with our first resort holiday. Also recommend the free boat over to Erakor island resort for dinner, beautiful meals and well priced with excellent service and a family deal before 6pm.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank E_S02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadbeach, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

I feel bad for what I am about to write as I went to Vanuatu 2 weeks ago and stayed at Le Lagon to enjoy a family holiday. It was going Ok until our 4th day.
My wife and I with the 3 kids (10,8,5) were excited on arriving in Port Villa however the drive from the airport to hotel was anything but the developing country we believe it is however more boardering on 3rd world.
Le Lagon as a Hotel is good hotel not great ,a little bit tired, but all the same for Port Villa its quite nice.
The 75 acres of grounds and gardens are quite spectacular.
On our 4th night we experienced at 7.5 earthquake at 4am in the morning.
I had read there was and earthquake in July on this Website however could not imagine that we would experience it ourselves. We did.
After pulling ourselves off the floor,grabbing the kids and escaping outside I did what I was told to do from the article that I read on this Website.
We headed up the hill to the Golf Course to avoid any possible Tsunami.
Other tourists and some security guards followed.
My issue was 3 hours after the earthquake with 90% of the resort worried and stressed the hotel did nothing to assure peolple things were ok.
All it would have taken was Senior Management to walk around the breakfast reastaurant and give guests a brief or something on what had happened. You could call it a PR exercise.
Whats more we have since learnt that the Vanuatu press does not like publicsing earthquakes as Vanuatu's biggest industry is tourism.
For the last 3 days of our trip we endured over a dozen aftershocks sleeping with passports,wallets and phones in fear the big one would hit.
The service at Le Lagon was mediocre.
I ordered two bottles of red wine at the main restaurant over two nights both times the bottles finally arrived when dessert was served.
We were told not to get the "All in meal package" with Le Lagon by own travel agent as we should go into town and experience the local restaurants. Its not worth it espeacially if you have kids. the Vanuatu Yacht club was OK it felt like I was in Australia not really an experience it could be if you were home sick.
The food at Le Lagon is the best we sampled and after 3 nights we decided to stay with the "All you can eat " smorgasboard that has theme nights every night. "Wild Ginger Restaurant" was fantastic.
I would say it was one of the best meals I have had in my years of travelling around the world.
By the time you pay for return trips into town in a cab then pay for your dinner it is cheaper to have dinner evey night at hotel.
My opinion is save Port Vila for the daytime and lunch.
"The Hotel Staff". I felt like I was taking up the staffs time by asking for even a small amount of service,I felt like I was putting them out asking for a beer at the bar.
There is no leadership or direction of the staff, to the point were you would see the General Manager swaning around the pool drinking champagne with beauticians from Brisbane in boardshorts while plates and glasses were left sitting in front of customers for up to 1 hour 4 feet away from him. Not to mention the workmen walking around pools hosing leaves and rubbush between your legs in the middle of the day while other workmen hammer and use circular saws 4 metres from your sun lounge.
Once again lack of management and guidence.
"Kids Club" Its not free. You are charged to use the play gym for your time there. You are also charged for Hermit crab racing, necklace making and visits to the local school.
My advice with kids club is if you are going for 7 days you need to budget and extra $100 AUD per child for incedentals. My kids were a little bored after 4 days as staff tend to make up schedule as they go along and there is a lot of repitition with kids activities.
Also the hotel charges a room tourism levy of $100 Vatu per night when you check out, its not much however cheeky when your not expecting it on your bill when you leave.
We had and interconnecting room with the kids so we got charged $200 Vatu.
You also get charged to use the fitness centre every time. It is $500 vatu a visit for a 5mt x 5mt room.
Once aging another facility we were told was free as part of our package.
"Would I go Back"? If there was never an Earthquake , "Yes" to give it the benefit of the doubt, however due to the experience of the Quake and fake smiles from staff "No".
P.S- Don't get shocked while eating in Le Lagon Terrace resaurant at
with Cats walking around between your legs and fighting.
Be prepared for Island Time it can get to you.

Room Tip: Ask for the 100-110 rooms or Bures. The 500 rooms are poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 302Doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Pros - free kids food at any of the restaurants/caves, any of the time, good babysitting, fabulous Erakor island a free 5 min ferry crossing from the resort - ferry goes back and forward all day so no hanging around and the kids (4&2) loved it. They also liked the soft play area at the kids club.
Cons - constant music or Karaoke absolutely everywhere, day and night - it was only when we left that we realized how lovely it was to sit by a pool or eat a meal in relative peace!
Kids club fairly shambolic but kids there seemed happy, we only used it once as they kept canceling the things our son wanted to do.
Pools very cold except the spa, so that was pretty much the only one anyone under 5 got into

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NJPR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed at Le Lagon for 6 nights. The resort is maintained really well, the rooms are clean and large, there are many pools and sun beds for all. The food is generally the same quality as any resort/hotel buffet(bland/boring), breakfast buffet was good, but their restuarant Wild GInger was great. We had teppanyaki one night, it tasted great and was very well priced. We would definately stay here again, however, the lack of customer service from staff was a bit of a let down. Things do get done, but quite slowly and staff seem to be more interested in making sure their other jobs are done before serving you (unstacking the dishwasher, lining up glasses etc). The staff are friendly, but dont expect them to rush to you. There is a gym, but it'll cost you 500vt to use each time - we found this a bit odd and decided not to use it. I did go to Oasis Spa and it was amazing - a 60minute massage & facial was 7600vt (approx $80aud).

Room Tip: Lagoon Superior - standalone rooms facing lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kakkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

The hotel is set in lush tropical grounds and fronts the Lagoon, the facilities are very good and the hotel is well designed architecturally it is a very nice place to stay. Unfortunately the food is quite bland and there''s a lack of fresh fruit. The pool area is great with good quality sun lounges, several pools and a swim up bar, the problem is that because the average temperature is mid 20's C, the pool water is quite cold and the swim up bar is wasted "SOLAR HEAT THE POOL". We went to the specialty restaurant one night at 7pm without a reservation it was about 1/3rd full they said they were booked out, on looking around I could not see any reserved signs on the tables, I got the impression that they just could not be bothered, on speaking to others over the next few days they said that the same had happened to them. The 2nd last day of our stay ( we were there 7 days) we returned to our room to find that the hotel staff had removed the flat screen TV and replaced it with a really old set about half the size, I thought this was rude & ignorant, not that we watched much TV but its the principle of entering our room without informing us for purposes other than cleaning.The staff are all friendly but everything seems to take a long time to get done.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not near any renovations
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janbru_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We stayed at Le Lagon in May 2011 in the week leading up to our wedding - which was held across the lagoon at Erakor Island Resort. We stayed at Le Lagon with a group of about 25, with other guests staying elsewhere in Port Vila.

The lobby and grounds at Le Lagon are beautifully kept and lovely to see after the drive through Vila. The welcome at reception was not overly friendly or personal and we then waited about an hour for our bags to be brought up to our rooms - which we then went down to get ourselves in the end as we just wanted our bathers so we could jump in the pool!

The rooms are a decent size and perfect for what we were after - we weren't planning to be in them that often as we were catching up with all our friends and family. They are not 5-star if that's what you're expecting, but clean, lovely bathrooms and some of our friends rooms (Garden view I think) were huge! Nice balcony with views out to the lagoon and we weren't too far from the pool and restaurants although others were quite a hike - it's a big place!

The pool area was great and plenty of sunbeds for everyone. There weren't too many kids around either which I was half expecting, although it was not peak season. They did run out of towels a few times, so get in early.

The restaurants were also great - we went to Wild Ginger on our first night and the food was delicious and not too badly priced. Breakfast was good - plenty of everything. We avoided the buffets, but some of our guests went to the Mexican, Melanesian and seafood nights which they said were good. Food and drink overall in Port Vila were priced ok - similar to what you pay in Australia though, so don't go over expecting Bali prices. :)

Spa was ridiculously priced, so we didn't go there. There are plenty of other options in town for probably half the price they are charging there. Although it looks beautiful so if you've got the money to splash, go ahead.

Bar staff were very friendly, although if you're in a rush to get your cocktails, perhaps choose a different country to holiday in. Very laid back, but you're on holiday so just take it in your stride. I got the same cocktail majority of the time I was there - the Ti Punch - and almost every time it was made with different ingredients and a different way. A few were delicious, a couple not so great and one like rocket fuel!! But overall, the cocktails were good. The service was not bad, it's just not the same as in Australia, so just be prepared to wait sometimes (and get different drinks every time!).

It was fun and easy to hire the water sports equipment and there is some surprisingly good snorkelling (speaking as a complete amateur) just off the jetty and over to Erakor Island. You can easily take a kayak over to Erakor Island for a visit.

I would recommend Le Lagon for any groups travelling to Port Vila as everything you need is there. It was also very easy to get taxis as there are always some waiting outside of reception. It was about a 5-10 minute taxi into town.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lozza83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
662 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
546 reviews
1.7 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
478 reviews
1.1 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
0.4 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 47 in Port Vila
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu

Property: Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Address: Erakor Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#14 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#18 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu is situated on 75 acres of exotic tropical gardens on the edge of the pristine Erakor Lagoon. Promising some of the finest accommodations in Vanuatu, Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu is the ideal place for your Vanuatu Holiday. The resort offers 140 guest rooms ranging from classic rooms, garden & lagoon superior rooms, garden and lagoon bungalows, to four luxurious over-water island suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Warwick Le Lagon Resort And Spa, Vanuatu
Le Lagon Hotel Vanuatu
Vanuatu Le Lagon
Le Lagon Vanuatu Resort
Lagon Le Resort Vanuatu
Le Lagon Port Vila
Port Vila Le Lagon
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing