We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The Resort looks old. Tiles missing in the pools, cushions on the sun lounges are all filthy; the tables near the pool bar are filthy as are the chairs. Children’s wading pool needs to be demolished, too shallow and very boring, maybe install a small water park.

House keeping was very good, our room was very clean and the staff were very friendly, although the Garden View was none existent.
Food in the Buffet was very mediocre, however, food in the Wild Ginger restaurant was very good, a good menu selection, staff were fantastic, chefs great. We had breakfast in the Wild Ginger the last two mornings we were there and if we had known how good it was we would have used it every morning, there is a surcharge but it’s worth it, heaps of food and all tasty – no children.
Food from the Pool Grill was very expensive (about $AUD16.00 for a plate of chips!!) and it took up to one and a half hours for some people to receive their meal – one couple never got their meal at all.
The golf course is very ordinary and the management need to get a dedicated Course Manager if they want to promote it. Greens even have roots growing through them. Only one rake for the bunkers and on the tees it is almost impossible to find decent ground to place the ball. Greens are not maintained properly neither are the Fairways, the cups on the Greens should be below ground level, they are level with the grass. As for equipment – this is almost none existent. There is no Pro Golf Shop so unless you take everything with you forget the golf, even the golf trolleys(buggies) there were only four.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, I would however stay away from the pool area as the music is very loud
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trishmar_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear trishmar_10,

Thank you for your comments. Apologies for not having met your expectations during your holiday and thank you for your comments and experience of Wild Ginger breakfast and dinner. The golf course as you have discovered is not a USPGA manicured golf course, I agree with you. However it is something you can have some fun on and all the while take in the beautiful views of Erakor.
Again, thank you for your comments.

Jeremy Walsh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,504)
There are newer reviews for Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

743 - 749 of 1,504 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

Very disappointed. Nice resort, but getting old. Sun lounges and tables and chairs always dirty. $16 Aus dollars for a plate of hot chips, $22.50 Aus for a pizza with cheese and tomato, nothing else. And this took 1.5 hours. Wild Ginger restaurant, beautiful food. Bistro breakfast and dinner, disgusting. Seafood night $50 Aus not worth going to. You don't mind paying if the food is good. The staff are slow but lovely!! Would not go again. We have travelled all over the world so feel our comments are fair.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Susan L

Many thanks for your comments. It is unfortunate you will not return again to the wonderful destination of Vanuatu. Yes, the staff indeed are a lovely people. With regard to sun lounges I am in the process of ordering more and take on board your comments of the cleanliness. I am sorry that you did not experience the finest with our buffet offerings however we are not to far away from having completed our complete kitchen refurbishment.

Kind Regards,

Jeremy Walsh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The 9 days we were there, the weather was perfect and this helped our holiday. Pools, food, activities were top class but the bar services were disappointing. While I understand they can be busy and staff are on low wages at times you can wait up to 25 minutes. And I thought Fiji was slow. To conclude, great stuff but you need to be patient.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davfog35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear DavoAussieland22,

Many thanks for your comments. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and you appreciated the pool, food and activities.
Would be lovely to see you again the next time a holiday beckons!

Kind Regards

Jeremy Walsh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Just returned from a 3rd stay in 5 years. We are a family of 6 adults & twin boys aged 5 (3 families). We had a lovely stay however it didn't start too well. On booking, we requested rooms together (and this was on our booking sheet) as we live in different states. On arrival were told we had been upgraded but we were from one end of the resort to the other. Thankfully after polite persistence & with the assistance of reception we were accommodated how we had requested. The Resort is starting to look a bit "old & tired" especially the pool area, tiles stained & also very slippery to the point of dangerous. Pool lounges stained and dirty. Toddler's pool doesn't appear to get filtered and always appears unclean. Breakfast on the first 3 mornings a great disappointment. Hot food had run out and had not been replaced, limited variety. We note that the kitchen is being upgraded however this is no excuse for such a dismal display compared to previous years. At present the resort is not what is was formerly. Staff do not appear as happy as previous years and there appeared to be a staff shortage during the first 3 days. Personally we feel that not enough staff had been rostered on those days. We had a lovely time because we decided to overlook much and many of the staff help to put you in that happy place. We think whatever is wrong at Le Lagon at present is Management. We hope things improve very quickly so that it returns to its former glory. Unfortuntley, we met two couples who had been referred to this Resort, who said that they would not return nor would they recommend it to anyone. Tthis is very sad as Le Lagon was such a wonderful place. Please get things together again quickly.

Room Tip: We have previously stayed in the garden view rooms and were upgraded to Lagoon view rooms which were...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Grampam2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear Grampam2013,

Thank you for taking the time to review on Trip Advisor. Apologies for not having met your usual expectations on your 3rd visit. I would like to note the following which I have done previously for readers with regard to guest satisfaction and that is an improvement overall from prior year of an increase of 10% in satisfaction. The grounds, landscaping and facilities are immaculate with many other amazing features. I am sorry you have seen your 3rd visit through different eyes which has questioned your future loyalty. It is unfortunate we are going through a kitchen refurbishment however on the other side of that, on completion, guests can be comfortable in future that food offerings will be coming from a brand new kitchen.

Glad you made it home safely and we do hope to see you again for a 4th visit..

Kind Regards,

Jeremy Walsh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We have just recently stayed at Le Lagon for the 5th time. It is an amazing resort with so much to offer. You wont find nicer staff, they are fantastic, so friendly and helpful.
We stayed in a Garden Bungalow which is lovely but I think all the rooms are fantastic.
Le Lagon is nice and peaceful yet close to town, many dining options and lots of day time activities.
Vanuatu is a great Holiday destination and Le Lagon is a great place to stay. We'll be back next year for another fantastic holiday.
I notice lots of negative comments but there really is no pleasing some people, my advice would be to go and stay at Le Lagon and see for yourself what a fantastic place it is - you wont be disappointed.
Remember any holiday is what you make of it, so go, relax and make the most of a truly wonderful resort.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Garden Bungalow which we always like but many options to choose from and all rooms ar...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaynem01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear jaynem01,

Your comments are much appreciated. It is great you had an "Amazing" time with us and that you have taken the time to relax, enjoy what is on offer both at the Hotel and the surroundings of Vanuatu itself. Would love to welcome you back should the need call for another relaxing holiday.

Kind Regards,

Jeremy Walsh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Wow! Fell in love with this place and the beautiful people all over again! We took our two children aged 11 and 13 years to experience the joys this lovely island brings. The quicker you can settle into "ISLAND" time and leave the busy routine of life behind, the better you will enjoy things. Be quick to embrace the people and slow to judge. Sure, you need to check your room charges daily, but the people at reception are more than happy to rectify any problems. We were greeted with hugs and the warmth of the staff is incredible. Our daughter celebrated her birthday whilst we were there, and to our surprise the staff (namely Sculla and Bella) arranged an incredible birthday cake and had the entertainment sing her "Happy Birthday"! It was an amazing experience! If you can meet the staff half way, and take the time to interact and share in their stories, you'll really develop an amazing bond and friendship which will be life long. We had a few issues in regard to our children having nut allergies, because of communication difficulties, but this was soon addressed by the chef and we gratefully had no incident. We are already planning another visit to this incredible place. There were great facilities, beautiful pools, loads of activities, tour desk were incredibly helpful, taxis and buses on hand, cannot fault it! Thank you to our friends at Warwick Le Lagon. X

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Darren S,

Thank you for your comments. It sounds like you had a fantastic time with us! Great the cake was organized for your daughters birthday and that the chef was able to accommodate the needs of nut allergies. Really look forward to welcoming you back to the wonderful place of Vanuatu and to the Resort.

Many Thanks,

Jeremy Walsh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Reading some of these reviews and I cannot help but laugh, some people are just really hard to please. If you want 5 star pay for a 5 star hotel.

We stayed at Le Lagon for 7 nights, starting in a garden superior room and upgrading to a Lagoon Bungalow for the final 3. Every moment of our stay we were made to feel comfortable and welcome. The staff are amazing, every staff member is willing to go above and beyond with a huge smile on their faces! I have never experienced service as good as this!

Both rooms were beautiful, very well maintained with everything we needed. If you are in a position to upgrade I would recommend it as waking up to the lagoon in the morning cannot be beaten! The daily room cleaning service was very well done, the room service meals were always very nice and delivered in good time.

The grounds are beautiful! The gardens, pools and beachfront were kept perfectly. There was always plenty of room by the pool and they never ran out of lounges and chairs.

The food was very nice we had the buffet breakfast every morning. Wild Ginger was fantastic we tried Tepanyaki and Ala Carte the chefs were brilliant! Service was great and the food was delicious. The buffet has themed nights so there's something for everyone. We ate at the resort every night but for some people this may be a bit pricey the buffet was 7000 vuv for two and Wild Ginger is on par with your usual nice restaurant in Australia.

We would not hesitate to recommend Le Lagon to anyone, it was an unforgettable holiday for us and we are so glad that we chose this resort!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jade D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Jade D,

What a lovely overall comment about your stay with us at the Resort. I am thrilled you enjoyed yourself and thank you so much for recommending to other readers to visit the Hotel.
would love to have you back us sometime again when the weather cools down abroad perhaps.

Many Thanks

Jeremy Walsh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
681 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
559 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Terraces Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
496 reviews
0.4 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 47 in Port Vila
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu

Address: Erakor Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#14 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#18 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: £120 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu is situated on 75 acres of exotic tropical gardens on the edge of the pristine Erakor Lagoon. Promising some of the finest accommodations in Vanuatu, Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu is the ideal place for your Vanuatu Holiday. The resort offers 140 guest rooms ranging from classic rooms, garden & lagoon superior rooms, garden and lagoon bungalows, to four luxurious over-water island suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Warwick Le Lagon Resort And Spa, Vanuatu
Le Lagon Hotel Vanuatu
Vanuatu Le Lagon
Le Lagon Vanuatu Resort
Lagon Le Resort Vanuatu
Le Lagon Port Vila
Port Vila Le Lagon
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing