We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your alarm clock and sense of humour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Eden, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Bring your alarm clock and sense of humour”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We got back yesterday from a 7 day stay and want to share our experiences with you

We stayed at the cheap end (Garden Superior) and were given a room right next to the Fun Factory. Great spot for elderly couples to enjoy the sound of other peoples kids screaming all day

Our return flight yesterday was the 7am Qantas/Air Vanuatu service to Sydney. Thus we needed to check-in at the airport soon after 5am. We checked-out the night before, paid our bill and arranged a wake-up call and taxi for early the following morning. The Receptionist, Blessina Tolish (who seemed unusually friendly and helpful) wrote down our request for a wake-up call at 4.30am and a taxi at 5:15am and assured us that it would be fine

I went to Reception late that evening to check. They had the wake-up call logged for 5:15am which would have put is into a huge panic and possibly caused us to miss the flight. I got upset and asked to speak to Mr Rohit Khant, the Assistant Manager. Not there. I asked to speak to the Duty Manager...enter Mr Solomon. I explained to him and he assured me everything would be fine. I wrote the times down again and asked Mr Solomon to sign my paper. He signed and said "Don't worry...be happy" and off I went to bed

Early next morning.....you guessed......no wake-up call

The first we hear is a phone call advising that the taxi is waiting for us

These people are a bunch of incompetents. Their lack of professionalism could have resulted in us missing the flight. Visas expired that day and all sorts of dramas with flights and accommodation could have ensued

As it happens we set our alarm and we did not miss our flight. I tell the story so that you bring your alarm clock and do not rely on Reception to wake you. You will need your sense of humour because:

Warwick le Lagon charge A$11 per hour for a Wi-Fi internet connection

They charge A$6.50 for a bottle of water that a caring resort would give you daily free of charge to help avoid dehydration

They give you 80Vatu for your A$ when to can get 89Vatu at Goodies in town

Room service food is terrible

Breakfasts are an unhygenic shambles

The lagoon is full of dangerous spiny starfish which no-one is trying to remove

The receptionists avoid eye contact and range from hostile to indifferent

Take a guess.......do you think we will be going back?

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muffinthemule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Muffinthemule,

Thank you for your comments.

Apologies for the wake up call however I am glad you made it home safely and had set your alarm clock as a back up. Something worthwhile to do wherever you are travelling.

PS The star fish look spiny, but aren't. The local authorities and locals I think would get a little upset if I tried to remove natures own out of the beautiful lagoon.

Kind Regards,

Jeremy Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    649
    508
    198
    52
    41
See reviews for
724
423
20
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The Resort looks old. Tiles missing in the pools, cushions on the sun lounges are all filthy; the tables near the pool bar are filthy as are the chairs. Children’s wading pool needs to be demolished, too shallow and very boring, maybe install a small water park.

House keeping was very good, our room was very clean and the staff were very friendly, although the Garden View was none existent.
Food in the Buffet was very mediocre, however, food in the Wild Ginger restaurant was very good, a good menu selection, staff were fantastic, chefs great. We had breakfast in the Wild Ginger the last two mornings we were there and if we had known how good it was we would have used it every morning, there is a surcharge but it’s worth it, heaps of food and all tasty – no children.
Food from the Pool Grill was very expensive (about $AUD16.00 for a plate of chips!!) and it took up to one and a half hours for some people to receive their meal – one couple never got their meal at all.
The golf course is very ordinary and the management need to get a dedicated Course Manager if they want to promote it. Greens even have roots growing through them. Only one rake for the bunkers and on the tees it is almost impossible to find decent ground to place the ball. Greens are not maintained properly neither are the Fairways, the cups on the Greens should be below ground level, they are level with the grass. As for equipment – this is almost none existent. There is no Pro Golf Shop so unless you take everything with you forget the golf, even the golf trolleys(buggies) there were only four.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, I would however stay away from the pool area as the music is very loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trishmar_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear trishmar_10,

Thank you for your comments. Apologies for not having met your expectations during your holiday and thank you for your comments and experience of Wild Ginger breakfast and dinner. The golf course as you have discovered is not a USPGA manicured golf course, I agree with you. However it is something you can have some fun on and all the while take in the beautiful views of Erakor.
Again, thank you for your comments.

Jeremy Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Very disappointed. Nice resort, but getting old. Sun lounges and tables and chairs always dirty. $16 Aus dollars for a plate of hot chips, $22.50 Aus for a pizza with cheese and tomato, nothing else. And this took 1.5 hours. Wild Ginger restaurant, beautiful food. Bistro breakfast and dinner, disgusting. Seafood night $50 Aus not worth going to. You don't mind paying if the food is good. The staff are slow but lovely!! Would not go again. We have travelled all over the world so feel our comments are fair.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Susan L

Many thanks for your comments. It is unfortunate you will not return again to the wonderful destination of Vanuatu. Yes, the staff indeed are a lovely people. With regard to sun lounges I am in the process of ordering more and take on board your comments of the cleanliness. I am sorry that you did not experience the finest with our buffet offerings however we are not to far away from having completed our complete kitchen refurbishment.

Kind Regards,

Jeremy Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The 9 days we were there, the weather was perfect and this helped our holiday. Pools, food, activities were top class but the bar services were disappointing. While I understand they can be busy and staff are on low wages at times you can wait up to 25 minutes. And I thought Fiji was slow. To conclude, great stuff but you need to be patient.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davfog35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear DavoAussieland22,

Many thanks for your comments. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and you appreciated the pool, food and activities.
Would be lovely to see you again the next time a holiday beckons!

Kind Regards

Jeremy Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Just returned from a 3rd stay in 5 years. We are a family of 6 adults & twin boys aged 5 (3 families). We had a lovely stay however it didn't start too well. On booking, we requested rooms together (and this was on our booking sheet) as we live in different states. On arrival were told we had been upgraded but we were from one end of the resort to the other. Thankfully after polite persistence & with the assistance of reception we were accommodated how we had requested. The Resort is starting to look a bit "old & tired" especially the pool area, tiles stained & also very slippery to the point of dangerous. Pool lounges stained and dirty. Toddler's pool doesn't appear to get filtered and always appears unclean. Breakfast on the first 3 mornings a great disappointment. Hot food had run out and had not been replaced, limited variety. We note that the kitchen is being upgraded however this is no excuse for such a dismal display compared to previous years. At present the resort is not what is was formerly. Staff do not appear as happy as previous years and there appeared to be a staff shortage during the first 3 days. Personally we feel that not enough staff had been rostered on those days. We had a lovely time because we decided to overlook much and many of the staff help to put you in that happy place. We think whatever is wrong at Le Lagon at present is Management. We hope things improve very quickly so that it returns to its former glory. Unfortuntley, we met two couples who had been referred to this Resort, who said that they would not return nor would they recommend it to anyone. Tthis is very sad as Le Lagon was such a wonderful place. Please get things together again quickly.

Room Tip: We have previously stayed in the garden view rooms and were upgraded to Lagoon view rooms which were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Grampam2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Grampam2013,

Thank you for taking the time to review on Trip Advisor. Apologies for not having met your usual expectations on your 3rd visit. I would like to note the following which I have done previously for readers with regard to guest satisfaction and that is an improvement overall from prior year of an increase of 10% in satisfaction. The grounds, landscaping and facilities are immaculate with many other amazing features. I am sorry you have seen your 3rd visit through different eyes which has questioned your future loyalty. It is unfortunate we are going through a kitchen refurbishment however on the other side of that, on completion, guests can be comfortable in future that food offerings will be coming from a brand new kitchen.

Glad you made it home safely and we do hope to see you again for a 4th visit..

Kind Regards,

Jeremy Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We have just recently stayed at Le Lagon for the 5th time. It is an amazing resort with so much to offer. You wont find nicer staff, they are fantastic, so friendly and helpful.
We stayed in a Garden Bungalow which is lovely but I think all the rooms are fantastic.
Le Lagon is nice and peaceful yet close to town, many dining options and lots of day time activities.
Vanuatu is a great Holiday destination and Le Lagon is a great place to stay. We'll be back next year for another fantastic holiday.
I notice lots of negative comments but there really is no pleasing some people, my advice would be to go and stay at Le Lagon and see for yourself what a fantastic place it is - you wont be disappointed.
Remember any holiday is what you make of it, so go, relax and make the most of a truly wonderful resort.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Garden Bungalow which we always like but many options to choose from and all rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaynem01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear jaynem01,

Your comments are much appreciated. It is great you had an "Amazing" time with us and that you have taken the time to relax, enjoy what is on offer both at the Hotel and the surroundings of Vanuatu itself. Would love to welcome you back should the need call for another relaxing holiday.

Kind Regards,

Jeremy Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Wow! Fell in love with this place and the beautiful people all over again! We took our two children aged 11 and 13 years to experience the joys this lovely island brings. The quicker you can settle into "ISLAND" time and leave the busy routine of life behind, the better you will enjoy things. Be quick to embrace the people and slow to judge. Sure, you need to check your room charges daily, but the people at reception are more than happy to rectify any problems. We were greeted with hugs and the warmth of the staff is incredible. Our daughter celebrated her birthday whilst we were there, and to our surprise the staff (namely Sculla and Bella) arranged an incredible birthday cake and had the entertainment sing her "Happy Birthday"! It was an amazing experience! If you can meet the staff half way, and take the time to interact and share in their stories, you'll really develop an amazing bond and friendship which will be life long. We had a few issues in regard to our children having nut allergies, because of communication difficulties, but this was soon addressed by the chef and we gratefully had no incident. We are already planning another visit to this incredible place. There were great facilities, beautiful pools, loads of activities, tour desk were incredibly helpful, taxis and buses on hand, cannot fault it! Thank you to our friends at Warwick Le Lagon. X

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Darren S,

Thank you for your comments. It sounds like you had a fantastic time with us! Great the cake was organized for your daughters birthday and that the chef was able to accommodate the needs of nut allergies. Really look forward to welcoming you back to the wonderful place of Vanuatu and to the Resort.

Many Thanks,

Jeremy Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
652 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
538 reviews
1.7 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
0.7 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 47 in Port Vila
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu

Property: Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Address: Erakor Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#14 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#18 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu is situated on 75 acres of exotic tropical gardens on the edge of the pristine Erakor Lagoon. Promising some of the finest accommodations in Vanuatu, Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu is the ideal place for your Vanuatu Holiday. The resort offers 140 guest rooms ranging from classic rooms, garden & lagoon superior rooms, garden and lagoon bungalows, to four luxurious over-water island suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Warwick Le Lagon Resort And Spa, Vanuatu
Le Lagon Hotel Vanuatu
Vanuatu Le Lagon
Le Lagon Vanuatu Resort
Lagon Le Resort Vanuatu
Le Lagon Port Vila
Port Vila Le Lagon
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing