We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Grand Hotel And Casino(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
US$147
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
US$181
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Nasama Resort(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
US$182
US$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sunset Bungalows Resort(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
US$181
US$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$297
US$284
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Poppy's on the Lagoon(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
US$195
US$191
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
US$187
US$170
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Erakor Island Resort & Spa(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
US$156
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Moorings Hotel(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$110
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,597)
Filter reviews
1,597 results
Traveller rating
720
549
215
62
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
720
549
215
62
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswild gingerall inclusive packagepool barkids clublagoon superior roomerakor islandoasis spalagoon terracewater sportsbuffet dinnerseafood nightkids menufamily holidaykids eat freehobie catsbeautiful resortschool holidays
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
732 - 737 of 1,597 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed here for 12 days and we were dissapointed with quite a few things. First of all the service here is incredibly slow and the staff show little to no initiative. For example, we were sitting at a table by the pool grill waiting for the menus and no one came. All the waiting staff just congregated around the kitchen area talking amongst themselves. So after 15 minutes of not even getting a menu we went up and asked for one. The food also takes quite a long time to arrive and and once you have finished your meal it takes them FOREVER to clear the plates! Although, the meals are tasty and of a high quality.

We also had an issue with the adjoining door lock - we had one room, but there was a door that obvioulsy connected our room to someone else's room next door which is fine. But unfortunately there was no lock on the door! Luckily there was no one next door but we still decided to call reception and ask for a lock to be put on the door. We called 4 times and eventually (48 HOURS LATER) a lock was put on the door! Which leads me too my next point of sound proofing. Through the adjoining door we heard every single word uttered from the people next door. We also heard other noises like the TV and toilet flushing as if it was in the same room. The people next door weren't being overly loud either. This was somewhat disturbing.

Another issue was the in-room phone which had been left on 'Do not disturb mode'. We couldn't figure out how to turn it off this mode (enabling us to receive calls) so we called reception who said they would send someone down. We rang reception at 4:00PM but no one came until 9:00PM when we were in bed about to go to sleep! I think it was silly to come at such a late hour considering we have children.

The daily activities were not facilitated well and were very vague.

The last major issue that we had was phone messages. When someone from outside the resort called us and we weren't availiable in our room the reception staff would not even ask who it was and whether or not they would like o leave a message! So when our tour company called telling us our trip to Tanna Island had been cancelled, we had no idea until the day before we were scheduled to leave to Tanna!

Some smaller issues were that the spa didn't work and was usually colder than the other activities pool. The Pool Bar staff tried overcharging us once as well.

Here are some of the positive things that we experienced at Le Lagon:

The staff here are very friendly and they say "Hello" Or "Good morning/afternoon".
2 Staff in particular were extra kind and helpful:

Inneth, who is the manager of the Lagoon Terrace Restaurant.
And Florena who is a waitress at the Lagoon Terrace Restaurant.
These 2 staff were very helpful and kind to us when we dined at the Lagoon Terrace Restaurant.

Also, the buffet's were amazing! Especially the Seafood buffet (They even had coconut crab!!) and the Mexican buffet.

The water sports and activities center are both well done and have lots of equipment to use (most of the complimentary)!

Some other good things was the quality of the food at all the restaurants and the housekeeping staff who always made our room so it looked new - they even turn on the AC unit so the room is cool when we arrive back!

Overall, not the best experience but there are some redeeming factors.

Room Tip: The Lagoon View Superior rooms (500 Block) are quieter but very far from the pool, restaurant and lobby but the view is great.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CKfamilytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear CKfamilytravel,

Thank you for your comments on trip advisor.

It seems you have not experienced our Hotel in the best light. During a 12 day stay there is always the opportunity to ask for myself or a senior manager on the Resort to assist you with such issues so we may help turn the situation around. This is something that would allow us to rectify, even room move, at the time of stay instead of a course of action that leads you home to write such details on trip advisor. I agree that Vanuatu from a service aspect is not exactly what you find in downtown Sydney although consideration may be given to a beautiful culture who may not think the same way we do..........referred to as "Island time". I appreciate your redeeming factor comments. For future readers please know that myself and my senior managers are around and any issues you may experience during your stay we are more than happy to offer assistance and rectify any issue you may have.

Kind Regards

Jeremy Walsh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 8 dys loved it! Our room was always clean staff friendly the pools where awesome although very frustrating when of a morning u watched people coming along and placing towels on beach chairs and they weren't using the pool!! Breakfast in the Terrance restaurant was nice the staff lovely we had dinner one night at wild ginger restaurant waited way to long for food over an hour!! And restaurant wasn't busy it was way over priced we ate in town for the rest of our stay much cheaper security where great made u feel safe and secure it was a big help when local bus drivers tried ripping u off this was out second trip to vanuatu and will be back again loved the resort

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Tina H,

Thank you for your comments and very glad you "loved it". Good news is my new pool loungers arriving around late May mid June so this should prevent the laying of towels. I apologize for your experience in Wild Ginger. I have recently employed a new security company and by all means I to have noticed a difference in the level of professionalism and feeling of safety around the Resort. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future where you may once again experience the wonders of the Resort and beautiful Vanuatu.

Kind Regards

Jeremy Walsh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had a lovely week at Warwick Le Lagon. Lovely pools and such friendly helpful staff.

We travelled with two very young children (7 months and 19 months) who also had a ball. They were too young for the Kids Club - but we used the facilities (trampoline and climbing structure).

We also hired a local babysitter ($4 AUD per hour). Rather than leave her with the babies, she came with us and was an extra pair of hands. It also allowed us to do some day trips with the babies. She came along.

The room was great and cleaned well. We had two cots - so I'd probably recommend a larger room as it can be squishy.

Food can be exxy at the resort so I'd recommend a trip to the local supermarket for water and drinks - will save you heaps. Food was ok... wouldnt rave about the breakfasts - but pretty standard hotel buffet fare.

My advice would be to bring reef shoes as the beaches (and the lagoon) have coral sand rather than the soft sand we are used to in Australia.

ALso re taxis - get concierge to help you agree the price and what it includes. We saw others having disputes with taxis as they thought the price quoted was a round trip price etc. I think the hotel could probably assist tourists better than they do.

In all a great place to stay. The locals LOVE babies too....

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank michelle w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear michelle w,

Many thanks for your comments. A very nice opening sentence and it was nice to see you made the use of the kids club and baby sitting opportunities so that you could enjoy your well deserved break. The local culture absolutely adore children............

Look forward to seeing you again at some point when that time calls for an escape from the cold or the hussle and bussle of life.

Kind Regards

Jeremy Walsh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Warwick Le Lagon for 8 nights, very nice maintained gardens and pools with swim up bar. Waterfront, very close to Erakor Island - you can kayak there with the complimentary kayaks (complimentary snorkelling gear as well!), there's a very nice beach and great food over there. Our favourite spot!

The rooms are nice and clean, only point of criticism for us was that the mattresses were very soft but that's a matter of preference. Also, water bottles are charged at 500 vatu, better buy them for 100 vatu outside the resort and put in your fridge. Showers are huge but shower head is small - matter of preference as well. Other than that all very nice and clean!

The resort is close to the center of Port Vila, taxis always available, buses can be caught at the main street, which is a bit of a walk but less than half price, so worth it. Be careful not to get ripped off by bus drivers though, don't pay more than 150 vatu per person to town and book tours for further trips. Security guards are always everywhere and make you feel very safe and all staff were very helpful.

The food in the resort disappointed us a bit, as well as the cocktails. Cocktails were made with cordial instead of real fruit juice, which made them very sweet and not as fresh. Often they were served without ice and warm. (We had way better cocktails over at Erakor).
Staff especially at the pool bar seem very uncoordinated, you have to expect long waits. Food is served cold.
Buffet Breakfast has large variety of food, custom made omelettes are available, food is fresh and constantly restocked, good service.
We didn't try any of the in resort restaurants because we found them very pricey, so can't say anything about those.

The resort is very family friendly, entertainment for kids all day, you don't have to leave the resort! As a couple though we would rather choose something like Mangoes or Erakor Island Resort next time.

Room Tip: Superior Rooms with Lagoon view are a bit of a walk from everything, if you want to be close by, maybe choose something else. They are very quiet though!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank awesomeeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear awesomeeves,

Thanks for you comments and taking the time to post on trip advisor. It would appear that you have enjoyed your stay in totality.

I am a little confused as you mention that you didn't try any of the restaurants, because it was to expensive, other than the buffet breakfast which you enjoyed but the food served at the pool bar was served cold? Also I am not sure how the food can disappoint you "a bit" as other than the buffet breakfast you didn't try any of the in resort restaurants.......

Indeed the resort is very family friendly as well as adult friendly. There are many different room configurations that can cater for a wide range of guest types. There are also many places around the resort when you can find your own "little hideaway" from it all. Always ask the question and we are more than willing to assist.

Kind Regards

Jeremy Walsh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My husband and myself have just returned from a 9 night stay at Le Legon. This has been our fifth visit to Vanuatu but this was our first stay at Le Legon. What a delight it was, we kept saying why has it taken us so long to stay here. Firstly the gardens are so so beautifull. The pool area is outstanding. With it being easter there were a lot of families with children but the size of the 3 pools there was never any problem of being annoyed by kids splashing about the pool. The kids were great. There seemed to be a lot of activities for them to do with the kids club. The staff are so wonderfull with children. There is also daily activities to do about the resort for adults as well. We really enjoyed the fire dancing performers which we were lucky enough to see them twice. The lagoon is brilliant to take the canoes out, all provided free. The buffet breakfast is excellent and staff very attentive. Our room was kept spotlessly clean. The resort is close to town. There was always taxis at the door if needed or you can walk to the front gate and catch a bus for 150 vatu. If I had any complaints and it really didn't bother me to much but maybe the pool bar staff need a little extra training on service but like I said we were on holidays and I had al the time in the world haha. We would love to return but with our family and granddaughter next time as I know they would love it there. You would not be disappointed staying here.

Room Tip: We had a room a fair way from the pool area but quite close to the lagoon. It was so lovely and quiet and peacefull. room 119.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Glynis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Glynis D,

What a delightful review and sharing of your experience of a 9 night stay with us. It sure seems you took advantage of the beautiful hotel once again after having visited us now five times! We very much look forward to welcoming you again for number 6 and with the family and grand daughter so you may share the experience.

Until then............

Kind Regards

Jeremy Walsh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews