We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We arrived at the resort not knowing what to expect and to our surprise it was a little slice of paradise. Every think you could want was there. There were plenty of families there as well as couples of all ages they accommodated for everyone. Well done.

Room Tip: Plenty of room types to choose from. I would suggest you call the resort for a chat prior to booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Steve S,

A lovely short and sweet review. Many thanks for taking the time to post and indeed there are plenty of accommodation options with a wide variety of activities to enjoy. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and was pleasantly surprised. Vanuatu and Warwick Le Lagon are great places to visit and take in the natural surroundings.......

Hope to see you again in the future when that Holiday next beckons.

Kind Regards,

Jeremy Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    664
    519
    200
    54
    45
See reviews for
749
428
21
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paramus, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I spent 2 nights here in room 108, i have to say what a place, the staff where friendly and accommodation, they where knowledgeable and polite, the rooms where spacious and showers are huge, i had a lagoon superior room.

The only problem was i reported a tv problem several times and it never got fixed, this was annoying and something that i find to be pretty crucial.

the Hotel is a little out of Vila but not to far you can still get into town for as little as 700Vatu (approx $7AUD)

Buffet Breakfast was pretty good with a large variety and Coffee table service.

All in all i would stay again.

Room Tip: Lagoon Superior all the way
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewlyTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear NewlyTravellers,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our Hotel. It is pleasing that you enjoyed your holiday and the staff assisted in making that experience for you. Yes sometimes the TV can play up in Vanuatu and seems to be impacted more by weather than anything although we try to get it all back on line as quickly as we can. Glad you enjoyed your buffet breakfast and we would love to see you in Vanuatu and at Warwick Le Lagon on your next visit.

Kind Regards

Jeremy Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My family and I stayed at the Warwick for 4 nights in May and we were generally pleased with the resort. The gardens were wonderful, the rooms were very clean, modern and stylish. The air conditioning worked great. The pools were nice except for the toddler pool which was not maintained. This was disappointing for my sister who had a one-year-old who would have enjoyed it.

The food was nice, with lots of variety. It was hard to stop gorging. The only problems we had at the resort were with communication. I'm aware that tourism is relatively new to Vanuatu and there are cultural differences, but there are things that could be improved, and I am only stating them as advice for improvements.

There was miscommunication about a free shuttle service from the airport to the resort. Emails prior to our visit confirmed that there would be return airport transfers as part of our room package, and so we expected a shuttle to pick us up, but this was not the case. Granted, we were reimbursed at a later time for the taxi service we paid for, but little frustrations at the beginning of a holiday tend to leave a slightly negative impression. However, all travel comes with little hiccups and we forgot about it immediately.

It took a bit of effort to get a cot organised even though this was communicated many times prior to us arriving. Some more sizes and shapes for the scuba masks would have been appreciated. The programmed activities were fun but sometimes not well organised. We turned up for a few but occasionally it seemed no one was there to organise it, which was disappointing.

We appreciated the friendly night security, especially since we learned there some recent security concerns on the island. All of the staff were friendly and laid-back. We appreciate that the staff like to enjoy themselves and socialise while working, but when a baby is sleeping inside during the day, it was a bit annoying hearing the staff talking quite loudly outside the rooms and potentially disturbing his sleep.

Finally, we learned from outside parties how much Ni-Vanuatu get paid at these types of resorts. We were surprised at the low wages. Although the economy governs wage scales, I would hope that staff at the Warwick are rewarded higher than the apparent typical wages given how much money we spent at the resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SatyrFrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear SatyrFrost,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay although am a little disappointed on the comments regarding communication..........yes I agree that sometimes in our little slice of paradise that sometimes a few things may not quite be up to speed with those things we find at home and I apologize for this. I am not sure who would have suggested a free shuttle service? As Trip Advisor is anonymous I am unable to delve further into the matter. There is a plethora of new scuba masks and flippers and life jackets so I don't think I can change anything there, I have not had that issue before although thank you for your feedback.....Please if you are having issue during your stay you may approach myself or my executive team as I am unable to assist once you have gone and our goal is to ensure that everyone has a good well deserved holiday.

Many thanks and would love to see you again some time.

Kind Regards

Jeremy Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Where do we start for this beautiful resort? Upon meeting xxxx at the airport we got our bus transfer to the resort and entered into a beautiful grassy garden area with a golf course and tennis courts with plenty of palm trees. Please congratulate the landscaping staff as the garden and landscapes were absolutely stunning.

We got off the bus and were greeted by an awesome string band with one of the resort staff that i'll never forget clapping away and singing brrrrrrriiiiiiikkkkkkiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii! Instantly felt happy and got a great vibe. We got a guided tour of the resort by xxx to our room of who people were and where everything was. Instantly we felt a connection with the extremely friendly staff.
We loved the laid back staff that looked after us with drinks and allowed us to wander wherever we wanted with them to relax and watch a sunset at the wedding deck on a big lounge.
The entertainment during dinner time every night was amazing. Great soulful music and happy vibes! The fire show from Vanua Fire was a highlight. Australia could take a leaf out of your book with more live entertainment that is so relaxed.

We booked all our tours through the tour desk with no issue at all. We even were able to have them call on our behalf so we could speed up the bookings as you may know english is not Vanuatus first language so sometimes difficult words can be misinterpreted.

The resort pools are amazing and the activities you can do of kayaking, SUP and catamaran are free and highly recommended! We were barely sitting around all day as we were so busy doing many activities but when we were at the resort in the afternoons, sitting on a sunbed and relaxing in the sun was great!

Traveller Tips -
Change a tiny bit of money here if you have to! It is MUCH better to change money in Vanuatu at Goodies or Seven 11 or withdraw from an ATM! We searched high and low for the best rates here and thought we got a good rate of 78 from Travelex pickup at the airport. Withdrawing from an ATM even with the charge you get, it still ends up being ~83 Vatu to $1 aus dollar. Exchanging at goodies was around ~86 Vatu to $1 aus dollar.

In regards to all the negative feedback reviewed on here for Le Lagon; We pretty much read every review and found none of the negative reviews applicable on our stay. All pools were clean, all food was good and service good. Staff were non intrusive and extremely approachable and friendly.
If we have a tip for anyone reading this is that if you have a problem; Approach upper management or ask to see them! Approach them in a non intimidating way and be friendly and you will get more than you need! The people of Vanuatu are of the happiest I have ever met within the resort and on all the tours we have done. They are sometimes shy! They do not understand the fast paced english language sometimes. Speak clearly and slowly to get your point across! When we had any concerns or anything we wanted clarified we used this approach and were more than happy with responses and action taken!

Food
I'm unsure when anyone on here has been; Whether it be in school holidays or extremely busy times or Jeremy has taken on board the advice from here but our food was never served cold or never took long to arrive at all. We were here in late may and we never had to wait longer than ~10 minutes for our food. Great service and again, friendly staff.
The seafood here in Vanuatu and especially at Le Lagon is the best I have ever eaten. I have eaten my fair share of Salt and Pepper Calamari and I can say that it is the BEST I've ever had.

Breakfast - Amazing variety and loved the egg station! Always friendly greeting staff at all hours of the morning who were never intrusive at all but very welcoming.
Buffet Food - The seafood buffet on Friday night is definitely worth the 5000 vatu. I had about 6 servings and was extremely full!
Wild Ginger - Whilst it may seem expensive at first, one bite of the lobster or the beef and scallops and we were in love! I couldn't understand what the head chefs name was due to noise, but i would like to highly recommend him as an amazing teppanyaki chef! He even cooked us a bit extra so we could try each others dishes! The staff in here are very professional in regards to fine dining and friendly! They even remembered we had been there 3 times and said "welcome back again".

Rooms
We stayed in a Lagoon Superior Room - #113. Upon arrival we had a flower decoration that spelled out "WELKAM" which was delightful. Our room was very island tropical. It is one main reason we stayed at Le Lagon. We wanted something modern but not westernised and reminding us of Sydney! They were cleaned and serviced daily as well as a turn down service of yummy cookies. There was ample space for luggage and clothes. With no exhaust fan it can get a bit steamy. We were away from the busiest hussle and bustle of the resort which was nice and only a couple minute walk along the beachfront or through the resort to the main pool/dining area. It was very tranquil and we felt tucked away with plenty of peace and quiet.

The only small gripes we have is:

- A can of coke is $4.65 aus from the resort yet in the main town it is only $1.20'ish aus.
- The top pool with the swim up bar is quite cold compared to other pool temperatures which was a bit disappointing as we would've liked to sit here for a while.
- The poolside bar has happy hour everyday but the bar in the lobby is only on thursdays. I felt sorry for the bartender in here as he would've been so bored! We ordered drinks to have a chat and probably made his day! Besides that - A++ quality!
- We wanted to take a catamaran out but were unaware that we needed a lesson at a specific time of how to use it instead of being able to be shown how to use it at the time.
- Being made aware of the Warwick membership offer should be advised during check in. There are such great offers and deals to be had we would've definitely signed up had we known!

For anyone who is debating whether to stay here or Irririki - Can highly recommend staying here! We debated for weeks over where to stay. We spoke to a few other tourists and they were staying at Irririki and said they said there because it was more central. It's the same distance from irririki to the main town as it is to Le Lagon. By the time you wait for a ferry and get a ferry over, a quick taxi or bus ride you will be in town at the same time.

Special shoutout to our favourite waitress Lifan! And our meet and greet manager xxx . We WILL be coming back and recommending to everyone who will listen to us!

Annabelle + Kory

Room Tip: We stayed in room 113 Lagoon superior. Very beautiful. Away from the hustle and bustle of where the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kozza44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Kozza44,

Many thanks for your review. It is wonderful you enjoyed your holiday with us and felt comfortable the moment you arrived. Yes the sunsets and the wedding deck are a lovely place to relax and the fire show (Tuesday nights) is comparable to none! Thank you for your detailed review which allows readers to both gain a little understanding of the culture in Vanuatu and also learn what is on offer in the Resort.

We look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you for your recommending.

Kind Regards

Jeremy Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed at this resort with my sister last year and recommended it to my friends. 5 of us ( Ladies in their senior years) spent 8 glorious nights there which gave us a chance to get around to see other resorts. We all agreed we had chosen wisely and had a fabulous time. Our rooms were spacious, the staff more than welcoming and super friendly and the breakfast very good. Resort facilities were being upgraded ( ie new umbrellas etc) which is always good to see and I thought the standard of service had improved since last year. We had a meal at Wild Ginger and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The only thing we were not impressed with was the Melanesian Buffet but we decided buffets are not really our preferred form of meal anyway.
We negotiated with a taxi driver to show us around and take us to the Blue Lagoon and Eton Beach, went to Erakor and Iririki for lunch and Chill and L'Houstelet for dinner .
all of us were reluctant to leave and hope to return one day

Room Tip: Have stayed in rooms in the 400 bracket and this time 600 . Both had garden views and were very comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirstenWollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
DearKirstenWollongong,

Thank you very much for your comments on trip advisor. A delightful review indeed.....I am glad that you felt you had made the right decision and had a fabulous time. Wild Ginger is a lovely place to dine and in fact we just put in place a new menu only last evening featuring all the classic Asian style dishes with a couple of "old favorites" for those not so having a tendency for the Oriental flare. There are also, as you have suggested, some very nice places to visit and dine as you have shared which all helps make up the experience of this wonderful country. We also would love to have you back with us when that time calls once again to escape the normal every day!

Kind Regards

Jeremy Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

It would be difficult not to enjoy your stay here. We had a minor problem with television reception and that was dealt with very satisfactorily.
Others have commented on the gardens and they are simply the most gorgeous gardens of any hotel we have stayed at. We thought some of the gardens at hotels in Asia resorts were quite stunning however Warwick Le Lagon has them all beaten.
The food we had at the resort was superb. In fairness we didn't have a bad meal anywhere in Port Vila. Whilst more expensive than Asia and probably on par with reasonable Australian and even European prices the quality was outstanding.
The resort has been upgrading some of the cosmetic things such as new umbrellas and poolside lounge chairs and this simply adds some polish to an already top notch resort.
If smiles and friendliness of resort staff are important then you will find this resort to your liking.
Hideaway Island snorkeling tour was brilliant. It was low tide when we arrived and you could have walked across without getting your feet wet. Not sure exactly what was hidden away though...it certainly wasn't the fish. Would do this again in a heartbeat. Same goes for the Meridian sunset 2 hour cruise. Such a picturesque place and to see it all with a glass or two of champers whilst watching the sunset was such a wonderful way to finish our holiday. We booked through the tour desk at the resort and once again the staff were very helpful.
just about every non motorized water sport is included in your stay and the calm safe water between the resort and Erakor Island was great fun to kayak and look at the amazing starfish in abundance.
We didn't have kids with us so cannot comment on the facilities for children however there was activities everyday for the young and older alike from pool volleyball to fishing and table tennis competitions so plenty to keep the active entertained.
We would definitely go back and would possibly try and drag ourselves away from the resort a bit more to experience even more of Vanuatu, however for this trip just a small amount of adventure and plenty of rest and relaxation at the resort was what we were looking for and we weren't disappointed.
The resort isn't by any means brand new yet has managed the balance of being modern in styling and substance enough to tick all the boxes yet warm enough to have that wonderful friendly atmosphere that usually only the smaller boutique resorts can manage.
We want this review to be fair and constructive so really need to have a con to balance against all the pro's.
ok...water in the rooms is a bit expensive (however you can get it at the supermarket for around $1.50 for a large bottle of the local outstanding Vanuatu water)
That's it...whinge over :)

We loved it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank perth-aussie-couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear perth-aussie-couple,

Wow, all the way from Perth! Great to see you enjoyed your stay with us and most definitely we are very proud of the grounds and landscaping at the Resort. The great thing about the Resort as you suggest is that you can spend your whole time in it or if you wish do some things outside but the call is totally yours of course......there are days where you can stay in and enjoy all the facilities or you might chose to do a round the Island tour or another activity, just check with the tour desk. It is also great that you were able to use all the water sport facilities such as the kayaks, stand up paddle boards, hobbie cats etc, always plenty to do, or not do if you want.
Again, many thanks for your review and trust to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jeremy Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

It is hard to put into words how much I loved my stay at this resort, from meet at the airport to the welcome at the resort and the daily interactions with staff was top notch! So friendly, humorous and helpful. From sun baking by the pool to the by the lagoon, using the gym and pools and getting helpful tips from the staff. They have been lovely and so generous in their island hospitality.. I recommend this place to anyone and everyone my one huge tip is get to know the staff .. They gave us sooo many helpful tips of getting around Efate! Tank yu Tumas! Special mention to Kela (barman) and lefan (dinner waitress) as well as the security guards and breakfast staff.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Iris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Iris N,

What a wonderful review and thank you. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and used the available facilities. The staff really are great and as you suggest, take the time to get to know them and interact. There is nothing better than a huge Ni-Van smile (Ni-Van is the abbreviation for the Vanuatu people). Both Kela and Lefan will be delighted to see their names up in lights having been mentioned on Trip Advisor, as well as the security guards.

Again, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to seeing you again.

Many Thanks

Jeremy Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
665 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
552 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Terraces Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
488 reviews
0.4 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 47 in Port Vila
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu

Property: Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Address: Erakor Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#14 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#18 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu is situated on 75 acres of exotic tropical gardens on the edge of the pristine Erakor Lagoon. Promising some of the finest accommodations in Vanuatu, Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu is the ideal place for your Vanuatu Holiday. The resort offers 140 guest rooms ranging from classic rooms, garden & lagoon superior rooms, garden and lagoon bungalows, to four luxurious over-water island suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Otel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Warwick Le Lagon Resort And Spa, Vanuatu
Le Lagon Hotel Vanuatu
Vanuatu Le Lagon
Le Lagon Vanuatu Resort
Lagon Le Resort Vanuatu
Le Lagon Port Vila
Port Vila Le Lagon
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing