We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le Lagon Resort-not completely impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2009

A warm welcome including a personal greeting from a local leader and a musical performance of traditional songs had us feeling pretty happy with our selection of Le Lagon Resort for our first trip to Vanuatu.
We found the service delivery by staff was courteous but of a standard below what we expect from a 4 star resort.
Our room was in a clean condition with a minor drainage problem which was rectified the same day reported.
Food service poolside is slow and the food itself was OK while the lunchtime BBQ (on Sunday) was very good and left us wondering why this is not daily as it creates a totally different atmosphere among the guests and staff.
Room service has a limited time between 7pm-10pm.Some food delivered was not edible even for a person who can digest anything called a pizza or at least I thought I could.
Breakfast buffet had a lot of overcooked American style foods which we expected but fruit was limited by variety and their reasoning was that most is imported from Australia so this limits what they can provide.(bacon, sausage, hash browns, pancakes etc would these be locally produced?)
However the quality of food and service at the Wild Ginger Restaurant was excellent in all respects. Well Done Staff!
Activities on offer were sufficient and the tour desk and reception staff were again courteous without ever delivering that special service level that makes you want to return.
Disappointing overall for us after reading such good reviews and in time we may give them a second chance to impress.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavefromAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,504)
There are newer reviews for Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,317 - 1,323 of 1,504 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2009

Quite a big resort, but reasonably old & no more than a 3-star. The pools are nice, but they don't have an area for adults, or have any restrictions on children running around, etc. We arrived at 1pm and were told we couldn't checkin till 2pm. It was 2.30pm by the time the room was ready, & then we found the door wouldn't lock, & the couple next door to us had been moved because of this, but it had not been fixed. Not a good start and even after 2 days & the maintenance guy checking it 3-times, we had to move rooms. The people are friendly, but "island time" is an understatement, and customer-service isn't really top of mind. We had a couple of afternoons where we went back to the room to find it still hadn't been cleaned at 3pm. The main restaurant was very average, with smorgusboard each night. The other Alacarte restaurant was nice, but expensive. Prices for NZers are very expensive, as the exchange rate is not good. Note about exchanging your money, don't do it in NZ, do it at 'Goodies' based in Port Vila centre & around Vanuatu. We exchanged in NZ at $58.50 to the dollar and Goodies were doing $68.00 to the dollar.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickyT71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

We had a few days at Le lagon .... nice property, good staff .... cleanliness pretty good had breakfast included, but not lunch or dinner ... BIG MISTAKE!!!!
We found it incredibly expensive .... approx. $88.00 per head for the buffet.... each night ..
lunch around $35.oo per head .... and the al la carte ... well .... $120.00 for 2 steaks, no veg, NO BREAD, AND NO WINE!! but you do get a little bowl of Miso Soup.
Unfortunately, there is not a great deal of choice outside the property either... for meals etc.... We met a young couple staying at another property in the area with apartments .. and self catering. They had to paid $15.00 for a rockmelon ast the local supermarket...
We have travelled to Fiji, New Caledonia, Malaysia, Indonesia, Thailand, and really for value, culture, sightseeing, diving , shopping and atmosphere ... sorry to say you can't beat Sanur in Bali.....
The

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennyAustrlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2009

My 21 yr old daughter & I stayed at Le Lagon for 7 nights in February. After reading mixed reviews on trip advisor, we decided to go with an open mind and make the most of our trip to Vanuatu. I have to say that we were impressed with Le Lagon from the moment we arrived. We caught an evening flight from Sydney which meant we arrived at resort at around 12.30am, tired & hot we were ushered to our bungalow as soon as we finished our welcome cocktail. At time of booking our trip we decided to pay an extra $400+ to upgrade to a garden bungalow. This was well worth the money, as our bunglaow was virtually on the edge of Erakor Lagoon with uninterrupted water views. We had a refurbished bungalow which was large with 2 double beds, plenty of room, a fantastic bathroom and a quaint balcony which we spent lots of time sitting, drinking wine and looking over the water. Resort staff were friendly and the room was immaculately cleaned every day, although the cleaning times were unpredictable but this didn't bother us. Our package included breakfast & lunch which was a big money saver as it's not cheap to eat at the resort. We only ate dinner there one night as it was rather pricey. We ate out at a great little french pizza restaurant several nights which was reasonably priced and fantastic food.
Drinks at the resort and in Vila were quite pricey too. The local beer was equivalent to approx $5.50, a VB is considered an imported beer and was arrpx $7.00, same as a glass of wine. We bought good bottled wine from the supermarket up the road which was similiar in price to Australia. I suggest if you plan to spend a lot of time in the resort, go with an all inclusive package so all your meals and drinks are covered.
Also, if you charge drinks to your room keep a tab of what you sign for as we were charged several times for extra drinks that we didn't have. I went to reception every second day to check our account so was able to keep on top of what we had charged to the room.
Internet use at the hotel is very expensive, go an internet cafe in Port Vila - about 1/3 of the price.
If going into Vila, don't catch the taxi's that wait inside the resort. Walk out onto the road and flag down a taxi or minibus. The minibus taxi's are much cheaper - a set fee of 200 vatu. They're a bit rough but it's only a few minutes ride.
When shopping in Vila, don't make your purchases on "ship day". ie the day the cruise ships come into port, the locals put the prices up. Shopping in Vila is rather expensive, don't go there expecting a great shopping spree. It's expensive and the product is cheap & tacky. Food & wine is expensive all over Vila, expect to pay the same prices as Sydney.
We took our lonely planet guide which we used to take a self-guided walking tour around the attractions of Vila. This was great (even though the humidity almost killed me) as we walked past the local school, jail, reserve bank which looked like it needed some serious funding for building maintenance, and many different types of houses.
The only organised tour we took was the 'around island" tour which I would recommend.
We also took a taxi to Mystery Island (there is boat that takes you from the shore across to the island) and spent an afteroon there, very pretty & relaxing despite the torrential rain. This seemed to be a favourite spot for couples & snorkelling.
We walked around a lot at night on our own and never felt threatened, we made sure we stuck to the main areas at night though as the back streets are very dark.
We also took the free ferry from Le Lagon across to Erakor Island for dinner. They have cheap pasta nights and happy hour. This was great value, however they have no concept of vegetarian. When my daughter ordered her meal we asked several times if it had any meat and were told that it didn't. When it arrived it had meat all through it. The staff there spoke limited English, but this was rectified soon enough. Definitely go there for dinner, great sitting on the over water deck under the stars eating dinner.

The locals are friendly and very laid back, the resort staff are the same. We left a bag and billabong beach towel at the pool bar one night after a few drinks and reported ur lost items the next morning. The staff went out of their way and retrieved them from lost property for us pretty much straight away.
Overall, the resort was beautiful, pool area amazing. We had a fantastic stay and I would definitely go back to Le Lagon. Will make sure I book a bungalow again though, for the added space and privacy. D
Despite the mixed reports we read on trip advisor, we were both impressed with the resort and had a wonderful week there!! Just remember that life is much more laid back in Vanuatu but isn't that why you would choose an island destination for your holiday?!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lynWollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2009

my wife and i found this resort to be charming and thoroughly relaxing just as we had expected after reading previous reviews before choosing to go Vanuatu for a break and we recomend that u join Warwick Club and take advantage of their offers as they are great value. the wild ginger restaurant is fantastic we had several meals there. byo wine is recommended even with a corkage fee works out cheaper. Also, for those romantics at heart, we recommend a meal at Villa Chaumieres 5-10min taxi ride, costs a little more but you feel as if you are in paradise, so well worth it..... We''ll be back..

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EwhenandChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2009

I would say this is mainly a family resort, but I think it has something for everyone. They have a great Japanese/Modern resteraunt which we went to most nights as opposed to the buffet. Breakfasts have plenty of variety, but lunch by the pool was dissapointing. A taxi to town cost us about 200 vatu one way but you can take a local bus back to the hotel for a ridiculously small amount. All in all, a very comfortable resort, with good facilities and very friendly and helpfull staff.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2009

We decided to travel to Vanuatu to just veg out and relax. We spent 5 days in La Lagon and could have stayed another week. We had booked a superior room but was upgraded to a bungalow right on the lagoon. Room 314. We had a nice room, however, the bathroom was very dated and in need of an upgrade but otherwise clean. It was so relaxing looking out to the lagoon each morning from our room or verandah. All the bungalows were spread out so you had alot of privacy. We only had our breakfast included but there was so much choice that we found we didn't need to eat lunch on some days. The buffet dinners were excellent. The buses into town are plenty and cost 150v per person. Taxi's would try and charge 500 but we would usually negotiate down to 300 or 400v. There are some lovely places in town to eat. The local people are very friendly and one thing that we noticed is that there are no beggars, people trying to rip you off with cheap watches, etc like other Asian and European countries. We have friends living in Port Vila and stayed with them for 3 nights. They had mentioned that we should have stayed in other resorts that don't cater for children under 15, but La Lagon is very spacious and plenty of room in the pool and grounds for everyone. We enjoyed our stay and will definately stay there again and recommend to our friends. The staff were always friendly. The grounds are very well maintained and plenty to do if you have a family.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TuscanyCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
679 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
558 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Terraces Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
495 reviews
0.4 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 47 in Port Vila
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu

Address: Erakor Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#14 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#18 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: £120 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu is situated on 75 acres of exotic tropical gardens on the edge of the pristine Erakor Lagoon. Promising some of the finest accommodations in Vanuatu, Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu is the ideal place for your Vanuatu Holiday. The resort offers 140 guest rooms ranging from classic rooms, garden & lagoon superior rooms, garden and lagoon bungalows, to four luxurious over-water island suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Warwick Le Lagon Resort And Spa, Vanuatu
Le Lagon Hotel Vanuatu
Vanuatu Le Lagon
Le Lagon Vanuatu Resort
Lagon Le Resort Vanuatu
Le Lagon Port Vila
Port Vila Le Lagon
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing