We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seven times and still going strong”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coral Motel & Apartments
Ranked #32 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We have returned from yet another trip to Vanuatu. Every trip would not be complete with a stay at the Coral Motel. The Coral has become our base for our mission work in Vanuatu since 2008. At times have taken teams of ten people and the Coral has been more than accommodating. The units are clean, spacious and have a fully equipped kitchens. The bathroom in our unit had just been renovated and there was a new (and very comfortable) mattress on the bed.
Beth, Tony and the girls are wonderful hosts. Just before leaving on the last day of this trip I was struck down by a migraine. Beth extended us to a late checkout to give me time to recover. Thankfully with modern medicine I was able to recover before taking the flight home. They really do look after you like you are one of the family.
In my full time job! I've been a business consultant for some tens years now. The strength and character of this busniness is its customer service coupled with Beth & Tony's understanding what their client's needs in accommodation such as the Coral. The proof is in their return business!
Highly recommended.
Pam Loneragan

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

This was my 5th stay at the Coral and as always I was not disappointed.
Since my last stay the bathrooms have been renovated and there are new (VERY COMFY) beds. The studios are very spacious and the full sized fridge and oven are a plus for anyone looking to be self-sufficient. Tony, Beth and their staff are always prepared to welcome guests with a smile and are happy to assist in any way possible.
If you are looking for somewhere that provides excellent service and value for money this is it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tindale17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We went on our honeymoon to Vanuatu in June 2012. We had a lovely time up until we were due to fly out, our flight was cancelled due to bad weather and the company we were flying with gave us a "too bad so sad" type send off to find our own accommodation and return the following evening at 9pm.
We were devastated, and quite frankly, being stranded in a foreign country is not something I would like to do again!
We tried our original hotel, however they were booked up with all the other stranded travellers. Someone metioned the Coral Motel, and so we caught a bus and off we went.
As soon as we arrived we were greeted by some gorgeous litle dogs, and a very lovely couple who own the place. It was like going home. They were so kind & understanding, and told us to go to our room first, shower and settle before fixing them up. They also offered us the use of their phone, as often as we needed to contact our loved ones back at home to keep them updated on our progress.
They provided us with the details of places to eat close by, and even offered to drive us into town.
The facilities were excellent, better than the hotel we were staying in originally, I think the bathroom was bigger than our actual room at our first hotel!! And I loved having a kitchen. We could stay in and make our own food.
Our experience at the Coral Motel & Apartments really was the silver lining!!
(And thanks again, if you read this review!!! You were amazing to us!!)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RinTin85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed at The Coral Motel for a week in July. A family of three, we had our three year old son with us.

We enjoyed every part of our stay at The Coral Motel, Tony and Beth are so accommodating, full of advice, and incredibly helpful.

The Coral Motel offers everything you need for accommodation on a budget in Port Vila, clean specious rooms, a fully equipped kitchen, free WiFi, laundry facilities, and a TV if you need to keep up to date with news back home.

We enjoyed our welcome bowl of tropical fruit, particularly as we'd arrived in the middle of the night, so we had something to eat for breakfast in the morning.

Buses into town are frequent, reliable and cheap, we had no problems getting to or from town.

Our son cried when we left The Coral Motel, he didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EricaKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I stayed at Coral Motel, Walter Lini Highway Port Vila in June 2012. June appears to be a very nice time to visit Vanuatu weather wise. I rate this motel very highly. The rooms were sparking clean and well appointed. Good cooking space, with oven and gas top, Bathroom well lit and obviously has been redecorated. Beds comfortable and plenty of space. Balcony has table and chairs if you want to sit out there.

There is a night watchman on duty at night. And the arrangement of the rooms are such that you aren't bumping into other guests.

I used buses to go into the city 150 vatu. A great way to get a sense of the non tourist life in Port Vila. And its an easy walk back to Coral Motel from the City. Stop of at Bay Watch Restaurant for the 1000 vatu lunch where you get the most delicious lime drinks made with fresh lime juice. Not lime cordial as I have experienced at one of the resort restaurants.
Beth and Tony are very gracious and helpful hosts. When I arrived Tony took me to various places that I would have to visit and then into town. List of good eating places was given. And I tried them. Plus they take you to the airport on leaving. And this is at 5.30am

I was so satisfied that we have booked a return visit.

Of course if you hanker after the resorts facilities, lagoon or sea views, for the price of the Coral thats not realistic.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Bay rooms which are on the upper level with air conditioning. In June air conditioni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigglesNZ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

So, we wanted to get away from the pressure of work and stay in a quiet place and just enjoy ourselves. We had been to Vanuatu once before and thought we would find a nice little motel and chill out for a couple of weeks.
Coral Motel was perfect. Nice decent room sizes, clean and plenty of freedom to be ourselves and come and go as we pleased.
Tony and Beth are really good people.
We loved Tony's sense of humour and Beth's friendliness.
We have been pondering living in somewhere like Vanuatu for quite a while and this was the perfect intro because Tony and Beth were open and honest about all the issues of life in Paradise.
Please don't confuse Vanuatu with anywhere like Bali or Hawaii. It is much, much better.
Step out of the Coral Motel and grab one of the dozens of minibuses for about $1.50 a ride, or walk the 10 or so minutes into the heart of Port Vila and just feel the freedom of being there.
We enjoyed every meal in Vila, especially the hamburgers and snacks at Jill's Cafe on the foreshore.
We also enjoyed the freedom to cook our own meals on the outdoor BBQ or in our room.
Quite sincerely, you could fall in love with Vanuatu like we have and we are very grateful to Tony and Beth for being friends.
Max and Christine

Room Tip: We had a room with an airconditioner and it really helped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxinglis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed one night at the Coral as it was the closest cheap accom to the airport and we had an early start for Tanna the next morning. Staff were lovely and very accomodating but the rooms are basic and tired. If you are planning to stay for a few days the Kaiviti is a better option for a similar price, similar quality but far better location for access to town. Kaiviti also has a pool which the Coral does not.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Fleanlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.5 mi away
Crystal Palace Hotel
Crystal Palace Hotel
#40 of 47 in Port Vila
7 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vanuatu Holiday Hotel
Vanuatu Holiday Hotel
#41 of 47 in Port Vila
33 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#20 of 47 in Port Vila
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Melanesian Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila
#25 of 47 in Port Vila
307 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chantilly's on the Bay
Chantilly's on the Bay
#27 of 47 in Port Vila
193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaiviti Motel
Kaiviti Motel
#35 of 47 in Port Vila
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Motel & Apartments

Address: Lini Highway, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Business Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: £55 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE BEST KNOWN, BEST VALUE ACCOMMODATION IN VANUATU. Very large, spotlessly clean, SELF CATERING studio apartments (twin share) for your cost effective holiday/business trip. Ten studio apartments, all with their own kitchens including full size stove & fridge/freezer, direct dial phones, complimentary wireless internet & satellite TV. Extra beds added on request. WE NOW OFFER HUGELY DISCOUNTED, QUALITY CAR RENTALS FOR OUR GUESTS. Friendly Australian owners are on hand to help at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Coral Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Motel Port Vila
Coral Hotel Port Vila
Coral Motel & Apartments Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing