We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We always stay at the Coral Motel when in Port Vila!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coral Motel & Apartments
Ranked #32 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We have chosen to stay at the Coral Motel in Port Vila over the last few years. As always the rooms are large and clean with a bathroom and kitchen.The rooms have fans and air con.The rooms are cleaned each day.Tthe motel is ideally situated between the airport and the town. The shops are a 20 minute walk or quick bus ride. Tony and Beth (the owners) are wonderful! They are helpful and have a wealth of local knowledge. They care about their guests and staff and this is reflected in the happy calm atmosphere of the establishment. Since our last visit we noticed that they have cars available for hire - a great addition. We look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: We liked the upstairs rooms - if you don't mind steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank iangeorgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We have been staying here for over 10 years from the UK. Lovely clean rooms that are serviced daily. Friendly staff who always have a smile for you and nice larger self contained appartments. Beth and Tony the proprieters are always approachable and willing to help if there is a problem. Always enjoy our annual stay there.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank no1kingfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I recently spent a month in Port Vila and stayed in Coral Motel and highly recommend it. The rooms are clean and spacious with fans and air con available in the bungalow. It was fully furnished with all the mod-cons and cleaned daily by the friendly locals. The owners Beth and Tony were amazing hosts and would always do whatever they could to help. It is about a 20 minute walk from the centre of town or a 5 minute bus which stops all the time

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gh308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Having read previous reviews before arriving at the Coral Motel, I had some preconceived impressions. However, I was pleasantly surprised. This motel humbly describes itself as 'budget accommodation'. I've stayed in real budget places before and I can say that the Coral Motel exceeds budget. Budget in terms of price, but what it offers is more. I stayed in a studio with a fan; the room was large, clean and had a more than adequate kitchen which made self catering easy. Beth and Tony went the extra mile to make my stay even better, nothing is too much trouble.
Yes, the motel does overlook a busy road, and there is a walk into town. But, the motel website doesn't pretend otherwise. They don't pretend to be a boutique resort with private beach!
I'm looking forward to a return visit. Thank you Beth and Tony!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gabbyvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Booked the two bedroom cottage months in advance. On arrival were told that a couple and their disabled son had arrived two days before and needed a room where they could all be together...so they were given the cottage.

We were given two motel rooms next to each other...teenage daughter in one room, my husband and myself in the other room. Great start to a family holiday...different rooms!

Motel itself was ok. Cheap, central, comfortable and clean...but the room switch would prevent me from ever returning. I understand the need for a room where the other family could all be together...but I wanted that too...which is why I booked it, and why I expected it.



Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank IndahBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

The place is good and I can experience the service staff good. The rates are good easy access to CDB and have small shed enjoy BBQ drunk kava. The place is has own cooking facility which makes u try local produce in your style cooking. The hospitality in house could seen from staffs.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rizkhan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We had one night stopover here before travelling to Santos for diving. This should not be ranked under Hotels etc and if was just listed as a B&B would be much better and less disappointing. Apart from that clean and tidy with the higher up apartments getting a view across the very busy and noisy main highway. Probably ok if you need to be near town and not in Vanuatu for a actuall holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxi h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alform, Owner at Coral Motel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Dear Maxi H,
Thank you for your review and I will state at the outset, we are exactly as described! In all online advertising and our website! All photos & descriptions are of the Coral as it stands! We are not a resort. The Coral is budget accommodation, with very clean and comfortable apartments. The best value budget accommodation in Vanuatu.

We made a point of not responding to reviews in the main for the past 9 years. We consider reviews should remain “stand alone”. We make an exception this time because we figure you are most unfair in your review after just a one-night stop over. We take your main concern being a noisy road onboard and it can get noisy at times. This is a situation out of our control. It is Vanuatu.

As for re-inventing ourselves as B&B. We cannot profess to be that which we are not, because the Coral has full kitchen facilities in each apartment. A B&B has a single communal kitchen where the host prepares everyone’s breakfast to eat in a communal dining area at a set times. We do not have this and nor would we want to make set times for anything to disrupt guests’ sleep-in and relaxation. With their own kitchen or the many restaurants in and around Port Vila, the options are endless. B&B, I think not!

I note you have reviewed an overnight transit stopover with us yet nothing about your stay on Tanna and absolutely nothing on your accommodation in Luganville, Espiritu Santo.

Thank you again and we take onboard your comments and concerns.

Kindest Regards,
Beth,
Owner/manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
6.7 mi away
Ripples on the Bay
Ripples on the Bay
#23 of 47 in Port Vila
74 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pacific Paradise Motel
Pacific Paradise Motel
#43 of 47 in Port Vila
29 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vanuatu Holiday Hotel
Vanuatu Holiday Hotel
#38 of 47 in Port Vila
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Vila Chaumieres
Vila Chaumieres
#30 of 47 in Port Vila
181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#19 of 47 in Port Vila
548 reviews
0.5 mi away
Traveller's Budget Motel
Traveller's Budget Motel
#11 of 47 in Port Vila
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Motel & Apartments

Address: Lini Highway, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Business Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: £53 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE BEST KNOWN, BEST VALUE ACCOMMODATION IN VANUATU. Very large, spotlessly clean, SELF CATERING studio apartments (twin share) for your cost effective holiday/business trip. Ten studio apartments, all with their own kitchens including full size stove & fridge/freezer, direct dial phones, complimentary wireless internet & satellite TV. Extra beds added on request. WE NOW OFFER HUGELY DISCOUNTED, QUALITY CAR RENTALS FOR OUR GUESTS. Friendly Australian owners are on hand to help at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Coral Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Motel Port Vila
Coral Hotel Port Vila
Coral Motel & Apartments Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing