We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Erakor Island visit, October 2011”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Erakor Island visit, October 2011”
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed at Le Lagon, Port Vila, and visited Erakor Island one afternoon during our stay.
We got the ferry over around 3pm and enjoyed an hour on the beach and the kids had some time playing on the swings and play equipment nearby. The water in the lagoon was warmer than the Le Lagon pool and was a good place to test out our snorkeling equipment (not that we saw much).
After the beach we visited the restaurant on Erakor, which is right at the wharf and beside the beach. Before 6pm they do a family dining special, which is excellent value. Garlic bread for all, then a choice of mains (kids and adults each get a choice of about 4 options) and then ice cream sundae for dessert. My wife and I enjoyed Santo beef steaks (she had mushroom and I had pepper sauce) for about A$25 a head and the kids had burgers and pasta for A$10 each. We also had a glass each of NZ red wine (which was about A$8 a glass).
While waiting for dinner (and after dinner) our kids (4 and 7 y/o girls) played with one of the hotel staff who seemed to have child minding responsibilities. This allowed the adults to enjoy a drink and take in the spectacular view from the deck where we ate dinner.
After dinner we took the 10-minute ferry ride back to Le Lagon.
This was a really easy day trip that is highly recommended for anyone staying at Le Lagon or visiting Port Vila.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leighofsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    179
    36
    9
    6
See reviews for
240
249
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2011

If you want 5 star, don't go here. However, if you wan't to just relax, this is for the place for you. Just back from a week in heaven, wonderful Ni staff & lovely location.
Ask for Unit 23 when booking, the last unit, furthest from the ferry & restaurant & 2 bedroom villas for families (approx 200-300 metres from restaurant). The "Romance Package" is worth the extra bucks, especially if it entails getting unit 23 (so quiet except for the waves).

Room Tip: Book unit 23, rooms on the other side of island would be noisy fro the village on the mainland
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

My family stayed for six nights in room 9 (we first stayed at Hideaway for 5 nights) and we found the resort to be very peaceful - even though there seemed to be a lot of peoply staying the resort never felt crowded or rushed. The staff are very friendly and the food amazing.
They had movvies on each night for the children - which my 10 year old enjoyed as well as the crab races and the swiming and canoeing.
We were able to swim out from our bungalow and watch the sunset from our deck. It was the perfect place for us to unwind.
I also enjoyed the day spa and the ladies gave my daughter her first day spa experience which she loved.
We can only say that we wished we were still there.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank josigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Just came back from a week on Erakor – the first time visiting Vanuatu.

We had done the expected trawl of places to go and stay, starting with which of the islands we wanted to be on. Part of us said 'Go further than the main island (Efate)' but the thought of another connecting flight – we already were changing in Sydney – helped us decide 'no'. Erakor seemed like the prefect compromise: Not so close to Port Vila that we felt this was not a peaceful 'get away' holiday, but also not so far away from access off the island that we felt trapped in one pace. And that's the thing: Erakor is a beautiful but small 'tropical' island that has all of the postcard features one would want from a pacific island destination but is just a 5 minute ferry ride from the mainland and then just a further 8 minute bus/taxi ride to the capital – giving punters the best of both worlds. And yes, the water is clear and the sand is white, just like the photos!

The resort centres on a small, pristine beach that opens to a lagoon containing soft coral and great 'soft adventure' water activities: outriggers, clear bottom canoes, regular canoes, snorkelling, swimming, fishing and sailing dinghys. Accommodation is limited to just over 20 villas that are well placed for quick access to water (5m away and either sunrise or sunset aspects. To one side is the suburban peninsula of Port Vila, the other the Pacific and one other the lovely village of Erakor, after which the island is named. The villas themselves are nicely designed and of good size – we fitted two children with us on a fold out and a roll-away and still felt like there was room to move. (A larger loft villa might have been better, but these were already booked by the time we made enquiries.) No TV and no telephone makes it all seem just that bit more relaxing. And our boys quickly ditched their iPods for the week!

Make no mistake: This is not a hardcore destination. There is nothing intimidating about the island: It is all clean, accessible, flat, etc. For the adventurous type, side trips for serious diving, snorkeling and fishing etc. is advisable. But that's all easily organised with the tour desk.

The big plus with Erakor is the people. Aside from the presence of the owners, who seem to dabble in numerous aspects of the place's running, all the staff are locals. And they are wonderful people. We were looked after with great attention and understanding from start to finish. And the time and interest given to our young boys was astounding. Brian, Erakor's 'floating' hospitality guru spent hours over days with our 12 year-old helping him get fish out of the lagoon, while Gil spent pretty much two days solid with our 9 year-old helping him make a raft out of bamboo to rival the Kon-Tiki! It was truly the stuff of magic. And the kitchen put out by cooking up a two course meal for us from the tuna said fisherman had caught during an off-shore outing on the other side of Efate. [Read separate review of Kustom Diving.]

An added bonus is the quick access by canoe across the lagoon the the village. We headed over on more than one occasion to gently check out the children playing soccer and were greeted by a bunch of youngsters on the beach – all keen to say hello and practice English. This was followed by an hour or more of water play as 20+ of the village children joined in. It was a precious moment.

Prices were very reasonable – to the point that were were worried about what might be wrong with the place once we got there. But it all stacked up nicely.

If we went back to Vanuatu, we would probably split the trip 50/50 with time back at Erakor, because we liked it so much, and somewhere further out like Santo. (We're not the sort of travelers to ritualise holidays, but sometimes it's to leave nostalgia completely behind! :)

Highly recommend for people wanting an accessible and broad-based experience of Vanuatu.

Room Tip: We had a room that faced west, so the sunsets were a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnonetrillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulladulla, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

AMAZING, AMAZING, AMAZING!!! We had our wedding on Erakor Island and could NOT have been happier. The staff are second to none!!! 'Lovely' Lita, 'never a problem' Natalie, 'always accomodating' Annie, Nixon, Linden, JIMMY, PETER, Martius, Edward! We can go on and on, they are just all wonderful and happy people. They go out of their way to make sure you are happy. The water is simply beautiful, the restaurant and food are FANTASTIC!!! You can watch open air movies on the beach or have a private 'Chefs Dinner for Two' which was one of the absolute highlights of our trip. Talk about first calss service, THIS is the resort to go to. Of all the places we saw and people we spoke to, Erakor was the place they all loved the most! I can't thank them enough.... we had approx 30 friends and family that followed us over to Vanuatu and every single person has said it was the best time they have ever had and the most wonderful wedding they had been too. This was also thanks to the sensational singing talents of Sina and Max -who I would highly recommend for your reception. They sing anything and everything! My husband and I cannot thank Erakor Island's staff enough.... our reception was under a wonderful white marquee, on the beach with the 'sand' as our dance floor!!! HEAVEN ON EARTH. 10 out of 10 and we will be returning every 5 years to renew our vows at the wonderful Erakor Island Resort.

Room Tip: the standard waterfront Villas were fantastic but the waterfront SPA villa was even more sensational...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Eliza L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We just got off the plane from 5 nights in Vanuatu and we just loved it! The weather was windy and overcast apart from 1 and 1/2 days but it was still warm and fabulous! The staff are second to none and became our friends by the end of our stay. Nixon, Lita, Blanca, Nic, Martius, Annie, Lona, Brian, Peter and the list goes on. Fantastic food, but a few more specials/variety would be good. We stayed in a waterfront villa with a spa and it was beautiful! Clean towels and our bed made everyday! Great for couples and families. We will return for sure! Well done Linden and Chris. What a delightful change! See you soon. Kell & Marti - Australia. 

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MKKink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

The people here are so friendly an go out of their way to ensure your stay is a good experience.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SharonLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.4 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,426 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
526 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Aquana Beach Resort
Aquana Beach Resort
#10 of 47 in Port Vila
286 reviews
2.1 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erakor Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erakor Island Resort & Spa

Property: Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Address: P.O. Box 24, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#4 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Erakor Island Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erakor Island Resort is a beautiful unspoiled island paradise, situated in crystal clear waters on its own private 16 acre island surrounded by white sandy beaches. All bungalows are waterfront with the lagoon just steps away from your private veranda. Enjoy the beauty of staying on a quiet tropical island with easy access to everything off the island, Erakor offers all the facilities of a major resort, but in a relaxed and secluded atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Erakor Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erakor Island Resort And Spa
Erakor Island Hotel Port Vila
Erakor Island Resort & Spa Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing