We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful time in Erakor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2012

My son Angus and I have just returned from 11 wonderful days in this warm, welcoming and relaxing gem. We shared a waterfront loft villa, which gave us plenty of space, a wonderful outdoor space with a very enticing day bed, and a hammock on the lagoons edge. The villa was very private - and while not 5 star, was exactly right for the feel of the island. There are only about 20 villas, so the island never feels crowded, even when day trippers from other resorts come to take advantage of the islands beautiful beaches and water activities. There is no television, but so many things to do, or time to just lie around relaxing that it was never missed. A couple of the highlights included pizza and movies on the beach, a fabulous Melanesian night with great food, fun, music and a fabulous fireshow, and Reggae night with Albert, who seems to do about 6 jobs on the island. The real gems of this resort though are the staff, amongst them Albert, Lita, Annie, Nick, Brian, Gilbert, Junior, Patrick, Frederick, Blandine and Fay, and all the others whose names I can't recall - but who all made is feel that we were part of their extended family. It was with a heavy heart we left Erakor, vowing that we will retun, soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BarbaraBaranduda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (707)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

567 - 573 of 707 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2012

We were not too sure what to expect when we book the place. We got there at about midnight in the pitch black, on a bigish tin boat (they call it a ferry). When we woke up in the morning, WOW!!! We were in paradise and no regrets. The restaurant was lovely, staff are great with kids, and we really had a memorable time there. Just across the water, there is a big resort which we went with our kids to enjoy the pool (there is no pool at Erakor, as it has a natural, shallow, beautiful beach), but we loved our island even more after the experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank holifam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We returned to Erakor for six nights using the Lazy Days package for our 5 year anniversary after having stayed there for our honeymoon. The resort has come under new management in the past 2 years and they have done a major renovation and upgrade to the rooms. We stayed in room 8 both times, and it had been upgraded to a deluxe waterfront spa villa. It was beautiful - absolute lagoon frontage, little private bit of beach, outdoor spa overlooking the lagoon and the pacific ocean, hammock and daybed, outdoor monsoon shower, as well as a beautiful monsoon shower inside. It was pure relaxation and bliss. We were very well looked after by all of the friendly staff who were never short of a big smile. We loved the food (try the santo beef), the 24 hour free ferry, the cocktails at happy hour ;), and our highlight was a romantic private three course chef's dinner on our anniversary night in a Nakamal - some of the best food I've ever eaten.

Room Tip: Room 8! Its gorgeous and the tree outside has a smiley face
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cwisteenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Erakor was our first stop when visiting Vanuatu for the first time. We arrived at midnight and were quickly shown to our room. Unfortunately it turned out to be the wrong one, but this was quickly and efficiently sorted out in the morning. Erakor turned out to be a lovely place to start our exploration of Vanuatu. Our room was very recently refurbished, in a high-class, modern design with all that you would need to be comfortable - including a spa bath on the veranda, overlooking the lagoon. We were there for four nights and found the ambiance and friendly, relaxed nature of the staff quickly got you into a chilled, peaceful mood. The staff really seemed to go out of their way to ensure you were having a good and enjoyable time. The 24hr, short ferry ride helps in feeling that you are separated from Port Villa while still being easy and quick to make it into town. The snorkelling was surprisingly good straight off from our room (around the fish trap) with a big variety of fish, coral and sea life. We really like to thank the staff for such an enjoyable and welcoming introduction to Vanuatu. Erakor was just a fantastic place to chill out and relax.

Room Tip: Depending on the time of year it can be windy and being on the other side of the island from the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sydneysider100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I had lunch at the restaurant which is part of the resort. The food was simple but good, and not too expensive for Vanuatu. The meat in particular was very tender and tasty.
To get to the resort, you have to pay 1000Vt (about 10AUD) to go across the lagoon - they then give you a voucher that you can use to pay for drinks and meals. The beaches are not big, and the water can be a bit dirty on the eastern side. Not much to see while snorkeling either... However for a nice afternoon soaking up the sun it's a great place to be!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank makapon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

This is a fine place to stay with rooms that are dated but clean. The low light is the breakfast which is so so poor that it was funny in the end. The staff are lovely and friendly and generally all is good here. Swimming is average and suits little children as safe if you don't step on a star fish. Lots of people come here for day trips which can make for a busy time but generally okay.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vitamind5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

I last stayed at Erakor in 1986 and vowed that I would return one day. I kept my word and returned on 27th June this year with my 21 year old twin girls and one of their partners. We arrived after midnight and after a bit of a hiccup with confusion over our accommodation we were eventually shown to our Sunset Family Loft Bungalow. The bungalow is fairly basic but has everything you need including a TV which is something the other bungalows don't have. Not that it got switched on much during our stay. My daughter and her partner took the double bedroom and my other daughter took the loft bedroom which had 3 single beds. Dear old Mum was relegated to the second bedroom which had 2 sets of bunk beds. The staff very kindly removed the top bunk from one of the beds so I didnt feel so closed in. There is no air con in this villa but at this tome of year the celing fans were more than adequate.
How wonderful it was to awaken early next morning to the sound of birds and to walk out into the beautiful tropical gardens and find yourself surrounded on all sides by water.
Calypso beach is the perfect place to lie back and relax or enjoy all of the things the the watersports hut have on offer.
Aqua on Erakor is on a par with all of the top restaurants in Port Vila. Food is amazing and couldnt be faulted by any of us including my daughters partner who is a head chef back home in Tasmania. I dont agree with some of the reviewers who think the food and beverages in Port Vila are expensive and overpriced. I think you get what you pay for and did not have one bad meal at any of the restaurants we visited.
The staff at Erakor are all so friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Lita in reservations for the extra welcome gifts to make up for the previous nights hiccup. Alice in Wonderland ,Annie, Fay and all of the restaurant staff. The amazing Albert at the Tour desk. Blandine and the staff at reception and to Lyndon what an amazing job you have done with the redurbishment over the past two years. 7 nights were not enough and we have all vowed to return to paradise sooner than later. Tankyu tumas.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Libster1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.4 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,538 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#2 of 47 in Port Vila
573 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Aquana Beach Resort
Aquana Beach Resort
#10 of 47 in Port Vila
310 reviews
2.1 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#6 of 47 in Port Vila
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erakor Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erakor Island Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 24, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: £131 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Erakor Island Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erakor Island Resort is a beautiful unspoiled island paradise, situated in crystal clear waters on its own private 16 acre island surrounded by white sandy beaches. All bungalows are waterfront with the lagoon just steps away from your private veranda. Enjoy the beauty of staying on a quiet tropical island with easy access to everything off the island, Erakor offers all the facilities of a major resort, but in a relaxed and secluded atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Erakor Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erakor Island Resort And Spa
Erakor Island Hotel Port Vila
Erakor Island Resort & Spa Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing