We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful island resort.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful island resort.”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Our experience at Erakor is exactly as it should be for the price. I rarely stay in expensive accomodations, however as it was coming up to our two year anniversary and it was our first real trip together, we thought we would splurge!

The ferry to and from the resort is 24 hours and is free - the staff are amazingly friendly and helpful. One of the guys even took us out to have kava from a local nakamal. The snorkelling is pretty good - a lot of the coral is dead, but we found some pretty good patches. The equiptment (snorkelling gear, kayaks etc) were of good quality and were free for guests.

The rooms were exactly gorgeous - wooden floors, a day bed, clean, bright and airy - a big spa! Even a little porch to sit on, from which to watch the sunset. We stayed in a Waterfront Spa Villa which even had a little path leading into the water. Be careful though! It gets slippery!

Everything we ate there was excellent - including the free breakfast buffet.

If you have the money, definitely stay here for a few nights!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stellaslove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    185
    40
    9
    7
See reviews for
253
257
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Stayed here recently and had one of the outdoor spa rooms which are very nice, these rooms are quite new and very comfortable with a outdoor daybed and the water just metres away, only comment would be the bedside lights are so dim you could not read a book in bed.

Staff are great and they work hard to keep everything clean with loads of people sweeping the paths and beaches, food is also good.

They do get 'day trippers' who walk around the place while your trying to relax on your beach front hammock, no cruise ships were in town while we were there but I am sure it would be busier if that was different, I noted they expect 22 cruise ships in August alone!

On one night they had a 'dinner special' on for people from the resort over the bay. For the rest of our stay the restaurant was less than half full as it was a quiet time but on that night it was full of families and kids and we could not get a table as it was also raining and they lose a bunch of the outdoor tables. We came back later after it had quietened down but it made for a very late meal and they should have advised people staying there to 'make a reservation' for that busy night.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozzyandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We recently spent ten days here with our two sons; we all had the most wonderful holiday. Vanuatu is a beautiful place, but Erakor Island is a very special place, very calm and relaxing, surrounded by brilliant lagoon. Great swimming, snorkelling, kayaking. No complaints about the accommodation. The food in the restaurant was consistently very good, and how can you beat sitting under the stars, over the water, eating dinner? Or siiting on the beach watching open-air movies, eating pizza?
The staff are amazing. They were what made our time on the island so particularly special. They exposed us to many facets of their culture through their stories, drawings, demonstrations and explanations. Albert, Gilbert, Brian, Greg, Lita, Annie and all of the others made us feel so welcome and looked after us (including our boys) so well, they made us feel part of their family.
We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peter t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Fabulous, relaxing, beautiful = Erakor Island Resort. We stayed for 11 nights in July and loved every minute. The staff are fantastic - thanks to lovely Annie, Lita, Albert, Jeremy, Junior, Nick, Bryan, Gilbert...Our teenage boys loved playing beach volleyball, trampolining, soccer, etc with Nick, Junior, Bryan and Gilbert. Highlights included the Melanesian Feast, movies nights on the beach with pizza (we got 3!!), reggae music nights with Albert and Jeremy, the list goes on...
Our family villa (no 2) looked over the lagoon; the rooms are spacious, clean and bright. It was very peaceful lying on the outdoor daybed reading and sipping a cocktail!
We picked Erakor as we wanted to lie on a beach and have all the creature comforts of a great holiday, good food, wine, accommodation (TV free) and activities for the whole family, without the crowds.
We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muswellbrook, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We have just returned from one of our most memorable trips to beautiful Erakor Island in Vanuatu. We arrived late at night (12:30am) to find the staff waiting to welcome us with open arms and carry our luggage to our room.
We had no idea just how beautiful the location was until the following morning when the sun rose over our little private beach and illuminated the reef and lagoon. Truly a tropical paradise with starfish littering the lagoon and excellent snorkelling so long as you swim out to the lagoon drop off (about 100m from shore - snorkelling gear provided free at the watersports hut).
We stayed in hut 23, the very southern most villa, which was secluded and rarely did we see anyone walking the island path.
The room was lovely, nice malanesian decor, clean and no TV to really get away from it all - I would suggest keeping an eye out for the keenly priced red hot deals advertised online that offer great value compared to the full room rate.
As mentioned, the staff really were a highlight - constantly attentive, friendly and making you feel a real part of the resort before we left.
Erakor itself is a world away from Port Vila which is quite a raw experience of island life - it was really nice to retire to our island and it's remoteness - something I don't believe you would get in the other resorts. Judging by the number of day trip visitors to Erakor from other resorts we definitely made the right choice.
The only drawbacks to Erakor were the lack of anywhere to purchase snacks and drinks for our room but it was a short bus ride to the bon-marche supermaket on the mainland. You will also find eating and drinking at the Aqua restaurant expensive (more so than Australian prices) but the food was always good and the view more than made up for it.
We loved our time here and would recommend to anyone else visiting Vanuatu.

Room Tip: Request a room on the Western side of the island, the eastern side tends to have vegetation wash up...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

celebrated my 50th birtday here ,what a blast.
Lita the event co ordinator was Numbawan.
I cannot recomend strongly enough celebrating your special event here.Food ,service,staff ambience first rate.If you are offered the service of " coco loco " Albert and Jerry the local two piece band ,jump at it. I took 21 people from an adacent resort on the night and we found our way back there for the next four days to enjoy the hospitality. we will be staying here next time around.
Thanks again
Richard

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killcare, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

While offering all the creature comforts of a resort there is something a bit different about Erakor. It reflects its locality and staff. Yes the wheels fall off occasionally and not everything works perfectly but you feel special and everyone works real hard to make you happy and relaxed. It isn't homogenised and therefore I think the experience can be uneven. But the popularity of the resort with guests from other Port Vila resorts and hotels is a strong indicator of where it rates. Yes this does mean the service at the restaurant can be slow but the food was really good and some dishes memorable eg the organic beef salad. We have memories that will last - Annie, a waitress in the restaurant, knowing we going and saying good bye in a very personal way that really meant a lot to us, Gilbert never forgetting our names when he saw us and a kitten that found its way into our room, affections and stayed (I know that may turn some people off but you won't see that happening at a Holiday Inn!).

Room Tip: Please note no Air Con and no TV - so don't winge if you have this expectation
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.4 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,466 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
662 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
478 reviews
1.1 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erakor Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erakor Island Resort & Spa

Property: Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Address: P.O. Box 24, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#4 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Erakor Island Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erakor Island Resort is a beautiful unspoiled island paradise, situated in crystal clear waters on its own private 16 acre island surrounded by white sandy beaches. All bungalows are waterfront with the lagoon just steps away from your private veranda. Enjoy the beauty of staying on a quiet tropical island with easy access to everything off the island, Erakor offers all the facilities of a major resort, but in a relaxed and secluded atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Erakor Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erakor Island Resort And Spa
Erakor Island Hotel Port Vila
Erakor Island Resort & Spa Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing