We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed at Erakor for 3 nights. Rooms were beautiful with basic amenities (which is all you need). We stayed in room 18 and imagine our surprise when we opened the sliding door to the deck and the water is right outside! Each Villa had its own hammock which is great condition. At one stage I was on the hammock and about 20 people from the village across the water came over on a couple of kayaks, canoes and a boat to say hello to all the visitors.

The food was at a very high standard for Vanuatu and the Cocktails were delicious. There was a woman who appeared to run the restaurant. We didn't know her name, but we affectionately called her Aunty. She was one of the loveliest people you could meet. Always happy to have a laugh with you.

The staff were amazing and lovely to talk to. Henry was the person you talk to for tours and also for activities on the island. He is always happy to help and always smiling. I believe there was a child minding service in the evening so parents could have a few quiet cocktails.

They supplied kayaks and canoes that you can hire. The equipment was at a high standard (we had our own snorkel gear for the coral reefs around the island).

The ferry to the island was readily available and there was always a taxi waiting on the other side to take you where you need to go.

We had a 60min back massage included in our package and it was very nice.

Even though the weather wasn't the best for us, Erakor Resort was the best place to be. Watching the sunset while drinking cocktails at the restaurant (which overlooks the water) was a highlight.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wogaridginee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (691)
There are newer reviews for Erakor Island Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

444 - 450 of 691 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

Such an amazing place with postcard views!! Went here on our honeymoon as somewhere to relax and reflect and it ticked all the boxes here to help us do that. Came back home feeling very chilled and revived! The staff are amazing and friendly and LOVE the 'island time' even though we didn't see too much of it due to it being a bit quiet. Didn't find the need to leave the island much as perfect place to relax but already planning our trip back to do the many activities around Vanuatu. Got the romance package which I would highly recommend as the inclusions are great. Must do the Melanesian feast - very fun and interesting. Get involved! Make sure you make the Aerogard as the rooms aren't fully mosquito proof. Can't speak highly enough of this place as it really did meet our hopes of having an island getaway island style...you may need to leave any Western expectations behind.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms can be noiser due to the waves, but didn't bother us too much.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsea222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My wife and I spent three lovely weeks in Efate, Vanuatu in October 2013, and stayed at three resorts - of which Erakor was one.

Whilst there is nothing "offensively wrong" with Erakor (except arguably the food), there also wasn't too much right either - and it was definitely the distant third place from the three resorts (Paradise Cove Resort and Trees and Fishes being the other two - with both of these being amazing places which we'd have no hesitation in recommending). In hindsight, we'd have spent the 6 nights at Erakor at either or both of the other two resorts.

In terms of specifics, in descending order of disappointment:

- Food was TERRIBLE. I don't really know where to begin. Here is a selection of dishes which were massacred (1) Alfredo pastas - wife's had visibly raw egg in it, my pasta was definitely not al dente, but more aptly described as closer to the raw end of the spectrum, (2) steaks - crappy cuts of meat, and the "Reef and Beef" not only as tender as a gumboot, came with a grand total of two prawns and (3) vegetable curry - servings are so ridiculously small they are insulting. Another amusing tale was buying icecream from the beach side bar - I asked for coconut, and the gentleman had to taste it using his finger - ascertaining that the tub with the coconut label was actually on the vanilla tub. He then proceeded to stick his finger into the remaining tub of "white icecream" to declare it officially coconut (if you are going to blatantly disregard food hygiene, at least have the common sense to do it when customers are looking he other way).

- Client service - my wife attempted to book in at the spa - the "we'll get back to you" line on availability didn't materialise into any communication from the resort. The issue is that the resort is too big for individual staff to have direct personal accountability (unlike some of the great boutique resorts in Vanuatu), and there appears to be no direct management of them. So its all care and no responsibility (actually, that's probably too kind, really no care nor responsibility upon further reflection).

- Resort is quite tacky, particularly the guys dressed up in the faux tribal gear (I'm honestly not sure if they are meant to be porters or concierge.

Although the resort is not what you would class as "expensive" it does represent very poor value for money (i.e. one resort we stayed at, namely Paradise Cove was materially cheaper for an amazing stay, and the other, namely Trees and Fishes, was a bit more expensive for an awesome and "rock your world" food (and fishing).

In short, whilst nobody died, and we did continue to enjoy the amazing weather and all Vanuatu had to offer, life is too short to stay in places like this and there are much better options!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank samonholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My husband and I got married on Erakor Island in August 2013. We had most of our wedding guests stay on Erakor also, we stayed for 10 nights. I cannot even begin to tell you how highly I rate Erakor, there simply isn't enough space on here to tell you. The staff and management go far beyond any hotel staff I've ever come across. Blanca, Gilbert, J'oneve, Lita, Sam, Patrick and of course ALBERT and ALL the staff are absolutely kind wonderful souls they all have a story to tell and will listen to you at any time of the day. We felt so comfortable around them like our own family they are welcome to visit us anytime! The wedding was everything we could have hoped for, the lead up to the day was great with all the activities on the island and tours you can book at the desk. You must ask Gilbert to climb a coconut tree for you, he is an awesome guy!! The Melanesian night is a MUST DO, it was one of the most memorable things we will surely do it again next time. The rooms are very well kept and really nice decor. There was a medium sized flat screen tv in our room which we only really used to plug our music into or watch a movie off our laptop, because who goes to an island to watch tv??? not me!!! No air con but we were 100% happy with the sea breeze you don't need air con. The other guests also said their rooms were amazing, great views to wake up to every morning and go to bed at night with the sound of waves to put you to sleep. I see a lot of complaints about the breakfast included but not one single time did it disappoint us. We ate at the restaurant most nights and only sometimes ventured to dinner to the main land. We were very happy eating at the restaurant or getting room service. I highly recommend a Superior spa villa if you can, it was well worth the extra money. We will be staying in one next time. I want to thank Lita especially for planning our wedding she was amazing and so helpful. And also Albert for playing at our wedding last minute :D hes wonderful and very talented!! If anyone needs any advice on the weddings or anything else there please email me im more than happy to show photos etc! All in all its my new favorite place to visit, go there with an open mind and soul and leave the demands of the Aussie life at the airport :)

Room Tip: Superior spa villa. More room and better deck/views.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnieRJ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My husband and I with our 18 month old daughter, recently attended a wedding at Erakor. I would highly recommend a wedding at Erakor. The ceremony location and reception are lovely.

We stayed in a Lagoon Vila (costing approximately $200 per night). The vilas are clean, tidy and have everything that you need. However, they are getting a bit dated. I understand that the resort is currently updating the vilas but the one we stayed in was yet to be done. Also depending where your vila is located the wind can be quite noisy of a night.

Although the resort is more of a couples resort than a child friendly resort, the facilities and staff were more than accommodating for an infant. We were provided with a porta cot, free of charge. There is a children’s playground that is appropriate for a range of ages. There are high chairs available for meals.

The staff could not be friendlier, especially to children. They all remembered our daughters name and were always eager to spend time with her.

We only ate at the restaurant for breakfast and lunch. Breakfast was a very limited buffet but as long as you like fruit, cereal, toast or eggs you are covered. But it is not a huge range. The lunch menu is typical of the majority of restaurants in Port Vila.

There is plenty to do. Whether you just want to laze on the beach, snorkel, kayak etc. The staff will also arrange any day tours etc. There is no pool but that is clear on their website.

Erakor Island is a very pretty location and only a short taxi ride away from the main street of Port Vila. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a room on the side of the island that the ferry arrives at
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank username125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We have just returned from an amazing stay at the Erakor. The island itself is just beautiful... a real piece of paradise. We stayed at the Aqua Blue house (6adults 1 baby) it was a modern, clean and well equipped house. We made the decision to hire a chef due to the fact that we had a young baby. Chef Glen made our holiday. His cooking was better than anything we had eaten at Sydney's top restaurants, plus his good humour and friendly smile created a good vibe. No cooking, no washing up, no putting away and for only $50 per night plus food. That worked out less than $10pp for a top quality meal to be cooked and served. He even took us into town and showed us around the food markets. I can not recommend this guy highly enough!!

All in all the resort is amazing and the staff are the friendliest you could find. The only thing that lets it down is its below average breakfasts. Its fresh and clean but very limited and uninspiring.

We will go back for sure

Room Tip: The island is quite windy on the side opposite where the ferry drops you. Try to book a cabin on sam...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goodies2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Erakor Island was a wonderful, relaxing place to holiday with our family. The staff were beautiful and kind, engaging the kids (10 & 13) with lots of activities. Blanca and Gilbert went to no end of trouble to make sure we were all having a great time, but all staff were friendly and happy and a delight to spend our holidays with. We stayed for 8 days and personal touches such as the staff remembering our names was appreciated. The feast, the movie nights and the stunning beach and water were all highlights.
Thank you so much, Erakor Island.
We'll be back
Amanda, Ben, Ethan & Charlotte

Room Tip: With kids the Family Vila (Rms 1 & 2) meant that we could really see the kids all the time - we...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmandaBakerfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.4 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,504 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
559 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
495 reviews
2.3 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 47 in Port Vila
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erakor Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erakor Island Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 24, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: £138 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Erakor Island Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erakor Island Resort is a beautiful unspoiled island paradise, situated in crystal clear waters on its own private 16 acre island surrounded by white sandy beaches. All bungalows are waterfront with the lagoon just steps away from your private veranda. Enjoy the beauty of staying on a quiet tropical island with easy access to everything off the island, Erakor offers all the facilities of a major resort, but in a relaxed and secluded atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Erakor Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erakor Island Resort And Spa
Erakor Island Hotel Port Vila
Erakor Island Resort & Spa Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing