We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream wedding...!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Port Macquarie, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dream wedding...!”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My daughter wished for a relaxed week of fun with family and friends in a beautiful island setting. This is exactly what we experienced. The staff were very welcoming and extremely helpful.. We had a few personal glitches like lost passports and they could not have been more concerned or involved in the recovery. The accommodation was very pleasant and all that we needed because you don,t need TV when your having such a lovely time with everyone. The wedding went of without a hitch and was beautifully arranged by the Wedding Planner. It was everything we expected and more. The Island itself has a lovely exclusive feeling about it helped by the arrival by boat , its unspoilt nature ,the size of the island and the style of the buildings ,especially the restaurant. The perfect place to enjoy a sunset drink and a good meal with good company. We could have stayed longer. Thank you so much for making this special occasion very memorable.

Room Tip: Depends on how much walking you want to do ,to and from the room. Look at the map of the accom. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    181
    40
    9
    7
See reviews for
248
256
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

After several vists to Port Vila we had never experienced this island and a day trip came highly recommended by the locals. It is a great retreat and safe for young kids / teenagers. A short distance from the main island a boat ride for VAT500 for kids and VAT1000 for adults to and from the island. The visit is only enhanced from the friendly staff starting at the jetty. The restaurant is good and you can offset the cost of the boat trip to reduce any expenses on the Island ie higher of canoes, snorkling gear, food, drink etc. The water is safe with plenty of spots for snorkling. It is an easy walk around the Island and you take in some great views of the Coral Sea while visiting some historic sights. All the locals that work there are extremely friendly. Thank you for a very relaxing day.

Visited 22 April 2014, traveled with family - 13 & 15 year olds

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gundagai
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Our annual visit to this wonderful island resort was just as we expected. Erakor still has the magic island feel with staff who must be the happiest people in the happiest place in the world.They make you feel like a family member whilst at the same time catering to your every wish (within reason). Erakor is continually upgrading its accommodation and surroundings and we have enjoyed seeing its progress over 4 years. Aqua has great food and the chef Tyrone and his team will make every effort to meet your dietary needs.
Having seen two weddings during our stay we cannot recommend it highly enough to those thinking of a Vanuatu venue. The amount of work that goes on behind the scenes is amazing. Everything seems to come together perfectly according to individual plans. Lita and her team deserve high praise.
It is impossible to mention everyone who helped make our holiday so relaxing but you know who you are. Thanks so much for the wonderful welcome, for looking after us so well whilst there and for the farewell. We will be back next year, "same, same" to use the local expression. Till then we will miss you all.

Room Tip: Nothing beats sitting in the spa, sipping Duty Free french champagne from Vanuatu Airport watching t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brunglite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We have stayed at Erakor Island Resort twice now, once for a wedding, and then we returned and got engaged there the following year! The staff are all beautiful and helpful, a special mention to Lita who remembered us and was always so sweet and welcoming. The restaurant is fantastic, great food, reasonable prices and great service. We stayed in a Beachfront Deluxe Spa Villa, and we loved that you have your own little hut with a veranda and view of the water. We spent most of our time relaxing on the beach under an umbrella or swimming around with the starfish. We did take day trips into the mainland and did a tour with a local guy who took us to the Blue Lagoon, Eton Beach and Mele Cascades, all three places are amazing but I would HIGHLY recommend a swim at Eton Beach! For us plus another couple we traveled with, for a whole day tour with lunch included, to wherever we wanted to go, it was around $50 AU each.

The Melanesian Feast night was delightful too, with a huge buffet of food, kava tasting and fire dancers!

We would stay at Erakor over and over before trying anywhere else - the perfect relaxing couple holiday!

Room Tip: Definitely get the deluxe spa room! Worth the extra $! And if you prefer the quiet, ask for a room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Our second trip to Erakor Island within 12 months and the staff remembered us and greeted us like family. We stayed in a Deluxe Beachfront Spa Villa and enjoyed the privacy and luxury of the villa. One of the reasons for returning was the food. Tyrone the chief created what my daughter called ‘food heaven’. We ate in the restaurant for lunch and dinner every day and didn’t want to leave the island to eat anywhere else. Tourist travelled over the lagoon from the main island to enjoy the meals at Erakor. The staff is very accommodating and friendly. The water is beautiful and lots of sea animals to explore. It is a safe and attentive environment for children of all ages.

Room Tip: Rooms to the right of the jetty are quieter with a nice beach front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Just returned home to rainy Melbourne after 7 wonderful nights at Erakor Island. What a beautiful place.
We stayed in a Beachfront Deluxe Spa Villa and had the paradise romance package which I would absolutely recommend. The chef's dinner included was particularly special.

Transfer from the airport takes around 25 minutes, followed by a 5-6 minute ferry trip to the island resort itself where, even at 3am arrival, you are met by happy smiling staff who take you bags and show you to your villa. The rooms are neat and tidy, with a deck leading to your own private lagoon frontage. The resort itself is an island in the middle of a large lagoon with clear waters and always calm and great for swimming, snorkelling.

Our villa was lovely. Please don't expect 5 star luxury but apart from a couple of wall cracks here and there that need a touch up, very nice. The only minor annoyance was the hot water which was intermittent and occasionally non-existent. Other guests mentioned similar issues although not as bad as ours but it was warm enough most of the time that a cool shower was welcome. The power was out when we arrived as well, so I guess these things are part of island living in Vanuatu but it wasn't enough of an irritation to upset our stay. It is the main reason why I only gave 4 stars though.

Breakfast included is a little on the basic side with fresh local fruit, toast, bircher muesli and a couple of cereals, but a cooked breakfast is available for at additional cost which is quite nice. It is at Calypso beach and you can sit under the shade of an open sided meals area or on the beach in the sun if you prefer.

A special thank you to Blanca at the tour desk who arranged everything for us during our stay and was wonderful to stop and have a chat to every single time we walked past the tour desk.

The restaurant is wonderful and reasonably priced. We tried almost everything on the menu and it was all superb but special mention has to go to the 60 second calamari. Best calamari I've ever had, and worth the trip to the island for dinner all by itself. Sitting on the front deck over the lagoon with a glorious sunset over your shoulder, cocktail in hand, what more could you ask for.

The chef's dinner. Can't speak highly enough of this. Chef Tyrone delivered a wonderful meal after having a chat to us the day before about what we'd like to eat and prepared just for us. Under torchlight. Overlooking the lagoon. On our own private beach. With our own wait staff. Highlight of our stay.

Actually that's not fair. There were 2 highlights of our stay, the chef's dinner and the staff. The resort staff here are wonderful, friendly, always smiling and happy. Nothing is ever any trouble and everyone will greet you with a smile. Richard, who started at the resort on the day we arrived, is an absolute gem racing around with a grin from ear to ear and always ready for a laugh, Tyrone our chef, and Blanca, Henry and everyone else

Thank you all again. Tankyu tumas!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klaatuveradanikto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Have been to Vanuatu twice before but our first time to Erakor. We came here to get married and our parents joined us for the weekend. Truly beautiful serene island paradise. Feels like the real world doesn't exist!! Will be returning with out a doubt!! Staff couldn't be more friendly and eager to accommodate your every need. Love love love!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.4 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,450 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
539 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
0.6 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erakor Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erakor Island Resort & Spa

Property: Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Address: P.O. Box 24, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#4 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Erakor Island Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erakor Island Resort is a beautiful unspoiled island paradise, situated in crystal clear waters on its own private 16 acre island surrounded by white sandy beaches. All bungalows are waterfront with the lagoon just steps away from your private veranda. Enjoy the beauty of staying on a quiet tropical island with easy access to everything off the island, Erakor offers all the facilities of a major resort, but in a relaxed and secluded atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Erakor Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erakor Island Resort And Spa
Erakor Island Hotel Port Vila
Erakor Island Resort & Spa Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing