We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island home (for a week)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Erakor Island resort is located about 5 mins drive from the main strip of Port Vila plus 6 minute ferry ride. The ferry is free if you are a guest. A minivan with a B (public bus) costs 150 VT per person and a car with a T (taxi) costs about 300 VT per person from town.

Tip: as you exit the airport there is a sign with a list of hotels with corresponding amounts you should pay for a taxi - very helpful.

Upon arrival we were warmly greeted, our bags taken by porters and a cool drink and induction at the main restaurant floating above the crystal blue water. We were then lead to our beachfront deluxe villa (villa 10) which was clean and comfortable with a hammock, some beach lounges and lovely view. The villas have ceiling fans and all windows have insect screens.

The staff were friendly, the grounds well kept. There is no pool at Erakor however you don't need one as the waters off this island are perfect for a dip, sea kayak/ canoe or paddleboarding. There are sandy beaches to soak up a bit of sun. As keen snorklers there is not a lot in terms of coral, there are a reasonable amount of fish to see, lots of starfish and sea cucumbers. We took a day trip to hideaway island - 1200 VT to take the ferry and some good snorkeling. Hideaway resort was very crowded and not sure i'd like to stay there but was good to visit for the day.

The menu on offer sounds great but the food was a bit disappointing and a bit hit and miss. Breakfast is quite basic but you can order a cooked breakfast as an extra.

There were a lot of families with kids staying and looked like a great place for a family holiday - the beach would be suitable for little ones - maybe not such a great place for a romantic escape - although there were two weddings during our stay and there is an option for a romantic beach dinner (however not far from the gaze of the other diners at the restaurant).

It's easy to get into town where there are supermarkets (No.2 supermarket is the best - it has everything you would need), there is a pharmacy, post office and ATMs all readily available. If you want to change money at an exchange ensure you have cash as it is not possible to use eftpos or credit card. There is the 'Mama's market' on the beachfront (mainly touristy stuff you can find anywhere) - I would recommend finding the ACTIV shop if you want your tourist dollar to go back to local crafts / villages - this is an incentive for local women to make money from their own handicrafts and all proceeds are returned to the island women. Apparently they are currently applying for a UN grant to support this undertaking - a worthy pursuit supporting local culture. A visit to the museum (quite small but very interesting) was worthwhile.

There is no shortage of buses or taxis waiting at the ferry pier or in town willing to drive you where ever you want to go. We paid 5000 VT per person for a taxi for a full day who took us to the cascade falls, the tanna coffee factory and hideaway island, waiting for us at each and driving us back to the ferry at the end of the day. Tip: ask at reception what you should be paying for taxis as some charge more than others.

Erakor Island Resort is a very good option for a place to stay away from but close to Port Vila.
Nearby options (also not right in town) include Irirki and Warrick LeLagon Resort.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 10 - Beachfront deluxe The villas are sited reasonably close together but reaso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hayley16067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

383 - 389 of 706 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

We paid 1000vt each (which is redeemable on food, drinks and activities) and caught the ferry over to Erakor Island for lunch. The service was good and the food was lovely - not too crowded either. We walked thru meandering palm lined paths past lovely huts with verandas and hammocks outside. We didn't look inside the huts so cannot comment on them. Lovely peaceful island away from the hustle of Port Vila. Worth a visit if you are staying in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank adams1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

From the free ferry transfer onwards, staff were welcoming and hospitable. The only minor err was trying to stick us a 2000vt drinks bill which was not ours, but such 'happy accidents' seem common in Port Vila, where the Australians seem not to notice them.

The island and setting on Erakor lagoon are beautiful. Beaches are small and white coral/sand but idyllic and with several to choose from between bar-centric and total seclusion. Provision of kayaks, paddle boards and snorkel gear to guests was welcome, though they do need to sort out the pile of broken kayaks - not good to point out they are all broken when a guest asks to use one.

Rooms were extremely comfortable and set adequately apart and private from each other in well tended garden grounds. The hammock was comfortable and well placed on the lagoon which is a pleasure to swim in.

The restaurant is quite expensive but also very good, with service to match and a great deck over lagoon setting. Bar food in the Calypso bar was also excellent and well priced (Big Burger 800vt).

Overall a very enjoyable stay just outside the hullaballoo of central Port Vila.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dtmf_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed in accommodation which was a 20 minute walk from the ferry over to Erakor Island. We paid 1000 Vatu each to go over on ferry and this was redeemable on activities, food and drink. The girls hired x 2 paddleboards for 1 hour each and we ate lunch from the cafe on the beach - very relaxing and not too crowded - P&O was in Port Vila the day earlier . Everyone had a Moo Moo burger and enjoyed it. The family also snorkeled because it was quite sheltered compared to where we were staying. The island was beautiful and it would seem that the staff we very friendly. Not sure how good accommodation is but the concept was very relaxing and the beach very safe especially for families with small children.

Had a very relaxing day on the island.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank TraceyAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We recently had 5 nights at Erakor and were disappointed. We booked after having read all of the positive reviews on trip adviser. The staff are generally very friendly but the rooms we had were very tired and needed a make over, especially the bathrooms. Our ocean front spa bungalow reminded me of a run down beach house. Erakor is a stunning island and the gardens and grounds are beautifully maintained with a lovely beach. There is a ferry that shuttles guest and visitors from the main land to the island, it is a very short trip and we found it a bit off putting being invaded by day trippers each day. Also there were not enough kayaks or paddle boards for the resort guests, nor were there any beach umbrellas as apparently they were all away being repaired. There were a number of bicycles for use however only 2 could be used but they were stuck in 6th gear, annoying given our 600m walk to our bungalow. We were surprised to here from other guests that valuables had gone missing from the beach, an iPad and an expensive camera. It is also an outdated concept to pay for wiFi access. By far the most disappointing aspect of our stay was the food. The restaurant is very disorganized and the service is slow. On our first day it took almost 2 hours to get lunch at the beach cafe which consisted of 2 Caesar salads and 2 kids fish and chips. The service in main restaurant for lunch and dinner is slow, whilst the wait staff are generally engaged orders were confused by the time they reached the kitchen. One night we got our mains before our entrees. Prices are expensive, approaching Sydney fine dining levels. We also all got gastro on day 3, the kids worse than us. I think the main issue with Erakor is that management needs to decide if they want to please their guests or please their visitors as it is very clear that they can't do both. We won't be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank HofySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Erakor was a nice bit of luxury to finish off our Vanuatu trip. The room we had was right on the beach, with a loft room for the boys.
The snorkeling off the beach was excellent, though the tidal current could get quite strong at times. We tried kayaking and paddle-boarding in the safe waters of the lagoon.
An on-demand ferry runs 24/7 to the mainland with easy access by taxi to Port Vila town.
The food in the restaurant was good, though perhaps a little pricey.
All in all a comfortable, friendly end to our holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gaiteiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at Erakor island for 4 nights at the end of June '14. Overall we had a good stay and thought everything was satisfactory. We stayed in a beachview bungalow with a spa. It was clean and nicely furnished. The day bed and hammock outside was a nice touch. The island itself is really nice with very well looked after gardens. You would have no idea you were only a few minutes drive from Port Vila. The thing that makes this resort are the staff. Very friendly with a shout out to Gilly and Nixon , you guys are ace. However a few things about the island need some work and there are few things which they cant really do anything about. One thing we didnt realise is when the tide goes out, there are few places on the island where you can swim except the main beach at the front. The lovely water turns into a scene of exposed coral (mostly broken) and gluggy sandy mud. The problem is the main beach is packed with day trippers so having a relaxing swim is not possible. Our second issue was with the restaurant. The first nights food was fabulous. Every night after was pretty average. I had a fish curry special that was overcooked and the curry lacked any taste or heat and that theme continued with most other dishes. The desserts were consistently good but the mains very hit and miss. Our third issue was with our spa at the bungalow. The jets were extremely weak to the point where they were practically pointless , might aswell of just been taking a bath. If we had of known we would of just gotten a cheaper bungalow without the spa. I think the resort needs some sort of swimming pool. Sure you can say nature is the swimming pool but at least a pool isnt dictated by tides and at least in a pool you can swim at night and not worry bout stepping on sharp coral or a thorny starfish. We would recommend this place but we just wish it was a little better value for money

Room Tip: If you want to be far away from the crowds/kids choose an ocean view bungalow at the far end of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank UnchartedGaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.4 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,534 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#2 of 47 in Port Vila
573 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Aquana Beach Resort
Aquana Beach Resort
#9 of 47 in Port Vila
310 reviews
2.1 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#6 of 47 in Port Vila
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erakor Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erakor Island Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 24, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#4 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: £131 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Erakor Island Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erakor Island Resort is a beautiful unspoiled island paradise, situated in crystal clear waters on its own private 16 acre island surrounded by white sandy beaches. All bungalows are waterfront with the lagoon just steps away from your private veranda. Enjoy the beauty of staying on a quiet tropical island with easy access to everything off the island, Erakor offers all the facilities of a major resort, but in a relaxed and secluded atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Erakor Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erakor Island Resort And Spa
Erakor Island Hotel Port Vila
Erakor Island Resort & Spa Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing