We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just divine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hideaway Island Resort
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
391 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Just divine”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We visited this resort for the day whilst in port on a cruise ship. This would be the 4th of 5th time we have visited Hideaway Island, and it is still one of our most favourite places in the whole wide world. We had picture postcard perfect weather and Word is certainly spreading about this place, as it was packed with the most people we have ever seen there at any one time. We could not get anywhere near the restaurant/bar area or under cover, but were able to get a lovely position under one of the palm trees. They have had sand shipped in, and spread over some of the public area, making it much easier on your feet.

The coral in the water is deteriorating, but they have started a revitalisation program which is pleasing to see. hope it works. Fish is still abundant.

Entry to the island for the day has gone up to 1000vat or A$12 per person per entry. Snorkel gear hire is on top of this.

Return taxi fare from the town was AUD$50 for the taxi, not per person. The taxi waited for us at the drop off port until we came back.
A local beer - a Tusker - cost VT400 but at the supermarket was VT215.

It was best to pay for everything in AUS$ as the exchange rate by vendors/taxi drivers was very high. For example 1000 vat or AUS$10, whereas the actual exchange rate was more like 750 vat or AUS$10. I think the rate was rounded up as it is easier to work out!!

Room Tip: Gotto do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    215
    35
    19
    9
See reviews for
160
240
47
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Travelled to Vanuatu solo for 2 weeks for a relaxing holiday, Stayed here for the entire two weeks. I booked my room through Booking.com and it didn't go through for some reason so I had to stay in a different room for the first night, I recommend booking direct through their website.
Is only about a 5-10 min drive to the main town, but there are always taxis waiting on the main land to take you wherever you want to go.
This has to be the best snorkeling I've ever done, better than the Great Barrier Reef, Clear warm water, they run a guided snorkeling tour every day as well a glass bottomed boat ride, free snorkeling gear to use for the day.
The restaurant and bar right on the beach was great with excellent food and wide selection of drinks and exotic cocktails.
The staff were very friendly and willing to help out but they did seem to have trouble understanding english at some points.
Would highly recommend staying here and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Seanzito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I have travelled quite extensively overseas and can honestly say that Hideaway Island is one of my favourite places I have been. Whilst it is not 5 star luxury, you will be surrounded by the most endearing and amazing people you'll ever meet. I came with a friend for 10 days and we had the most amazing time, thanks largely to those who work here. The staff were extremely willing to help us out with anything we needed, lending us the phone several times a day as we attempted to relocate a lost bag!

The snorkelling is absolutely amazing, even better than the Great Barrier Reef, and it's all right there at your doorstep! We stayed in a twin-share room which was basic but incredibly comfortable, and really, how long do you spend in your room when you're on a beautiful tropical island like Hideaway?

But most of all, the dive shop boys were just incredible. We came as strangers and left as friends, and I can honestly say that it was thanks to them that I have memories I will never forget! Phil, Antoine with his crazy hair, Brian with his loud singing voice, Nedge and Robbie were so friendly and funny, making our trip a bundle of fun!

The restaurant has great food at very reasonable prices ($10-20), and the lemon tart is to die for! Try the curry, it's just amazing. The Melenesian Feast is great for around $25, well worth it with entertainment.

Across the bay at the Beach Bar they have Fire Dancing on Friday nights. It is AMAZING and free! Honestly, it's a great show, you should definitely head across, they have wood fired pizza as well. But get there early- 6pm!

I cannot fault Hideaway, it is an amazing place, you really are in a tropical paradise! We will definitely be back again and again and again and again...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mitchellashlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

You'll see this place advertised everywhere – here on TripAdvisor, all over the internet, even at the airport in Efate. You'll get the impression that it's THE place for diving and snorkeling. But what you find when you get to Vanuatu is that there are loads of other options.

I've rated average, but I mean REALLY average. Rooms are quite expensive for what you get. Mine was near the generator, which was so loud it sounded like we'd never left the airplane. Some of the staff are naturally friendly, but mostly they just seem bored and disinterested.

The place opens up to day trippers each day, so the "beach" (actually uncomfortably coral rather than sand) gets crowded on nice days with families and groups sipping overpriced cocktails and talking loudly.

Certainly the fishes are amazing and the island is cute, but overall this was a tourist machine that I was very pleased to leave.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarver G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

what can i say what a great spot a short ferry ride from the main island and it does not get any better the staff were all so very friendly, the dive shop guys were playing Mr wolf with a group of kids .the coral is straight off the beach ( the approach to the water is coral so reef shoes help ) the rooms are pretty basic but your not there for the rooms the snorkeling and diving is fantastic. took many good shots of the very colourfull fish with a cheap camera but they turned out alright and the island is serviced by small vans that will take you anywhere you wish to go i would say for me the highlights were the blue lagoon and the mele cascades

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank putsy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Hideaway Island is a tiny island just of shore near Prot Vila. It is nicely positioned and surrounded by a nice coral reef. It has several accommodation cottages. We (me and my brother with wife and 3 teenagers) stayed in Vila, a very nice and comfortable vila.
The resort has a small but nice beach. The coral reefs are right there, just meters from the shore. Already in knee-deep water you see all kind of fish.
Staff is friendly and that is apparently the same in all Vanuatu. The food is good (we ha breakfast included). There are also a lot of activites, snorkelingm diving, Island Festival (with Kava!).

Room Tip: Vila is goregous but do you really want to stay in the room? We had our own pool but the water was c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sveto v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We first stayed on Hideaway in July 2012. We had so many fond memories from our first stay that we recently did it all again but this time for stayed for 9 nights. Hideaway just feels like home for us and we are already missing it like crazy. We travelled with our son and 3 other families, 14 of us in total. We all had our own oceanfront bungalows and once again they were just bliss to stay in. I had noticed some renovations had been done since last time so it's obvious there is an on-going renovation in process. Beds were clean and comfy again and the whole bungalow was cleaned and put back into order each and every day. Once again the food was fantastic and the BBQ night was so yummy !!! Lot's of salad variety, meats, rice and the most amazing dessert served in a tiny little tea-cup. Well worth it so make sure you try it. '
As we were on a return visit it was such a lovely surprise to find a bottle of champagne sitting on ice in our rooms when we first got there. Very unexpected by us and such a lovely gesture.
The staff were fantastic again and it was great to see some old faces. Loved the snorkelling again, happy hour and the fire show across the water at the Mele Beach Bar.
Once again the dive shop boys were fantastic !!!! Special hello to Antoine and Nedge :)
We love that Hideaway is natural and not all 5 star. Really it's the only place we would stay when we visit Vanuatu.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
5.7 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,464 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
662 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
5.9 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
5.9 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaway Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway Island Resort

Property: Hideaway Island Resort
Address: | Hideaway Island, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hideaway Island Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hideaway Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaway Island Hotel Port Vila
Hideaway Island Port Vila
Hideaway Island Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing