We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beginners paradise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hideaway Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hideaway Island Resort
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beginners paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is a lovely little Island. Daytrippers overcrowd the Island. The food in the restaurant was pretty good for Vanuatu standards. Snorkling here is great if you have no experience at all as you don't even have to be able to swim as reefs are as close as 1 meter from the shoreline and you can standup and just put your face underwater and see lovely coral and big beautiful fish.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynda62x2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    211
    34
    19
    9
See reviews for
158
235
45
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Campbelltown, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We have just spent another fantastic 7 nights at Hideaway Island. This was our third stay on the island. Previously we have stayed in the 2 bedroom villa but this time it was just the two of us so we stayed in the 1 bedroom villa which has recently become available to stay in as the owners who were there have left. The owners have installed managers, Mark and Sue who are doing a fantastic job. They are very hands on in over-seeing the day to day running of the island. Since we were there last we noticed that the gardens are looking lovely and the whole island seems fresh and is being well kept. The staff are doing their best to maintain the reef and the snorkelling was fantastic as always with plenty to see.
The 2 bedroom villa we have stayed in previously is beautiful but we like the 1 bedroom villa even more. Its in a completely different style to the 2 bedroom. Large tiled floor areas and the kitchen/dining/lounge has beautiful polished floor boards. The bi-fold doors are all glass and wrap around the front of the villa giving such a perfect view no matter which way you looked. The main bedroom has a four poster bed with mosquito net which looks lovely and the house maid makes your bed perfectly everyday and you come back to towel art and flowers scattered on the bed. There is a walk in wardrobe in the main bedroom with more than enough shelving and drawers and a safe. The bedroom also has airconditioning and we found that if we kept the bifold doors open that separate the bedroom from the rest of the villa then it was all kept quite cool. There is a small second bedroom with a single bed. The bathroom is large and has an open style shower. There is a largish garden on one side of the bedroom which has beautiful flowers and plants growing. The kitchen is very user friendly with everything you need to cook if you so desire with a small oven and microwave, toaster, kettle and large fridge/freezer and cooktop. There are two lounge suites in the main area. The first being a nice comfy style and the second is also lovely and is placed closer to the outside doors giving you a very nice view. The outside area is covered well with a table and chairs and two lounge chairs. The view is just spectacular. You overlook the reef on the back of the island and we spent hours just looking out at it.
You could not ask for happier friendlier staff. We find the staff on hideaway to be the best of anywhere in Vanuatu. They are always smiling and singing. Nothing is ever too much of a bother for them. Hideaway’s staff would have to be the biggest asset to the resort and they should all be very proud.
We recommend a stay on hideaway island in any of the different types of accommodation. We just love it there and will always return again and again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jodybelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We (2 parents and teenage daughter) stayed in a spacious ocean view villa for 3 nights. The price seemed reasonable and the villa was very clean and comfortable. Part of the reason to stay here was so I could dive while the others snorkelled. The diving is good although probably best for beginners. Snorkelling is fun. The restaurant at the resort was average. The only down side is the day trippers who flood the island especially when a cruise ship is in town. But if you decide to keep out of the sun in the peak times then you can mostly avoid them. The shuttle boat takes you across to the mainland. The resort has different free activities for guests including an outdoor movie (the projector broke down but it was fun), an excursion to the local village which was very interesting, a guided snorkelling trip. You can also walk to Mele Cascades - takes about 40 mins along the beach and a road. Worth the effort.

Room Tip: Do your snorkelling early or late in the day and avoid the day trippers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SydneySuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Wow this was awesome. We stayed for 7 days at the end of April 14. My husband and I stayed in the attached Bungalow. Bungalow 1. We had a good sized room, big lounge room that included 2 single beds, 2 couches and a small dinning table with chairs. There were 3 ceiling fans, although you can pay more and get a room with AC which I would recommend in the hotter months. The rooms are simple but clean, spacious and adequate. Although the bed was a bit hard for my liking. We could walk down to the ferry from our large private veranda. Or directly to the pool or beach from our front door. I loved the position of our bungalow, close but private. Lots of cute island life too, hermit crabs, geckos etc.
Included was a free continental breakfast. The fruit was amazing, and the bircher muesli was my favourite, my husband had avocado on toast every morning. You enjoy your breakfast while looking out at the water. Dinner was a treat too. I had the rib eye fillet twice and nearly cried when they ran out on my last night. The ‘Island curry’ is AMAZING too, we had that repeatedly too.
We had just received our Dive certificates and were keen to dive. We did two and found ALL the dive instructors were very friendly and helpful. They had better dive equipment then what we had used in our courses in Australia!! We also did a night snorkel which was amazing, saw a moray eel and several cuttlefish. The snorkelling was crazy. We snorkelled every day for several hours, and saw the most amazing sea life: turtle, cuttlefish, seasnake, shrimp, lion fish, dog face puffer fish, everything. We feel that the sea life is better than we have seen on our many trips to the Great Barrier Reef.
Relaxing by the water, on our veranda or snorkelling took up most of our time. When we did cross back to the mainland the Hideaway Island staff on the other side were great with helping with buses or information. We walked to the Cascades one day too, 30mins. There is a pub/restaurant across from Hideaway that has free wifi and themed nights.
We loved our time here, the staff enhance your experience too. Cannot weight to come back next year with the rest of our family. Thank you Hideaway!

Room Tip: Some rooms have AC and some just have ceiling fans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Treeblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We have never used the accomodation at the Hideaway, but over now four holidays in the Port Vila area, we have visited the Hideaway as a day trip many times. It is without doubt, the best day trip destination if staying in the Port Vila area. It is very easy and cheap to get to, great food and drink service, and for us the best part, is the coral reef viewing. We like to snorkel, and find that this place has the most accessble viewing of the amazing fish and coral, that you could ever wish for. It really is like something out the National Geographic magazine. The beach is a fairly steep one as opposed to shallow, which has the considerable advantage that it is possible to have a great snorkelling experience, or just a swim, if that is all you want, at any stage of the tide. The beach is broken coral, rather than sand, and a bit hard on bare feet. I suggest reef walking shoes might be a good idea.
Hope to get back again sometime, for a great snorkel, excellent curry lunch, and nice cold Tusker beer.

Room Tip: This was day trip only so can't comment on the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paihia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

For a keen swimmer and snorkellor like me, this is the ideal spot. To wake up in the morning and just a few paces to the beach and then off to marvel at fish and coral just metres from the beach. And good undamaged coral and protected fish in a marine reserve at that. Perfect!
Our garden bungalow was nice, with its own deck, and dinner in the restaurant was excellent.
Thanks Hideaway. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We spent a long weekend snorkelling and diving and had a fantastic time. Our villa was large and had great views. The place does need a bit of maintenance these days but nothing that put us off from coming back. We are looking forward to our return later this year. The staff were great. I agree with the comments though on reef awareness and protection. This is not a high end resort but very casual and comfortable. The island hosts were great too.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank W K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
5.8 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 48 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
5.8 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
6.1 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaway Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway Island Resort

Property: Hideaway Island Resort
Address: | Hideaway Island, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#2 Best Value Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hideaway Island Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hideaway Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaway Island Hotel Port Vila
Hideaway Island Port Vila
Hideaway Island Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing