We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Already planning to come back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hideaway Island Resort
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Already planning to come back!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We just arrived home from 7 days on Hideaway. Words do not do this place and the staff justice. We went to dive, but discovered so much more. The dive guys are fantastic. We just had to add extra dives in... 10 was not enough. Brian, Robbie, Joka, Neidge and Jeff were fantastic. Love these guys... So friendly, knowledgable and their professionalism couldn't be questioned. But everyone one was so happy and helpful. Anna and Veronique in the bar made us feel like family. The wifi was at times a little slow... But in reality I loved being away from technology. The local people are genuinely happy and friendly. Nothing was ever too much trouble. I could go on listing everyone who was super helpful but it really was everyone we met. Looking forward to returning to a place that is so welcoming.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Bronwyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    215
    35
    19
    9
See reviews for
160
242
47
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

My friend an me spent four nights in a dormitory on Hideaway Island and we loved every second of it. On arrival day we were picked up from the airport and brought to the Resort where we were greeted with welcome drinks and happy smiles from all sides. Throughout our stay staff was always super friendly and helpful. Snorkelling gear, kayak hire, village walk etc. are included in the price and we participated in heaps. It was always great fun! They offer free wifi however, it is rather slow. But who even wants to check mails when you can relax in the sun and go snorkelling.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank TamiNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Spent a beautiful morning snorkelling among the coral and stunning fish - all many of colours, shapes and sizes .. they were not at all concerned by us swimming with them. And sending a water proof postcard in the underwater post office was a fun novelty .. chilled out at the beach bar for lunch .. thank you for a great day :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowral, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is a lovely little Island. Daytrippers overcrowd the Island. The food in the restaurant was pretty good for Vanuatu standards. Snorkling here is great if you have no experience at all as you don't even have to be able to swim as reefs are as close as 1 meter from the shoreline and you can standup and just put your face underwater and see lovely coral and big beautiful fish.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynda62x2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbelltown, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We have just spent another fantastic 7 nights at Hideaway Island. This was our third stay on the island. Previously we have stayed in the 2 bedroom villa but this time it was just the two of us so we stayed in the 1 bedroom villa which has recently become available to stay in as the owners who were there have left. The owners have installed managers, Mark and Sue who are doing a fantastic job. They are very hands on in over-seeing the day to day running of the island. Since we were there last we noticed that the gardens are looking lovely and the whole island seems fresh and is being well kept. The staff are doing their best to maintain the reef and the snorkelling was fantastic as always with plenty to see.
The 2 bedroom villa we have stayed in previously is beautiful but we like the 1 bedroom villa even more. Its in a completely different style to the 2 bedroom. Large tiled floor areas and the kitchen/dining/lounge has beautiful polished floor boards. The bi-fold doors are all glass and wrap around the front of the villa giving such a perfect view no matter which way you looked. The main bedroom has a four poster bed with mosquito net which looks lovely and the house maid makes your bed perfectly everyday and you come back to towel art and flowers scattered on the bed. There is a walk in wardrobe in the main bedroom with more than enough shelving and drawers and a safe. The bedroom also has airconditioning and we found that if we kept the bifold doors open that separate the bedroom from the rest of the villa then it was all kept quite cool. There is a small second bedroom with a single bed. The bathroom is large and has an open style shower. There is a largish garden on one side of the bedroom which has beautiful flowers and plants growing. The kitchen is very user friendly with everything you need to cook if you so desire with a small oven and microwave, toaster, kettle and large fridge/freezer and cooktop. There are two lounge suites in the main area. The first being a nice comfy style and the second is also lovely and is placed closer to the outside doors giving you a very nice view. The outside area is covered well with a table and chairs and two lounge chairs. The view is just spectacular. You overlook the reef on the back of the island and we spent hours just looking out at it.
You could not ask for happier friendlier staff. We find the staff on hideaway to be the best of anywhere in Vanuatu. They are always smiling and singing. Nothing is ever too much of a bother for them. Hideaway’s staff would have to be the biggest asset to the resort and they should all be very proud.
We recommend a stay on hideaway island in any of the different types of accommodation. We just love it there and will always return again and again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jodybelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We (2 parents and teenage daughter) stayed in a spacious ocean view villa for 3 nights. The price seemed reasonable and the villa was very clean and comfortable. Part of the reason to stay here was so I could dive while the others snorkelled. The diving is good although probably best for beginners. Snorkelling is fun. The restaurant at the resort was average. The only down side is the day trippers who flood the island especially when a cruise ship is in town. But if you decide to keep out of the sun in the peak times then you can mostly avoid them. The shuttle boat takes you across to the mainland. The resort has different free activities for guests including an outdoor movie (the projector broke down but it was fun), an excursion to the local village which was very interesting, a guided snorkelling trip. You can also walk to Mele Cascades - takes about 40 mins along the beach and a road. Worth the effort.

Room Tip: Do your snorkelling early or late in the day and avoid the day trippers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SydneySuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Wow this was awesome. We stayed for 7 days at the end of April 14. My husband and I stayed in the attached Bungalow. Bungalow 1. We had a good sized room, big lounge room that included 2 single beds, 2 couches and a small dinning table with chairs. There were 3 ceiling fans, although you can pay more and get a room with AC which I would recommend in the hotter months. The rooms are simple but clean, spacious and adequate. Although the bed was a bit hard for my liking. We could walk down to the ferry from our large private veranda. Or directly to the pool or beach from our front door. I loved the position of our bungalow, close but private. Lots of cute island life too, hermit crabs, geckos etc.
Included was a free continental breakfast. The fruit was amazing, and the bircher muesli was my favourite, my husband had avocado on toast every morning. You enjoy your breakfast while looking out at the water. Dinner was a treat too. I had the rib eye fillet twice and nearly cried when they ran out on my last night. The ‘Island curry’ is AMAZING too, we had that repeatedly too.
We had just received our Dive certificates and were keen to dive. We did two and found ALL the dive instructors were very friendly and helpful. They had better dive equipment then what we had used in our courses in Australia!! We also did a night snorkel which was amazing, saw a moray eel and several cuttlefish. The snorkelling was crazy. We snorkelled every day for several hours, and saw the most amazing sea life: turtle, cuttlefish, seasnake, shrimp, lion fish, dog face puffer fish, everything. We feel that the sea life is better than we have seen on our many trips to the Great Barrier Reef.
Relaxing by the water, on our veranda or snorkelling took up most of our time. When we did cross back to the mainland the Hideaway Island staff on the other side were great with helping with buses or information. We walked to the Cascades one day too, 30mins. There is a pub/restaurant across from Hideaway that has free wifi and themed nights.
We loved our time here, the staff enhance your experience too. Cannot weight to come back next year with the rest of our family. Thank you Hideaway!

Room Tip: Some rooms have AC and some just have ceiling fans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Treeblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
5.7 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,485 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
665 reviews
4.0 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#29 of 47 in Port Vila
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
5.9 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
488 reviews
6.1 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 47 in Port Vila
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaway Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway Island Resort

Property: Hideaway Island Resort
Address: | Hideaway Island, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#2 Best Value Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hideaway Island Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Hideaway Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaway Island Hotel Port Vila
Hideaway Island Port Vila
Hideaway Island Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing