We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hideaway Island Resort
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great family getaway!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We spent a week on Hideaway with our 1 year old. We chose it as you can snorkel right off the beach so we wouldn't have to take whole day trips just to do a bit of snorkeling. The snorkeling is quite good, there are heaps of fish, a fair bit of coral and as a guest we were able to take the free snorkel safari and glass bottom boat tour every day!
It was perfect for us as we were looking for a quiet getaway where we could relax - lay on the beach, swim, snorkel, eat, drink & explore if we felt the urge. It is not a huge resort so it is very peaceful (even with the day trippers) and even though there is no kids club we had no problem organising one of the girls to look after our son for a few hours when needed (at around $4/hr). He was totally spoiled by all the staff with lots of cuddles, babycinos & attention!
He was actually bitten by something while we were there & even though it was nothing the staff and owners were more than helpful with advice, referrals to the chemist in town & mosquito net!
The bungalows are very spacious, very clean, secluded and very charming! The beds could use better mattresses but were comfortable enough!
It is quite close to the mainland and if you want to it is very close & easy to organise day trips around the island & into town.
I can't recommend this place enough if you are looking for a peaceful getaway - it is such a beautiful location, with great food and people!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mon81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    213
    34
    19
    9
See reviews for
160
236
45
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Just returned from the Hideaway for second time. Nothing had changed just as good as before. Went to Fiji to get away from the winter here and it didn't let us down. This time we booked the deluxe beachfront bure plus the meals and drinks inclusive package and this was very worth the extra money. We also had the $500 dollars Fiji to spend on massages, al-la-carte meals(lobster) and special cocktails. We tired but still didn't use it all!!!!!!!! Apart from two trips sightseeing we didn't spend a penny after paying for the trip before we left. Came home with money.!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Deluxe beachfront for sure plus meal package cant be beat and are bigger than the others with a lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequentflyer038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Loved the experience from start to finish. Its a private island, which is just a quick boat ride to the mainland. What I loved the most was the snorkelling - WOW - an amazing array of fish in this Marine Sanctuary, the genuine friendly staff and tasty food at a restaurant with sandy beach floor. Favourite time was late afternoon sipping cocktails looking at the crystal clear water, green lush mountains while watching the glorious sunset. The weather was perfect in July, remember to take something with a sleeve for the occasional evening cool breeze.
Its a gem.

Room Tip: All accommodation is great particularly the Bungalow's. You can see the coral reef from every ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburton New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed for 7 nights at this lovely little island just off the mainland and just loved the friendly staff, beautiful snorkelling which is right at your door step and great food. Our bungalow was number 12 which looked straight out over the reef, there was a lounge suite not that we stayed inside, a table and chairs, fridge, queen bed and two singles but a full size bathroom and the staff did a great job keeping everything very clean. The veranda has a hammock, and table and chairs on it and then there were also two sun loungers just in front of your unit. The island nights were great fun and so was the fire dancing that is held just over on the mainland at the Beach Bar which also has great internet access if you need it. The buses /vans to town were only 300 vatu which is approx $3.00 and they were always waiting once you got off the jetty. We will definitely be planning another holiday to this lovely little bit of paradise.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HillBill2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We took our extended family to Hideaway in July 2014 and stayed in beach side bungalows. The best part of the stay was the swimming and snorkelling at your doorstep, absolutely outstanding. The bungalows were fine, yes there some shortcomings like power going off unexpectedly but promptly fixed, poor shower head etc but beds were comfortable and the service really friendly and helpful. Food was good, middle of the road quality and price wise. We enjoyed the lack of cars and roaming dogs, the security and quiet. Would we return? Yes we would.

Room Tip: Bungalows facing west the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Wow this is is just wow. Secluded & quiet in your private hut and if you choose to head down the windy paths to the main area there is plenty to do. You dine on amazing food while your feet run through the sand. Take a glass bottom boat ride around the island. Go snorkelling (all equipment provided) the possibilities are endless............

Room Tip: All rooms look out onto the ocean just beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amcn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is my third visit to Hideaway in twelve months - haven't written on Tripadvisor before because I wanted to keep it my special secret. But have decided that's selfish and Hideaway's magic should be shared with everyone.

The first thing I love is being able to step into the water and be immediately surrounded by coloured fish swimming around your feet. I recommend bringing your own mask and snorkels. Flippers are easily hired. But I find I only need the reef shoes as I like to swim,

I think my next favourite thing is the staff. They are just so welcoming and treat everyone as their favourite guest. I know it helps that this is my third visit. But they were like this on my first visit which is why I have come back so often.

I travel by myself but loneliness is not a problem. Because the resort is so small you meet everyone. I'm pretty social so i end up chatting to everyone. But if you are not as social, people don't intrude.

The accommodation is great. It might not be 5 star, but the views and cleanliness can't be beaten.

I normally stay in the bungalows. The resort was booked out this time and I ended up staying in the backpacker ... and LOVING it. I am a 5 star girl so this is a huge recommendation for those travelling solo.

And lastly, the food is wonderful. I used to travel to Fiji, but Vanuatu is my new favourite because the food is fabulous and, of course, I found Hideaway. There is huge variety of vegetables and the beef is local. Hideaway has the best fillet steak I have ever eaten. I normally have it at least every second night.

And the free wi fi is a HUGE bonus - wifi is very expensive in Vanuatu and Hideaway is the only island to offer free wi fi.

Hope you get to enjoy the magic of Hideaway soon

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tania W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
5.7 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
5.9 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
6.1 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaway Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway Island Resort

Property: Hideaway Island Resort
Address: | Hideaway Island, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#3 Best Value Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hideaway Island Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hideaway Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaway Island Hotel Port Vila
Hideaway Island Port Vila
Hideaway Island Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing