We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Melanesian Port Vila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Melanesian Port Vila
Ranked #27 of 48 Hotels in Port Vila
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Had a great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012 via mobile

I stayed in a delux room very clean and modern.
BBQ night a good meal and a great local band and dancers.
Had free WiFi in lobby.
Staff are very friendly and helpful I would stay here again.
Good location just a 10min walk to the town area.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Hi Gerry,
Thank you for your positive comment and staying at the Melanesian Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    145
    57
    12
    7
See reviews for
52
104
22
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed here for four nights in october and loved it. the staff were always friendly and helpful and because of the small size of the hotel, we met some lovely travelers. there was entertainment every second night (ish) which was excellent. food was great too. our room was in need of a refurbish (which was about to be done). it opened to the pool area so i could let my daughter swim whenever she wanted without packing up everything and traipsing to the pool every time. the kids pool was just the right depth for her (she is 5) and was great for her swimming confidence. very easy overall.

Room Tip: If you have a child who likes to swim, go for a room that opens to the pool. check that the room has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Hi there Jack,
Thank you for your positive comments towards the staff and the kid pool. We look forward to seeing you again at the Melanesian Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

This is more than a 3 star hotel.

The service is just amazing. Better than we expected.

Our room (116) was right by the pool. Serviced everyday and they even folded our clothes. Daily breakfast was amazing. Eggs, pancakes, bread, jam, croissants, juice, tea/coffee and fresh fruits.

Definitely recommend Tanna coffee.

On Wednesday night, they had a live cultural show and buffet dinner. Great food and the best service from all the staff and waiters/waitress.

Everyone always has a big smile on their face and just so polite.

They made our holiday such a delight.

A 10 minute walk to Port Vila's 24 hour fruit markets, restaurant and grocery story (Au bon marche)

We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Room 116 had the pool right next to it but our friends got a room (206) and their room was much nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Hi Isabelle, Thanks for the wonderful comments!!!, we try our best to make our guest feel welcome and provide the friendly environment to all our valued guest and you are amongst them. We look forward to seeing you again at the Melanesian Hotel on your next visit to Vanuatu.
Cheers!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanganui
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

Returning to Vanuatu we decided to book into the Melanesian where we had stayed on a previous holiday in Vanuatu.
We stayed in a Hibiscus Room because we prefer the fan-cooled room to the A/C. We also liked having our own cooking facilities so that we could enjoy the wonderful local organic beef that is available daily from the supermarket just a short distance up the road.
A great breakfast is included in the price if you want. Lots of tropical fruit, croissants, pancakes (made by Lucy), eggs, chicken soup, a variety of breads and spreads and tea and coffee.
The Oasis Bar at the Melanesian does very good meals as well.
The rooms are clean.Our room had been freshly painted and there was a new fridge.
The middle of town is within easy walking distance and anywhere else close by can be reached by bus or taxi.
The staff are friendly, efficient and hardworking.
The mattress on our bed was looking a bit tired.
We didn't seem to be getting our sheets changed. After 5 days we enquired at the desk how often the sheets were changed and were told daily. From then on we stripped the bed each morning and left the sheets in a pile with the towels to ensure that they were changed. If we didn't do this the sheets were not changed.
The gardens and pool area were pleasant and restful.
However on the day before we left a new sound system was installed in this area which played loud invasive music most of the day until quite late at night. This has totally ruined the pool area for sitting and talking, reading and swimming.
If you are in a Hibiscus Room it is possible to almost shut out the noise but otherwise there is no possibilty of peace and quiet.
If you are paying your bill before you leave we suggest you settle it the night before so that you have enough time to ensure that you are charged the amount that was quoted to you at the time of booking.

Room Tip: Hibiscus Rooms on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank locatelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear Locatelli,
Thank you for staying at the Melanesian and your positive comments in the food outlets and also for daily cleaning of room. This has been notified to department concern to ensure we provide a clean comfortable room to our guest. On your next visit, please try out our newly renovated air-conditioned orchid rooms. Looking forward to receiving you to the Melanesian next time you plan on visiting Vanuatu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor NSW Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

We did not stay at this hotel but visited the hotel for it's Friday night Melanesian feast and show.
The food was fabulous with the best LapLap that I had tasted in Vanuatu.
They had a local band & tribal dancers which were truly excellent and you could taste Kava if you wished. It would have been good to have had an MC to get people up and dancing but other than that it was extremely good value.
Staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SegaYvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review, 14 October 2012
Dear Saga Yvonne,

Thank you for the wonderful comments on the feast night and local band.

We hope to receiving you back to the Melanesian Port Vila on your next visit to Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

We enjoyed our time here. Excellent rooms (we had a refurbished Orchid room), lovely swimming pool and good breakfasts. Could do with a couple of small improvements - nice to have bacon with the eggs not to mention free internet given that similar Vanuatu hotels provided both (we compared notes with other travellers).

Kim A

Room Tip: Ask for recently upgraded Orchid room - upstairs balcony gives good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaseyA251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear Kim A,
Thank you for your positive comment on breakfast served. Looking forward to receiving you at the Melanesian on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

I had all sorts of ideas of what a Vanuatu 3* might be like and I'm happy to say the Melanesian simply blew them away. After a not very arduous journey, it was still nice to be greeted with a smiling face - actually a whole herd of them - a nice cooling drink and an upgrade into the Superior Orchid room (although as far as I can tell, the only difference between that and the common or garden orchid room is one less bed and slightly different materials).

Room was excellent - had clearly had a pretty recent refurb with very comfy bed, flat screen TV, quiet air-con and modern bathroom. Views over the pool were nice and even had a look at the sea from the balcony. If I was going to be really picky, some form of extractor fan in the bathroom would have been nice.

Breakfast was a good continental affair - pancakes, croissants, bread, fruit etc. - doesn't change on a day to day basis, but great for filling up and constantly kept topped up by the unwaveringly cheery staff.

Location is the trump card - we had a nose in a few resorts whilst out and about and found them to be a bit isolated; although that's probably a boon if you're after a chill-on-the-beach place. Melanesian is a 10 minute stroll into downtown Port Vila with the brilliant market, shops, bars, restaurants and vast selection of tour booking locations. And in less time in the other direction you can be in two supermarkets, restaurants and the famed Ron's Nakamel for a kava or two.

Definitely the best 3* I've ever stayed in - remeber, if you come expecting a 5* resort you'll be disappointed - and should I find myself back in Port Vila, it will undoubtedly be my first choice.

Room Tip: Go for the Superior Orchid - top floor location with a pool view. Although it looked like some of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, General Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear Tim
We are so glad to hear your comment. Looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.4 mi away
Chantilly's on the Bay
Chantilly's on the Bay
#28 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#21 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#24 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#23 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
1.7 mi away
Vila Chaumieres
Vila Chaumieres
#29 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Motel & Apartments
Coral Motel & Apartments
#33 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Melanesian Port Vila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Melanesian Port Vila

Property: The Melanesian Port Vila
Address: P.O. Box 810, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Melanesian Port Vila 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 10min walk from the heart of Port Vila town. Reasonable rates with quiet and comfortable atmosphere. A welcoming smile, friendly hospitality and good service are part of the culture at The Melanesian. Offering a number of guest room styles which satisfies everyone's needs. Our culture entertainment night with "All You Can Eat BBQ" at our Oasis Pool side is must see! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Melanesian Port Vila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Melanesian Port Vila Hotel Port Vila
Melanesian Port Vila
Melanesian Hotel Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila Vanuatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing