We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean and comfortable resort close to town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Melanesian Port Vila
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Reviewed 13 January 2013

My husband and I just returned from a week in villa. We stayed 3 nights at the Melanesian Resort. We booked an orchid room. When we arrived we were allocated an un-renovated orchid room. Upon request we were upgraded to a superior orchid room free of charge. The renovated rooms are beautiful, clean and well equipped. We had a nice view of the pool and the harbour from the room. breakfast was satisfactory, however we did not eat any other meals on site so I am unable to comment on the food. The tour desk was very helpful and assisted us to book into a few day tours. The Melanesian is very close to town making shopping, exploring and restaurants very accessible. Overall we were both pleasantly surprised with the Melanesian resort and it is very affordable. It was also good that most nights the resort has some sort of entertainment.
Tip: make sure you ask if your room is a renovated room. Also ask for a room that is on the wing closest to Asco motors, this wing outlooks the pool and a road, as opposed to the pool and local houses.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magoo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Dear Magoo76,

Thank you for your wonderful comments received.

We take pride in welcoming customers to the Melanesian and making their stay enjoyable.

All our Orchid rooms should be renovated by January 2013, however please do request renovated orchid rooms when making booking reservations.

We hope to received you at the Melanesian Hotel as our guest on your next visit to Vanuatu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2013

Lovely staff, good location, great booking office for tours. The wing we stayed in was clean and comfortable, but needed some work - tiles coming off in shower, no smoke alarm, etc. Some wings meant to be great - perhaps only this one (was booked on a flight/accom deal). Likewise with main pool - tiles coming off etc. With a facelift and minor fix up, could would be great.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gem11742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Dear Gem11742,

Thank you for your positive comments received.

We have done major renovation to almost all our Orchid rooms, expected to be completed this month January 13 and planning is on the way to start refurbishing all Hibiscus rooms early this years. We hope that this will give the hotel a new face lift.

Please allow us to book you into one of our newly renovated room overlooking the pool area on your next visit to the Melanesian Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Well my first impression about the hotel was not a good one. They had my arrival information and after I arrived it took them about 40 minutes to prepare and give me the room. Great room though. The service at the Oasis restaurant was very slow but then again good food. I went down to the reception for a power adapter and that took 6-8 minutes. The service was just too slow , very laid back. But then I realised may be that the way things are on the island , very laid back and chilled out. Nothing like the fast paced madhouse the world has become. As I said the room, was clean, bed comfortable, food was tasty, staff very very courteous. Nice live entertainment around the poolside, BBQ dinner, bar on the other side. Perfect setting for a great evening with friends or family.

All in all , highly recommended, covers all the basic requirement of travellers in a great way and leave all renewed.

Room Tip: Pool facing pools are good but to avoid the rooms on the ground floor surrounding the pool as it can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Dear Ramzz,

Thank you for your positive comments on reception check-in and providing the request services in a timely manner, also your wonderful comments on the food outlets.

Your comments is forwarded to department concern to ensure that we provide an efficient service to all customers. We apologies for the delay to our check-in process and in our food outlets.

Please allow us to provide you with an better & efficient service on your next visit to the Melanesian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

we must say the staff & service was excellent -they upgraded us to an orchid room overlooking the pool as it was my birthday & anniversary --we thoroughly enjoyed the hotel it was in a top position & being on the hill we always had a cool breeze --only about 5 min walk to town or $3.oo in a bus or taxi -thank you to all the staff who made our holiday great -- also once they have finished re-furbishing the hibiscus rooms will be a plus - the bbq nights were excellent value -thank you les & nancy hell

Room Tip: all rooms overlooking pool are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 540nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Dear Less & Nancy,

Thank you for your wonderful comments and a warm greeting from the staff of the Melanesian.

The refurbishment of the Hibiscus is plan for early this year 2013, hopefully, this will be an uplift to our hibiscus room to allow comfort to our valued customers.

We hope to see you both again on your next visit to Vanuatu and especially to the Melanesian Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights in September. I really recommend this hotel, it's walking distance to the centre of town but not too close. It's got a couple of supermarkets close by also if you want to get some of your own food. I chose this hotel based on other reviews about atmosphere and entertainment and it didn't disappoint. To have the local entertainment outside round the pool whilst having your dinner was excellent, you would normally have to pay for a seperate tour to see this but you get it here for free. They also had a few dining special nights and we went to the sushi night which I loved, the food was great. The room we had was also lovely it was one of the renovated rooms and I couldn't fault it, very spacious modern, clean with a pool view. The staff were also very friendly, informative and welcoming. Particularly Tony who was great. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room, although they were in the process of doing all the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonRomey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Dear LondonRomey,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. Your remarks on Tony will be forwarded to him with pride.

It is always our pleasure in welcoming our guest into the friendly environment that the Melanesian Port Vila is know for and hope to welcome you again on your next visit to Vanuatu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Stayed here early October, 2012 with 2 children under 10 and grandparents. Had rooms next to each other (interconnecting not available) in the newly renovated Orchard Rooms with air con on the ground floor opening onto the pool area (Rooms 104 and 105). We knew The Melanesian was only rated 3 star and had previously stayed at Le Lagon and Le Meridien (pre-renovation and pre take over by Holiday Inn), but as this was a late booking and we had grandparents and budgets to consider, we specially chose this hotel and were so glad we did. The renovated rooms are terrific and hard to fault. They had done a great job of refreshing the rooms, everything is spotlessly clean. Sure the bathrooms aren’t as flash as the renovated ones at say Le Lagon but they were clean and did the job and you don't pay anywhere near what those other resorts charge. The hairdryer was really powerful so no need to bring one from home. Shower pressure was good and plenty of hot water. Could perhaps do with a light over the bath which is also the shower and anti-slip on the bath, otherwise no complaints.

Orchard Rooms have comfortable Queen size bed, a little hard but was fine and 1 single bed. We also had fold-out for our youngest child until the grandparents arrived a few nights later and our older child went into their room. Even with the fold-out bed there was plenty of room. Being able to walk straight out from the room to the pool and watch the kids swim was great, without having to walk long distances like you sometimes do at larger resorts. There was a row of new chairs and tables under an awning which ran down each side of the pool area which was ideal to sit in the shade and watch the kids. This was also where evening meals were served. Only suggestion is they could do with a dimmer switch on the lights here at night so not so bright. This covered area was fantastic for the grandparents also who could get out of the heat and then go to their air con room for a rest when needed. They live overseas so this holiday was more about them catching up with the grand kids rather than touring around.

The pools were great, clean and plenty big enough, especially the kids pool and we basically had the place to ourselves until later in the day when people seemed to return from day trips but even then it was never crowded.

Breakfast was fine, basically continental but included fried eggs as well, they even had vegemite and weetbix! Was good as sometimes our 3 year old didn’t eat much at breakfast so I’d make her a vegemite sandwich for mid morning. We deliberately chose The Melanesian as it was a close, 5 minute flat walk to Au Bon Marche, the largest of the supermarkets where we or the grandparents could easily walk each day to get fresh bread for lunch and ham and cold meats, cheese and salads. We made our own sandwiches under the awnings around the pool each day as the kids didn’t want to leave the pool and it was too hot in the middle of the day to take the grandparents in to town for lunch. It was also very easy and economical. I took snap seal bags to store small amounts of food in the fridge as the room was not self-contained but we only wanted to do sandwiches at lunch and the bar fridge was perfectly adequate for our needs. There was also a new supermarket behind the hotel called Leader (I think) which was also very good, could get fresh bread and limited range of wine, was not as big as Au Bon Marche but still very handy and clean.

Was an easy 10 minute walk down the hill to town and as others have said you can get the bus back up if too tired to walk. We didn’t realise until mid trip that 150 vatu per person is for the bus for adults but only 50 vatu for kids. If more than 4 of you (we had 6), better value to get a taxi than bus which is usually about 500 vatu to most local places. Airport is 1800 vatu one way in taxi but considerably cheaper than a lot of transfer companies. We lucked onto a good taxi driver one night returning from dinner across from Le Lagon and he took us most places after that including return to airport.

Found staff to be great and sorted any issues out immediately, had issue with air con one night and sorted out straight away. All restaurant bookings made via reception were fine and checkout no problem, allow yourself enough time to check bill and raise any queries in time before check out. Note 5% surcharge for use of any credit card.

Depends on what you’re after, having done other resorts in Vanuatu, now really rate The Melanesian since renovations, and enjoy the proximity to local supermarkets and town centre for choice of shopping and other restaurants. Is good that rooms are large enough to accommodate 2 adults and 2 kids so don’t need to pay for 2nd room for kids. Try the Pina Colada cocktails, rate them amongst the best we’ve had, 20% off at happy hour!

Room Tip: Newly renovated air con Orchard Rooms on Ground Floor opening onto pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OPHELIASydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Hi Ophelia,
Thank you for your wonderful comments and we trust the kids did enjoy the stay. Your comments on the lighting will be taken into consideration and we will see to it that all evening dinners enjoy the evening with a lesser lighting. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit and hopefully with the kids as well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012 via mobile

I stayed in a delux room very clean and modern.
BBQ night a good meal and a great local band and dancers.
Had free WiFi in lobby.
Staff are very friendly and helpful I would stay here again.
Good location just a 10min walk to the town area.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Hi Gerry,
Thank you for your positive comment and staying at the Melanesian Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.2 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#28 of 47 in Port Vila
159 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#18 of 47 in Port Vila
556 reviews
2.9 mi away
CoCo Beach Resort
CoCo Beach Resort
#20 of 47 in Port Vila
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort
1.1 mi away
Chantilly's on the Bay
Chantilly's on the Bay
#25 of 47 in Port Vila
201 reviews
1.7 mi away
Vila Chaumieres
Vila Chaumieres
#30 of 47 in Port Vila
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Melanesian Port Vila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Melanesian Port Vila

Address: P.O. Box 810, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: £72 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Melanesian Port Vila 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 10min walk from the heart of Port Vila town. Reasonable rates with quiet and comfortable atmosphere. A welcoming smile, friendly hospitality and good service are part of the culture at The Melanesian. Offering a number of guest room styles which satisfies everyone's needs. Our culture entertainment night with "All You Can Eat BBQ" at our Oasis Pool side is a must see! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Melanesian Port Vila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Melanesian Port Vila Hotel Port Vila
Melanesian Port Vila
Melanesian Hotel Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila Vanuatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing