We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A constant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Melanesian Port Vila

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Melanesian Port Vila
Ranked #26 of 48 Hotels in Port Vila
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A constant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Having stayed here 6 years ago I knew it was good.
Some things have changed such as where breakfast was served and for the better.
Service is great, our washing came back immaculately done and folded.
Room service was good too.
Had a room with a fan which was adequate.
Free wi-fi in the lobby (it's a bit slow).
Staff always happy and obliging.
Would return.

Room Tip: Try to book a room where the balcony does not overlook the main entrance. It can be noisy early in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Suzanne,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on the hotel. We have Orchid rooms that are air condition which you would like to book on your next visit. The Hibiscus room will be on renovation to upgrade all rooms. We hope to welcome you to the Melanesian on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    145
    57
    12
    7
See reviews for
52
104
22
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Being staying at this hotel on & off since 2001 and out of 30+ stays of different durations I can vouch that the owners (Japanese) do care very much about their guests. Hiro the GM is a delight to meet with his very loyal long standing staff (and there is an abundance of staff!).
Great location, well renovated rooms interiors with everything you need. I especially appreciate the spontaneous friendly staff. Very nice pool close to rooms with well priced pool bar.
Overall very good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor can be less private as you need to close the curtains. The higher the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanuatulocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Vanuatulocal,
Thank you for your positive comments about the hotel and we warmly welcome return guests to the hotel as a friend to us. Mr Hiro Osuka is informed of comment. Thank you again and we hope to see you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for just over a week. The accommodation itself has had it's day. BUT, I can and must say that the rooms were clean, functional and perfectly fine. Very good value for money. The staff were amazingly kind and fun. The cultural shows were very funny and quite a laugh. The pool was very enjoyable as was the bar. The food was fine, although I would have liked to have seen more Vanuatan food even if it had less meat. It was very handy for the town itself. I loved the markets and driving around the island. I also had a go at snorkelling despite being very trepidatious in the water but had a fantastic time. I must say that the person who stands out in my mind was Lucy who cooked breakfast ever morning. She does some mean eggs and has a very kind nature.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank narayansmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Narayansmate,
Thank you for your positive comments. We have done major renovation to the orchid rooms and the poolside area to give more comforts to our guests. The staff mention will be appraise with your comments and she is notified. We hope to receive you back to the hotel on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Just stayed for 5 nights at this hotel. The hotel is a short walk to the town - about 400 metres to the main market so location is great.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.
We had breakfast included and it was very nice and plenty of choice. The breakfast was continental but included fried eggs. We also had lunch and dinner there on occasion - all great tasting and good serve size. The cultural night buffet was very nice.
Orchid rooms have been newly renovated and have a lovely clean fresh feel. Each room has a balcony where you can sit. Air con was good.
On a side note the hotel has towels for use at no charge so don't bother taking beach towels with you. Towels can be taken out with you when you go out for the day.
Lovely hotel - would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarTraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Cartraveller,
Thank you for your positive comments of the hotel. We have just completed renovation on the orchid rooms which has given the hotel a new face uplift.
We thank you again for the comments and feedback and we hope to see you next time when you visit the hotel or visit Vanuatu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

We just spent 5 nights here and were very happy with the room- older room, side wing no air con, although this room has yet to be updated (it looks very warn out) it was very clean, had everything that we needed and a good size, extra pillows would have been appreciate. The service from all staff was excellent. I especially would like to thank Rennit who made our stay feel special, always smiling and ready to answer our questions with helpful suggestions. Big thanks to the tour desk who when unable to assist us with Round the Island tour due to insufficient numbers but arranged for us to go with another tour company. If you are looking to stay on the beach then this is not the place for you but in saying that The Melanesian is only a short walk 10 minutes at a leisurely pace down the hill to the main part of Port Villa, is a do able walk back up the hill which we accomplished without any serious injures (we are late 40s and not very fit) but found it easier to flag a bus and pay 150v each to get back to the hotel, bus stop at end of driveway. Number 2 supermarket is a 3 minute walk away as are a number of restaurants, Try a massage at Eden's spa on site,one of the best I have had. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nevernos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Nevernos,
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments on the hotel and staff. The staff mention is informed of your comments. For extra pillows, you may request through the reception, but spare pillows are located at the top shelf if required.
We hope to see you next time at the Melanesian Hotel on your next visit to Vanuatu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clontarf, Queensland
Level Contributor
298 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed at the Melanesian for a week after being offered a free flight by Virgin Australia for an earlier problem. Vanuatu because we had never been and the Melanesian because it's reviews on Tripadvisor seemed pretty fair.

We booked a Hibiscus Room and paid just under $100 Australian a night, we thought this rather expensive but didn't realise that Vanuatu is not a cheap place to visit. The welcome was friendly and were told from the outset that any complaints should be reported to reception, we thought that a positive and professional attitude. The room was bright and comfortable with a well provided kitchenette, spacious balcony and bathroom. Hibiscus rooms do not have air conditioning, but the fan was more than adequate. I cannot comment whether it would be in the summer!

Breakfast was of a buffet continental type, but was plentiful with fresh fruit, cereal, toast and eggs. Every thing was quickly replenished as it went. The pool looked nice although we didn't use it.

The hotel was situated only a few minutes walk from the town. We found Port Vila a little grubby, the pavement and roads unkempt and the prices at restaurants very over priced. The people though were exceptionally friendly and helpful. There is a large supermarket about 300 metres after turning left from the hotel.

We attended a cultural night at the hotel which was good value compared to what was available elsewhere.

I have agonised how to be fair with my rating for this hotel, but all taken into consideration, plus constant hot water, the rooms serviced as you vacated and the friendliness of the staff, it does deserve the four.

I would not visit Port Vila again for all the reasons mentioned before, but this should of course not reflect on the hotel, they tried hard and suceeded.

Room Tip: The downside of a Hibiscus room is their location to the hotel entrance. All guests have to pass you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Steve P,
Thank you for your comments on the Hotel with the staff.
It was with great pleasure to have you as our guest during the time stayed in the hotel. We try our best to ensure that all arriving guest depart as a friend and hope to see you again when you visit Vanuatu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taree, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

We recently stayed for 5 nights in a Orchid room which had been recently renovated. The rooms were exceptionally clean and very spacious. The hotel may look dated from the outside but the rooms are very nice.
We ate at the bbq night twice and quiet enjoyed the meal. The local entertainment and kava drinking ceremonies were quiet good and great fun.
The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful with arranging tours and assisting with local knowledge.
The resort is a short 10 minute stroll into town and if you don't feel like walking back up the hill its a $1.50 taxi ride home pp.
Would definetely recommend.

Room Tip: Orchid rooms on second balcony were good. Never saw what the others were like. ground level rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grantTaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear grantTaree,
Thank you for your wonderful comments on the BBQ nights and the tours. Vanuatu has a lot to offer when you are in Vanuatu and especially in Port Vila, Our Tour desk (SPT) is open daily, except Sunday, however, our reception desk is open 24 hours on Sunday to take bookings for next day, any tour arrangements for individual, family and group can be organized through the SPT. Please feel free to check them out on your next visit. Your comments and feedback will be forward to respective departments for action and staff reviewing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.4 mi away
Chantilly's on the Bay
Chantilly's on the Bay
#28 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#24 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#22 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crystal Palace Hotel
Crystal Palace Hotel
#39 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.9 mi away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#23 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Motel & Apartments
Coral Motel & Apartments
#33 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Melanesian Port Vila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Melanesian Port Vila

Property: The Melanesian Port Vila
Address: P.O. Box 810, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Melanesian Port Vila 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 10min walk from the heart of Port Vila town. Reasonable rates with quiet and comfortable atmosphere. A welcoming smile, friendly hospitality and good service are part of the culture at The Melanesian. Offering a number of guest room styles which satisfies everyone's needs. Our culture entertainment night with "All You Can Eat BBQ" at our Oasis Pool side is must see! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Melanesian Port Vila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Melanesian Port Vila Hotel Port Vila
Melanesian Port Vila
Melanesian Hotel Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila Vanuatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing