We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melanesian Feast night was terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Melanesian Port Vila
Ranked #27 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This is not a review for the accommodation, but the Wednesday Night 'Melanesian Feast.'
This was by far the worst 'activity' we had while staying in Vanuatu. We were staying at another hotel but paid our 5000VT for a 'cultural night.'
The night includes a buffet style traditional meal, with cultural dances, kava ceremony, then string band.
The meal was average after having tried other 'authentic' Vanuatan meals on other tours. We didn't realise drinks weren't included and didn't bring any other money with us, so we just ordered waters. 15 minutes later, our water arrived.
When the cultural display came out with the dances etc, the Taylor Swift soundtrack was still playing over our heads so ruined the whole atmosphere and we couldn't hear anything. When the staff finally turned it off, we could still barely hear a thing from the main dancer. They seemed to be performing more to one side of the courtyard so we couldn't hear what he was talking about.
Then when the string band came, they came with a few token authentic instruments, but also a couple of guitars, bongo drum and plastic tambourine. Hmmmmm. Musically they were ok, but the whole thing felt very contrived, fake and put on for the tourists. We left after 3 songs.
Lowlight of the trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Abby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Abby,

Thank you for your positive comment on the Wednesday cultural event on the BBQ nights. Your comments will be forwarded to the person concern. We sincerely regret the poor performance of the cultural group, however the management has been inform to improve the performance and the menus. We hope to offer a better cultural night with the many changes that are currently done for each BBQ nights of the week. Thank you very much for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

We recently stayed at the Melanesian after a diving holiday to Espiritu Santo (stopped off in Vila for a few days R & R). We have tried several hotels/guest houses in Vila over the years and keep coming back to the Melanesian, mainly because it is pretty conveniently located within walking distance of the town centre and the best supermarket on the island. Over the years, it had got a bit tired - but the (relatively) new owners are doing a great job of renovating and the rooms are pleasant,clean and well appointed. The only downside was that we had a top floor room - climbing up several flights of stairs with dive bags was not a happy experience! (however, that was our travel agent's fault, not the hotel's!). The buffet breakfast is very good and eating it on the patio area by the pool is a nice way to start the day. The staff are friendly, helpful and plentiful and room service/housekeeping is excellent. They put on a local culture night every week, with traditional singers and dancers, kava tasting (yuk!) and a BBQ - which is good fun and the children in our group loved it. The staff at the bar also make an excellent capuccino - which for coffee addicts like us is a definite bonus!! If you're not looking for tropical gardens and luxury, but for somewhere convenient, clean and comfortable to stay while enjoying the many attractions of Port Vila, I can recomment the Melanesian. I would rate the renovated rooms as 4-star accommodation.

Room Tip: Request a room on the ground or first floor if you have fitness problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Steph,

Thank you for your positive comments and feedback, we will pass on comments to the management team for staff appraisals. Please do not hesitate to ask our friendly reception desk staff to re-allocate you to a ground floor next time your travel with a group or by yourself if required, as we take pride in providing a friendly and comfortable hospitality to our valued guests. We hope to see you again at the Melanesian hotel on your next visit to Vanuatu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Very friendly staff, warm welcome, we arrived quite late on a Friday evening restaurant disappointing for the price we paid. Poor choice and badly cooked. Breakfast was OK, good for a short stay. The mattress on the bed was a little too firm and the air conditioning didn't function properly so we were cold during the night. We were prepared to forgive all these minor inconveniences because the staff really try and make your stay a happy one and offer all the help they can.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Valerie L,

We thank you and acknowledge your positive comment on the breakfast, bedding and restaurant. Currently under renovation of the property and upgrading of our food outlet, we expect to improve in the restaurant in the coming months. Your comments will be forwarded to appropriate department to ensure service is provided for and please allow us to offer you our hospitality on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Having stayed here 6 years ago I knew it was good.
Some things have changed such as where breakfast was served and for the better.
Service is great, our washing came back immaculately done and folded.
Room service was good too.
Had a room with a fan which was adequate.
Free wi-fi in the lobby (it's a bit slow).
Staff always happy and obliging.
Would return.

Room Tip: Try to book a room where the balcony does not overlook the main entrance. It can be noisy early in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear Suzanne,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on the hotel. We have Orchid rooms that are air condition which you would like to book on your next visit. The Hibiscus room will be on renovation to upgrade all rooms. We hope to welcome you to the Melanesian on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Being staying at this hotel on & off since 2001 and out of 30+ stays of different durations I can vouch that the owners (Japanese) do care very much about their guests. Hiro the GM is a delight to meet with his very loyal long standing staff (and there is an abundance of staff!).
Great location, well renovated rooms interiors with everything you need. I especially appreciate the spontaneous friendly staff. Very nice pool close to rooms with well priced pool bar.
Overall very good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor can be less private as you need to close the curtains. The higher the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vanuatulocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear Vanuatulocal,
Thank you for your positive comments about the hotel and we warmly welcome return guests to the hotel as a friend to us. Mr Hiro Osuka is informed of comment. Thank you again and we hope to see you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed there for just over a week. The accommodation itself has had it's day. BUT, I can and must say that the rooms were clean, functional and perfectly fine. Very good value for money. The staff were amazingly kind and fun. The cultural shows were very funny and quite a laugh. The pool was very enjoyable as was the bar. The food was fine, although I would have liked to have seen more Vanuatan food even if it had less meat. It was very handy for the town itself. I loved the markets and driving around the island. I also had a go at snorkelling despite being very trepidatious in the water but had a fantastic time. I must say that the person who stands out in my mind was Lucy who cooked breakfast ever morning. She does some mean eggs and has a very kind nature.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank narayansmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Dear Narayansmate,
Thank you for your positive comments. We have done major renovation to the orchid rooms and the poolside area to give more comforts to our guests. The staff mention will be appraise with your comments and she is notified. We hope to receive you back to the hotel on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Just stayed for 5 nights at this hotel. The hotel is a short walk to the town - about 400 metres to the main market so location is great.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.
We had breakfast included and it was very nice and plenty of choice. The breakfast was continental but included fried eggs. We also had lunch and dinner there on occasion - all great tasting and good serve size. The cultural night buffet was very nice.
Orchid rooms have been newly renovated and have a lovely clean fresh feel. Each room has a balcony where you can sit. Air con was good.
On a side note the hotel has towels for use at no charge so don't bother taking beach towels with you. Towels can be taken out with you when you go out for the day.
Lovely hotel - would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarTraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Dear Cartraveller,
Thank you for your positive comments of the hotel. We have just completed renovation on the orchid rooms which has given the hotel a new face uplift.
We thank you again for the comments and feedback and we hope to see you next time when you visit the hotel or visit Vanuatu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.2 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#28 of 47 in Port Vila
154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#20 of 47 in Port Vila
548 reviews
2.9 mi away
CoCo Beach Resort
CoCo Beach Resort
#22 of 47 in Port Vila
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Vila Chaumieres
Vila Chaumieres
#30 of 47 in Port Vila
182 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chantilly's on the Bay
Chantilly's on the Bay
#25 of 47 in Port Vila
199 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Melanesian Port Vila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Melanesian Port Vila

Address: P.O. Box 810, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: £74 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Melanesian Port Vila 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 10min walk from the heart of Port Vila town. Reasonable rates with quiet and comfortable atmosphere. A welcoming smile, friendly hospitality and good service are part of the culture at The Melanesian. Offering a number of guest room styles which satisfies everyone's needs. Our culture entertainment night with "All You Can Eat BBQ" at our Oasis Pool side is a must see! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Melanesian Port Vila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Melanesian Port Vila Hotel Port Vila
Melanesian Port Vila
Melanesian Hotel Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila Vanuatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing